Preview Review

Next Review

Verizon Wireless Consumer Reviews - Page 3

Most Popular | Newest | More Options >
More filter options:
Really Crappy Customer Service
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

RALEIGH, NORTH CAROLINA -- With Verizon, currently I have a month of service that I have been charged for TWICE. Charges on my bill where they gave me a data line that I specifically asked to NOT have and NOT be charged for that they charged me for I don't know how many months and they won't refund all of the charges. A phone that the microphone only partially works on when I make outgoing calls that I bought from them 20 days ago that they refuse to refund. 15 years of service with Verizon Wireless where I paid my bill on time. A Google search for a new company to buy my cell phone service from.

Details of Verizon's incompetence in the customer service area. Endless automated system loop where if you hit 0, the system hangs up on you. I also tried calling the local store, who would just forward me to the same customer service line that liked to put you in an endless automated loop. Hint, call a store and have them stay on the line with you until you actually get to a person at customer service. This only take 30 minutes or so. I don't know how many phone calls that I made to customer service where I actually got to a person (instead of an automated system endless loop) where they promised to call me back and did not. One person actually called me back.

The first level customer service line that the first level customer service representative told me that he did not know his manager's name and could not get to a manager. He also told me that he did not have a manager. Which I, of course, really wonder about. I would think that a company as big as Verizon would have a few management layers between the first level customer support and the CEO, Daniel S. Mead.

It was only when I kept him on the phone for repeatedly giving him the same 3 choices, give me a refund, tell me you don't want me as a customer anymore (hanging up on me would count towards that) or transferring me to his manager that he remembered his manager's name. But he refused to transfer me to his manager for the longest time. I am sure most people would have just hung up in frustration at this point. But those of you that know me, know that although I do not dig in my heals often, when I do, I am unmovable.

A call with a manager who was the highest one available at that time said there was no one else that could help me and how would I feel if someone called me from work when I was at home to ask me something - which I told him that it would feel like a normal day where I worked. Who said he could refund all of those things if we wanted to because he could refund anything he wanted to but was choosing not to refund me. Who said Customer Retention refused to talk to me. Who hung up on me and by hang up he said something to the effect of "We value you as a customer but cannot help you in this matter" and hung up the phone.

Sat on the phone with me for 20-30 minutes not saying anything... Except when I would ask him if he valued me as a customer which he repeatedly said he did. I did ask him about business models and cost of getting a new customer vs. retaining an old customer and profit/loss and estimate of how much profit they had made off of me in the last 15 years and if I kept my current plan, how much profit they would expect to make out of me in the next 15 years. Then calculate the percentage the refund would be out of the 15 years of profit they already made out of me. You know, your basic business ROI analysis... No effect.

This, of course, does not count all the potential lost profit that they would receive in the future from people that seek out the advice of their local tech geek (me) on who to go with and who to say away from on just about every technology topic out there. I wonder what their CEO would think their "Highest Customer Service Manager in the Building"'s math skills and customer retention capabilities. The last time I threatened to leave a cell phone company because of poor customer service was... Well 15 years ago. NEEDLESS TO SAY, I AM SWITCHING CELL PHONE PROVIDERS.

The really sad part: I have spoken to 4 people since 5:30 pm about this. 1 person just switched from Verizon because of their crappy customer service. 1 person is waiting for their contract to expire in February to switch providers because of customer service. Right now I am hearing good things about T-Mobile, Boost and Straight Talk.

Replies
Advertisement
Verizon Changing My Service Through Best Buy Without Me Knowing It...
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

Here is my story... I went into Best Buy because they gave me 50.00 off a 4s. At the time I had and have an unlimited plan on all of my phones. The Best Buy representative killed my unlimited plan on that phone without my knowledge. Even after I asked him to make sure my plan does not change. My plan is designed to roll over to the new phones (which it has so many times in the past)...

This did not happen. I got my 1st bill which was higher than normal, but I did not think anything of it because the first bill is normally higher when I switch in the middle of the billing cycle. When my next bill came in, it was still $25.00 higher. I called Verizon after much debate they said "No problem, I will send it to our loyalty department and have them switch it back." They declined that request saying it was after the 15 day window (really?). Well guess what, how would I have known it was 15 days?

