Preview Review

Next Review

Verizon Consumer Reviews - Page 3

Most Popular | Newest | More Options >
More filter options:
Verizon Will Ruin Your Credit and Customer Service Is Horrific!
By -

MARYLAND -- CUSTOMER SERVICE REPS LIE, ARE RUDE AND CAUSE FURTHER FRUSTRATION. WARNING: If you ever have a billing problem they will ruin your credit and not rectify it even when it is their mistake. The customer service reps lie to you to get you off the phone and have you call another Verizon dept with even crappier people who just add to your frustration. I have been a Verizon customer since they started in Maryland. NEVER paying LATE. EVER. Except when I cancelled the landline. They never sent me a final bill until I received a collection notice. I paid it right away and called Verizon to ensure it did not get on my credit. They said it would not. LIED.

It did get on the credit report and dropped my credit score 100 points. For an ** $60 paid 2 months late. I called Verizon to have it removed from credit report. First off the ignorant, rude representative named Inez said "I doubt they'€™ll take it off the report once it's on there"€ in a foul attitude. I explained about the credit score, how I was an on time paying customer forever, the past 20 years. I was calling for my husband and I had to give her the exact amount of the last payment to verify security. I was unable to at the time. After all that she said she could not help me anyway.

I had to call collections and have the security information with me when I called. I called collections 5 minutes later when I found the amount. The next Rep in collections Cecilia was even more foul than Inez. She said "€œThe customer service representative just told you we could not talk to you about this account€." This is what she wrote on my account, that she told me they could not discuss my husband's account. Inez LIED AGAIN. I kept trying to tell her this was not what Inez told me, that she told me to have the information when calling collections. But Cecelia kept stressing the conversation by cutting me off and kept repeating "Ma'am, Ma'am." Pointless.

I ended up just hanging up on her in frustration. She couldn't care less that the previous person flat out lied to me. God only know what she wrote in my transaction with her. That'€™s another thing, you don't know what comments they are putting on your account. They lie about the conversation on your account. To get anywhere with this I had to call the credit reporting agency and they filed a dispute. Gladly this representative was polite, correct and informative. The Better Business Bureau will get this report next.

This is horrible and so frustrating. These customer service people just take so much joy in slamming the door in your face. Right off the beginning, both were just abrupt, rude and abrasive. They are like Comcast used to be when they were a monopoly. Well Verizon is not a monopoly and I am shopping for a new internet service provider. The problem is that my $30 DSL line a month will not put a dent in their pocket. They will not miss me and they will continue to sabotage their customers because I am just a grain of sand to them. This will happen to you to!!!

Replies
Advertisement
The Most PATHETIC Customer Service I Have Experienced
By -

I have been a Verizon customer since they acquired Air Touch Cellular in 2000. I was an Air Touch customer for 3 years before that. At first I was impressed with Verizon's customer service, but in the past 3 years I have had the WORST experiences with the people I call in customer service. The issues are so simple, but Verizon's customer service operates on a 3 call minimum. I have to call at least 3 times before I am able to get someone smart enough to dress themselves.

I sent a complaint letter to the VP of customer service, and he is too busy hiding from irate customers to reply to the letter. He just sends it to the "make this guy go away" department (The Executive Response Team). These people in the Executive Response Team are the engineers of the stupid train.

I wanted to upgrade using their new every two offer. I talked to the customer service representative on the phone, and he said he needed a credit card for a phone that was at no cost for me. I ask why he needed my credit card for an upgrade that was free, and he fumbled for words and said it was for Identification purposes. I told him I have been a customer for 10 years and why did they need my Identification. I hung up on this rocket scientist.

The next call was with another representative equally as dumb, but she did tell me that she needed a credit card because of a past due balance of $27.84. My bill for 4 lines is around $200 a month and I haven't a clue where this $27.84 number came from. The real interesting part is I have been on auto pay for 5 years, and there is no way to have a past due balance when they tap my checking account each month (auto pay). I was so angry at this stupid bunch I should have canceled all 4 lines that instant.

I was contacted by the Executive Response Team after sending the VP a letter regarding this issue. This idiot that called me did nothing but offer excuses and apologies. It turns out it was Verizon's mistake (which I knew) and they did absolutely NOTHING but give me apologies and excuses. I terminated one of my lines instantly. Now here I am with a similar problem with one of my JUNK LG phones that neither LG or Verizon will do anything about. The phone is 6 months old and the screen is froze up and will do nothing. I guess it is time to give another line to AT&T.

