Vanderbilt Mortgage

Star Empty star Empty star Empty star Empty star
1.0 out of 5, based on 5 ratings and
33 reviews & complaints.

Most Popular | Newest | More Options >
More filter options:
Mortgage fraud
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

MARYVILLE, FLORIDA -- I have a complaint against Vanderbilt Bank. I have the payments drafted biweekly. I receive a statement every month. With that statement comes a coupon where I can send in an extra payment. On this coupon, it says “Your account will automatically draft as agreed. Please use this form to make an additional payment by mail if desired.”

I used this form to make an additional payment. They used this additional payment as a customer payment instead of an additional payment and did not draft out the normal payment. When I asked about this, customer service said that it had to be more or less than the actual payment for the coupon to work. This was done on 20 NOV 2009.

The second time I used it, the same thing happened. Only I put in over double the amount of the drafted payment. This time I was told by customer service that it had to be under the amount of the drafted payment. This was done on 24 DEC 2009. When I asked them to fix it, they said it was too late and could not fix it.

So I tried again being under the amount of the drafted payment. I was $4.89 dollars shy of the drafted payment to make sure that it was not used as a customer payment. Vanderbilt still used it as a customer payment and did not take out the drafted payment as they were supposed to. They added on negative $4.98 dollars to make it work. This was on 27 DEC 2010.

When I asked about what happened, customer service got me in contact with the accountant. I asked the accountant what happened and she asked me if I had put for PBO only on the check. I said no because it had said that the coupon took care of that. She laughed at me and told me to put PBO on the check. I asked her to correct this problem.

This is how she corrected it. She took the next draft payment and took it off and used it all for the Principle balance. She however did not draft out the payment to replace it. This left me short two payments. She did not remove the negative $4.98 as I had asked. This rose up the amount of interest that I owed. It also took away from my escrow, making it where there would not be enough to pay the insurance.

I asked how I could make extra payments. I was told that I had to go online and get a special coupon, print it out and use it to make extra payments. The side effects of the extra payments were that it messed up the schedule of the drafted payments. The payments were every two weeks on a Wednesday. Then it changed to Thursday. Then it changed to Friday. I never knew when the next draft would take place.

I got mad and went to the BBB. I made my case and BBB accepted my case and contacted Vanderbilt. That got their attention. All of the things that customer service said that could not be fixed were fixed. I used the new coupons with no trouble until 22 JUN 2012. They did it again.

They used the extra payment as a customer payment and did not draft out the regular payment as they were supposed to. When I asked why, I was told because it was too close to the draft date and it cancelled out the draft. The funny thing is that the first draft was taken out on 20 JUN 2012 and they received my extra payment on 22 JUN 2012.

It does not matter what date the extra payment is posted or when the next draft payment is due, this should not happen. When I asked customer service to correct this, she suggested that I use a phone check. The phone check has a $10.00 fee attached to it. I told her no.

When I told her that I was going to call her manager, she found a way to fix the problem fast. If I cannot use the coupon sent to me every month and I cannot use the coupon from online, then how can I make extra payments? I was also sent an amortization. I cannot pay off the interest either by regular payment or by extra payments.

I will even pay interest on my last payment. Is this legal? I was told by a customer service member that there was no magic way for me to make extra payments. I have tried BBB, CCA, HUD, and other organizations, but to no avail. Vanderbilt will not respond to them or to me.

The main question is this: the coupon that is sent with the statement is misleading. The coupon says it is to be used to make additional payments, but when used, it is not accepted as that way. There is nothing on the statement or the coupon that says not to use this coupon or how to make additional payments.

Why, then, send this coupon with the statement? Why not send the other coupon that I was told to use? The other coupon is more specific. It has on it **PBO** in bold print. But when used it was still used for customer payment instead of extra payment. No matter what I do, I am lied to by the customer service personnel. They try very hard for me not to put the extra payment on the Principle Balance.