Do they really think I wanted to change my plan to the more expensive plan. Also the original guy told me he would call me back... He didn't. I call back and speak with a supervisor, same story, only she said normally they just automatically decline these and promised that she would call them personally and call me back. Well they declined it again and guess what, she never called me back. I called back again today and he said "I will dispute it again and put more information in there and tell them to please help me as I have been with them since '08" -- he should have added that BEST BUY SCREWED THIS UP, NOT ME.

I am sure the response will be the same. Going on 5 years with Verizon... 4 phones... And this is the treatment I get. I was told when I left T-Mobile years ago that their service is way better than Verizon. Until now I have not found this to be the case. Verizon has always been accommodating. This is just ridiculous how they are doing this to me. It may take me 2 years to transfer my service to another carrier, but that is what I will do. All for $25.00 a month Verizon... I guess it is worth it to them to lose me.

I am thinking as Verizon gets bigger more of these "policy" decision will be made with no customer focus. I love Verizon and it kills me to write this... They need to seriously reconsider their Vendors in the future (not to mention their policy) and put the human touch back into their service. Anyone reading this will automatically know that this is NOT the right thing for the customer. I would love to be the first person to respond back on this site about how Verizon did the right thing... It is an easy fix and would restore my faith in them as a company once again.

Replies
Verizon Continues Billing of Cancelled Insurance Then Harasses Consumer
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

WARRENDALE, PENNSYLVANIA -- March 9, 2012
Verizon Wireless, Office of Executive Relations
PO Box 553
Warrendale, PA 15086

Dear Christopher:

I am in receipt of your letter dated March 7. As you are well aware, I made repeated attempts by post to have Asurion insurance removed from my account, beginning in November 2011 and continuing until March 2012. Asurion confirmed the cancellation immediately. Nevertheless, Verizon continued to charge my account.

In my repeated correspondence I specifically said I would not accept phone calls from you. There are numerous reasons for this policy: 1.) I will not waste time on redundant phone calls, i. e., the nature of the problem was very clear in my post; 2.) Verizon's website plainly states that customer service can, in fact, be handled by post; 3.) Verizon failed to cancel the insurance, therefore, the only resolution is a revised bill. Merely discussing the problem on the phone is unacceptable.

Most companies do not require a phone call to confirm such modifications—offering more efficient resolution by chat or by email—thus eliminating redundant phone calls, voice mails and return phone calls. I absolutely cannot abide a company that puts its own preferred method of communication above the customer's specific instructions. Christopher, I will not return your call, and then wait on a phone line for 10 minutes or longer to instruct you of requirements for my account—when I have already mailed you the instructions.

You disregarded those instructions, harassing my elderly mother by calling her line numerous times. You then called my disabled daughter's line several times, leaving forceful messages. You upset my young daughter so much that she begged me to "tell the angry man to stop calling." Ultimately, I received an email stating that the account had been correctly credited as per my November 2011 instructions—a simple and effective communication. Nevertheless, Christopher, you continued this harassment in a petulant letter complaining that I "hung up" on you.

Christopher, I am more than a little dismayed by your behavior—particularly in light of your chosen field. Furthermore, your insistence on blaming me for your inability to service the customer is reprehensible. Your letter states: " any delay in accomplishing this modification to your account was because that we were unable to speak with you directly " Christopher, suffice it to say I am not convinced that this almost five-month delay in meeting the customer's needs was, in fact, my fault.

It appears that you, as Coordinator of Verizon Wireless' Office of Executive Relations care little for the customer's needs. What I needed, was for the insurance to be cancelled/credited with as little intrusion into my life as possible. Quite simply, Christopher, your job is to be the solution, not the problem. You, as a representative of Verizon, made an absolute nuisance of yourself.

I am a long-time Verizon customer. Nevertheless, the moment my contract expires, I will switch all three of my lines to AT&T. In the meantime, I will inform everyone I know personally and through social media, that Verizon Wireless' Office of Executive Relations is disrespectful to its customers—to the point of harassment.

