Preview Review

Next Review

Verizon Consumer Reviews - Page 4

Most Popular | Newest | More Options >
More filter options:
Verizon Customer Service Is Horrible!!!
By -

I just want to share my WORST NIGHTMARE experiences with Verizon. I am online student and I have recently moved and was seeking for Internet provider. About 3 weeks ago I have ordered Verizon Internet self-installation kit. By the end of my one hour conversation with a representative whom I have provide all my debit card information she thanked me and I remembered that equipment better to be delivered to my work address; that's where I spend the most time of a day. The representative assured me that we don't need to do so because delivery didn't need my signature upon arrival.

They charged my card $20 more than they supposed to. Four days later I found a delivery slip from UPS on my front door and it stated that it's a SECOND attempt and they'll try me tomorrow. However, on a back of the slip I found the area where I could just sign and print my name and UPS will leave the package by my door. I did as directed and called UPS.

A woman answered me and I told her that this is who I am and that I left the slip on my door and it's signed. She didn't even bother to tell me "OK" or something but the next thing I heard was (with horrible attitude) "ANYTHING ELSE I CAN HELP YOU WITH?" I said no since I didn't hear the respond for my first (and only issue). She hanged up the phone. Sure enough I found another slip by the door that it was a FINAL attempt and they sending package to the sender. I called Verizon and spend an hour and a half ordering another kit.

She was friendly, but guess what: one week later I still don't have a package!!! I called Verizon again and do you know what I hear? Take a guess; they never placed my order!!! Placing another order and of course, it's another hour on a phone with them. Please, note that all these hours lasting conversations I'm making from my cell phone, which takes out my minutes.

Finally, next day I receive my package to my work address and thinking that finally I'll have an Internet. Too early for celebration, I guess. I couldn't install it!!! Another hour on a phone with Verizon and they said that they will send a tech within 24-48 hrs. It was on Thursday. Three days later I called them up and I started screaming at them saying that if someone is not going to show up by my door I'll cancel the whole thing and I'll contact the headquarters.

Half an hour later someone knocked on my door and it was a tech from Verizon, who said that my order for technician (that supposed to be here 24-48 hrs later) was never placed and he just picked up the ticket! Holy-moly!!! And this guy who has fixed the Internet for me. ALMOST THREE WEEKS LATER!!! So, I ask you; how this company survives in this economy? I hope you have learned a lesson from this review and will NOT make the same mistake I made! Be careful and go for anything but Verizon!!!

Replies
Advertisement
May The Buyer Beware!
By -

CALIFORNIA -- We opened are account in August 2010 and received someone else's phone number. Note: we were not even provided with an account # and spent countless hours on the phone just to be able to talk about the account and the many problems that came with it. Our voice mail was loaded with business messages and calls for this other person (business).

When we tried to resolve the incorrect #, all reps denied our claim that we had was someone else's #. This involved hours of frustrating conversations until finally we were told the only thing that could be done was to close the account entirely and "restart a new one". In addition to the time consuming issue with the phone #. We were sent the wrong modem (basic, not high-speed wireless). This involved additional hours of phone correction.

Important note! The Verizon website is barely functional and none of these issues could have been resolved on it. Not a good sign for an internet provider! I have a saved example of the "live-chat-help" which was slow, sadly illiterate and probably outsourced.

Months later... Verizon Switched My Bundle Order without my knowledge. My 6th attempt to get the promotional Visa card offered to us after 60 days of service. The first inquiry was Dec 14th. I was told it would be sent within 7 days, I asked for a tracking/confirmation # and name of representative so I wouldn't have to explain everything repeatedly if something went wrong. She said neither was available or necessary, that the issuing of the card was recorded on our account and all reps would see and have access to this info. Nothing was received. Aside from a Verizon bill and an advertisement on Jan 4. I called billing on the same day (Jan 4) and was disconnected.