     
Replies
I have had enough of Vanderbilt Mortgage
By -

MARYVILLE, TENNESSEE -- Where do I start with these low life's? Let's see I got a loan for 38,000 on my home 4 years ago. So that means I have been paying 525 a month for 4 maybe 5 years now. Do you know how much they say I owe them still? And no it's not an interest only loan, 38,500 more than the damn loan. That's just for starters. They call as many as 5 to 6 times a day cellphone, work phone, house, and yes even search to see what neighbors were around me, got their numbers and told them to give me a message they called.

None of my neighbors are on my list of contacts so they had no right calling them. When you do call them back and actually get a hold of someone, they are the most unprofessional, rude, have no idea what they are doing people I have ever talked to. You can call them back the same day and talk to someone else. They give you a totally different answer.

Here is the best part for many months they have not been applying my money sent to the account, straight to unapplied funds...They even went so far to send me repo papers and gave me a court date to appear to try and save my home. They sent me papers stating that I qualify for help and to call such and such number for assistance. We call and guess what? They say they have no programs like that.

Well I got the money by using my entire paycheck and my wife's paycheck and borrowed the rest to get it caught up to what they say I owed them. We sent it via USPS certified mail and overnight shipping. They signed for it and never applied the money to the account, still in unapplied funds.

Then we finally get a call from somebody that actually knows something and she says that we are currently 3 payments ahead not behind and haven't been behind, has no record of the repo papers that was sent and nobody there has ever seen an account screwed up as much as mine and the worst part nobody knows what to do.

Besides this they totally destroyed my credit. So all the complaints here I will have you to know that I am suing them for the most I can possibly get from them. I requested the payment history and I have as well as many other people never seen such a ** up mess in all my life. I always thought the more you pay on something the less it costs not my home.

I hope they have to change the name from Vanderbilt Mortgage to Williamsen Mortgage the S.O.Bs. Oh another thing they like to hold your money orders to the day after the due date. That way they can get late fees on it as well. I have lots of other things I could put down but you get the point. STAY AWAY FROM THESE SORRY S.O.Bs!!!

     
Replies
They Should Have a Legal Suit Against Them
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

EVANSVILLE, INDIANA -- This company has no morals or empathy for their clients and should be shut down. They have been harassing me and had even gone as far as calling my neighbors, when I don't even have their number. How embarrassing! I have talked to them a lot and they call back in three days to ask the same thing over and over. Yes, I have been late but they have always gotten their money. I always pay them by money gram. These people either get paid a lot or they just don't care.

I myself could not sleep at night knowing I have done that to someone. I sent a money gram and wrote in there, “do not call my neighbors,” they do it anyway. I don't know what law books they are going by but that's harassment and I can get them for that, as anyone else on this page that they are doing this to, can as well.

I had one lady tell me I could not send some money now and then the rest when I get paid. Um...I hate to tell her that's them refusing a payment from me and would not look good in court at all on their part. I think the judge will be a little more understanding to the reason I have been behind since I have been taking care of a dying husband and had to give up my job for a while. He is now in a nursing facilitation, so I can go back to work and having two young kids in the house as well. So, when I go back to work I will have their money before then, we shall see.

I even had one tell me that if I file bankruptcy that I had to include everything. I asked her if she was a lawyer and informed her, yes you can file bankruptcy. It sounds like they need to either clean house our maybe they need to file bankruptcy themselves.

I have a friend that has been in the renting and selling homes for years and I trust him. I called them from his phone one time and now they think they can keep calling his number. No one gave them permission to do that, so be careful everyone if you use someone's phone, they will call it too. They ask me if this is a good contact number and I said no. Again, they are working themselves up to a lawsuit... good luck everyone if anyone what's to take them to court I am game for it.

     
Replies
By -

MARYVILLE, TENNESSEE -- I wish someone would have told me about these people. They are rude, mean, nasty ppl. My house payment is 13 days late. I call to tell them I was going to make my payment next Friday. They told me to go get the money from family or friends. They also told me to go and pawn some items out my house to get the money. They ask me what other bills I have. Who pays my bills? Are those bills behind too? I told them I had to pay my light bill. She told me that I was not responsible. I should have made my house payment first. She said I need the house to have lights.