I am sending this letter, along with a copy of your missive, to the Verizon Human Resources Department. I urge the Human Resources department to maintain this letter as a testament to your obvious inability to offer customer service in any capacity.

Replies
Absolutely Intolerable To Work With The Customer
By -

HICKORY, NORTH CAROLINA -- This company is getting away with absolute greed and feel it is very acceptable to provide poor customer service to anyone! I have had it!!! Anyone reading this review should know that the FCC has a solution to their blatant ignorance to persons with disabilities. Section 255 addresses all issues they are in violation of when I dealt them for over 4-months. I currently have files a complaint with consumer complaint bureau; federal communication commission; and the Americans with disability. Section 255 from the FCC shows that they have broken many violations toward myself, and I know I am not alone.

It is time that we stand up to these cell phone companies and stop the crimes they are committing to the public. The banks were scrutinized for "nickel-and-diming" the public to death. Why do these cell phone providers feel and are treated as though they are untouchable? I am tired of being dumped on. Join in if you feel the same. I will give you additional information. I purchased a prepay phone (Samsung intensity ii) in October 2011.

This phone became my biggest nightmare and so did Verizon wireless. They e-mail me that they have taken $50 directly out of my account. My bank tells me they are taking $53+ out of my banking account. The phone would not store contacts/scrambled all information within the phone/web access was not entirely available, there is more. Verizon store continued to replace the Samsung at least 3-times because they could see it was not working properly. Each time the phone was replaced, the last issues (web, contacts, etc.) continued! To make it worse, each replaced phone brought its own different problems.

Verizon customer support told me to take the phone to Hickory, NC on US-70 SE store location to have the phone shocked. I did that and when the tech shocked the phone, it did not register. I went home to await a shipment of the same phone, and one week later I went back to hickory to pick it up. Phone was again defective. Again I returned to the store, they wanted to give me another phone! I reset, with customer service guiding me, the phone 5-times to factory specs. Still no good. Same fricking problems multiplied.

I tried to reach Verizon to place a complaint. Good luck with that. I called customer service and wanted the corporate phone number. Their response was, "It is unusual that no one has the corporate telephone number, only the address. I have phone numbers where they tried to contact me, left a message. I dialed the same number back. Same day. Phone is disconnected. Finding these people is like running after your own tail, for god sake.

I will be composing a more detailed letter to the federal communications commission (FCC) and they have instructed me exactly what has happened. The details are so confusing (only because Verizon makes it that way). It is hard to quickly update you via this site, for now. I will post my letter so that anyone interested can get the entire story, sequentially. I have 30-pages of day-to-day notes that I must compile into a time-line. I have all names, phone numbers, responses. I locked the limited calls I received from Verizon on my phone. This will come in handy.

Pull up the FCC article 255 via www.fccinfo@fcc.gov. Their violations toward me are very specific to me and may be to some of you reading this. The end result that Verizon wireless decided was to replace my phone (a band new Intensity II) with a refurbished (LG VN 250). Not comparable in so many ways! They shoved the phone in my hand (literally), rudely told me to leave the store and never gave me the owner's manual, the correct charging cord for this phone... Not even a box!

I am not one of their priority customers because I am a prepay customer. They have my money when I bought the phone and if I do not pay the $50 (oopps...The $53), big deal. They want to sell the better phones ranging from $400 - $700, 2-year contracts, all the bells and whistles they can shove down the customers throat, and all cell phone companies will charge you an outrageous monthly fee with, as you know, huge cancellation fees for early termination of the contract.

If you do not comply, you are sent to collections. Again, there was a tremendous amount of focus and energy put into crucifying the banks, why do the wireless companies has privileges to rip off the public in any way they please! As this situation continues to evolve, I hope you will continue to read my updates. Washington, DC needs to receive your input if you are experiencing any problems, or compliments.

