Preview Review

Next Review

Verizon Consumer Reviews - Page 4

Most Popular | Newest | More Options >
More filter options:
I Do Not Think Anyone At Verizon Listens, Tells The Truth Or Has A Brain
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

CHESAPEAKE, VIRGINIA -- We switched to Verizon about 4 years ago, I should have known they had issues when it took them several months to figure out we had a bundle; and it took them 3 days to install and screw up our yard, our bills and our service. We got separate bills for the longest time and no bundle discount. Every time I called (monthly) because every month we were overcharged; not sure how but every six months or so they tied us to a new stinkier contract!

I bill 38.00 per hour, I spent more time trying to get my service and bill straight then I did on some clients! It always just made matters worse! We moved recently and downsized family and home; we had 2 HD and 2 non HD boxes, FiOS super-speed Internet and phone (should have been 190.00 Mo) I received bills for every amount above that. I actually only had 5 correct bills in 2.5 yrs; upon moving I requested no HD, mid range Internet and basic phone; we only had one HD capable TV, didn't need wireless and took off unpublished at 3.50 Mo.

I was promised $123. Per month, my first bill was 285.00! The install guy came, hooked the two HD boxes to two TV's one of which was not HD compatible, he hooked one reg box to a TV, took a black box (later found out I owned the black ones), left the old router and left a worthless bus card with phone numbers we could reach! As everyone well knows that has Verizon you are advanced billed, guess what you are advanced billed again if you change.

I never asked for any movie channels ever and after every long drawn out phone call - get a credit and bill me again! My second bill that should have been 123 was 5 pages long and after doing the debits and credits I was still charged for HBO and Cinemax, billed for HD boxes at a higher rate than when we had HD and they added Disney!

My husband and I are in our 50's and 60's we really don't watch Disney much! We then get a bill for equipment not returned, called again, we get a shipment by UPS of little transmitters; guy comes out hooks them up says he won't take any equip with him because it will "get lost". My husband drives 45 min's 2 weeks ago to turn in equip; we now have sucky TV, stinky Internet which is higher than the supposedly great FiOS, and we are now being billed for the two stinky boxes, 2 HD boxes and 2 basics (we own 3 TVs one HD but we don't care - never saw a difference).

I have been blown off by rude customer service reps. I have been made to believe we finally have it straight - and been lied to so many times I can't count! When do I get to back charge for the hours and frustration caused by them? When do I get the bill I was promised 2 or 3 weeks before we even moved? When will Verizon figure out that 2 people are entering the same billing info and no one knows what the home actually contains?

Also, don't splice a "yes" into “do you want to renew your contract?" I know that the reason they ask if they can access your account is to get you to say yes to something. Then when you fight the renewed contract, the part where your conversation may be recorded comes into play and you hear your "yes". If I live long enough to get past that contract Verizon will no longer be in any of my numerous family member's homes.

My daughters just bought homes and went with three different companies to avoid Verizon as they (professional people with numerous degrees) have tried to help us correct this and threw their hands up! It's impossible, my husband wanted to go face to face with a rep, can't happen in VA, there are no customer service locations in VA that you can discuss your account face to face with a human being! I hate Verizon.

Replies
Advertisement
Horrific customer service/overcharges
By -

NEW YORK, NEW YORK -- Verizon has the worst customer service I have ever seen. It started when I called for to get a land line and internet service. First, they told me I needed to be available for an entire day for hookup. They never set foot on my property but threw a switch somewhere so I lost a day of work for no reason. Then, they grossly overcharged me. My first bill was for $239.92 for the lowest level phone and internet package they have. Took me more than an hour on the phone to get some of the charges credited.

Then, I decided I wanted a wireless modem. So I contacted them again and again spent about an hour on the phone, mostly on hold to tell them I wanted to exchange my modem for a wireless. It took two calls to get a return label for the one I had and needed to return. Another hour on the phone. I returned the modem, which cost $69.98, they not give me credit for it. Called several times and they acknowledged over the phone that they had received the modem and credit would be issued.

So I wrote them a letter and sent it with my payment and proof of delivery of the modem. I never got a response. Then, I was charged $46.49 by an ILD Teleservice. Another call with at least another hour on hold. They agreed to credit it. I also talked again about not getting credit for the modem. So they double credited the $46.49 on the SAME bill and still didn't credit the modem. So there was a net difference of $23.49. I wrote them another letter and mailed it with my payment. No response. So I have short paid my bill every month since and they have never asked why.