A few months ago Verizon boasted having over 70 million customers. I just checked online and they have just short of 67 million customers now. Where do you think over 3 million customers went in just a few months??? Every day at each of Verizon's customer service call centers they must have a big dump truck full of stupid delivered. Some customer service reps get more than others, but most of it goes to the Executive Response team!!!

BEWARE!!! Keep track and document your communications with these people. It is terrible you need to do this, but trust me it is necessary. I give them money each month and they should meet my needs and take care of my business without me needing to keep a constant watch on them. I pay them to supply a network and customer service. One out of two is not acceptable.

Replies
FCC and NC Atty General complaint against Verizon Wireless
By -

The following is an active complaint with the NC Atty General and the FCC regarding Verizon Wireless deliberately crippling the connectivity of customers who elected to stay on Alltel data plans. This would mostly affect people in fringe areas (though advertised as full coverage areas). An update to this complaint is that Verizon is retaliating by removing credits that we had been given because of previous service failures. Please spread this information around, especially to any Verizon customers you know who may be having connectivity problems. It COULD be deliberate.

FTC complaint # 25257585 NCDOJ Complaint # 5407 FCC complaint 10-C00194123. This may need a technical person to understand the details. Verizon Wireless bought Alltel and the Alltel customers could remain on Alltel plans. Verizon is now deliberately crippling the connectivity of smart phones that are on the Alltel plan instead of the more expensive Verizon plan. We came over to Verizon Wireless when they purchased Alltel. We were/are on a data plan with one "smartphone" and the rest regular phones.

I was expecting to get better phone reception once the transition was done to merge Alltel etc. Instead I found that my phone (the smartphone) would not work well as a phone. I was advised that the smartphones don't get as good of reception (why don't they advertise that, eh?). I have endured months of poor phone service and have gone through several phone changes (which meant wasting hundreds of dollars in accessories that I had purchased for my original smart phone).

The event that prompted me to change phones and lose my investment in accessories was an event where my wife was desperately trying to call me because our grandson was bleeding and it would not stop. My son was with me and she was able to call him to contact me, but what if he had not been there? (I thought). For months we would be in the same car and she would be unable to call me but his phone would work just fine (same plan but his is not a data phone).

Verizon tech support suggested going to another brand of phone and one on the Verizon system so that I could get a "hybrid" PRL (preferred roaming list) so that I could get phone reception. After several more phone swaps and wasted time I was finally advised of the cause.

Verizon Wireless is deliberately crippling the smart phones which are on an Alltel plan instead of the more expensive Verizon plan. This is only the smart phones that are being crippled. My phone has a PRL of 40059 which deliberately limits my connectivity even though I am in the advertised full coverage area. You can imagine my anger at discovering that all these months Verizon had been deliberately crippling my connectivity to try to get me to move to their more expensive plan. The Verizon plan data PRL starts with a 6.

I believe that their actions may well be criminal as they are discriminating against former Alltel data phone customers. It was a tech support manager who revealed this to me because they are very frustrated in trying to give support to people whose phones are being deliberately disabled by a crippled PRL.

This deliberate crippling of smartphones that are still on Alltel plans could cause public safety issues such as the incident when my grandson was bleeding. Imagine when I discovered that my phones failures and poor reception was a DELIBERATE marketing strategy by Verizon.

Update 2/17/2010 I was contacted by one Karen ** from the Verizon Wireless President's office stating that because I was on an Alltel plan that I was not entitled to the same connectivity that I would have if I was on a Verizon plan. She basically confirmed my allegations. Also she advised me that I was not entitled to the credits that had been applied to my account by an earlier customer service manager and that they were going to remove the credits. I had been concerned about this retaliation by Verizon Wireless.

If you are a smart phone customer who is on an Alltel plan with Verizon wireless and you are having connectivity problems please note the complaint numbers at the beginning.

Replies
Verizon Placed Ad In Superpages Without My Permission And Harassed Me For Money
By -

DWF AIRPORT, TEXAS -- Here is documentation I took to record my experience with Verizon. The main thing to note is that **, who works for Verizon collections, used profanity while harassing me. This is illegal, a fact that I found out much later. Though what can a small guy do? Verizon Sucks. Ad was placed in Verizon phone book without my consent.

A Verizon representative, **, called to inquire whether I would be interested in buying an Ad in Verizon Yellow Pages Phone Book. I agreed to listen to his offer. He mentions he could produce a proof for the ad for me to consider. He said that the ad would not go in the phone book without my approval, but in order to get the ball rolling, he needed a third party confirmation. Again, he said this was just to get designing the proof started but that it would not be printed without my permission. He said I would receive proof and then I could give the yes or no answer. I never received proof.