The second attempt, the representative was unsure as to what department dealt with issuing promotional items. She said she noted all of the info I gave her on our account info and then transferred me to Financial Services (which was closed). I called again on Jan 5th. The representative had no such recorded info and I had to describe the entire situation again. She said Financial Services didn't deal with this and transferred me to what she ironically titled "the fulfillment dept.". Which was actually an outside company called "Visa pre-pay", they asked me for a tracking #, none was provided by Verizon.

Their representative said they had no record of our account and nothing has been issued. He then said I needed to contact Verizon to have the card issued. I explained that I was just transferred from Verizon and asked for a direct # to the Verizon dept. that issues the cards. The # provided was 888-553-1556. I called this number and it no longer exists. I called billing yet again explaining the situation to the representative of which said "Yeah, sounds like you need Financial Services". I then asked to speak with a supervisor (on hold for over an hour).

In total, I have spent over 2 1/2 hours waiting on the phone. Just for the card, not counting the many hours of billing and technical problems. In that process googling Verizon complaints of which are in the thousands. There is even a dedicated website called verizonpathetic. Finally, I reach the supervisor whom after further investigation discovers that when they created the NEW account, they had switched me to a two year plan promotion of $10 off another bundle per month. What I had ordered was the 60-day bundle with a $175 Visa pre-paid card. We never intended to stay at this address for more than a year. The math is pretty straight forward.

The supervisor then transferred me to the "Promotions dept." which said the same thing and offered to transfer me back to the confused and bewildered "Billing Dept." to dispute this. Wish there were other options, it's a bit of a monopoly up on this hill. Apparently, the massive complaints to consumer affairs are meaningless. I suppose the only positive view on this, is the idea of starting a company/monopoly that doesn't actually service, where the consumers have no choice but to PAY. Sounds a little like government... MAY THE BUYER BEWARE!

Replies
Told so many different things by different customer reps
By -

CHEYENNE, WYOMING -- Just a warning that this may be a bit long, but I have been dealing with Verizon for the last 6 months on these issues. First of all, when we first set up our account we bought an original droid and a devour. Within a week my droid started acting up, so I went to Wal-Mart and replaced it with no problem. The second droid had issues as well and went in and replaced it with a blackberry storm, didn't like the way the keys clicked and exchanged it for a Devour which messed up on me, and then was talked back into the droid.

See how many phones I went through within my 30 days with Wal-Mart with no problem? Why can't Verizon do this? Also, my partner had to exchange her Devour twice during that time as well with no problem. I got my last droid before my 30 days expired with Wal-Mart, shortly after that it started freezing like the others had done and resetting itself. I was fed up with the problems that I kept having. I am disabled and my partner has seizures.

I need our phones to work. Period. I called Verizon and they sent me a pre-certified droid telling me that it goes through 100 point inspection. I told them that I am sick of the phone and want another. They tell me that I have to either pay full price for another phone, or the best option is to add a line and get a dummy phone. That I can give or sell the droid to someone else.

My son wanted the droid so I sold it to him. Within a week it wouldn't even turn on and come to find out that it didn't have the insurance on it since we did the exchange, so he's stuck with a dead phone and no way to get a new one unless he pays full price. This all aggravated me because it's not like he has 560.00 to pay for a new phone. The other thing to is why would I want a pre-certified phone that someone else has sent in broken when I purchased maybe a month ago a brand new phone?

I added the line and ordered the Droid Eris. At the time I did do a lot of research on the phone and it seems to be pretty good on the reviews. I figured that I would just put up with the glitches it was having and wait for an update. It started getting worse and freezing up all the time. I then did some research and found that it was being end of life and that there wouldn't be anymore updates to fix the software.

Worried and angry I started calling, chatting, and visiting my store about the phone. Each time I was told something different by a different customer representative. I even had a Tech person tell me that since it was discontinued that they wouldn't be coming out with the software fixes, but they would be glad to send me out a pre-certified phone. I told him "why would I want another Eris when it's going to have the same issues?" The only thing he would say is that I had a point, but that they could sell me a different pre-certified phone for 190.00.