In May when my contract was up, I called to cancel service. They said my contract wasn't up til the end of the month and it would cost me $16.00 to cancel early. I said OK and asked them to send me a label to return the wireless modem. They sent me a box to return a DVR which I have never had. Also, I got an email telling me it would cost me $165 to cancel my service. So I called again and asked them when they showed my contract was up. I knew it was sometime in May. They said June 25. So I told them not to cancel it. Then about a week later I got an email telling me my internet would be canceled by week's end unless I called them and told them otherwise.

I looked up my records and called them. My records showed my contract was up May 25th. So this person agreed and I told them to cancel my service on the last day of my contact and to send me a label for the wireless. The person told me that a label would automatically be sent to me. A month later I called because I still did not have a label and was told if I'd had the equipment for a year, I would not need to return it. Then I got a bill for $31.11 and have not paid it and they turned it over to a collection agency. I have filed a complaint with the FCC and also on Classaction.org

Replies
Verizon - Full of Incompetence
By -

TEXAS -- I called Verizon up to see if I could save a little money and make a slight change to our business account. I was told I could add on TV service, upgrade internet, and change our phone lines so we wouldn't have to dial 9 to place a call and that would save us a little on our monthly bill. When the technician came out to look at our internet he informed us they wouldn't be able to do anything with the internet as it would interfere with our current internet and would have to be turned off in order to change it. We decided to cancel the order, but still asked if we could change our phone lines.

They told us they would be able to do it and it would be between 24 and 48 hours. They never showed, so I called up there to see what the problem was and found out they had cancelled the whole order. I was a little irritated, but went ahead and made another order. After about a week, we get a call from one of our customers saying they tried to leave a message for us about a $15,000 job, but it wouldn't go to our voicemail and that it was lucky they had our personal cellphone numbers or they wouldn't have been able to reach us. Who knows how many jobs we missed due to Verizon's mistakes.

I call up to Verizon to see what the issue is and am told that we don't have a voice mailbox and they would have to build a new one for us. They then went on to say their Tech Support department is no longer able to construct them due to way too many mistakes and someone would be contacting me by the end of the day. We were able to get our mailbox up and running again, but they failed to tell us they also changed the number and passcode to access it. Finally, after talking to at least 3 different people, we were able to access our mailbox again.

Another week goes by and the owner of the company calls to leave us a message, but informs us that the line he called goes to a voice mailbox from 8 years ago. After unsuccessfully trying to access the mailbox, I have to call Verizon yet again. They tell me it is because of a "line hunt" issue and that they would correct the issue within 24 hours.

Two weeks later and I had to call AGAIN to resolve the issue. When Tech Support finally picks up, they ask if I'm sure I even have service with them because they don't see it on my account. I tell her "Yes of course I have phone service with y'all, I've been dealing with the same issue for the last couple of months," to which she replies "Oh yes I see that now, the first call was placed October 12th, corrected on November 4th, and again on November 17th, is this correct?" so I explain what has been going on and she transfers me to their Billing department. I'm then told they don't need to set anything up and it is a Tech issue, so I'm again transferred.

The rude employee "helping" me asks to put me on hold so she can research my account and see if she can find the issue. When she THINKS I'm on hold I hear "OH honey I love that color shirt on you, did your wife pick it out? *unintelligible reply* How is the dog situation? *reply* AND she made you get rid of the cat?! *reply*" she then mumbles something, giggles and says "Yea, I don't even think she (referring to me) knows she's even on hold *laughs*" and then comes back on the phone and politely says "Thank you for holding ma'am, I'll be transferring you to someone who will be able to help you with the issue," and sends me back to the Billing department.

Thankfully, she sends me to the only intelligent employee who apologizes sincerely after I explain to her what has been happening to me and tells me she won't be transferring me anymore and that she will call Tech Support herself to resolve it. Unfortunately, they can't help her and she has to transfer me, but stays on the line to make sure they answer. Finally they pick up and after having to explain my situation again, the non-English speaking "expert" runs a test on the WRONG line and says there is no issue and that someone would have to physically come out to check the phone.

The person they were sending out calls an hour later to verify the order and our address, so I decide to explain my situation and the problem is corrected in under 15 minutes over the phone. I haven't had any more problems today, but I'm sure we will have to contact them again in the very near future.

Replies
Verizon Wireless--Worst Customer Service Ever
By -

What started as a call to cancel my MiFi Wireless Broadband service quickly turned into the most rude, inconsiderate, brash conversation I've ever had with customer service anywhere. Long story short--I purchased the MiFi in November 2010 (of course, on the 2yr agreement that is practically a requirement if you want to be able to afford any type of wireless device), was unable to get it to work on my iPad (don't think it's possible without another fee), and as a result haven't used the MiFi at ALL in four months.