They asked me personal question. I asked them is my house in foreclosure already. They keep avoiding my question. By telling me I'm putting my problems on other ppl and that I don't know how to handle my business. I also ask them is that how they talk to ppl. I only call to make payment arrangements and they made me feel like I was the lowest thing on this earth. These ppl talk to me as if I was a dog. Something really needs to be done about this company. I'm still shock how these ppl actually talk to me.

Some of the things I rather not put on here because when I think about it it brings tears to my eyes. They said some mean, rude, nasty things to me. :-( I can't believe they told me to go and reapply for disability for my child. I have been out of work for 3 yrs due 2 my child being ill and going through multiple surgery. He told me I should have been back to work 2 yrs ago. They ask you personal question. You give them the answer and they give you smart remarks. I hope no one else go through what I went through with theses ppl. I'm deeply hurt by all of this.

     
Replies
Worst People in the World!
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

TENNESSEE -- My family and I were only 10 days late with a payment. First time ever late. We both got called twice a day every day for a week until we made payment then charged double late fee... They harassed us asking if we can borrow from friend or family, and get a payday loan even! They call from their house and can hear his wife yelling at kids that are screaming!

Really? Why don't you see if you people can borrow some respect and honor! A 125,000 loan and they trapped us as first time buyers, and we are paying 300,000 back. We are disabled and have a fixed income with two small children. They gave us hope and a dream that came true, but took it all away with the aggressive loan and harassment!

     
Replies
Too Stupid To Function And Heartless
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

OKLAHOMA CITY, OKLAHOMA -- My husband and I are purchasing a foreclosed home under Vanderbilt Mortgage. Our loan IS NOT through them but they own the home. We signed an agreement and received a closing date. Fourteen days before we are scheduled to close, my husband and I turned in our 30 day notice to our landlords. We paid for April's full month of rent so we had time to fix a few boo boos the home encountered during our four year NEVER A DAY LATE on rent house. (Holes dug due to our dogs and painting the base boards we nicked with furniture and our toddlers toys).

Apparently Vanderbilt is too stupid to check their titles to the homes they purchase (God forbid they actually read things) and due to THEIR negligence we have to wait for the title to be fixed. We had a signed contract stating we will be moved in on a certain date but could possibly be 5 days earlier or 5 days later than the listed closing date which was okay with us.

However, now we are 8 days past and still no luck with the title being fixed. I thought things were hopeless UNTIL I faxed, emailed, and forwarded texts and the contract to a Real Estate Attorney. Let's just say whether we get that home or another it will be at THEIR expense.

I have never been a "sue happy" person but after being treated like crap this will be extremely gratifying. I also received permission from my attorney to forward all listed above info to our local news stations. Maybe now dealerships will think twice before using these jack wagons for loans!

     
Replies
Rude Account Representatives At VMF
-

TENNESSEE -- I received a call from a representative named ** who didn't say "Please call Vanderbilt"; he said, "I EXPECT you to call Vanderbilt Mortgage." He called 10 minutes later and asked for me. He asked me why my payment was late. I told him I would send it out at the end of the week. He demanded to know why it wasn't in on the 1st. I said I had other things to take care of. He demanded to know what I had to pay before the mortgage and I said it was none of his business, and I told him that I had already called and left a note with someone else saying when it would be paid.

He started yelling at me and then he put someone else on, who said, "Your mortgage is due on the 1st, not after. We don't give grace periods," which is funny, because I've always paid between the 1st and the 10th without any problems from them. I told them that if I was past the 15th, there'd be a late charge. She said, "Just because we don't charge a late fee until then doesn't mean there's a grace period."

She started to threaten me with, "You'd better have it in by the 1st of the month from now on or else." She was so rude and loud that I had to hang up on her. I called back immediately and asked for her supervisor. I told the supervisor that no one has the right to talk to me the way ** and this woman did. I don't know if they thought I was going to meekly give in to that kind of abuse, but if they did, they were sadly mistaken.

