Preview Review

Next Review

Verizon Wireless Consumer Reviews - Page 3

Most Popular | Newest | More Options >
More filter options:
Mistakes Upon Mistakes
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

I changed over to Verizon when I moved back in April of 2011 as I hated the service that Comcast provided. For much of my time with Verizon, I was very happy with the service provided and little to no issues with them. This all changed starting in August of 2012. One fine day in August, my DVR Box would randomly turn itself off and restart. I contacted Verizon about the issue and they informed me that it appears that the DVR Box had to be replaced as hard drive died. They would send me out a new DVR Box, free of charge (this is what I would expect). I received the new box and sent back the old back.

Unfortunately, with the new DVR Box, all of my DVR information was lost. Verizon said that there was nothing that they could do in transferring the information to the new box. This is an annoyance, but having to only deal with it once so far with them, wasn't too bad.

The first NFL weekend of the year rolled around and I go to turn on the NFL Redzone Network about 30 minutes prior to kick off, which is the main reason why I have the sports package. The channel says that it's not available as I'm not subscribed. I contacted Verizon and they said that they sent out an email in August saying that people may not be getting it without signing up for it. I checked my email and didn't get that, so I asked to be re-subscribed to it. They did so and said it would be back up and running in 15 minutes.

After about 20 minutes, I still have the error message and call Verizon again. At this point, the early games are starting and I'm not happy. Eventually, I get a hold of Verizon and they said that all Verizon users are having a problem with NFL Redzone and that they are working on it. I asked about the email and subscription thing, and they said that they had no idea what I was talking about. I asked if I would be getting some type of credit due to the error, to which they said that a credit would be issued, of some sort. The NFL Redzone channel was down for a majority of the early games, making it almost useless for the first week of the NFL season.

Fast forward to October 31st. My DVR Box starts to randomly turn off again. I contact Verizon to let them know and they have me do a couple of things with the box to see if they can solve the problem. Eventually, they state that they have found the issue and have fixed the problem and that my box won't have any more issues. I made sure that they pointed out that they found the issue and fixed it so that it wasn't just something they couldn't find and were telling me there's nothing wrong.

A few hours later, the box randomly turned off again. Once again, I had to contact Verizon. When I did, they went through a couple of tests again and concluded that I needed a new box as the hard drive was done. I was quite angry since this was a new box and was just told that they fixed the issue a couple of hours ago.

They said that it's very rare for a hard drive to do this, but will replace it, free of charge. I explained that this was the second hard drive to have this issue in the past few months and wasn't going to be happy if I had to keep losing all of my DVR info and sending in for new boxes every couple of months. I was assured that the next box wouldn't have that happen.

I then decided to ask about my credit from the NFL Redzone issue. She was aware of the issue, but said that she wasn't aware of a credit, so she transferred me to an account specialist. When I was talking with the specialist, they needed my account number. I do paperless billing, so I attempted to pull up my bill online. The Verizon website said I was logged in, but wouldn't allow me to pull up my bill, saying that I wasn't logged in (I know, I didn't understand that). So I would attempt to log in again, but it said I couldn't because I was already logged in.

I explained this problem to Verizon and they said that if they gave me the last amount paid to Verizon, they could very my account. So I pull up my credit card statement and tell them the last amount paid to Verizon (paid via auto-pay). They said that the number was incorrect. So I went to the prior month and they said that was incorrect as well. I went to the prior month and again they said that none of those numbers match with amounts they are showing that I paid.

By this point I was furious and couldn't deal with them anymore. So I decided to just end the conversation and come back to it the next time I had to contact Verizon. Last night, I was looking at my credit card statement and noticed that my Verizon charge was $17 higher than normal. I went to my Verizon bill and saw that I was being charged for 2 DVR Boxes, so I contacted Verizon.

Verizon informed me that I had 2 DVR Boxes, so that's why I was being charged. I explained to them about the issue back on Oct. 31st and how they sent a replacement box. They did see that and then said that they only charge an account for a second box if the bad box isn't returned within 30 days. I asked what day they got the box back, knowing that I returned it well within 30 days. They said that they got the back back on November 21st, which is less than 30 days.

They said that this must have been a Verizon mistake and they will issue me a credit on my next statement. I then decided to ask about the NFL Redzone credit, to see the status of that. I was informed that Verizon decided not to issue a credit. I inquired as to why they decided not to rely this information onto its customers, but they didn't answer that, saying that they were sorry, but the channel was only out for a few hours. I really hope Verizon gets their act back together as I really don't want to change providers, but it's getting close to the point where the lesser of the two evils might be Comcast.