A friend and business owner, **, recommended that I should call back and ensure they did not put my ad in the phone book. He mentioned he had similar problems with a sales representative from a phone book. I called ** (972-719-3649) who ensured it would not be put in. Received call from solicitors who said my ad was in the yellow pages. Called ** 3rd week in October after finding out ad was in yellow pages. ** gave me the number of his manager ** (972-719-3630). Called ** and left message for him to call me back

4th week October, left another message on ** voice mail. 5th week October, called Verizon billing, 1800-445-9050 x4575. Talked to ** who said I would need to talk to **. She said she e-mailed Nov 2nd him a message to call me. 1st week November 5th called ** and left voice mail.

2nd week November 11th, called Verizon billing, 1800-445-9050 x4575. Talked to **. Requested her to send another e-mail since ** had not contact me yet. Called 2nd week in November (11/18/04). Called 1-866-451-9905 talked to ** at collections. Told me that District Sales Manager was sent an e-mail. Offered me ** representative supervisor. Told her I already had it, I had called him but no answer. Also explained how I was deceived regarding the ad. Mention the info in ad was wrong. She said I could talk to customer service for an adjustment.

12/06/04 Called and talk to customer service. Informed them that the information in the ad was incorrect, and a brief history of my problem with their sales representative. She said that they will look over ad and give me a call back.
Received VM from ** from Verizon. Called him back at 1-800-445-9050 ext 4590. He listened to my complaint and mentioned if I choose to use Verizon, I would deal with ** again. I informed him I had decided a few months ago not to use Verizon.

12/22/04, Called Verizon billing at 1-800-445-9050. no answer 4575. Talked to **. 12/28/04. Called ** (972-719-3630). Was out of office. Called ** at 800-336-3407, extension ** – left message on voice mail regarding questions to my account.

12/29/04 ** called me back (** gave her my info). I mention the info in the ad was mostly incorrect and would like to see if I could have the billing cancelled. She said I should talk to customer service to about the incorrect listing. Informed her customer service told me to get into contact with **.

Called Verizon billing at 1-800-445-9050. ** answered the phone. I informed her information was incorrect in the ad. She mentioned a ticket had already been opened. Transferred me to ** (1-800-445-9050 ext **) who had closed my ticket. Was cut off. Tried calling again a few times but was not able to get through. ** from Verizon Collection Department, treated me with contempt and threatened to take me to court. Without provocation, she said to me “** you”.

Submitted complaint to BBB online. 2/17/05 Received call from Jan (Verizon customer service: 972-518-2700 or 800-445-9050 ext **) inquiring about complaint sent to BBB. I explained the basis for complaint. I have a more detailed account of what happened. My financial credit is strong. This is the first instance in my life I had to write to an agency such as the BBB.

Update: Fours years after all of this, Verizon Sucks tried to collect money. I consulted with my lawyer who said since 4 years had passed they could not legally collect. What was owed did not matter; it was a small amount. What did matter was the principle. How could one pay for something he did not authorize. Verizon is an unethical company that abuses people, bullying them out of their money. Sad. Sad. Verizon Sucks! Final Note: After all these bad experiences, I created a website to fight da powah!

Replies
Advertisement
Verizon Nightmare
By -

MUSCATINE, IOWA -- Verizon, unbelievable is the first word that comes to mind related to the experience...the nightmare, that dealing with Verizon has been for myself. After pursuing the endless calls to their Customer Service, Verizon and their inability to provide Broadband service. Here is some of the things that's going on.

I have 2 broadband wireless cards. Unfortunately I can't walk away from them. I'm out in the county were there is not any other service around. I got the 1st one and it worked great so I got a 2nd one for my kids. Things were going good until the speed started going down. I started calling their Customer Service for slow service. Until it was slower then dialup. And this is what they told me, on an unlimited plan, that after a year they slow me down to dial up speed because I went over 5 GB.

Customer Service told me I went over my limit. I said I have an unlimited plan. She said yes I have the unlimited plan BUT I went over my limit so they slowed me down. Then I said, "Did you understand what I just told you?" She said yes. I then asked her what plan do I have, she said again I have the unlimited plan. I Said OK, then why did you slow me down. She said because I went over my limit. Verizon must Only Hire The Absolute Dumbest People. How can you deal with ridiculous Customer Service when they don't understand what's they're talking about.

This happened on a Saturday night 2-21-2009 and had to call this 1-888-483-7200 Monday to get my broadband back. When I called them, they slowed me down because I used over my limit. OOH KNOW my 2nd Customer Service Experience From Hell. They told me in my contract if I go over 5GB THEY CAN SLOW ME DOWN. I told
them when I got my broadband I did not sign any contract. I have never seen one. All they wanted was my credit card. Sign the credit receipt and I was in and out of the door in about 9 or 10 mins. Then I asked if they were making the rules up as they go along. Then I said my usage was under 3 GB when I looked, not even close to 5.