Replies
Advertisement
Rudeness
By -

My husband and I are both stationed at Ft. Hood Texas, in Killeen. When we arrived here in January from overseas, we walked into a Verizon wireless store to apply for a contract. Our salesman was so pushy trying to force us to buy something we didn't want. I told him I wanted a phone of lesser value due to my work and dropping it consistently...

Our total would be at or around 300 dollars after both phones. The salesman was trying to charge us almost 600 for everything, and said that was the cheapest contract. As I began to walk out, he all of a sudden somehow had it lowered to 300 by bringing out the phone I originally wanted that was 100 bucks... So he lied to me, telling me the phone I had was the 100 dollar one... That's the first complaint.

A few months later my husband deployed so I walked into the store and just happened to see the same salesperson. I wanted to get an international plan so I could talk to my husband, only to get rude remarks, quote "Well what do you want your bill to be" while he was rolling his eyes, after I wanted to freeze a line due to my husband's deployment.

I was so angry and upset by his rude remarks and eye rolling I left. The guy was also rude to the fact I could barely climb on the high stool to sit because I'm 7 months pregnant... I noticed customers who got a contract had the doors opened for them when they left, I didn't, with a baby, pregnant and an arm full of things.

When I returned upon a 3rd time to cancel my contract because of the poor customer service and rudeness, I waited two hours to be seen, as did others. We were being passed up... I'm sure it had to do with the fact we were holding military orders in our hands and you could see the seal on it that gave it away.

I guess since it was no sale for any of the salespeople, we just got passed up, a lot of people were leaving. I was told the lady didn't know how to cancel a line and to come back... Even more upset, I came back another day and finally found the "corporate store" to cancel my contract after being pointed in every direction, saying it's this store or no go to this one...

Today I called customer service to pay a bill on a cancelled line and a representative named Sabrina was soo rude, she told me she could not understand what I was saying, told me a number to call and hung up... I speak perfect English, she seemed to have a problem with English, it was obvious this person was not educated due to the slang she was using while being so rude, basically blowing me off.

I am now with AT&T. I have never had such a problem with anyone as I have with this company. It seems that Verizon has an overall problem with attitude and rudeness. Verizon needs to get their act together and start firing people. I find it funny every in my company, which is about 200 or so has had or known someone whose had the same issues I've had with these people.

Another thing I would like to add, is just because you wear a suit and tie doesn't mean your job is that successful. I may wear ACUs everyday to work and combat boots, but what I find funny is I make waaay more than one of these salesman, but I don't act snooty... Like for real, go to college. Or, get your GED first, or, start from the beginning learn how to speak English, and read. Verizon, you need to get your act together!!!

Replies
Resist the Temptation of "High Speed Internet" Upgrades Offered by Verizon
By -

I work from home and needed to move into a different room, so I contacted Verizon to add a new phone jack and would move my office as soon as it was installed. Verizon has been my phone company and DSL provider for over 8 years and I still had the Westell B90 modem. It was definitely an old model, but I had "no problems" at all until the "upgrade". It sounded great! My bill would actually be less and my internet speed would be awesome!!! The CSR on the chat line ordered everything for me and set the appointment for the install. I was excited.

The install was seamless. It turned out to be a friend that works for Verizon that came out and he is great. About an hour later... that's when my nightmare begins. The modem arrived and was easy to install. No trouble at all, EXCEPT the CSR failed to inform me that it would take 24-48 hours to "upgrade" and I would not have any internet access. This is a problem because my business relies on my communication via email and also maintaining my customers accounts online. When I contacted "support" is when I found out about the delay, and had I known would not have agreed to the new service.

The next day it got worse. I had to go to an internet cafe to reach tech support because cellular service in my area is horrible and my Verizon wireless card had poor reception. It started with a quick chat with tech support who told me that my service would not start until later that day. The only good thing was that when I returned to my office, the internet worked! Well sort of. My "high speed" was only 1/2 of what I was promised, but I was OK with that. It was much faster than I had, kind of.

So now, I am ready to get on the phone to generate new business and maintain accounts. THEN, the unthinkable happens... my phone, which I have been using without any issues is not allowing me to dial out. THEN, the phone rang. It was a customer and it seemed that all would be better EXCEPT the call dropped at about 60 seconds. So I called someone in another office, and the phone worked!!! Kind of... it let me talk for 30 seconds, then we could not hear each other.