Replies
Advertisement
Poor Customer Service on Defective Phones
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

ST. PERTERSBURG, FLORIDA -- I was given this phone last year for being a valued customer for over 20 years. I started having problems with the phone prior to expiration of warranty. Called Verizon and spoke to Joshua and he advised me to call a specific number, tell them he told me to call and explain to them that the phone is barely out of warranty, and the problems I am having. These are the keyboard would double the letters, the keys would stick, took several times to try to dial a number and had many dropped calls.

My clients, due to this being my business phone, would have to call my home because they weren't able to reach me on the cell phone. Verizon checked the phone, told me it was the phone. Called Tech Support @ Verizon. They advised a replacement phone of the same kind and brand would be sent out overnight delivery for the next day. With as many times as I have called, Zach said he would give me a 20.00 credit for inconvenience.

I received the replacement phone the next day. Verizon programmed the phone and it had more problems than the other one. When I tried to dial a number, it hung up, when someone would call, it hung up. After three days of trying to get the phone to work, I called Verizon again. They advised they would send me a different type of phone, the LG Cosmos II which would be ready to be programmed, and it would be sent out overnight delivery. The phone came in without the back of the phone, a battery or charger.

I recontacted Verizon explained the situation. They sent the battery and charger, but no back to the phone so I couldn't even get that one connected. It's been 3 weeks and many phone calls to Verizon. The back of the phone was supposed to be here Saturday. It didn't come. Recontacted Verizon again, they advised it would be here Monday, now it is Monday and not here yet. I continued to tell them this is a business phone and I need it.

Excuses continued to come, advising this time the back of the phone will arrive before 3:00 on Tuesday 12/4/12. I am waiting to see. When they send replacement phones, they are refurbished. I told the representative tonight I wanted a new phone. She said she can't help me there. By now, I am very aggravated. I do believe Verizon should give me a free, non-refurbished phone of my choice. They need to do something for a customer that has been a valued one for that many years.

So everyone, beware of the refurbished phones. Asurion is their current cell phone insurance company and they send out refurbished phones for Verizon. There is a cell phone insurance company out there that will send you a new phone when you purchase their insurance and file a claim. Verizon Tech Support tells me there is no such thing. I reminded her that it was a local representative and technician at the Verizon Store in Pinellas Park is the one that provided the information to me.

Three weeks now, and still no decent phone. The service used to be good, that is why I stayed with them so long, now it has changed drastically. With as much as we have to pay for service, and always a contract with Verizon, they should be more accommodating to their customers needs. Angry Customer.

Replies
Billing Nightmares
By -

PENNSYLVANIA -- OK let me begin at the beginning. We bought into the FiOS frenzy in August. Our representative who came to the house stated "we can bundle your package and come in lower than DirecTV." I was paying 139.99 for DTV, my bill for VZ should have been 129.99 for triple play. NOT. Every month I have to call for an adjustment to my account.

The nightmare started in January of 2011. I paid my bill in January, they claimed they never received my payment. Lo and behold they credited my old telephone account. Duh. Here comes February, I did not pay the bill, as I was told to see if my credits would hit, they did not. Of course, this is the way it goes. March first at 4:30 in the morning, I made a payment over the telephone for 371.97. OK so I thought I was done. NOT, again they kicked me when I was down.

On March 4th they shut my entire service off for non-payment. When I called them from my office they stated they see the confirm number of the payment I made on the first, but cannot locate the funds. WTF? Service representative stated "if you want your service you will have to pay again and call back for a credit." OMG are they serious? I am not rich, I work for a living.

4 hours 17 reps later, I was told there was nothing they could do, as they could not locate the funds. I told them "please check my old account as it has been credited there in the past." They told me that the number on that account was inactive. Duh they shut it off that morning. So, in the end, I had to make another payment. No food for the kids that week. I made the payment and decided to check my account at my bank, well there was the debit from Verizon.

I called back and spoke to another person/representative and was told, "that was for the payment that you made this morning." "No," I told her, "if that was the case, why was the debit yesterday?" This representative hung up on me, so I called back and asked for payment arrangements. The person here did indeed help me, but we are not done yet. This person said they would mail me out a check, which they did. I cashed it like any normal person would.

