Preview Review

Next Review

Verizon Consumer Reviews - Page 3

Most Popular | Newest | More Options >
More filter options:
Verizon Nightmare
By -

MUSCATINE, IOWA -- Verizon, unbelievable is the first word that comes to mind related to the experience...the nightmare, that dealing with Verizon has been for myself. After pursuing the endless calls to their Customer Service, Verizon and their inability to provide Broadband service. Here is some of the things that's going on.

I have 2 broadband wireless cards. Unfortunately I can't walk away from them. I'm out in the county were there is not any other service around. I got the 1st one and it worked great so I got a 2nd one for my kids. Things were going good until the speed started going down. I started calling their Customer Service for slow service. Until it was slower then dialup. And this is what they told me, on an unlimited plan, that after a year they slow me down to dial up speed because I went over 5 GB.

Customer Service told me I went over my limit. I said I have an unlimited plan. She said yes I have the unlimited plan BUT I went over my limit so they slowed me down. Then I said, "Did you understand what I just told you?" She said yes. I then asked her what plan do I have, she said again I have the unlimited plan. I Said OK, then why did you slow me down. She said because I went over my limit. Verizon must Only Hire The Absolute Dumbest People. How can you deal with ridiculous Customer Service when they don't understand what's they're talking about.

This happened on a Saturday night 2-21-2009 and had to call this 1-888-483-7200 Monday to get my broadband back. When I called them, they slowed me down because I used over my limit. OOH KNOW my 2nd Customer Service Experience From Hell. They told me in my contract if I go over 5GB THEY CAN SLOW ME DOWN. I told
them when I got my broadband I did not sign any contract. I have never seen one. All they wanted was my credit card. Sign the credit receipt and I was in and out of the door in about 9 or 10 mins. Then I asked if they were making the rules up as they go along. Then I said my usage was under 3 GB when I looked, not even close to 5.

They said this was just to let me know if I go over my 5GB on my unlimited plan they will slow me down. Unbelievable is the first word that comes to mind related to the experience...the nightmare, that dealing with Verizon
has been for myself a start of a Nightmare.

After pursuing the endless calls to their Customer Service, Verizon and their inability to provide Broadband service. It has been going downhill for over a year. Most of the time it is slower than dialup. When we first got it, we were downloading at 1200 to 1500 downloads. Some nights it been. 0 to 29 to. 0 then 122 then .0 and sits there until the page times out. I have reported my complaint over 30 times about how my internet service has been unreliable, slow speed or times out. Or it switches from broadband access to National access.

There has been times of no-problem-service, and times of no service. I have done online tech chats. All of them run the same diagnostic. I got to the point where I was telling them on what I did before they asked. They put in a work order to have the tower check and they would call me back. I never got a call back. After two week of dialup speed I called them back, and to my frustration they said the work order was closed by the field service tech. Could not find anything wrong. I ask if I could talk to the field service tech and was told no. They don't talk to us. So I opened a new work order for slow service.

I'm paying their high monthly fees for a service I do not get, and their best saying is waive their early termination fee. Because they CANNOT keep their end by giving me broadband service. With some common sense and decency to return my money and maybe offer an apology. I pay my bill each month if I don't, do you think they would not turn me over for their money. Just Another Faceless Verizon Victim here.

Gee whiz-- The only good thing I have to say about my experience with Verizon is that, I had their cell phone service, it works fine. But heaven forbid if you have any issues where you have to deal with an actual person or have a problem solved. Am sick over the way Verizon has treated me. I have reported my complaint with the BBB and FTC and I hope all frustrated Verizon customers do the same. We need to tell these big Companies that us consumers deserve true customer service representatives. They're too big to deal with the little person they think they're god and can do what they want to do. And paying their high monthly fees for a service we do not get.

Replies
Advertisement
Internet (Unlimited Broadband 5GB)
By -

MONTICELLO, GEORGIA -- This being my first computer bought the PC card from Verizon after telling the Verizon sales representative I wanted the best plan available. As it turns out they hyped this plan up as being the best thing since sliced bread, emphasizing "unlimited, unlimited" pointing out everything but a cap on usage.

Please if one Verizon person comes on and says "you should have read your paperwork" this is the truth the sales receipt plainly states at the top type of plan "unlimited" usage "undefined" last time I checked unlimited meant no cap only when it goes down it says Broadband5GB.