I decided to cancel (why pay for a service I don't use?) and called Verizon's customer service. To be completely fair, I did not try to troubleshoot the MiFi with Verizon. However at this point, I've been 4 months without it so I decided to cancel an unused service. When I called to cancel, I did inquire about a possible waiver on the $160 early termination fee since I haven't used the service at all, therefore no cost or work on Verizon's part. I asked to speak with a supervisor when told the fee would still apply. Not once throughout this whole experience did anyone inquire how I felt about the MiFi service, or noted my 10 year loyalty to Alltel/Verizon.

The representative then asked if I wanted to cancel today or wait til the 10th at the end of my billing cycle. Since she advised it would be prorated it cancelled today, but the full payment if I waited til April 10. I of course said to cancel today. She then came back and told me that she couldn't cancel me today and I would have to wait until the 10th. Since I had yet to speak with a supervisor who could explain everything to me, the representative advised that one would call me back 'within a few minutes'. 30 minutes and no phone call later, I did call back on my own.

This is where the truly awful customer service came in. Raymond advised me (again, not acknowledging my long customer history or asking why I wanted to cancel) that "you've been told on numerous occasions, the fee still stands because you signed a contract, even if you didn't use the service." Numerous occasions? I just called a half hour ago?

At this point, I'm still angry about the fee but I get it -- I signed the contract that everyone HAS to sign. The contract that can be altered for extenuating circumstances, but that is apparently NEVER strayed from in the Verizon world. He then told me that he would have to call me back in an hour to complete my termination. I advised that I had already waited and been talked down to and just wanted to get it over with.

After passing me to yet another supervisor, who I told that I was so upset with the condescension and rudeness that the $160 fee didn't even matter anymore, I was told "Well what do you want? Because it sounds like you're just trying to get a discount"!!! I advised that I thought customer service's role was to help upset customers -- to which the response was 'why would we help a customer that wants to leave?'

Wow. Again, I thought that was the point of customer service? Being so frustrated that my voice was shaking, I asked what Verizon's Twitter account was because I would definitely be sharing this experience with other consumers. I can't believe I'm actually typing these words, but the supervisor actually said "if you're really in social media, you should be able to Google that yourself". When asked who I could report the AWFUL customer service to, I was told to send an email online. So that's what I'll do.

One more note -- I was also told that Verizon doesn't have a customer retention department. Interesting. I'm paying the $160, and whether or not some sort of waiver could have been applied for a service I didn't use but still paid $120 for over a 4 month period.

I have never dealt with anyone so terrible in customer service that wasn't willing to at least address the concerns, much less actually say those phrases to a customer. Verizon's training department could easily use my recorded calls as 'what NOT to say to an upset customer'. This is one customer who has completely lost her trust in a company I'm currently stuck with on cell service unless I want to go through that awful trial again.

Replies
Advertisement
Customer Service Does Not Exist At Verizon
By -

First of all, my apologies for bothering with such a trivial issue but nevertheless, a most important issue from a customer's perspective. It just so happened to be that on Monday, February 14th I came home from work and saw the Verizon bill. My wife usually pays this but for some reason I was inclined to review the bill. After reviewing the bill, I noticed that we were being incorrectly charged for total of (7) TV boxes which did not make sense seeing we only have had (6) boxes installed since switching our provider a few years ago.

I then proceeded to check previous bills and noticed that we have been overcharged (and have paid every bill) for one EXTRA STANDARD STB Box @ $5.99 for the past (14) months. As a matter of fact, the last time we were properly charged was in Oct/Nov of 2009. So, eventually this led to phone call to Verizon to get a credit on my account and more importantly stop the nonsense of paying for something we never had or received. I do agree that I should have checked by bill sometime sooner but I not only entrusted my wife to handle but also entrusted Verizon enough not think about having to check my bills for overcharges.

I proceeded to call Verizon and started with the Billing Dept; spoke with a person who had told me they could not help and only tech service can help, went to tech service who said they have nothing to do with billing and sent me back to billing. At this point I decided to start asking more questions and trying to get names and numbers of people I spoke with AND more importantly, get to a Manager and/or someone that could help.