Here's the catch. My bill for April just showed up on my computer. I now owe 470.00 to Verizon. They want the money back that they refunded me. They stated that the check was sent to me in error as I had a balance on my account. Of course I had a balance on my account, they cannot get the billing correct to save their lives. So I had to call again today, I spoke to a Mrs. **. She said she noted the account heavily that there is not to be a charge for the money that was sent back to me, then she had to remove not 1 but all three reconnect fees of 139.99, WTF.

Just got a call from Verizon to please contact them regarding when I am going to pay the 470.00. OMG can I pull my hair out now. The people there really need to start giving confirmation numbers or reference numbers, are we to believe just because they say it is correct now that their word is good as gold? People beware of Verizon billing, it's the stuff nightmares are made of.

Replies
Corporate Store or Not?
By -

ROCK HILL, SOUTH CAROLINA -- A little over a year ago, I purchased a smart phone (HTC Droid Eris). Turns out not as smart as other phones. LOL. I have two complaints. 1. I purchased the phone new from Verizon. Shortly after buying the phone I found that the phone did not function well. Getting to the Internet was unreal. It takes a very long time for pages to load. I usually get tired of waiting and end up using my laptop. I also had a problem with calls. Pulling up previously dialed calls or missed calls and using this to return calls takes so long I end up hitting the call button twice so I call the same person twice.

When checking voice mail, the phone goes black and normally when you move the phone the keypad SHOULD pop back up so that you can make number choices for those automated phones. Well, my phone stayed black. The only way to get the screen to turn back on was to hit the red phone, which I am sure you know disconnects the call and you get to start all over. I called CS and told them of all the problems I was having and they said they were going to send me a "new phone". A few days later I got a box with part of a phone in it. It was not new - it was refurbished.

I called CS and the person apologized that the first agent was supposed to tell me that it would be a refurbished phone. They also told me that there was nothing they could do because the phone was discontinued! I can understand why but when you purchase a phone and get a 2 year contract you would think the phone would work for the length of the contract. I contacted CS several times and a girl finally told me that if I turn the volume up or down on the side of the phone that the phone will light back up so I can use the key pad. Well, at least that helped a little. It is still a hassle. I feel as if I've been screwed! I purchased a new phone, ended up with a frustrating, poor functioning USED phone.

My second complaint. At the time of purchase I was told that I had to carry the data plan for at least one year even though my contract was for 2 years. Well, since the Internet is so sluggish I decided to cancel the Internet and just have the phone and text messaging on the phone. Well, CS told me that since I have a smart phone that the data package is required in order to keep the phone on my plan. I could have the data plan lowered from unlimited mb usage at $30 per month to 150mb at a rate of $15.00 per month.

He said that I had already used 500mb and I advised him that it was probably from me putting the phone down when I would get frustrated for having to wait so long for pages to load. The CS representative I spoke to was apologetic and told me that the store I purchased my phone from was not a "corporate" store and that they had misinformed me regarding the data package requirement. He said that the way I would know that the store was not corporate is that under the Verizon logo there should be the real name of the company.

Summation: When you are considering entering into a contract with any cellular company, make sure you are in a "Corporate" store. If they tell you that there is a warranty and replacement on the phone, make them show it to you "IN THE CONTRACT" not a brochure. If they tell you "you can change your plan", make them show you where it is stated "IN THE CONTRACT". I spoke to a lawyer and was told that the cell company contracts are virtually iron clad. If you sign on the bottom line, you are stuck with whatever is written "IN THE CONTRACT".

Oh and the CS representative yesterday informed me that I was eligible for a phone upgrade. I thought that may be this was because of the problems with the phone. Then, I asked if I got an upgraded phone would I have to extend my contract another 2 years. Well of course it was YES. I can't image why I would want to continue this punishment and dealings with Verizon CS. Needless to say, I did not take him up on the upgrade and I will not be renewing my contract with Verizon. I am tired of being on the ** end of the stick so I WILL READ THE NEXT CONTRACT BEFORE SIGNING IT!!!

Replies
Advertisement
Verizon's Legendary Terrible Customer Service, Firsthand
By -

NEW YORK, NY -- I am furious. I was using my phone to make a payment. It was a new phone and I must have hit the wrong button. I thought I was entering a payment of $xxx. Instead I paid the full balance which is not due for 15 days. I CANNOT afford to pay that extra $xxx right now. I spoke with a VZ representative that same day, he completed a form and told me it would take 72 hours to process. I called to check the status today and was told by a representative (she was a moron, in case you care) it can take up to 10 days to process the request. Are you kidding?