The great thing with companies like Verizon is that some of them have "live chat" for "tech support". The bad thing is that these people really are not technically savvy and are only referring to charts. THEN when they need to refer you to a "senior technical advisor" it's really just another person who will introduce themselves and transfer you to someone in the department that you need... well sort of. They definitely will transfer you, and about 10-15 minutes later, someone will answer, introduce themselves and ask you to tell them why you are calling... THEN they will tell you that they are not in the department that you need.

As the day ends, I've had 25-30 chats/phone calls and emails with tech support from Verizon and the company that provides the modem. It has been almost 1 week and there is no resolution, no email or correspondence with a "real tech support" person. My recommendation is to resist the temptation for "high speed internet" even if you will pay less, BECAUSE you will pay more in time, frustration and if you work from a home office you will probably lose business. Hold on, there is a call coming in. I hope that it last more than 30 seconds! I need a sale.

Replies
Double Over Billed/They Didn't Cancel All My Services When They Said They Would w/o Early Termination Fees
By -

ALBUQUERQUE,, NEW MEXICO -- I had been a Verizon Wireless customer for 10 yr and then I moved to a house where Verizon couldn't provide services to me. I called them and they said they would have to do an area research and send a tech out before they could allow an "free early termination". So I said, OK, how long will that take? They told me up to 7 days. So I asked, "and what about all this time that I've been without service and the remaining time...am I being charged for that or will I get a credit?" She said they would give me a credit for the time they aren't/weren't able to provide service.

So the Field TECH calls me and tells me that it has already been proven that the towers out here where I live intercept each other and they can't provide service and didn't have any idea if or when it would be fixed, and that I am being granted/allowed to terminate my services without being charged ANY early termination fees. So I had to call them back and have them turn off my phones...4 of them.

I went over and over my account with the customer service representative that was assisting me. I made it clear that I wanted ALL of my phones turned off! I talked to her extensively about what credits should be applied and what shouldn't be charged. She repeated everything back and then still left one of my phones lines turned on while telling me everything was shut off and credited. She also told me that she didn't have access to part of the upcoming bill and I would have to call back and see that everything was credited.

I called back a few days later to make sure it was all done correctly and it wasn't. She also told me she wasn't authorized to make those changes, so I asked to speak to a supervisor or someone who is authorized to make the changes and completely understand about all the credits I should be getting. (My bill was up-to-date when I started this mess...paid in full...and now all of a sudden I owe 500 for a past bill, early termination fees, late fees, and the line they didn't shut off!)

Now I'm really angry...they didn't close out my account, they double-billed me, they charged me for stuff I wasn't supposed to be charged for...they wouldn't have a manager call me back. They sent my bill to a collections agency. I paid 250 that I shouldn't have and then they put my bill back up to over 500.00 when they should've owed me a refund! Now I want to know how I can counter-sue them, get my money back and have that bill erased and off of my credit and out of the collection agency.

Verizon customer service is the worst I have ever experienced. This is a short version of all the conversations I've had with them. I also asked them to send me the notes and recordings of all the conversations I've had with them and they acted like they didn't understand what I was talking about and said that would take 6 months. I asked them to send me copies of all my bills for the last 9 months and they said it would cost me an ungodly amount for copies of my bills to be sent to me! If anyone has any suggestions on how to handle this situation, it would be greatly appreciated.

Replies
Worst Customer Experience I Have Ever Had
By -

Since I got my Verizon Wireless service with 2 phones on a family plan, within the first 2 months I went through 5 phones with defects rendering them inoperable. One of the phones was replaced and the phone it was replaced with was inoperable immediately out of the box. It required immediate replacement again. Another phone required replacement immediately after purchase.