This being my first computer was foolish enough to believe that Verizon was a truthful honest company and their sales reps are their to help the customer get the best plan based on his or her needs and was their to make the customer happy, but no that old fashioned treating your customer honestly and fairly is not allowed by Verizon. They employ liars and basically steal money and will offer rudeness over the phone, untold waiting on a supervisor I'm convinced is sitting by smiling while listening to your complaints.

I bought the card for 59.99 a month this was around Christmas 08, I also purchased some software to download at a well established electronic chain. while downloading it would go into error and the PC usage came on saying I shouldn't be charged for this software time. I thought this was strange " how can you be charged usage for an unlimited plan impossible" well I tried downloading this about a half dozen times over my trial period I noticed when it errored the PC card usage number would spike it went from 3GB to 9.14.

I never received a bill (the 30 day trial is a crock, I purchased Dec 23rd first bill due Feb. 1st). I went to store and paid cash (they don't accept anyone's check) balance due exactly what my first estimated bill was supposed to be 122.00. Mid January I'm still under the impression I'm dealing with an up and up company so I buy an " unlimited cell phone plan" for 99.00 a month that was the greatest plan and would save me money, paid cash everything is fine, and I had mentioned the time it happened but again reminded Verizon about not getting a bill. "We'll get it straightened out don't worry" I was told.

March 8th I remembered they had not sent me a bill for cell and PC. Verizon has an interesting way of billing you instead of doing it the old fashioned way of mail, they just wait for you to pay on your own, and the only notice you get is a disconnected cell phone. I called Verizon and was put through to a representative. She wanted to know was I going to pay balance in full. I said yes thinking my first bill would be about 280.00 and they would drop the disconnection fee.

She put me on hold and I was sent to a "red flag" that was a bad check department and my file was located their. I said you made a mistake but I have only paid in cash and I don't write bad checks". transferred back to Verizon who took my banking info for check by phone system, we went over numbers twice to make sure it was right. I got ahead of myself before she gave me the balance 911.12 for 1 month. I seldom talk on the phone how can this be "unlimited" she said I had 700.00 in internet usage going over 5GB. I argued that I had unlimited usage but anyway I paid half the bill in protest.

I told her about the error on the PC card while downloading, a tech came on and said nothing they can do and actually I had occurred 900.00 and they knocked some off. I can't tell you how thankful I was to have someone cut my phone off for no reason, spend now about an hour and a half on the phone and to not charge me for something I didn't use.

Phone reconnected, next day I call back and thought I could get someone with reason to clear this up but to my good luck I got a rude, nasty obnoxious representative who accused me of streaming music, I said no but since you know what I'm doing you will see the card errored, again she was awful. Next day phone was disconnected and internet shut off. I called Verizon and they transferred me to the"red flag girl".

She agreed we talk a lot but we don't know why, back to Verizon and they said they had trouble with my bank and for me to call my bank and have them send written statement verifying my account. They said I had given them an account that was closed. I'm angry because everything they do or say is a lie. I call my bank. They look into it and tell me that Verizon had never attempted to make a transaction.

I call Verizon, angry but was told I shouldn't be angry because they shut my phone and internet for no valid reason charged me a mortgage payment for 1 month internet for service I didn't use and spend almost two days on the phone, and yes destroying my credit how thoughtful of Verizon and then I'm paying (under protest). They don't want to let me do that either.

They did draft out of my account but instead of one draft they slit it 127.00 for one and 377.12 for another so the bank could charge me an extra 6.50 again. How thoughtful of Verizon not to mention 20.00 worth of ringtones I never ordered and about 45.00 in disconnection fees and 611.00 of internet usage on an "unlimited" plan and will not send a bill. It seems you must scream loudly to get one and then itemized internet usage I asked for was this PAST DUE 611.00 again thanks for your trouble Verizon.

I packed your card and phone up you will be receiving it very soon as you know because I don't hide my agenda I'm telling you then and now you can take your card and phone and shove it where... all 2000 complaints would love to put it. Verizon my friend. I hope there is a class action lawsuit and your forced to pay back with interest and every store during this time should have a sign that states the truth "We're Verizon we hate you. We're here to mislead you and steal your money cause so far the government lets us and we wish we could destroy you're credit some more."

Verizon listen up. I'm GOING TO DO WHAT EVER WITHIN LEGAL MEANS TO SINK YOU INTO BANKRUPTCY. IF THEY CLOSED THE DOOR ON YOU YESTERDAY IT WOULD BE TOO LATE, and the owner and shareholders do you have any morals at all? Maybe rename it Lucifer's wireless seems to fit.