I have since spoken with a very nice supervisor (the ONLY person out of 3 who seemed to have a clue... he provided excellent customer service) and he has said 24-48 hours is the norm. I am writing to be sure you understand my frustration.

Please expedite this request for a refund. I will never make a payment from my phone again. I manage social media for a living and I am controlling the desire to rip VZ on Twitter, Facebook, Linkedin, Tumblr, Friendfeed, StumbleUpon and my blog. I am so mad right now. ANY other company would reverse this within 1 day. It has been 3 days already!!!!! Please deal with this within 24 hours and notify me that it has been resolved.

Replies
16 Phones in 4.5 Years
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

FOLSOM, CALIFORNIA -- The following is my tale, based on email written to Verizon ahead of a small claims case I will soon be filing against Verizon, of how I came to be known as “14-phone guy”. In 4.5 years, Verizon has sent me 16 warranty replacement phones – this does not include upgrades or Asurion replacements. Nearly all of the 16 suffered from data-related issues. Some would freeze when an email came in while others would simply stop loading pages for an extended period. By the end of my first year I had already been through three Blackberries. Over the next three years came 11 Droids.

Since January 2013, I have already been through three iPhones with the last, my current, frequently fails to transfer or receive data during most of the day occurring on most days. Throughout all of this, Verizon never offered anything beyond replacing the device – meaning, they never once considered the possibility that there was a problem with their network. 4.5 years and 16 phones later, Verizon just now ordered the FIRST IT ticket on my account. And I find that unreasonable and unacceptable. Plus, the ordeal involving my current phone's dysfunction proved the worse.

That story follows: In December, it was time for my 13th phone. So, after all other OS failed me, or so I believed, I switched to the iPhone – what everyone believed would solve the mystery of my continuously dying phones. However, within one month of my December purchase, my first iPhone stopped charging while all data-based programs began to slow whenever an email was coming in. But Apple replaced it. The next phone would slow to a near crawl for extended periods whenever using data. But Apple replaced it.

By the third day of my next and current iPhone, it began simply freezing whenever using data – to the point where most of the workday my phone can only be used for texts and calls - a worsening but nearly identical to my experiences with the majority of my Verizon phones. Specifically, my current phone can take two hours to load my Gmail if at all; lose GPS at any moment - often while in transit; and lose all internet accessibility. This occurs most days, regardless of location - the one absolute is that it is the least reliable anywhere in Manhattan.

However, this time Apple refused to replace it explaining that they believe the issue to be in the network. Since Apple identified my carrier as the culprit, I called Verizon. This began the biggest challenge and worst ordeal of all my 16 replacement phones. When I first called, I spoke with one of the few truly amazing workers I have come across during my 100s of hours dealing with Verizon due to their failure to ever truly remedy the situation. This representative was the first and only to take note of how many phones I've been through and the first and only to finally ask, "What's going on here?"

He, more importantly, informed me that he was going to write my first IT ticket. THE FIRST! That's right; through 16 phones in 4.5 years, nobody had ever once written an IT ticket. He explained that he was doing so due to a potential problem he identified that would have affected my service across all phones since joining the Verizon network - something related to an inconsistency between my phone's number and its linked shared secret number. (I truly don't remember but this number was described to me as a sort of identification number that is paired with your cell number and is used whenever roaming as well as by all data-related programs.)

Just like what I have been experiencing, he explained that texts and calls would not be affected. However, everything else, regardless of device, OS, etc., could be compromised. What I heard was that Verizon could have prevented this from continuing and instead left me chasing an impossibility (that the problems were in the device) while wasting my time and money. I believe that it is reasonable to assume that if an IT ticket had been issued earlier, or really if any investigative process was launched at all, then I would likely have saved many hours and much frustration. However, at this point, the "ordeal" is just getting warmed up.

The IT ticket was submitted and I was advised that the resolution would take up to 72 hours but that they often call for more info with the first 24. To date I have yet to receive one call on this matter. All info I have gathered myself when calling, which I did each time I found myself carrying a useless smartphone – I called nearly every day. Through the course of those calls, four reps decided to "take on the case" and promised to "call every day” to update me - one called once to tell me that there was no update. That was on day 13. I never heard from him again.