They said this was just to let me know if I go over my 5GB on my unlimited plan they will slow me down. Unbelievable is the first word that comes to mind related to the experience...the nightmare, that dealing with Verizon
has been for myself a start of a Nightmare.

After pursuing the endless calls to their Customer Service, Verizon and their inability to provide Broadband service. It has been going downhill for over a year. Most of the time it is slower than dialup. When we first got it, we were downloading at 1200 to 1500 downloads. Some nights it been. 0 to 29 to. 0 then 122 then .0 and sits there until the page times out. I have reported my complaint over 30 times about how my internet service has been unreliable, slow speed or times out. Or it switches from broadband access to National access.

There has been times of no-problem-service, and times of no service. I have done online tech chats. All of them run the same diagnostic. I got to the point where I was telling them on what I did before they asked. They put in a work order to have the tower check and they would call me back. I never got a call back. After two week of dialup speed I called them back, and to my frustration they said the work order was closed by the field service tech. Could not find anything wrong. I ask if I could talk to the field service tech and was told no. They don't talk to us. So I opened a new work order for slow service.

I'm paying their high monthly fees for a service I do not get, and their best saying is waive their early termination fee. Because they CANNOT keep their end by giving me broadband service. With some common sense and decency to return my money and maybe offer an apology. I pay my bill each month if I don't, do you think they would not turn me over for their money. Just Another Faceless Verizon Victim here.

Gee whiz-- The only good thing I have to say about my experience with Verizon is that, I had their cell phone service, it works fine. But heaven forbid if you have any issues where you have to deal with an actual person or have a problem solved. Am sick over the way Verizon has treated me. I have reported my complaint with the BBB and FTC and I hope all frustrated Verizon customers do the same. We need to tell these big Companies that us consumers deserve true customer service representatives. They're too big to deal with the little person they think they're god and can do what they want to do. And paying their high monthly fees for a service we do not get.

Replies
Internet (Unlimited Broadband 5GB)
By -

MONTICELLO, GEORGIA -- This being my first computer bought the PC card from Verizon after telling the Verizon sales representative I wanted the best plan available. As it turns out they hyped this plan up as being the best thing since sliced bread, emphasizing "unlimited, unlimited" pointing out everything but a cap on usage.

Please if one Verizon person comes on and says "you should have read your paperwork" this is the truth the sales receipt plainly states at the top type of plan "unlimited" usage "undefined" last time I checked unlimited meant no cap only when it goes down it says Broadband5GB.

This being my first computer was foolish enough to believe that Verizon was a truthful honest company and their sales reps are their to help the customer get the best plan based on his or her needs and was their to make the customer happy, but no that old fashioned treating your customer honestly and fairly is not allowed by Verizon. They employ liars and basically steal money and will offer rudeness over the phone, untold waiting on a supervisor I'm convinced is sitting by smiling while listening to your complaints.

I bought the card for 59.99 a month this was around Christmas 08, I also purchased some software to download at a well established electronic chain. while downloading it would go into error and the PC usage came on saying I shouldn't be charged for this software time. I thought this was strange " how can you be charged usage for an unlimited plan impossible" well I tried downloading this about a half dozen times over my trial period I noticed when it errored the PC card usage number would spike it went from 3GB to 9.14.

I never received a bill (the 30 day trial is a crock, I purchased Dec 23rd first bill due Feb. 1st). I went to store and paid cash (they don't accept anyone's check) balance due exactly what my first estimated bill was supposed to be 122.00. Mid January I'm still under the impression I'm dealing with an up and up company so I buy an " unlimited cell phone plan" for 99.00 a month that was the greatest plan and would save me money, paid cash everything is fine, and I had mentioned the time it happened but again reminded Verizon about not getting a bill. "We'll get it straightened out don't worry" I was told.

March 8th I remembered they had not sent me a bill for cell and PC. Verizon has an interesting way of billing you instead of doing it the old fashioned way of mail, they just wait for you to pay on your own, and the only notice you get is a disconnected cell phone. I called Verizon and was put through to a representative. She wanted to know was I going to pay balance in full. I said yes thinking my first bill would be about 280.00 and they would drop the disconnection fee.

She put me on hold and I was sent to a "red flag" that was a bad check department and my file was located their. I said you made a mistake but I have only paid in cash and I don't write bad checks". transferred back to Verizon who took my banking info for check by phone system, we went over numbers twice to make sure it was right. I got ahead of myself before she gave me the balance 911.12 for 1 month. I seldom talk on the phone how can this be "unlimited" she said I had 700.00 in internet usage going over 5GB. I argued that I had unlimited usage but anyway I paid half the bill in protest.