Replies
Seriously Silly Reason to Lose Long-Time Customer
By -

BURKE, VIRGINIA -- I have been a Verizon customer for many years. I have Verizon wireless, phone service, and FiOS. But I really feel like I have to consider other options due to the trouble I had last week trying to get someone at Verizon to listen to me or address my request honestly or respectfully.

The problem, simply and clearly stated: I do not send text messages of more that 160 characters or with graphics or formatting. However, every time I send a plain text message, even the messages "Test," “Call me” or “?.” Verizon calls me back with this message: “FREE_VZW_MSG: Messages sent to non-VZW customers with graphics/tones/formatting/and/or160+characters are sent as plain text with only the first 160 characters.”

Each time I tell Verizon this, I am told “it's impossible to turn off the alert that you receive when a message exceeds 160 characters." ”Great," I say. "Simply fix it so that I only get it when I do send a message of more that 160 characters and I will be a happy Verizon customer again.” Instead, Verizon has apparently cancelled my texting plan in retaliation.

The last person I talked to said his boss wasn't available and would call me. She eventually did leave me a voice mail message. Guess what it said? Yep. “We are unable to turn off the alert that you receive when a message exceeds 160 characters.” Next I received an email telling me my texting plan had been cancelled! At my request!

I'm still trying to figure out a way to get past the way I've been treated recently and keep being a Verizon customer, but I begin to think Verizon would rather not have the few hundred dollars a month I'm paying them now. And I wonder if it's wise to do business with a company with such poor customer service training, personnel and practices. I've worked in public affairs and customer service myself for 30 years and this seems to be a pretty badly-run operation and a seriously silly reason to lose a long-time customer.

Replies
Just Another Faceless Verizon Victim
By -

TAMPA, FLORIDA -- I don't even know where to start with my depraved journey with Verizon, so I will tell the sordid story the best I can. On or around Feb 7th, 2008, a man who worked for Verizon knocked on our door and convinced us to get the bundle package (cable, internet, phone). We were quoted the approximate monthly amount we would be charged after the initial three month breakdown of extra boxes and installation in other rooms (around $170.00).

Let's just see if it's the amount they quoted (if I am still with them, which is looking very doubtful as of late). I asked him if we would be eligible for the free TV and he said he "didn't know," and gave me a number to call to see if we were eligible. We decided to have the installer come on February 21. The door sales rep gave me his cell phone number in case we had any questions and he was on his merry way to recruit other unlucky poor souls in the neighborhood to sign up with Verizon.

Two days later (Feb 9th), I called this man and asked him if I could have a copy of what we ordered. He could not provide that and said we would get a copy when the installer came. On this same day, Verizon people already marked their "territory" with the blue flags around our property where they were going to dig. In the meantime, I called and asked if I would get the free TV and the person I talked to said "yes." The big day comes (Feb 21) and the man installed everything. Took him about four hours I guess.

Sure enough, we got a "copy" that was yellow, but didn't say what we ordered. Just a bunch of numbers, abbreviations, and initials that only a tech could read or understand. The installer did point out to us what channels we got on the paper guide he gave us, but there was no breakdown of prices for anything. He also informed us he only lived two blocks from us. We were neighbors. How about that. So anyway, he left.

Ever since he walked out that door it has been downhill. For starters, he left the light on in the attic (we knew this because we could see it through an air vent in the ceiling in the garage that was made into a bedroom). We called him and left a note on his door about the light in the attic and he never responded to us, even though he was two blocks away.

Next day we had to call Verizon to send someone out to go up in the attic to turn the light off. This was a Sunday. A tech came on Monday to turn the light off. Then I had trouble logging on the internet and couldn't understand why. The installer set the Z adapter up wrong where we have to hit the Z icon (for the adapter), let it come up and then right-click to exit the Z icon! Then we can log on.

It took me many hours over the night to figure that out after countless calls to Verizon's tech support's confusing web of menus and automated operators. Finally the third human tech guy I talked to told me the installer set the adapter up wrong. So I have to exit out the Z icon every time I log on to the internet. Okay, so I can finally get online now. Everything was going great for a bit until our first billing cycle. They never sent us a statement for Feb of what we owed for the first month's usage!

I called and told them and they said we should be getting one any day, and they gave me the website so I could see the bill online. In the meantime, while I am on the phone with them, I was offered several sales pitches. One was for spyware, another was for the "refer a friend" program. I told them I already had free spyware and said I didn't know anyone to recommend Verizon to.