Now in billing once again, I spoke with a person by the name of "Clay'€" who would not give me their last name, location, or clock number for reference. He told me that "He cannot and will not help me, that I just need to pay my bill and that he cannot remove anything because tech service did not okay it." He then proceeded to send me back to tech services, in which I spoke to a woman by the name of Deva who seemed to take somewhat of an initiative and call billing and get them on the line to explain the situation before disconnecting with me.

I was okay with this until Deva hung up and I was left once again with a billing representative named Amanda (clock # **-not sure if this is real or not, in Chicago area I believe) who started to argue with me and calling me a liar about what boxes I had in my home. She kept saying I had seven boxes. I only have six. She sounded like she was reading from a list of numbers but did not and would not offer to run some sort of check on my lines which would most certainly resolve the issue.

I asked her if she would like to send a Service representative to my house, anything she wanted to check and she told me that if she did that, I would have to pay for a full service call. Unbelievable! Well, she then proceeded to argue with me and said she was going to swing me over to tech services once again and that SHE could not help nor was she going to help me.

This is again unbelievable. I am now spending nearing 1-1/2 hours on the phone trying to resolve a somewhat simple issue, and by the way it was Valentine's Day which now is turning into a "Valentine's Day Massacre with Verizon". My wife is waiting. I once again go back to tech services. Finally get a gentleman by the name of Mike who was helpful in finding a representative in my area (I live in Delaware but the woman who helped me was from New Jersey).

It wasn't until I was warmly accepted by this Representative in New Jersey office that I received somewhat of a resolution of my problem. By the way, if it wasn't for this representative, I would have cancelled my service and never looked back. So please, there is a very important person in New Jersey office by the name of Ellen that should be complimented for the way she handled this problem. She was very passionate about her work and understood the value of a customer. If I had her on my initial call, there would have been quick resolution and you and I would not be talking. She should be commended or rewarded in some way for her professionalism on the way she handled this problem.

Please take the time to personally thank her. Ellen eventually put in a rock ticket (# **) to fix and assured me that my bill will be credited next month (6 months @ $5.99/mo =$35.94 total). Anyway, my final resolution was the 6-months of credit for the box I never had but still am out the other 8-months of overcharges which at this point I was willing to sacrifice just to get off the phone.

Well, thank you for calling and caring about my experience. It was terrible experience with the exception to the last representative "Ellen") that I do not want anyone to go through. I hope you can assure me of some type of corrective action for these people that were so rude. There are enough good people out there that would kill for a job right now so I am sure you can find replacement who care. Thank you.

Replies
Verizon Customer Service Is Horrible!!!
By -

I just want to share my WORST NIGHTMARE experiences with Verizon. I am online student and I have recently moved and was seeking for Internet provider. About 3 weeks ago I have ordered Verizon Internet self-installation kit. By the end of my one hour conversation with a representative whom I have provide all my debit card information she thanked me and I remembered that equipment better to be delivered to my work address; that's where I spend the most time of a day. The representative assured me that we don't need to do so because delivery didn't need my signature upon arrival.

They charged my card $20 more than they supposed to. Four days later I found a delivery slip from UPS on my front door and it stated that it's a SECOND attempt and they'll try me tomorrow. However, on a back of the slip I found the area where I could just sign and print my name and UPS will leave the package by my door. I did as directed and called UPS.

A woman answered me and I told her that this is who I am and that I left the slip on my door and it's signed. She didn't even bother to tell me "OK" or something but the next thing I heard was (with horrible attitude) "ANYTHING ELSE I CAN HELP YOU WITH?" I said no since I didn't hear the respond for my first (and only issue). She hanged up the phone. Sure enough I found another slip by the door that it was a FINAL attempt and they sending package to the sender. I called Verizon and spend an hour and a half ordering another kit.

She was friendly, but guess what: one week later I still don't have a package!!! I called Verizon again and do you know what I hear? Take a guess; they never placed my order!!! Placing another order and of course, it's another hour on a phone with them. Please, note that all these hours lasting conversations I'm making from my cell phone, which takes out my minutes.

Finally, next day I receive my package to my work address and thinking that finally I'll have an Internet. Too early for celebration, I guess. I couldn't install it!!! Another hour on a phone with Verizon and they said that they will send a tech within 24-48 hrs. It was on Thursday. Three days later I called them up and I started screaming at them saying that if someone is not going to show up by my door I'll cancel the whole thing and I'll contact the headquarters.