I told her about the error on the PC card while downloading, a tech came on and said nothing they can do and actually I had occurred 900.00 and they knocked some off. I can't tell you how thankful I was to have someone cut my phone off for no reason, spend now about an hour and a half on the phone and to not charge me for something I didn't use.

Phone reconnected, next day I call back and thought I could get someone with reason to clear this up but to my good luck I got a rude, nasty obnoxious representative who accused me of streaming music, I said no but since you know what I'm doing you will see the card errored, again she was awful. Next day phone was disconnected and internet shut off. I called Verizon and they transferred me to the"red flag girl".

She agreed we talk a lot but we don't know why, back to Verizon and they said they had trouble with my bank and for me to call my bank and have them send written statement verifying my account. They said I had given them an account that was closed. I'm angry because everything they do or say is a lie. I call my bank. They look into it and tell me that Verizon had never attempted to make a transaction.

I call Verizon, angry but was told I shouldn't be angry because they shut my phone and internet for no valid reason charged me a mortgage payment for 1 month internet for service I didn't use and spend almost two days on the phone, and yes destroying my credit how thoughtful of Verizon and then I'm paying (under protest). They don't want to let me do that either.

They did draft out of my account but instead of one draft they slit it 127.00 for one and 377.12 for another so the bank could charge me an extra 6.50 again. How thoughtful of Verizon not to mention 20.00 worth of ringtones I never ordered and about 45.00 in disconnection fees and 611.00 of internet usage on an "unlimited" plan and will not send a bill. It seems you must scream loudly to get one and then itemized internet usage I asked for was this PAST DUE 611.00 again thanks for your trouble Verizon.

I packed your card and phone up you will be receiving it very soon as you know because I don't hide my agenda I'm telling you then and now you can take your card and phone and shove it where... all 2000 complaints would love to put it. Verizon my friend. I hope there is a class action lawsuit and your forced to pay back with interest and every store during this time should have a sign that states the truth "We're Verizon we hate you. We're here to mislead you and steal your money cause so far the government lets us and we wish we could destroy you're credit some more."

Verizon listen up. I'm GOING TO DO WHAT EVER WITHIN LEGAL MEANS TO SINK YOU INTO BANKRUPTCY. IF THEY CLOSED THE DOOR ON YOU YESTERDAY IT WOULD BE TOO LATE, and the owner and shareholders do you have any morals at all? Maybe rename it Lucifer's wireless seems to fit.

Replies
Seriously Silly Reason to Lose Long-Time Customer
By -

BURKE, VIRGINIA -- I have been a Verizon customer for many years. I have Verizon wireless, phone service, and FiOS. But I really feel like I have to consider other options due to the trouble I had last week trying to get someone at Verizon to listen to me or address my request honestly or respectfully.

The problem, simply and clearly stated: I do not send text messages of more that 160 characters or with graphics or formatting. However, every time I send a plain text message, even the messages "Test," “Call me” or “?.” Verizon calls me back with this message: “FREE_VZW_MSG: Messages sent to non-VZW customers with graphics/tones/formatting/and/or160+characters are sent as plain text with only the first 160 characters.”

Each time I tell Verizon this, I am told “it's impossible to turn off the alert that you receive when a message exceeds 160 characters." ”Great," I say. "Simply fix it so that I only get it when I do send a message of more that 160 characters and I will be a happy Verizon customer again.” Instead, Verizon has apparently cancelled my texting plan in retaliation.

The last person I talked to said his boss wasn't available and would call me. She eventually did leave me a voice mail message. Guess what it said? Yep. “We are unable to turn off the alert that you receive when a message exceeds 160 characters.” Next I received an email telling me my texting plan had been cancelled! At my request!

I'm still trying to figure out a way to get past the way I've been treated recently and keep being a Verizon customer, but I begin to think Verizon would rather not have the few hundred dollars a month I'm paying them now. And I wonder if it's wise to do business with a company with such poor customer service training, personnel and practices. I've worked in public affairs and customer service myself for 30 years and this seems to be a pretty badly-run operation and a seriously silly reason to lose a long-time customer.

Replies
Just Another Faceless Verizon Victim
By -

TAMPA, FLORIDA -- I don't even know where to start with my depraved journey with Verizon, so I will tell the sordid story the best I can. On or around Feb 7th, 2008, a man who worked for Verizon knocked on our door and convinced us to get the bundle package (cable, internet, phone). We were quoted the approximate monthly amount we would be charged after the initial three month breakdown of extra boxes and installation in other rooms (around $170.00).