After I hung up, I try to log on to the Verizon site to view my bill, but first I have to "register," but before I could, the site informed me I would be getting a call "within 30 minutes" to get a temporary number to log on with. Two hours passed -- they never called. At the two-hour mark, it was 6:00 p.m. Next day comes, they never called, so I called them about 2:00 p.m. same day, and tell them nobody called me with a temp number. Woman gave me a number to call to get my temp number, along with all the pathetic sales pitches that come along with the call, then I was finally able to log on to my account.

Well, the paper bill statement never came, so I had to go online a print out a statement of what I owed and mailed it with check to the billing address I verified with the CSR and that was also the address on the Verizon "send payments to" account site. I mailed the check in with a letter stating that I would like a paper bill next billing cycle. I went online a few days later to see if they received it. It showed they did indeed receive it. So far, so good.

The second billing cycle comes -- still no paper billing statement. I called them again and told them I never received a paper bill for March. The male rep said I should have and told me that he sees THAT I HAVE NOT SIGNED UP FOR ONLINE BILLING so I SHOULD HAVE GOT A PAPER BILL, verified my address and assured me that I would get a paper bill in a few days. In the meantime, he is trying to sell me some package. He said I could "get HBO for two cents more." I said "okay." Then he said I would lose Cinemax though, so I said I didn't want it then.

Then he tried to sell me spyware. I said I already had spyware. Then he wanted me to get some box to record movies from the TV. I told him I didn't want to buy anything and that I already had a DVD recorder. Then he said something to the effect, 'But you don't even know what I am offering you yet." So I was forced to listen, and then I told him I don't watch those many shows. And he had the gall to say, "Then why do you have a DVD recorder?!" Can you believe it?!!

I just ignored him then he told me about the "refer a friend program." I never answered him back. To make a long story short, I finally got off the phone with this clown, and he again assured me I would get a paper bill in the mail in the next few days. A paper bill never came. Had to go online again and print out a makeshift statement with a check for said amount and mailed it in. This was on April 10th.

On April 18, I go online and it showed that the check hasn't been posted yet. I called them yet again and asked them why the check had not been posted for the second billing cycle, and they had no record of receiving my check. The rep did some research and sent an email somewhere to see where my check was and he said they would get back with me in a few days (yeah, right).

In the meantime, while he is doing his research, this rep started his sales pitches ad nausea yet again. I told him I don't want to buy anything, I just want a PAPER BILL OF MY STATEMENT SENT TO MY HOUSE. He then informs me I HAVE SIGNED UP FOR "ONLINE BILLING" and that is why I haven't received a statement!(?) I told him I NEVER signed up for online billing! He said it must have been a "mistake" and I would have to call this number he gave me to cancel it.

In the meantime, I asked him about why I haven't received any form to get the free TV and he told me I got 10.2 bandwidth instead of the faster one and I wasn't eligible for the free TV. I told him everyone told me I would get the TV, except for the one guy that said he "didn't know." The phone rep also gave me a phone number for more info on the free TV in case I had any more questions. Finally the call ended after one last reminder about the "refer a friend" program.

After that call ended, I called the number he gave me to cancel the online billing I never asked for or signed up for in the first place. I was waiting on the phone for 22 minutes. Finally a lady comes on and I tell her I want to cancel the online billing and receive a paper bill, and she puts that info in the computer for me and before she hangs up, she informs me that "I will no longer be able to view my account online." WTF? Regardless of whether I do the paper billing or the online billing I should be able to see my account! That is what the Verizon FAQS page says! What are they doing? Am I being punished for wanting a paper bill?!

So this early morning (April 21st) I get online to see what others are saying about Verizon and I stumble across this site and read all the depraved stories of what Verizon has done to other poor souls and realize I am not alone. Eager to tell my own story, I decide to register on here, which I do, but first as you know, I have to go to the site in the confirmation email my3cents sends me. I log on to my Verizon (ICK!) email account, and lo' and behold, what first strikes my attention is an email from Verizon, that says something in the subject line about my upgraded internet speed?!!!

I open it up and it is a confirmation (with confirmation number) about ordering the faster internet speed (the 21.5 bandwidth). And they are thanking me for "my order" and it stated that it goes into effect April 21, 2008! I NEVER ORDERED AN UPGRADE TO A FASTER INTERNET SPEED!!! I am so mad I don't know what action to take next. I am going to call them this morning in about four hours from now and cancel the service I never ordered, which isn't fair!