I experienced literally no customer service while living with essentially a flip phone in an iPhone case everywhere in the city and frequently everywhere else. At day 14, I literally begged for them to “do something.” The only “offer” I received was to buy another phone and line and add it to my account. I could then return it within the first 14 days for a full refund. That was it. On the 17th day without any contact from customer service, I called and was told that the IT ticket had identified the "cause." I was told that my phone suffered from poor coverage in my home area.

Now mind you that I never complained of issues near my home and was very specific when explaining that it is the most problematic in Manhattan. Additionally, of my many Verizon iPhone 5 friends who frequent my apartment, I am the only to complain of accessibility issues. Furthermore, not only was I clear when describing the issue, but when the IT ticket was described by customer reps who I was speaking with at Verizon, it mentioned my home calling area as the problem area and both times I corrected them.

I specifically asked that they adjust the IT ticket accordingly. However, this was apparently for naught as the 17-day IT ticket ultimately “investigated” an inaccurate complaint. Meaning, after 17-days, I am left with no resolution or even progress - or even reliable access. My phone continues to struggle even when sitting next to my girlfriend, a Verizon iPhone 5 customer as well. I believe this 17-day - but should have been three day – IT ticket report is an utter fabrication. Flat out. No investigation was conducted.

I then requested that my second ever IT ticket be written and submitted now containing that appropriate location – everywhere but mainly in Manhattan. In the meantime, I am now entering my 22 day since first informing Verizon of the failures of their network to deliver reliable service to my 16th phone. Again, Verizon has done nothing.

The take home message? Clearly, Verizon has failed me. They did not do all they could in order to provide me with access to their reliable network, which caused an absolute loss of time, money, and effort, not to mention an absolute loss of faith in Verizon. I have worked harder than anyone at Verizon to remedy this still unresolved problem while Verizon failed to perform their due diligence in attempting to remedy the situation. I use a failure to perform due diligence here to represent Verizon's refusal to explore all possibilities especially given the extreme circumstances concerning my case.

Instead, the route easiest for each customer service representative was taken and they simply replaced the device instead, which essentially puts the problem back on me and continues to deny me access to the network. I was told that filing a full IT report could take a representative hours to complete. When taking this further, due to Verizon's failure, it is likely that my ability to take full advantage of the network as described in the contract was prevented.

This has resulted in numerous difficulties including recently becoming lost on foot for two hours in Baltimore during a heat wave due to my data connection dropping for two hours all while trying to navigate my way to a destination - in fact, just this past weekend I had to pull over to wait for my GPS to load while driving to Baltimore. Beyond the impact of an unreliable phone, I have dedicated an untold amount of hours both on the phone and in person attempting to remedy the situation all the while Verizon did nothing but were the only ones who held the ability to correct the dysfunction. I was literally wasting my time and it was a result of Verizon's failure.

I was also told that beyond a $52 credit given early in July for the days of compromised connectivity but before the actual filing of the ticket, Verizon will not credit me any amount for any of the days spent investigating the ticket. I was told that Verizon credits for time their network was down – not slow. I explained that email would take hours upon hours to load to which I was told, “…so you're saying that it would eventually load.” They also informed me that according to their records, my phone had use “a lot of data” during the times I reported.

I have no idea how this is possible due to all I've described but I do know that the phone would not simply freeze; it would continuously attempt to load a page, refresh mail, or connect to GPS. Perhaps this was the cause. Regardless, no credit was offered. I did call back and try again to which I was offered $10. I denied the offer. This is simply unacceptable and I will not accept it. Thanks to the ridiculously erroneously-based or flat out bogus IT report, which states that I have "poor coverage" in my home calling area, I am able to leave Verizon with no cancellation fines.

However, forgiving the cancellation fee in no way comes close to making up for the time dedicated and lost on this futile effort. It is the futility of this effort and Verizon's refusal to allow me access to the network by failing to investigate anything beyond the device while I continued to experience significant disruptions – all the while paying full fare – that I believe warrants consideration of the legitimacy of the right of Verizon to keep my payments. I believe they do not and should even owe for the unintended consequence of their intentional refusal to explore instead of replace. Fortunately, this is a quantifiable amount, which I intend to pursue.

I will be filing against Verizon in small claims court. I was informed that I have to advise you of my intent at least 30-days before actually doing so. Please consider this email to be that statement of intent. Additionally, I was told that Verizon cannot inform me of the frequency and duration of my customer service calls without subpoena. Therefore this email also serves as notification of intent to file for a subpoena in 30-days as well.