Let's just see if it's the amount they quoted (if I am still with them, which is looking very doubtful as of late). I asked him if we would be eligible for the free TV and he said he "didn't know," and gave me a number to call to see if we were eligible. We decided to have the installer come on February 21. The door sales rep gave me his cell phone number in case we had any questions and he was on his merry way to recruit other unlucky poor souls in the neighborhood to sign up with Verizon.

Two days later (Feb 9th), I called this man and asked him if I could have a copy of what we ordered. He could not provide that and said we would get a copy when the installer came. On this same day, Verizon people already marked their "territory" with the blue flags around our property where they were going to dig. In the meantime, I called and asked if I would get the free TV and the person I talked to said "yes." The big day comes (Feb 21) and the man installed everything. Took him about four hours I guess.

Sure enough, we got a "copy" that was yellow, but didn't say what we ordered. Just a bunch of numbers, abbreviations, and initials that only a tech could read or understand. The installer did point out to us what channels we got on the paper guide he gave us, but there was no breakdown of prices for anything. He also informed us he only lived two blocks from us. We were neighbors. How about that. So anyway, he left.

Ever since he walked out that door it has been downhill. For starters, he left the light on in the attic (we knew this because we could see it through an air vent in the ceiling in the garage that was made into a bedroom). We called him and left a note on his door about the light in the attic and he never responded to us, even though he was two blocks away.

Next day we had to call Verizon to send someone out to go up in the attic to turn the light off. This was a Sunday. A tech came on Monday to turn the light off. Then I had trouble logging on the internet and couldn't understand why. The installer set the Z adapter up wrong where we have to hit the Z icon (for the adapter), let it come up and then right-click to exit the Z icon! Then we can log on.

It took me many hours over the night to figure that out after countless calls to Verizon's tech support's confusing web of menus and automated operators. Finally the third human tech guy I talked to told me the installer set the adapter up wrong. So I have to exit out the Z icon every time I log on to the internet. Okay, so I can finally get online now. Everything was going great for a bit until our first billing cycle. They never sent us a statement for Feb of what we owed for the first month's usage!

I called and told them and they said we should be getting one any day, and they gave me the website so I could see the bill online. In the meantime, while I am on the phone with them, I was offered several sales pitches. One was for spyware, another was for the "refer a friend" program. I told them I already had free spyware and said I didn't know anyone to recommend Verizon to.

After I hung up, I try to log on to the Verizon site to view my bill, but first I have to "register," but before I could, the site informed me I would be getting a call "within 30 minutes" to get a temporary number to log on with. Two hours passed -- they never called. At the two-hour mark, it was 6:00 p.m. Next day comes, they never called, so I called them about 2:00 p.m. same day, and tell them nobody called me with a temp number. Woman gave me a number to call to get my temp number, along with all the pathetic sales pitches that come along with the call, then I was finally able to log on to my account.

Well, the paper bill statement never came, so I had to go online a print out a statement of what I owed and mailed it with check to the billing address I verified with the CSR and that was also the address on the Verizon "send payments to" account site. I mailed the check in with a letter stating that I would like a paper bill next billing cycle. I went online a few days later to see if they received it. It showed they did indeed receive it. So far, so good.

The second billing cycle comes -- still no paper billing statement. I called them again and told them I never received a paper bill for March. The male rep said I should have and told me that he sees THAT I HAVE NOT SIGNED UP FOR ONLINE BILLING so I SHOULD HAVE GOT A PAPER BILL, verified my address and assured me that I would get a paper bill in a few days. In the meantime, he is trying to sell me some package. He said I could "get HBO for two cents more." I said "okay." Then he said I would lose Cinemax though, so I said I didn't want it then.

Then he tried to sell me spyware. I said I already had spyware. Then he wanted me to get some box to record movies from the TV. I told him I didn't want to buy anything and that I already had a DVD recorder. Then he said something to the effect, 'But you don't even know what I am offering you yet." So I was forced to listen, and then I told him I don't watch those many shows. And he had the gall to say, "Then why do you have a DVD recorder?!" Can you believe it?!!

I just ignored him then he told me about the "refer a friend program." I never answered him back. To make a long story short, I finally got off the phone with this clown, and he again assured me I would get a paper bill in the mail in the next few days. A paper bill never came. Had to go online again and print out a makeshift statement with a check for said amount and mailed it in. This was on April 10th.

On April 18, I go online and it showed that the check hasn't been posted yet. I called them yet again and asked them why the check had not been posted for the second billing cycle, and they had no record of receiving my check. The rep did some research and sent an email somewhere to see where my check was and he said they would get back with me in a few days (yeah, right).