I will keep everyone updated on what happens next! Oh, and a word of advice for those of you that are trying to get through to a person: When the automated operator asks for your phone number, keep saying "OPERATOR" and you will get connected to someone right away.

As a side note, my next door neighbors have this huge cable sticking out from their garage all the way across their driveway and into the beginning of our yard. It literally looks like a "rainbow!" A sure mark Verizon has been there. I wish I would have stayed with Bright House.

I don't know what Verizon is going to pull next and I don't know what to do. I am only on a pension and I am afraid they will start robbing me like they have so many others. If I cancel before they resolve the check issue, they may stick it to me worse.

My hands are tied at this point. I don't know how those people sleep at night. But I do know one thing: What comes around goes around! If anyone wants to contact me, my email is ** at gmail.com. Maybe we can put our heads together and figure something out to stop this injustice! Good luck to all of you!

Replies
Advertisement
Misinformed, Misled, and then Backstabbed.
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

VIRGINIA BEACH, VIRGINIA -- We began our Verizon service in May after signing a 6 month lease at our apartment. Our customer representative told us if we moved we could just transfer service at no cost. Just call and it would be moved. So we agreed to a two year commitment: $99.99 for Basic TV Bundle, with internet (15/5) and phone. Perks included free DVR Box for 12 mo, a "Standard Definition Set Top Box free for as long as you remain a customer," and a $200 gift card. We were told by our local representative that the channel NESN National was included with this package.

Come to find out, it wasn't. It is only included in the Ultimate Package which costs $40 more per month. After hours of speaking with customer service representative (about 7 hours over the course of 3 days) a supervisor in retention named ** said it was ridiculous for us to pay $40 extra for just one channel so she said she would give us 2 recurring Valued Customer $20/12 mo credits to offset the price difference. She also said this would expire after a year but to call back and we could renew it for year two and she would be sure to note this in our account.

We also chose to add HBO to our account for the current promo price of $9.99. Our monthly bill is typically $117 after the credits. The second $20 dollar credit was never made recurring so we literally called every month to have our bill adjusted. The employees said they saw the note in our account, made the adjustment and all claimed they would manually adjust this moving forward, though no one ever did.

When time to move came, we called and asked for a transfer of service. However, we were then informed that moving is the equivalent of terminating our contract, that we would have to renegotiate our package and that any discounts or credits would not transfer. We were offered the new "great deal" for the ultimate package for $159.99 a month. The HBO offer was no longer available but they could give us a premium channel bundle for $15 bringing out new total to $175/month for the first year.

This new Bundle was priced at $119. However, unlike our current package equipment was not free for the first year. But the employee kept saying he was beating our current price because the Ultimate package we were receiving was priced at $139, but that didn't take into account our $40 dollar credit we had on the original account.

So because we were moving, we could no longer keep our current service, which is the most absurd policy I have ever heard, and furthermore our only option would be to pay $40 more per month. They said that our bad customer service issues were linked to our first account, but because this was a new account they could not transfer the Value Customer credit because of the new great deal we were receiving.

We were then told we never should have received the credits we had been receiving because it was against company policy for those to be given out and that if our account were ever to be audited, there would be problems. The supervisor for retention then told me my choices were to cancel with Verizon completely or pay for the new package price. That he could not honor the prices I had been paying.

So even though if we move, we keep the same account number, and don't need to pay a termination fee, we have somehow broken the terms of our current contract and are forced into new pricing and are expected to act as if all of our terrible experiences were only with our past account and not with the terrible policies and the different story we got from every employee every time we called.

Oh yeah and that (and I quote) "Standard Definition Set Top Box free for as long as you remain a customer" that is printed on an invoice directly from Verizon? We are now told we have to pay a $5.99/mo rental fee for that. I told them I had in writing on a bill this statement and that it would hold up in any court. The supervisor then told me that Verizon has a great legal team who would have made sure that whatever was printed on my invoice was only applicable at our current address.

Yup. Great customer service. They messed up. Finally fixed it, and then in one swift kick to the groin decided take back their shred of decency and then, hey, force us into a new bundle and charge more money. Great customer service is ensuring that customers remain loyal, are treated with respect, and are shown value. Apparently Verizon's only concern is money, and how much they can rob you on these hidden technicalities.