I had been told this by many reps because I didn't want to yet again add another line. I was never told that they could trade it up to the next droid in line like I had been told and stated. Why pay full price when it's cheaper at the time to add another line and brings the customer to wanting to do so since they are on a tight budget? So now I am locked into a two year contract with two dummy (old) phones that I didn't need in the first place. One has a data plan on it and I don't even use it so I am paying 20.00 for that line when it just sits in the drawer.

One customer representative I chatted with told me that I should be able to get the droid that is replacing the Eris with no trouble since I am in my year warranty and have full insurance on my phone. He gives me the customer service number and I am bouncing on cloud nine at the thought that my issue with this phone may be resolved. I call in and get my bubble bursted and a lot of "I am sorry that you are having issues with your phone, yadda yadda."

My nerves are fried and I get up at 7:30pm, get dressed and go to the store and tell them what has been going on. They tell me that there are eleven people ahead of me and to come back tomorrow. That yes I should be entitled to a new different phone at no charge. I come back the next day. Talk to a different representative and they tell me that I can buy a pre-certified for this price and show me the list of pre-certified phones. I am like OK maybe this will be OK, but it didn't set well with me and I am going to have to wait till the first of the month before I can pay for it.

The other thing I find out is that I am two weeks away from being able to bill my account for the phone. I plead with them and come out telling them personal information of the disability I have and the seizures that my partner has, they won't bend at all. I leave the store and angry I come back home and start the process on the phone and on chat fighting with Verizon to get them to work with me. Mind you during this time I did a total factory reset on my Eris which made it worse. They won't and I am left up to doing the only other thing I can. Get online through Wal-Mart and find a free phone.

Mind you during this my partner's phone totally froze up and wouldn't even get past the boot screen. They sent her a pre-certified phone. She gets it and there is no sound to even activate the phone. They send her another and thank god so far it is working, but we are just waiting for it to have issues like the other ones she has had. Then we will be at square one with getting her a re-furbished phone as she loves her Devour. How many times does it take to get Verizon to send a new phone or a different phone to compensate the customer for so many issues?

I find the BB Curve 9330 has come out and is available for free. I do research on it and order it. I get it and set it all up. I am happy and thrilled to have a phone that is working and that I know I will receive texts, mail and what not unlike my Eris was doing. The second day my partner and I take a little trip to Fort Collins Colorado. The phone is sitting in a little slot in the car and not in sunlight. We get to Ft Collins and I grab my phone and notice that it is really hot. The screen is on and it's locked up.

As we are walking around the mall I take out the back and the battery to let it cool down. It does before long and starts working. Not even five minutes later it starts freezing up, the trackball won't move or click at all or at times on certain things. I deal with this threw out the day. Then that night it white screened and brought up the small menu. I jumped in my car and took it to Verizon as it then had an error 502 when I walked in the door.

I wait patiently and a gal comes over that was watching the door and asks me what is going on. I show her the phone and start telling her the issues. She says "so you left it in the car?" I said no I did not leave it in the car and explain to her once again all over what happened. Then the representative that can actually deal with my phone comes over and I have to tell him all over what is going on with my phone.

He pulls the battery and while waiting for it to boot up tells me "we have to sell all of our BB 2's before we even get this phone. You would have to get a pre-certified phone with us or pay full price, or you need to deal with Wal-Mart." I am thinking "you have to be kidding me!" It's a phone that was stated online that Verizon was releasing it on the 16th (by the way the guy was amazed that I knew the release date as well as my Eris eol, sorry peeps but this girl does her homework.) OK so he puts the battery back in and after it reloads plays around with it for a couple of mins.

I tell them that it usually freezes up in about 5 mins. It's working fine and closing time so he tells me to contact Wal-Mart, watch it for a couple of days, hands me his card, and shoves me out the door. I didn't even get to the car before it had another error screen. I was angry and hurt because I felt yet again not important.

The next day I sat down and went online to do some troubleshooting on my blackberry. I have fixed it to where it doesn't freeze as often, but just a couple of minutes ago all I had opened was FB and the internet and had to do a soft reset on it. I am waiting for this Friday to be able to contact Wal-Mart and exchange the phone for a Droid 2 which I am hoping will not have as many issues.