I anticipate learning that I have spent well over 100 hours attempting to deal with this situation. I will be seeking compensation for that time plus reimbursement for money spent for compromised access to the Verizon network and inefficient support in remedying - or even attempting to identify the cause.

Verizon needs to care about customers in general but should take note of one who has gone through 16 phones in 4.5 years. One for whom Verizon never opened an IT ticket and instead just saddled him with years of difficulties. One who waited 17 days with no contact at all just to be told the results of investigation into the wrong address and that offers no resolution. And one who still lacks reliable access to the network. There is absolutely no justification for this.

If you know how to help, please do. If not, then just voice your displeasure with the monster Verizon and the methods of their madness- inducing customer service whenever and wherever possible. I am posting this email everywhere I can. Thank you.

Replies
Really Crappy Customer Service
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

RALEIGH, NORTH CAROLINA -- With Verizon, currently I have a month of service that I have been charged for TWICE. Charges on my bill where they gave me a data line that I specifically asked to NOT have and NOT be charged for that they charged me for I don't know how many months and they won't refund all of the charges. A phone that the microphone only partially works on when I make outgoing calls that I bought from them 20 days ago that they refuse to refund. 15 years of service with Verizon Wireless where I paid my bill on time. A Google search for a new company to buy my cell phone service from.

Details of Verizon's incompetence in the customer service area. Endless automated system loop where if you hit 0, the system hangs up on you. I also tried calling the local store, who would just forward me to the same customer service line that liked to put you in an endless automated loop. Hint, call a store and have them stay on the line with you until you actually get to a person at customer service. This only take 30 minutes or so. I don't know how many phone calls that I made to customer service where I actually got to a person (instead of an automated system endless loop) where they promised to call me back and did not. One person actually called me back.

The first level customer service line that the first level customer service representative told me that he did not know his manager's name and could not get to a manager. He also told me that he did not have a manager. Which I, of course, really wonder about. I would think that a company as big as Verizon would have a few management layers between the first level customer support and the CEO, Daniel S. Mead.

It was only when I kept him on the phone for repeatedly giving him the same 3 choices, give me a refund, tell me you don't want me as a customer anymore (hanging up on me would count towards that) or transferring me to his manager that he remembered his manager's name. But he refused to transfer me to his manager for the longest time. I am sure most people would have just hung up in frustration at this point. But those of you that know me, know that although I do not dig in my heals often, when I do, I am unmovable.

A call with a manager who was the highest one available at that time said there was no one else that could help me and how would I feel if someone called me from work when I was at home to ask me something - which I told him that it would feel like a normal day where I worked. Who said he could refund all of those things if we wanted to because he could refund anything he wanted to but was choosing not to refund me. Who said Customer Retention refused to talk to me. Who hung up on me and by hang up he said something to the effect of "We value you as a customer but cannot help you in this matter" and hung up the phone.

Sat on the phone with me for 20-30 minutes not saying anything... Except when I would ask him if he valued me as a customer which he repeatedly said he did. I did ask him about business models and cost of getting a new customer vs. retaining an old customer and profit/loss and estimate of how much profit they had made off of me in the last 15 years and if I kept my current plan, how much profit they would expect to make out of me in the next 15 years. Then calculate the percentage the refund would be out of the 15 years of profit they already made out of me. You know, your basic business ROI analysis... No effect.

This, of course, does not count all the potential lost profit that they would receive in the future from people that seek out the advice of their local tech geek (me) on who to go with and who to say away from on just about every technology topic out there. I wonder what their CEO would think their "Highest Customer Service Manager in the Building"'s math skills and customer retention capabilities. The last time I threatened to leave a cell phone company because of poor customer service was... Well 15 years ago. NEEDLESS TO SAY, I AM SWITCHING CELL PHONE PROVIDERS.

The really sad part: I have spoken to 4 people since 5:30 pm about this. 1 person just switched from Verizon because of their crappy customer service. 1 person is waiting for their contract to expire in February to switch providers because of customer service. Right now I am hearing good things about T-Mobile, Boost and Straight Talk.