Half an hour later someone knocked on my door and it was a tech from Verizon, who said that my order for technician (that supposed to be here 24-48 hrs later) was never placed and he just picked up the ticket! Holy-moly!!! And this guy who has fixed the Internet for me. ALMOST THREE WEEKS LATER!!! So, I ask you; how this company survives in this economy? I hope you have learned a lesson from this review and will NOT make the same mistake I made! Be careful and go for anything but Verizon!!!

Replies
May The Buyer Beware!
By -

CALIFORNIA -- We opened are account in August 2010 and received someone else's phone number. Note: we were not even provided with an account # and spent countless hours on the phone just to be able to talk about the account and the many problems that came with it. Our voice mail was loaded with business messages and calls for this other person (business).

When we tried to resolve the incorrect #, all reps denied our claim that we had was someone else's #. This involved hours of frustrating conversations until finally we were told the only thing that could be done was to close the account entirely and "restart a new one". In addition to the time consuming issue with the phone #. We were sent the wrong modem (basic, not high-speed wireless). This involved additional hours of phone correction.

Important note! The Verizon website is barely functional and none of these issues could have been resolved on it. Not a good sign for an internet provider! I have a saved example of the "live-chat-help" which was slow, sadly illiterate and probably outsourced.

Months later... Verizon Switched My Bundle Order without my knowledge. My 6th attempt to get the promotional Visa card offered to us after 60 days of service. The first inquiry was Dec 14th. I was told it would be sent within 7 days, I asked for a tracking/confirmation # and name of representative so I wouldn't have to explain everything repeatedly if something went wrong. She said neither was available or necessary, that the issuing of the card was recorded on our account and all reps would see and have access to this info. Nothing was received. Aside from a Verizon bill and an advertisement on Jan 4. I called billing on the same day (Jan 4) and was disconnected.

The second attempt, the representative was unsure as to what department dealt with issuing promotional items. She said she noted all of the info I gave her on our account info and then transferred me to Financial Services (which was closed). I called again on Jan 5th. The representative had no such recorded info and I had to describe the entire situation again. She said Financial Services didn't deal with this and transferred me to what she ironically titled "the fulfillment dept.". Which was actually an outside company called "Visa pre-pay", they asked me for a tracking #, none was provided by Verizon.

Their representative said they had no record of our account and nothing has been issued. He then said I needed to contact Verizon to have the card issued. I explained that I was just transferred from Verizon and asked for a direct # to the Verizon dept. that issues the cards. The # provided was 888-553-1556. I called this number and it no longer exists. I called billing yet again explaining the situation to the representative of which said "Yeah, sounds like you need Financial Services". I then asked to speak with a supervisor (on hold for over an hour).

In total, I have spent over 2 1/2 hours waiting on the phone. Just for the card, not counting the many hours of billing and technical problems. In that process googling Verizon complaints of which are in the thousands. There is even a dedicated website called verizonpathetic. Finally, I reach the supervisor whom after further investigation discovers that when they created the NEW account, they had switched me to a two year plan promotion of $10 off another bundle per month. What I had ordered was the 60-day bundle with a $175 Visa pre-paid card. We never intended to stay at this address for more than a year. The math is pretty straight forward.

The supervisor then transferred me to the "Promotions dept." which said the same thing and offered to transfer me back to the confused and bewildered "Billing Dept." to dispute this. Wish there were other options, it's a bit of a monopoly up on this hill. Apparently, the massive complaints to consumer affairs are meaningless. I suppose the only positive view on this, is the idea of starting a company/monopoly that doesn't actually service, where the consumers have no choice but to PAY. Sounds a little like government... MAY THE BUYER BEWARE!

Replies
Told so many different things by different customer reps
By -

CHEYENNE, WYOMING -- Just a warning that this may be a bit long, but I have been dealing with Verizon for the last 6 months on these issues. First of all, when we first set up our account we bought an original droid and a devour. Within a week my droid started acting up, so I went to Wal-Mart and replaced it with no problem. The second droid had issues as well and went in and replaced it with a blackberry storm, didn't like the way the keys clicked and exchanged it for a Devour which messed up on me, and then was talked back into the droid.

See how many phones I went through within my 30 days with Wal-Mart with no problem? Why can't Verizon do this? Also, my partner had to exchange her Devour twice during that time as well with no problem. I got my last droid before my 30 days expired with Wal-Mart, shortly after that it started freezing like the others had done and resetting itself. I was fed up with the problems that I kept having. I am disabled and my partner has seizures.

I need our phones to work. Period. I called Verizon and they sent me a pre-certified droid telling me that it goes through 100 point inspection. I told them that I am sick of the phone and want another. They tell me that I have to either pay full price for another phone, or the best option is to add a line and get a dummy phone. That I can give or sell the droid to someone else.