Replies
Verizon - TV/Internet/Phone service
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

GARDEN CITY, NEW YORK -- We have switched our TV/Internet/Phone service to Verizon 4/15/2013, since we did not like the service so we switched back to Optimum on 5/2/2013. On that day we have returned all Verizon equipment back to their store nearby. The clerk told us they are only responsible for equipment, we have to call Verizon to cancel the service. So we did as told!

A few days later, I received a full bill so I called the customer services to explain to them I have switched to another company, and is waiting for my final bill. They told me the bill was generated automatically, there is no way they can do it sooner. I just have to wait for the next billing cycle to see the adjustment. About two weeks later, I received another bill - next month bill so I called again. They told me I have to wait for the next billing cycle. There is nothing they can do until the credit was credit back to my account. Sounds reasonable - you have to give people time to resolve the problem, so I wait again.

Then I received an e-mail about my account and bill. At this time I feel a little uncomfortable for owing people money so I called again. This time I got a gentleman, he was very nice. He told me the bill will be adjusted soon, and I don't even have to call again, they will send the corrected bill to me within a week to 10 days. He told me because I had cancelled my account within 30 days I will not be billed for early termination fees. I thank him and thinking about the bill will be coming soon. I don't have to worry about I still owe Verizon money.

Well, my waiting has come to a big surprise today. I have received not only the full bill, but plus an early termination fees. Of course I called again, and this time the customer service lady had a totally different tune. She told me she looked at my account, my phone was canceled on 5/24 (?) so the early termination fees will not be waived. What amazed me is every time I called they always ask for my permission to look at my account, and from the conversation I have with different reps. I was wondering if they are looking at the same account?

Some representative would tell me they see my account had been canceled on 5/2/13; some told me I don't have to worry about early termination fees as I have follow their instruction to cancel within 30 days. But, today must be my unlucky day as I have encountered a representative who I was not able to communicate at all. She kept telling me what she wanted to say instead of listening to my problem and resolve the problem for me.

I told her that many companies have phone recording system, it shouldn't be hard to find the phone conversations I had with other reps. But, she just wouldn't listen to me. Her attitude makes me wonder if a big company like Verizon has to trick their customer and make money this way? It's really a simple issue for every party, why Verizon has to make it so complicated? I really believe only customers are happy you will have a good business. I know I will never do business with Verizon ever again.

Replies
No Service in Mexico
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

SAN DIEGO/MEXICO, CALIFORNIA -- I did finally speak to ** but that's not the whole story. As he said I have had service with them since ‘99 and have always had reception here in Mexico (**). The problem is that I'm not able to make, receive calls, or even access my voice mail with a land line. I get a busy signal and so does every one else that tries to call me. When I'm at the above address, the call just cuts off.

So I'm basically stranded within a 3 block radius from this address. Again a very populated area with the second busiest intersection in Tijuana within 3 blocks. Now I explained to him that I also have a Telcel number here in Mexico and I have no problems using at this address and never had a problem. It's **. If you dialed both the US cell and the Mexican cell only the Mexican cell will work if I'm at the above address.

The funny thing that I have informed them that I have been able (on about 6 different occasions) to make maximum of 3 calls when I first arrive at the above address, mostly just two calls but right after the 2nd or 3rd call everything dies. No making call, no receiving calls, and no access to voice mail even if the call is coming from the US. The call just disconnects or people get a busy signal.

Like ** said he offered me to do their work for them by having me contact Telcel myself to file a network trouble ticket. So I said “so you want me to do the work for you?” and he replied that all he was offering was information (phone number for Telcel) for me to fix the problem with Telcel which to me is the same thing.

I'm sure Verizon does not care that I recently lost my job. Since I had no fault for the loss of employment maybe I can give them my old boss' number and they can try to collect their payment from him since communication has been affected with my income source, though no fault of my own, and I have done all I could from my side so maybe they should deal with my old boss for their monthly payment, because it sounds to me like they want me to fix this problem for them.

If I fix theirs maybe they can fix mine. I pay my phone bill on time and have done so for the past 11 years. I have nothing to do with Telcel. Verizon is the one that contracted with them. They need to fix this problem themselves. I think it's only fair, but since I'm not a giant corporation with all kinds of lawyers and money to burn, who out there could care what ** thinks?

** may consider this case closed but I don't. I have been missing calls from potential employers again because my voice mail does not work when I'm in Mexico at the above address and I have to leave this area in order to be able to make a call. So where do I go from here? If anyone else has this problem I would like to hear about it, maybe something can be done. Please contact me **.