Automatic payments were made unavailable to me due to "insufficient funds in my account." I checked my account balances the day before, the day of, and the day after the supposed attempt to receive payment by Verizon. Each day there was over $1,000.00 in the account. The monthly bill has always been under $200.00

As such, I am required to do mail-in payments, payments via internet or payments via call in. I never get my statements in time to pay by mail without being late. Online payments have never worked from the over 6 computers I have tried it from with the 4 cards I have attempted to use, all with positive balances and fully functional. Paying by phone I spend over an hour a month on average fighting with the horrible automated robot voice just to pay my bill.

Attempting to make a payment via text by dialing #PMT as instructed by an automatic text received from Verizon only results in receiving the same text advising me to make a payment by dialing #PMT. My required data package for my Blackberry does not work. I cannot set up any of my many email addresses to my phone. I also cannot access any of the navigational app features that used to work fine. Internet coverage has gone from irregularly bad to spotty to flat never working.

Troubleshooting processes achieve no result; nothing works after any measure of troubleshooting. Replacing the phone has not worked. Replacement phones are just as nonfunctional. In the past 6 months of service I have tallied over 15 hours of work on my part just to get one phone that I currently pay over $90 a month for to do what I am paying for it to do.

Staff is rude and places me on hold for well over 15 minutes. Upon attempting to achieve a result where I do not have to pay for the data package that I cannot use, I was told data packages are mandatory for Blackberry devices. I was also told I needed to go through their troubleshooting process (spend my time working to get my phone to do what I am paying for it to do). I replied that I had done this on numerous occasions to which I was told I had not done it recently enough. I said I had done it plenty and that doing the same thing that didn't work before would not work again.

I was informed that there were no notes that I had ever done any troubleshooting (somebody on their end didn't note that I had attempted troubleshooting, so my word that I had meant nothing and this meant I had to do it again). SO which is it? I haven't troubleshot my phone recently enough, or there are no notes indicating that I have ever troubleshot my phone? Ahhhh, kind of got caught up in your own lie there, didn't you Verizon customer "service" supervisor.

My options to date are according the Verizon as follows: Continue to pay an extra $30 a month for a data package that has never been fully functional, and continue to spend my valuable time to troubleshoot it with people who are only going to tell me to do what I have already done some dozen or more times. The phone will simply never work as advertised.

OR, I can pay a TWO HUNDRED dollar early termination of contract fee to get out of my 2 year agreement with Verizon. Sure, I can see if I simply wish to terminate my contract for no other reason than I just feel like it, I'm obligated to its terms. But I am not receiving the service for which I agreed to the contract. Verizon is not holding up their end of the agreement. Hmmm.

OR, (Unknown to Verizon), option #3 - I cancel my checking and credit cards that they have on file so that they may never directly debit any of my accounts for what I "owe" them, say nothing to them, continue to use the service and run up an insanely high bill and never pay it, and destroy their worthless phone.

Replies
Advertisement
Lets all get Verizon Fios Shut Down for good
By -

In June of 2010 we had Verizon Fios cable and internet installed, and from the beginning it was a nightmare. We had just moved into our apartment here in California and wanted to have friends over for a UFC fight. I had ordered the fight a week prior over the phone and our friends traveled 45 minutes away to watch the fight. After they arrived I turned to the fight channel only to find that they never ordered for me. For some reason I couldn't order from my TV. After hours of debate we finally received a refund.

A few days after we ordered an ON Demand movie that wouldn't even play. It was like I put a DVD in the DVD player that my dog had chewed on for hours. I called and like everyone else on here had to wait for several hours (LITERALLY) to get anyone on the phone. I would get hung up on, call back, get hung up on, call back then get someone only to get transferred to the wrong department, then transferred back to the same department that transferred me in the first place.

Finally I was able to talk to the right person and was told that it was my internet router and that a new one was in the mail. The new router came and it did not even fix the problem. I called and again and, again waited on hold for several minutes. When I finally got through I asked the customer service representative to schedule an appointment for a technician to come out and fix our problem. I even called the tech that originally came out to install the cable at the number from the business card he provided me 6 times leaving 6 messages. Needless to say they never showed or called me back.