My son wanted the droid so I sold it to him. Within a week it wouldn't even turn on and come to find out that it didn't have the insurance on it since we did the exchange, so he's stuck with a dead phone and no way to get a new one unless he pays full price. This all aggravated me because it's not like he has 560.00 to pay for a new phone. The other thing to is why would I want a pre-certified phone that someone else has sent in broken when I purchased maybe a month ago a brand new phone?

I added the line and ordered the Droid Eris. At the time I did do a lot of research on the phone and it seems to be pretty good on the reviews. I figured that I would just put up with the glitches it was having and wait for an update. It started getting worse and freezing up all the time. I then did some research and found that it was being end of life and that there wouldn't be anymore updates to fix the software.

Worried and angry I started calling, chatting, and visiting my store about the phone. Each time I was told something different by a different customer representative. I even had a Tech person tell me that since it was discontinued that they wouldn't be coming out with the software fixes, but they would be glad to send me out a pre-certified phone. I told him "why would I want another Eris when it's going to have the same issues?" The only thing he would say is that I had a point, but that they could sell me a different pre-certified phone for 190.00.

I had been told this by many reps because I didn't want to yet again add another line. I was never told that they could trade it up to the next droid in line like I had been told and stated. Why pay full price when it's cheaper at the time to add another line and brings the customer to wanting to do so since they are on a tight budget? So now I am locked into a two year contract with two dummy (old) phones that I didn't need in the first place. One has a data plan on it and I don't even use it so I am paying 20.00 for that line when it just sits in the drawer.

One customer representative I chatted with told me that I should be able to get the droid that is replacing the Eris with no trouble since I am in my year warranty and have full insurance on my phone. He gives me the customer service number and I am bouncing on cloud nine at the thought that my issue with this phone may be resolved. I call in and get my bubble bursted and a lot of "I am sorry that you are having issues with your phone, yadda yadda."

My nerves are fried and I get up at 7:30pm, get dressed and go to the store and tell them what has been going on. They tell me that there are eleven people ahead of me and to come back tomorrow. That yes I should be entitled to a new different phone at no charge. I come back the next day. Talk to a different representative and they tell me that I can buy a pre-certified for this price and show me the list of pre-certified phones. I am like OK maybe this will be OK, but it didn't set well with me and I am going to have to wait till the first of the month before I can pay for it.

The other thing I find out is that I am two weeks away from being able to bill my account for the phone. I plead with them and come out telling them personal information of the disability I have and the seizures that my partner has, they won't bend at all. I leave the store and angry I come back home and start the process on the phone and on chat fighting with Verizon to get them to work with me. Mind you during this time I did a total factory reset on my Eris which made it worse. They won't and I am left up to doing the only other thing I can. Get online through Wal-Mart and find a free phone.

Mind you during this my partner's phone totally froze up and wouldn't even get past the boot screen. They sent her a pre-certified phone. She gets it and there is no sound to even activate the phone. They send her another and thank god so far it is working, but we are just waiting for it to have issues like the other ones she has had. Then we will be at square one with getting her a re-furbished phone as she loves her Devour. How many times does it take to get Verizon to send a new phone or a different phone to compensate the customer for so many issues?

I find the BB Curve 9330 has come out and is available for free. I do research on it and order it. I get it and set it all up. I am happy and thrilled to have a phone that is working and that I know I will receive texts, mail and what not unlike my Eris was doing. The second day my partner and I take a little trip to Fort Collins Colorado. The phone is sitting in a little slot in the car and not in sunlight. We get to Ft Collins and I grab my phone and notice that it is really hot. The screen is on and it's locked up.

As we are walking around the mall I take out the back and the battery to let it cool down. It does before long and starts working. Not even five minutes later it starts freezing up, the trackball won't move or click at all or at times on certain things. I deal with this threw out the day. Then that night it white screened and brought up the small menu. I jumped in my car and took it to Verizon as it then had an error 502 when I walked in the door.

I wait patiently and a gal comes over that was watching the door and asks me what is going on. I show her the phone and start telling her the issues. She says "so you left it in the car?" I said no I did not leave it in the car and explain to her once again all over what happened. Then the representative that can actually deal with my phone comes over and I have to tell him all over what is going on with my phone.