Replies
I Do Not Think Anyone At Verizon Listens, Tells The Truth Or Has A Brain
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

CHESAPEAKE, VIRGINIA -- We switched to Verizon about 4 years ago, I should have known they had issues when it took them several months to figure out we had a bundle; and it took them 3 days to install and screw up our yard, our bills and our service. We got separate bills for the longest time and no bundle discount. Every time I called (monthly) because every month we were overcharged; not sure how but every six months or so they tied us to a new stinkier contract!

I bill 38.00 per hour, I spent more time trying to get my service and bill straight then I did on some clients! It always just made matters worse! We moved recently and downsized family and home; we had 2 HD and 2 non HD boxes, FiOS super-speed Internet and phone (should have been 190.00 Mo) I received bills for every amount above that. I actually only had 5 correct bills in 2.5 yrs; upon moving I requested no HD, mid range Internet and basic phone; we only had one HD capable TV, didn't need wireless and took off unpublished at 3.50 Mo.

I was promised $123. Per month, my first bill was 285.00! The install guy came, hooked the two HD boxes to two TV's one of which was not HD compatible, he hooked one reg box to a TV, took a black box (later found out I owned the black ones), left the old router and left a worthless bus card with phone numbers we could reach! As everyone well knows that has Verizon you are advanced billed, guess what you are advanced billed again if you change.

I never asked for any movie channels ever and after every long drawn out phone call - get a credit and bill me again! My second bill that should have been 123 was 5 pages long and after doing the debits and credits I was still charged for HBO and Cinemax, billed for HD boxes at a higher rate than when we had HD and they added Disney!

My husband and I are in our 50's and 60's we really don't watch Disney much! We then get a bill for equipment not returned, called again, we get a shipment by UPS of little transmitters; guy comes out hooks them up says he won't take any equip with him because it will "get lost". My husband drives 45 min's 2 weeks ago to turn in equip; we now have sucky TV, stinky Internet which is higher than the supposedly great FiOS, and we are now being billed for the two stinky boxes, 2 HD boxes and 2 basics (we own 3 TVs one HD but we don't care - never saw a difference).

I have been blown off by rude customer service reps. I have been made to believe we finally have it straight - and been lied to so many times I can't count! When do I get to back charge for the hours and frustration caused by them? When do I get the bill I was promised 2 or 3 weeks before we even moved? When will Verizon figure out that 2 people are entering the same billing info and no one knows what the home actually contains?

Also, don't splice a "yes" into “do you want to renew your contract?" I know that the reason they ask if they can access your account is to get you to say yes to something. Then when you fight the renewed contract, the part where your conversation may be recorded comes into play and you hear your "yes". If I live long enough to get past that contract Verizon will no longer be in any of my numerous family member's homes.

My daughters just bought homes and went with three different companies to avoid Verizon as they (professional people with numerous degrees) have tried to help us correct this and threw their hands up! It's impossible, my husband wanted to go face to face with a rep, can't happen in VA, there are no customer service locations in VA that you can discuss your account face to face with a human being! I hate Verizon.

Replies
Advertisement
Horrific customer service/overcharges
By -

NEW YORK, NEW YORK -- Verizon has the worst customer service I have ever seen. It started when I called for to get a land line and internet service. First, they told me I needed to be available for an entire day for hookup. They never set foot on my property but threw a switch somewhere so I lost a day of work for no reason. Then, they grossly overcharged me. My first bill was for $239.92 for the lowest level phone and internet package they have. Took me more than an hour on the phone to get some of the charges credited.

Then, I decided I wanted a wireless modem. So I contacted them again and again spent about an hour on the phone, mostly on hold to tell them I wanted to exchange my modem for a wireless. It took two calls to get a return label for the one I had and needed to return. Another hour on the phone. I returned the modem, which cost $69.98, they not give me credit for it. Called several times and they acknowledged over the phone that they had received the modem and credit would be issued.

So I wrote them a letter and sent it with my payment and proof of delivery of the modem. I never got a response. Then, I was charged $46.49 by an ILD Teleservice. Another call with at least another hour on hold. They agreed to credit it. I also talked again about not getting credit for the modem. So they double credited the $46.49 on the SAME bill and still didn't credit the modem. So there was a net difference of $23.49. I wrote them another letter and mailed it with my payment. No response. So I have short paid my bill every month since and they have never asked why.