Replies
Verizon Changing My Service Through Best Buy Without Me Knowing It...
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

Here is my story... I went into Best Buy because they gave me 50.00 off a 4s. At the time I had and have an unlimited plan on all of my phones. The Best Buy representative killed my unlimited plan on that phone without my knowledge. Even after I asked him to make sure my plan does not change. My plan is designed to roll over to the new phones (which it has so many times in the past)...

This did not happen. I got my 1st bill which was higher than normal, but I did not think anything of it because the first bill is normally higher when I switch in the middle of the billing cycle. When my next bill came in, it was still $25.00 higher. I called Verizon after much debate they said "No problem, I will send it to our loyalty department and have them switch it back." They declined that request saying it was after the 15 day window (really?). Well guess what, how would I have known it was 15 days?

Do they really think I wanted to change my plan to the more expensive plan. Also the original guy told me he would call me back... He didn't. I call back and speak with a supervisor, same story, only she said normally they just automatically decline these and promised that she would call them personally and call me back. Well they declined it again and guess what, she never called me back. I called back again today and he said "I will dispute it again and put more information in there and tell them to please help me as I have been with them since '08" -- he should have added that BEST BUY SCREWED THIS UP, NOT ME.

I am sure the response will be the same. Going on 5 years with Verizon... 4 phones... And this is the treatment I get. I was told when I left T-Mobile years ago that their service is way better than Verizon. Until now I have not found this to be the case. Verizon has always been accommodating. This is just ridiculous how they are doing this to me. It may take me 2 years to transfer my service to another carrier, but that is what I will do. All for $25.00 a month Verizon... I guess it is worth it to them to lose me.

I am thinking as Verizon gets bigger more of these "policy" decision will be made with no customer focus. I love Verizon and it kills me to write this... They need to seriously reconsider their Vendors in the future (not to mention their policy) and put the human touch back into their service. Anyone reading this will automatically know that this is NOT the right thing for the customer. I would love to be the first person to respond back on this site about how Verizon did the right thing... It is an easy fix and would restore my faith in them as a company once again.

Replies
Advertisement
Verizon Continues Billing of Cancelled Insurance Then Harasses Consumer
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

WARRENDALE, PENNSYLVANIA -- March 9, 2012
Verizon Wireless, Office of Executive Relations
PO Box 553
Warrendale, PA 15086

Dear Christopher:

I am in receipt of your letter dated March 7. As you are well aware, I made repeated attempts by post to have Asurion insurance removed from my account, beginning in November 2011 and continuing until March 2012. Asurion confirmed the cancellation immediately. Nevertheless, Verizon continued to charge my account.

In my repeated correspondence I specifically said I would not accept phone calls from you. There are numerous reasons for this policy: 1.) I will not waste time on redundant phone calls, i. e., the nature of the problem was very clear in my post; 2.) Verizon's website plainly states that customer service can, in fact, be handled by post; 3.) Verizon failed to cancel the insurance, therefore, the only resolution is a revised bill. Merely discussing the problem on the phone is unacceptable.

Most companies do not require a phone call to confirm such modifications—offering more efficient resolution by chat or by email—thus eliminating redundant phone calls, voice mails and return phone calls. I absolutely cannot abide a company that puts its own preferred method of communication above the customer's specific instructions. Christopher, I will not return your call, and then wait on a phone line for 10 minutes or longer to instruct you of requirements for my account—when I have already mailed you the instructions.

You disregarded those instructions, harassing my elderly mother by calling her line numerous times. You then called my disabled daughter's line several times, leaving forceful messages. You upset my young daughter so much that she begged me to "tell the angry man to stop calling." Ultimately, I received an email stating that the account had been correctly credited as per my November 2011 instructions—a simple and effective communication. Nevertheless, Christopher, you continued this harassment in a petulant letter complaining that I "hung up" on you.

Christopher, I am more than a little dismayed by your behavior—particularly in light of your chosen field. Furthermore, your insistence on blaming me for your inability to service the customer is reprehensible. Your letter states: " any delay in accomplishing this modification to your account was because that we were unable to speak with you directly " Christopher, suffice it to say I am not convinced that this almost five-month delay in meeting the customer's needs was, in fact, my fault.

It appears that you, as Coordinator of Verizon Wireless' Office of Executive Relations care little for the customer's needs. What I needed, was for the insurance to be cancelled/credited with as little intrusion into my life as possible. Quite simply, Christopher, your job is to be the solution, not the problem. You, as a representative of Verizon, made an absolute nuisance of yourself.