He pulls the battery and while waiting for it to boot up tells me "we have to sell all of our BB 2's before we even get this phone. You would have to get a pre-certified phone with us or pay full price, or you need to deal with Wal-Mart." I am thinking "you have to be kidding me!" It's a phone that was stated online that Verizon was releasing it on the 16th (by the way the guy was amazed that I knew the release date as well as my Eris eol, sorry peeps but this girl does her homework.) OK so he puts the battery back in and after it reloads plays around with it for a couple of mins.

I tell them that it usually freezes up in about 5 mins. It's working fine and closing time so he tells me to contact Wal-Mart, watch it for a couple of days, hands me his card, and shoves me out the door. I didn't even get to the car before it had another error screen. I was angry and hurt because I felt yet again not important.

The next day I sat down and went online to do some troubleshooting on my blackberry. I have fixed it to where it doesn't freeze as often, but just a couple of minutes ago all I had opened was FB and the internet and had to do a soft reset on it. I am waiting for this Friday to be able to contact Wal-Mart and exchange the phone for a Droid 2 which I am hoping will not have as many issues.

I do understand that these phones will have glitches here and there because more or less you have a little computer, and it just has to be dealt with until they get their OS and phones all set at the same place. I have to wait as it will be the first of the month where I get paid to be able to purchase it. Why didn't Verizon even take the time to have a tech look at it or was he a tech? I don't know.

I have now written Verizon two e-mails. The first one I told them to cancel my contract and I didn't want to owe anything. They never replied to it. I then got really angry and sent them another also letting them know that I was contacting the BBB. I got a response with the prices of what it would be for each line to cancel, but that they didn't receive the first e-mail? They need to change that to where you can send an e-mail to them and get a copy into your email that they have received it. Both times I got the "thank you" screen "someone will contact you within 24 hours."

So I know the first one was sent. I explained to the representative in a bit of detail of what I have written above telling her that Verizon has bad customer service and that they need to do something to make it right. That I want the two extra lines deleted off my account because I never should have had to do this when having a new phone, or when they knew that a phone was going to be eol'ed and there wasn't going to be software updates.

At first I wanted them to cancel both lines, credit me the 60 for the first extra line that I had to get, as well as let me buy a droid 2 for 100 from them (Wal-Mart is selling them for 100.) I have gone down to just having the two extra lines canceled and am waiting to hear back from them. I think it's the least they could do for all the trouble that I have gone through.

I researched AT&T because they are buying out our Alltel here. They said that for a discount if you're not happy with your phone after their time period that you can buy a different phone, and that they don't send out refurbished phones. Why can't Verizon do this for their customers?? We pay a lot of money for our phones and service. I am stuck with Verizon till about summer of 2012, after that I will be going with a different company that will treat me better.

Replies
Advertisement
Verizon Customer Service Is Full of Liars
By -

I have a new Samsung phone which is junk. This phone is 4 months old and has had problems for more than 3 months. Beware of Verizon and their smoke and mirrors. They have a 30 day New Replacement lie they tell you when you order the new phone. I had the phone for 3 weeks and called the Verizon customer service liar hotline. They quickly shuffle you to the Technical liar department. Then you get a phony quick troubleshooting process and they tell you the phone is fine now. By the time you use it a little you are past the 30 day new replacement period. Then you are only able to get a certified pre-owned junk phone when it quits working again.

The pre-owned phone worked for 2 days and then you are at their mercy for another one that will not last longer than a week. The first pre-owned junk replacement worked 30 seconds and would not power up a second time. The second pre-owned junk powered up and the screen froze up. Verizon must have employees that can't make it in customer service so they put them in the repair department. This is both sad and scary. I have called the incompetent idiots 17 times in 3 days. The reason it took 3 days is I can only spend 4 hours a night with this nonsense and still get my work done. I finally got someone that was able to get their shoes on the right feet.

This girl checked notes and found the previous 2 calls gave me information that was lies. I thanked this girl for telling me the truth, and she assured me she would find the supervisor necessary to get the issue resolved. This very intelligent girl took a number from another line (it's AT&T) since this Verizon phone won't work. She promised to call me in 3 to 5 days after talking with the right supervisor. I either found a very rare competent representative or another liar. We will see in 4 or 5 days. My point is if you get one of the many many idiots Verizon staffs their customer service with, politely tell them they are not capable of taking care of your issue and hang up.

Call back and try another one of Verizon's in house gerbils. Like me you may need to call 17 times but keep with it and don't put up with their stupidity. Load up their phone lines with calls, don't give up or Verizon wins. You will find someone that will get your issue resolved if you are persistent. You don't have to take their nonsense. Don't waste your time with writing or sending emails to the President or Vice President. They only forward them to the executive response team who has the IQ of a cheese sandwich (personality too).