In May when my contract was up, I called to cancel service. They said my contract wasn't up til the end of the month and it would cost me $16.00 to cancel early. I said OK and asked them to send me a label to return the wireless modem. They sent me a box to return a DVR which I have never had. Also, I got an email telling me it would cost me $165 to cancel my service. So I called again and asked them when they showed my contract was up. I knew it was sometime in May. They said June 25. So I told them not to cancel it. Then about a week later I got an email telling me my internet would be canceled by week's end unless I called them and told them otherwise.

I looked up my records and called them. My records showed my contract was up May 25th. So this person agreed and I told them to cancel my service on the last day of my contact and to send me a label for the wireless. The person told me that a label would automatically be sent to me. A month later I called because I still did not have a label and was told if I'd had the equipment for a year, I would not need to return it. Then I got a bill for $31.11 and have not paid it and they turned it over to a collection agency. I have filed a complaint with the FCC and also on Classaction.org

Replies
Verizon - Full of Incompetence
By -

TEXAS -- I called Verizon up to see if I could save a little money and make a slight change to our business account. I was told I could add on TV service, upgrade internet, and change our phone lines so we wouldn't have to dial 9 to place a call and that would save us a little on our monthly bill. When the technician came out to look at our internet he informed us they wouldn't be able to do anything with the internet as it would interfere with our current internet and would have to be turned off in order to change it. We decided to cancel the order, but still asked if we could change our phone lines.

They told us they would be able to do it and it would be between 24 and 48 hours. They never showed, so I called up there to see what the problem was and found out they had cancelled the whole order. I was a little irritated, but went ahead and made another order. After about a week, we get a call from one of our customers saying they tried to leave a message for us about a $15,000 job, but it wouldn't go to our voicemail and that it was lucky they had our personal cellphone numbers or they wouldn't have been able to reach us. Who knows how many jobs we missed due to Verizon's mistakes.

I call up to Verizon to see what the issue is and am told that we don't have a voice mailbox and they would have to build a new one for us. They then went on to say their Tech Support department is no longer able to construct them due to way too many mistakes and someone would be contacting me by the end of the day. We were able to get our mailbox up and running again, but they failed to tell us they also changed the number and passcode to access it. Finally, after talking to at least 3 different people, we were able to access our mailbox again.

Another week goes by and the owner of the company calls to leave us a message, but informs us that the line he called goes to a voice mailbox from 8 years ago. After unsuccessfully trying to access the mailbox, I have to call Verizon yet again. They tell me it is because of a "line hunt" issue and that they would correct the issue within 24 hours.

Two weeks later and I had to call AGAIN to resolve the issue. When Tech Support finally picks up, they ask if I'm sure I even have service with them because they don't see it on my account. I tell her "Yes of course I have phone service with y'all, I've been dealing with the same issue for the last couple of months," to which she replies "Oh yes I see that now, the first call was placed October 12th, corrected on November 4th, and again on November 17th, is this correct?" so I explain what has been going on and she transfers me to their Billing department. I'm then told they don't need to set anything up and it is a Tech issue, so I'm again transferred.

The rude employee "helping" me asks to put me on hold so she can research my account and see if she can find the issue. When she THINKS I'm on hold I hear "OH honey I love that color shirt on you, did your wife pick it out? *unintelligible reply* How is the dog situation? *reply* AND she made you get rid of the cat?! *reply*" she then mumbles something, giggles and says "Yea, I don't even think she (referring to me) knows she's even on hold *laughs*" and then comes back on the phone and politely says "Thank you for holding ma'am, I'll be transferring you to someone who will be able to help you with the issue," and sends me back to the Billing department.

Thankfully, she sends me to the only intelligent employee who apologizes sincerely after I explain to her what has been happening to me and tells me she won't be transferring me anymore and that she will call Tech Support herself to resolve it. Unfortunately, they can't help her and she has to transfer me, but stays on the line to make sure they answer. Finally they pick up and after having to explain my situation again, the non-English speaking "expert" runs a test on the WRONG line and says there is no issue and that someone would have to physically come out to check the phone.

The person they were sending out calls an hour later to verify the order and our address, so I decide to explain my situation and the problem is corrected in under 15 minutes over the phone. I haven't had any more problems today, but I'm sure we will have to contact them again in the very near future.

Replies
Top of Page | Next Page >

Verizon Rating:
Star Half star Empty star Empty star Empty star
1.3 out of 5, based on 79 ratings and
683 reviews & complaints.
Contact Information:
Verizon
1095 Avenue of the Americas
New York, New York 10036
800-621-9900 (ph)
www.verizon.com
billingservices@verizon.net
Product/Services
Compare Phone/Mobile Services