I am a long-time Verizon customer. Nevertheless, the moment my contract expires, I will switch all three of my lines to AT&T. In the meantime, I will inform everyone I know personally and through social media, that Verizon Wireless' Office of Executive Relations is disrespectful to its customers—to the point of harassment.

I am sending this letter, along with a copy of your missive, to the Verizon Human Resources Department. I urge the Human Resources department to maintain this letter as a testament to your obvious inability to offer customer service in any capacity.

Replies
Absolutely Intolerable To Work With The Customer
By -

HICKORY, NORTH CAROLINA -- This company is getting away with absolute greed and feel it is very acceptable to provide poor customer service to anyone! I have had it!!! Anyone reading this review should know that the FCC has a solution to their blatant ignorance to persons with disabilities. Section 255 addresses all issues they are in violation of when I dealt them for over 4-months. I currently have files a complaint with consumer complaint bureau; federal communication commission; and the Americans with disability. Section 255 from the FCC shows that they have broken many violations toward myself, and I know I am not alone.

It is time that we stand up to these cell phone companies and stop the crimes they are committing to the public. The banks were scrutinized for "nickel-and-diming" the public to death. Why do these cell phone providers feel and are treated as though they are untouchable? I am tired of being dumped on. Join in if you feel the same. I will give you additional information. I purchased a prepay phone (Samsung intensity ii) in October 2011.

This phone became my biggest nightmare and so did Verizon wireless. They e-mail me that they have taken $50 directly out of my account. My bank tells me they are taking $53+ out of my banking account. The phone would not store contacts/scrambled all information within the phone/web access was not entirely available, there is more. Verizon store continued to replace the Samsung at least 3-times because they could see it was not working properly. Each time the phone was replaced, the last issues (web, contacts, etc.) continued! To make it worse, each replaced phone brought its own different problems.

Verizon customer support told me to take the phone to Hickory, NC on US-70 SE store location to have the phone shocked. I did that and when the tech shocked the phone, it did not register. I went home to await a shipment of the same phone, and one week later I went back to hickory to pick it up. Phone was again defective. Again I returned to the store, they wanted to give me another phone! I reset, with customer service guiding me, the phone 5-times to factory specs. Still no good. Same fricking problems multiplied.

I tried to reach Verizon to place a complaint. Good luck with that. I called customer service and wanted the corporate phone number. Their response was, "It is unusual that no one has the corporate telephone number, only the address. I have phone numbers where they tried to contact me, left a message. I dialed the same number back. Same day. Phone is disconnected. Finding these people is like running after your own tail, for god sake.

I will be composing a more detailed letter to the federal communications commission (FCC) and they have instructed me exactly what has happened. The details are so confusing (only because Verizon makes it that way). It is hard to quickly update you via this site, for now. I will post my letter so that anyone interested can get the entire story, sequentially. I have 30-pages of day-to-day notes that I must compile into a time-line. I have all names, phone numbers, responses. I locked the limited calls I received from Verizon on my phone. This will come in handy.

Pull up the FCC article 255 via www.fccinfo@fcc.gov. Their violations toward me are very specific to me and may be to some of you reading this. The end result that Verizon wireless decided was to replace my phone (a band new Intensity II) with a refurbished (LG VN 250). Not comparable in so many ways! They shoved the phone in my hand (literally), rudely told me to leave the store and never gave me the owner's manual, the correct charging cord for this phone... Not even a box!

I am not one of their priority customers because I am a prepay customer. They have my money when I bought the phone and if I do not pay the $50 (oopps...The $53), big deal. They want to sell the better phones ranging from $400 - $700, 2-year contracts, all the bells and whistles they can shove down the customers throat, and all cell phone companies will charge you an outrageous monthly fee with, as you know, huge cancellation fees for early termination of the contract.

If you do not comply, you are sent to collections. Again, there was a tremendous amount of focus and energy put into crucifying the banks, why do the wireless companies has privileges to rip off the public in any way they please! As this situation continues to evolve, I hope you will continue to read my updates. Washington, DC needs to receive your input if you are experiencing any problems, or compliments.

Replies
Top of Page | Next Page >

Verizon Wireless Rating:
Star Half star Empty star Empty star Empty star
1.3 out of 5, based on 77 ratings and
150 reviews & complaints.
Contact Information:
Verizon Wireless
PO Box 5029
Wallingford, CT 06492
800-256-4646 (ph)
www.verizonwireless.com
Compare Phone/Mobile Services