I reported Verizon to the Better Business Bureau and received a phone call from the Verizon escalations department but was unable to answer. They left a call back number and I called them back only to get an answer machine. I left several messages and was never called back. My problem has yet to be resolved. Finally fed up I changed services to Time Warner (AMAZING). When I asked the Verizon representative what to do with the equipment the representative said they would send me boxes so that I could send the gear back.

After a month passed and still no boxes I went to a Verizon cell phone store in my city and was told that they have a contract with the UPS Store and that I needed to go there to return the gear. On December 23, 2010 at 10:38am I returned the gear. Thinking this was the end of my nightmare I received a gut-wrenching bill for $829.40 on January 7, 2011 for the unreturned equipment.

I immediately called and guess what... You got it, was put on hold, hung up on, called back, put on hold, hung up on, then called back and finally after 55 minutes was able to talk to a real person. I explained the situation and was told I had no choice but to pay the $830 because the equipment was returned after the 30 day time limit (which was never told to me).

Now I'm taking them to small claims court hoping to at least get the $830 bill removed and the negative credit report off my record. I don't understand why this "so-called" corporation is still in business. There has to be something we can do to save ourselves and future Verizon victims. If you have any legal advice for me or know how to bring this company to a close please help us by posting on this website. SOMEBODY HELP US!!!

Replies
Verizon Manipulates Customer Billing And Exemplifies Poor Communication
By -

I need to say, first of all, that I am usually a very happy Verizon customer. But all of a sudden, this week, it's all gone down the drain. My husband and I, recently married, had just combined our Verizon accounts in October of 2010. When taking a look at our bill, due the middle of November 2010, I noticed our bill seemed higher than it needed to be. So, by digging into our bill, I noticed that we had an additional service on our bill. It is for a Verizon Broadband Connector, with which users are able to connect to the internet from anywhere while having their device plugged into the USB drive of their computer. When my husband had it, it worked really slick.

However, my husband went into a Verizon store in Minnesota in October of 2009 and asked to cancel that service, as he didn't need it anymore. He was asked to then pay a $15 service fee for canceling, and he went about his day. In November of 2009, the service was on his bill again. He went into another Verizon store, this time in Arizona, and said that he had just canceled that service, and needed it taken off his bill. He was then credited $13 on his December bill, as canceling his service was between two billing cycles, and everything seemed fine.

And then, in March of 2010, the service for the broadband connector showed back up on his bill. And since he paid his bill automatically, he had accidentally been paying for this service for 8 months. Paying for a service that he didn't realize was there, because he had canceled it. Twice. So, aside from Verizon suspiciously adding services back to our bill and ignoring our requests to cancel it, they had been hoarding my husband's money for the last 8 months.

As soon as we saw this on our bill, we called Verizon Customer Service. After explaining our situation to a nice customer service representative, who took a look at our bill and the data usage and noted that we indeed had not been using the connector, he said that he would contact the original store in Minnesota to verify that we had canceled our plan, and they would call us back the next day.

Well, my husband received a call back the next day, and was told that, since we didn't keep our receipt indicating the cancellation of the broadband connector, they could only refund us half of the total amount we had overpaid (half would be about $250). My husband asked to speak with a manager, and was told that one would call him back before the end of the following day. The following day came and went without a word from Verizon Support. So, this morning, my husband called Verizon back again.

This time, not only was he told that customer service representatives cannot connect with each other - rendering it impossible to get ahold of a CSR he chatted with the other day - he was told that in order to cancel the broadband connector, he would have to pay them $150 service fee. To pay THEM. AGAIN. After Verizon had already been taking our money for 8 MONTHS. We are still working with this incompetent company to get our issue resolved. Though I don't hold out much hope after so many instances of poor communication, billing manipulation and money stealing.

Replies
Top of Page | Next Page >

Verizon Wireless Rating:
Star Half star Empty star Empty star Empty star
1.3 out of 5, based on 77 ratings and
150 reviews & complaints.
Contact Information:
Verizon Wireless
PO Box 5029
Wallingford, CT 06492
800-256-4646 (ph)
www.verizonwireless.com
Compare Phone/Mobile Services