In the meantime, while he is doing his research, this rep started his sales pitches ad nausea yet again. I told him I don't want to buy anything, I just want a PAPER BILL OF MY STATEMENT SENT TO MY HOUSE. He then informs me I HAVE SIGNED UP FOR "ONLINE BILLING" and that is why I haven't received a statement!(?) I told him I NEVER signed up for online billing! He said it must have been a "mistake" and I would have to call this number he gave me to cancel it.

In the meantime, I asked him about why I haven't received any form to get the free TV and he told me I got 10.2 bandwidth instead of the faster one and I wasn't eligible for the free TV. I told him everyone told me I would get the TV, except for the one guy that said he "didn't know." The phone rep also gave me a phone number for more info on the free TV in case I had any more questions. Finally the call ended after one last reminder about the "refer a friend" program.

After that call ended, I called the number he gave me to cancel the online billing I never asked for or signed up for in the first place. I was waiting on the phone for 22 minutes. Finally a lady comes on and I tell her I want to cancel the online billing and receive a paper bill, and she puts that info in the computer for me and before she hangs up, she informs me that "I will no longer be able to view my account online." WTF? Regardless of whether I do the paper billing or the online billing I should be able to see my account! That is what the Verizon FAQS page says! What are they doing? Am I being punished for wanting a paper bill?!

So this early morning (April 21st) I get online to see what others are saying about Verizon and I stumble across this site and read all the depraved stories of what Verizon has done to other poor souls and realize I am not alone. Eager to tell my own story, I decide to register on here, which I do, but first as you know, I have to go to the site in the confirmation email my3cents sends me. I log on to my Verizon (ICK!) email account, and lo' and behold, what first strikes my attention is an email from Verizon, that says something in the subject line about my upgraded internet speed?!!!

I open it up and it is a confirmation (with confirmation number) about ordering the faster internet speed (the 21.5 bandwidth). And they are thanking me for "my order" and it stated that it goes into effect April 21, 2008! I NEVER ORDERED AN UPGRADE TO A FASTER INTERNET SPEED!!! I am so mad I don't know what action to take next. I am going to call them this morning in about four hours from now and cancel the service I never ordered, which isn't fair!

I will keep everyone updated on what happens next! Oh, and a word of advice for those of you that are trying to get through to a person: When the automated operator asks for your phone number, keep saying "OPERATOR" and you will get connected to someone right away.

As a side note, my next door neighbors have this huge cable sticking out from their garage all the way across their driveway and into the beginning of our yard. It literally looks like a "rainbow!" A sure mark Verizon has been there. I wish I would have stayed with Bright House.

I don't know what Verizon is going to pull next and I don't know what to do. I am only on a pension and I am afraid they will start robbing me like they have so many others. If I cancel before they resolve the check issue, they may stick it to me worse.

My hands are tied at this point. I don't know how those people sleep at night. But I do know one thing: What comes around goes around! If anyone wants to contact me, my email is ** at gmail.com. Maybe we can put our heads together and figure something out to stop this injustice! Good luck to all of you!

Replies
Advertisement
Terrible Experience With Verizon Wireless
By -

TORRANCE, CALIFORNIA -- I was a loyal Verizon Wireless customer until very recently. Honestly, I had no trouble with their service areas, prices, or any of the phones I had used for that matter. However, October of 2006, I happened to lose my phone at an amusement park. It took me one day to suspend my phone, and so I understand if there were any usages on the stolen phone that were charged to my account on that one day someone had my lost phone for free usage. (Just to clarify, I lost my phone on a Saturday, left it for Sunday (although I did call to file a lost/stolen report to receive a new phone that day), and suspended the service on Monday.)

I was very pleased that I got my new phone delivered immediately (one business day), and called Verizon again to activate the new phone. Everything seemed good until I got my first billing statement since I lost my phone. It was over $1,000. Someone had picked up my lost phone and has been downloading games, music, wallpapers, etc. onto my old phone, and for some reason it was showing up on my current bill. It's hard to believe that Verizon had such trouble cancelling my old phone correctly. Honestly, I don't see what is so difficult about such a simple process.

So once I received my bill, I had to call customer service and explain my situation, and all the while I am getting accused of making those data usage charges myself. I had to call a couple of times to get to a representative that understood my problem. Well I got all usages that weren't mine credited back the first time. They convinced me that this same problem won't happen the next month. So, since changing numbers/services could be a hassle, I decided to let the first one slide.