I have been a Verizon customer for over 10 years and have experienced these problems only in the last couple years. A year ago I had 5 lines with Verizon. I have 3 lines now and will more than likely cancel another one in 5 days. AT&T has ported 2 of my lines out to their service, and they even reimbursed me for my early termination fees. If Verizon doesn't wake up and take care of their customers somebody else will.

Replies
Horrible, hellish customer service - customer service is a JOKE, Verizon is fired!
By -

About a year ago, probably as a result of a lightning storm, my phone began to behave oddly - I could dial out, but the call would never go anywhere, and no one could dial in. I've been a Verizon customer for well over 15 years, and had paid for internal wire maintenance, never thinking I would need it.

So began the hellish odyssey to get some *gasp* actual technical service from this bloated corporation that can spend thousands and butcher uncounted trees mailing me dozens and dozens of unwanted glossy brochures for their ** FiOS (as well as dig up my TINY front yard and leave a dinner-plate sized manhole cover for the neighborhood FiOS install, all done by people who couldn't speak a word of English).

Over the course of about a year, I tried several times to work the morass of the multi-layered, go through a billion menus, system that protects Verizon from having to actually FIX anything. Let's see, there was the time I got through to someone and they told me to check the lines with a corded phone, and call back in 24 hours (of course the lines are dead, doesn't matter what kind of phone you use). Then having run the gauntlet of menus again, some person told me "I would have to go out and check the box...." What box? And why am I checking it? I'm not a phone technician.

How about the times I sat through endless menus, being routed from one department to another - and stuck on hold for minutes at a time at my expense, so either some elevator music was playing or there would be some clicks and I would get cut off.

I've been able to rely on a cell, but with aging parents I decided the situation was ridiculous and grimly decided to tackle the issue again. So 2 weeks ago, after doing the phone gauntlet and having to listen to a spiel about FIOS, I was informed it would be 2 WEEKS before I could get an appointment. (The fact that it takes so long to get an appointment with Verizon has been a huge problem, as my job requires travel and I have to work within certain time windows). But I was PROMISED, that by Friday the 16th I'd have my phone back - I just had to be there between 8-5! Nice-NOT. So I took the day off to sit around and wait for Verizon.

Guess what? By 4:00 I was on my cell, completely furious, running the gauntlet of menus. It was ungodly, shifted from department to department, at one point ending up talking to some guy from Frontier's phone company? That had nothing to do with the situation. It was so bad my cell battery actually drained and I went to a neighbor's.

After running the menu obstacle course AGAIN, finally a woman admitted that I was scheduled for the 16th, but some fool at Verizon also had me down for tech work on the 19th. But she seemed to be trying to fix the situation, she PROMISED, that she would call me on my cell to rectify the situation. That she would call by 3:45 TODAY. (Of course, these people are buffered by menus so you can't call them back directly, or even know who you are talking to.)

Well, gee, guess my little bit of business after all the years isn't worth it to Verizon, because apparently I wasn't worth contacting today. So I had to push off a colleague who needed me to do something, lost a day of work = money, lost uncounted cell phone minutes = money, had massive stress, been forced to listen to dozens of minutes of screechy static, clicks, elevator music, and put through this crap by a multi-billion dollar company who had no problem taking my money and stuffs the mailbox with glossy expensive junk mail and crapped up my tiny lawn, but can't be bothered worry about customer SERVICE.

Do they seriously expect me to switch from good old cable TV to a company who can't even send out a guy to check phone wires? I LIKE my cable TV. I don't want to be stuck without a cable TV for a year. So the hell with you, Verizon, Comcast at least works 7 days a week and while I'm not happy about the rising costs, I haven't had a problem with customer service - Comcast even came on a Sunday to switch me to digital.

And I'll be telling the BBB as well, as I spent years paying for wire maintenance, and then you get jerked around when you actually need it, as though Verizon were doing you a favor. You'd think with so many people dropping their landlines Verizon would be falling over itself re customer service, but I guess Verizon has decided that part of the business isn't worth concerning itself with.

Replies
Top of Page | Next Page >

Verizon Rating:
Star Half star Empty star Empty star Empty star
1.3 out of 5, based on 79 ratings and
683 reviews & complaints.
Contact Information:
Verizon
1095 Avenue of the Americas
New York, New York 10036
800-621-9900 (ph)
www.verizon.com
billingservices@verizon.net
Product/Services
Compare Phone/Mobile Services