     
Replies
Vanderbilt Mortgage needs to have a class action lawsuit against them!
By -

My husband and I purchased a mobile home 4 years ago. Little did we know that this company was so unprofessional. I work for Bank of America short sales and I know how all the modifications and deed in lieu and foreclosure process works. These people are the rudest people you will ever come in contact with. You never hear them emphasize with you when you tell them the trouble you are having.

I called them today to see about a modifications. The representative told me that they did not send us a letter offering any type of assistance and told me I was lying. I then faxed the letter to her and then called her back. Her response was...she never got it! Imagine that! Well needless to say I have the letter and I am going to pursue this to the highest I can get.

They need a class action lawsuit brought against them and I'm just the one to get it started! ** from VMF hung up on me when I called back for the 3rd time. Said he didn't have time for games. Not sure of what games I was playing when I was trying to get help on my mortgage. My home where my children lay their heads at night. Maybe ** doesn't have kids just a dog that he keeps tied up out back. Who's with me?

     
Replies
Doesn't Care About The Customer
By -

MARYVILLE,, TENNESSEE -- My husband and I have been with Vanderbilt since 2003. At first we're satisfied with Vanderbilt. We made our payments on time each and every month never late or nothing. Alright, then my husband's father passed away. We had to cover the funeral expenses. Then my husband hurts his back and off from work over 2 months then I had two small children, therefore not able to work full time anymore.

Alright, since things are getting a little tougher my husband and I thought we would save a little extra money by transferring from a biweekly payment to a monthly payment. My husband calls and speaks to one lady at Vanderbilt. She said that would be fine and our payments would not go over $800.00. After that we get a letter in the mail our mortgage payments are over $800.00. Alright, then later they go up to $900.00, then come down to $700.00 by decreasing and rewriting the insurance on the home.

At the end, our mobile home notes go back up to $800.00. And now, my husband and I are 2 months past due, and we don't know what to do. No one that we know is refinancing mobile homes, and if you are not living in a mansion lenders really do not want to talk with you. We have tried to talk with Vanderbilt on several occasions about a loan modification, extension of payment, or a forbearance. They do not want to work with us. All Vanderbilt does is call every other day and demand the money. Then they tell us if we don't have the money in the office by a certain day they are going to foreclose on the home.

They threaten to foreclose on the home even if we are just 5 or 6 days late. This company is unrealistic. They need to care for the customers and not just money. Everyone is having trouble some times due to the economy and other situations in their lives. Companies like Vanderbilt they do not care at all. As of right now my husband and I don't really know what to do. We like our place but we are constantly struggling to make ends meet and plus pay the mortgage note. We just need help but no one to turn to. We have been told that we can file a lawsuit against Vanderbilt for going up our notes due to us having a fixed rate. We haven't decided yet.

     
Replies
Bloodhounds at work!
By -

MARYVILLE, TENNESSEE -- Please read all reviews on this site and other sites and stay away from them. Our nightmare started in 2007 when we purchased a home from them. They are the most rude people I have ever come into contact with. Back in 2008 I lost my job twice due to a layoff and on the VMF website they do have a section that is called "Foreclosure prevention" so we asked for a deferment and a loan modification due to my financial situation which were denied yet we were asked to pay more each month to get caught up again.

I went from about $3000 per month to 1150 per month as income and the mortgage is $1190 per month. So go figure how I would be able to pay more? I do not want to go through a foreclosure yet these people do not help you out at all. Anyway I was able to get caught up and pay the monies that were owed. Now I did find work yet my income is less than half from what I was making and I had some major bills to pay.

So I asked them to just defer 1 month and of course the answer was NO and I had gotten rude remarks to the extent that my home should be more important than any medical or car issues. Yet if I don't have a car I can not get to work and won't be able to pay anything. I was told to go and find the money somehow to go borrow it.

Just very rude and unprofessional. I know a few people in my neighborhood that have not made payments for close to 1 year on their homes and I don not want to go that route at all but these animals at VMF are driving me crazy. They need to be stopped and they need to be willing to help people out

     
Replies
Top of Page | Next Page >