Next billing cycle comes along, SAME THING. Of course, I got all usages that weren't mine credited back the second time too but it was a long process. I should have cancelled the service the second time around, but I decided then that if this happens the next month, that is the action I'm taking. As you can guess, the same thing happened the third month. (Pleas note that each month I had to go through customer service and reexplain myself each time.)

I cancelled my service, and surprise surprise, the last billing statement had usages that weren't mine AGAIN. Now I am trying to get those usages credited towards my cancellation fee. Currently I am waiting for one of the representatives to call me back to let me know of how much they will credit back. I think, probably, since their customer service is much less than satisfactory, they will probably never call me back.

And of course, I get accused again and again. I don't understand why they would even think I would do something like downloaded hundreds of data and then call customer service, make up a lie to get everything credited back. What's the point in that??? Conclusion of story: DON'T use Verizon Wireless EVER. If you do happen to have Verizon and lose your phone, do not hesitate to cancel your service or change your number immediately.

1.26.07. Thank you for the comments. To my surprise, the Verizon customer representative did call me back to let me know the final balance of my bill. He said that he credited back all data usage charges that weren't mine, but he said some fees carried over from previous bills which I hadn't paid in full. (Which I am totally confused about, because I've been paying the exact amounts of what was listed on my bills.)

What I did was have him send me the detailed usage statements from September till the end of my service, and I'm going to use that to see if there were any miscalculations, as well as file a report with the FCC. (Thanks to one of the users below who let me know about it.) Also, as for the fourth comment, I suspended my phone on the Monday and called insurance on Sunday. I understand that if there were any usages until I suspended my phone, I am responsible for it. But the problem was that even after my suspension and reactivating my new phone, the person who picked up my old phone was still able to download data.

All these usages came up on my bill as if I was the one doing the downloads. This happened for three months. Honestly I don't really care about if there were any usages within that time that I didn't have my phone suspended, because the biggest problem was that they could not correctly cancel my old phone and on top of that, many times didn't believe that my situation was true.

Replies
Verizon - TV/Internet/Phone service
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

GARDEN CITY, NEW YORK -- We have switched our TV/Internet/Phone service to Verizon 4/15/2013, since we did not like the service so we switched back to Optimum on 5/2/2013. On that day we have returned all Verizon equipment back to their store nearby. The clerk told us they are only responsible for equipment, we have to call Verizon to cancel the service. So we did as told!

A few days later, I received a full bill so I called the customer services to explain to them I have switched to another company, and is waiting for my final bill. They told me the bill was generated automatically, there is no way they can do it sooner. I just have to wait for the next billing cycle to see the adjustment. About two weeks later, I received another bill - next month bill so I called again. They told me I have to wait for the next billing cycle. There is nothing they can do until the credit was credit back to my account. Sounds reasonable - you have to give people time to resolve the problem, so I wait again.

Then I received an e-mail about my account and bill. At this time I feel a little uncomfortable for owing people money so I called again. This time I got a gentleman, he was very nice. He told me the bill will be adjusted soon, and I don't even have to call again, they will send the corrected bill to me within a week to 10 days. He told me because I had cancelled my account within 30 days I will not be billed for early termination fees. I thank him and thinking about the bill will be coming soon. I don't have to worry about I still owe Verizon money.

Well, my waiting has come to a big surprise today. I have received not only the full bill, but plus an early termination fees. Of course I called again, and this time the customer service lady had a totally different tune. She told me she looked at my account, my phone was canceled on 5/24 (?) so the early termination fees will not be waived. What amazed me is every time I called they always ask for my permission to look at my account, and from the conversation I have with different reps. I was wondering if they are looking at the same account?

Some representative would tell me they see my account had been canceled on 5/2/13; some told me I don't have to worry about early termination fees as I have follow their instruction to cancel within 30 days. But, today must be my unlucky day as I have encountered a representative who I was not able to communicate at all. She kept telling me what she wanted to say instead of listening to my problem and resolve the problem for me.

I told her that many companies have phone recording system, it shouldn't be hard to find the phone conversations I had with other reps. But, she just wouldn't listen to me. Her attitude makes me wonder if a big company like Verizon has to trick their customer and make money this way? It's really a simple issue for every party, why Verizon has to make it so complicated? I really believe only customers are happy you will have a good business. I know I will never do business with Verizon ever again.

Replies
Top of Page | Next Page >

Verizon Rating:
Star Half star Empty star Empty star Empty star
1.3 out of 5, based on 79 ratings and
683 reviews & complaints.
Contact Information:
Verizon
1095 Avenue of the Americas
New York, New York 10036
800-621-9900 (ph)
www.verizon.com
billingservices@verizon.net
Product/Services
Compare Phone/Mobile Services