I do understand that these phones will have glitches here and there because more or less you have a little computer, and it just has to be dealt with until they get their OS and phones all set at the same place. I have to wait as it will be the first of the month where I get paid to be able to purchase it. Why didn't Verizon even take the time to have a tech look at it or was he a tech? I don't know.

I have now written Verizon two e-mails. The first one I told them to cancel my contract and I didn't want to owe anything. They never replied to it. I then got really angry and sent them another also letting them know that I was contacting the BBB. I got a response with the prices of what it would be for each line to cancel, but that they didn't receive the first e-mail? They need to change that to where you can send an e-mail to them and get a copy into your email that they have received it. Both times I got the "thank you" screen "someone will contact you within 24 hours."

So I know the first one was sent. I explained to the representative in a bit of detail of what I have written above telling her that Verizon has bad customer service and that they need to do something to make it right. That I want the two extra lines deleted off my account because I never should have had to do this when having a new phone, or when they knew that a phone was going to be eol'ed and there wasn't going to be software updates.

At first I wanted them to cancel both lines, credit me the 60 for the first extra line that I had to get, as well as let me buy a droid 2 for 100 from them (Wal-Mart is selling them for 100.) I have gone down to just having the two extra lines canceled and am waiting to hear back from them. I think it's the least they could do for all the trouble that I have gone through.

I researched AT&T because they are buying out our Alltel here. They said that for a discount if you're not happy with your phone after their time period that you can buy a different phone, and that they don't send out refurbished phones. Why can't Verizon do this for their customers?? We pay a lot of money for our phones and service. I am stuck with Verizon till about summer of 2012, after that I will be going with a different company that will treat me better.

Replies
Verizon Customer Service Is Full of Liars
By -

I have a new Samsung phone which is junk. This phone is 4 months old and has had problems for more than 3 months. Beware of Verizon and their smoke and mirrors. They have a 30 day New Replacement lie they tell you when you order the new phone. I had the phone for 3 weeks and called the Verizon customer service liar hotline. They quickly shuffle you to the Technical liar department. Then you get a phony quick troubleshooting process and they tell you the phone is fine now. By the time you use it a little you are past the 30 day new replacement period. Then you are only able to get a certified pre-owned junk phone when it quits working again.

The pre-owned phone worked for 2 days and then you are at their mercy for another one that will not last longer than a week. The first pre-owned junk replacement worked 30 seconds and would not power up a second time. The second pre-owned junk powered up and the screen froze up. Verizon must have employees that can't make it in customer service so they put them in the repair department. This is both sad and scary. I have called the incompetent idiots 17 times in 3 days. The reason it took 3 days is I can only spend 4 hours a night with this nonsense and still get my work done. I finally got someone that was able to get their shoes on the right feet.

This girl checked notes and found the previous 2 calls gave me information that was lies. I thanked this girl for telling me the truth, and she assured me she would find the supervisor necessary to get the issue resolved. This very intelligent girl took a number from another line (it's AT&T) since this Verizon phone won't work. She promised to call me in 3 to 5 days after talking with the right supervisor. I either found a very rare competent representative or another liar. We will see in 4 or 5 days. My point is if you get one of the many many idiots Verizon staffs their customer service with, politely tell them they are not capable of taking care of your issue and hang up.

Call back and try another one of Verizon's in house gerbils. Like me you may need to call 17 times but keep with it and don't put up with their stupidity. Load up their phone lines with calls, don't give up or Verizon wins. You will find someone that will get your issue resolved if you are persistent. You don't have to take their nonsense. Don't waste your time with writing or sending emails to the President or Vice President. They only forward them to the executive response team who has the IQ of a cheese sandwich (personality too).

I have been a Verizon customer for over 10 years and have experienced these problems only in the last couple years. A year ago I had 5 lines with Verizon. I have 3 lines now and will more than likely cancel another one in 5 days. AT&T has ported 2 of my lines out to their service, and they even reimbursed me for my early termination fees. If Verizon doesn't wake up and take care of their customers somebody else will.

Replies
Advertisement
Horrible, hellish customer service - customer service is a JOKE, Verizon is fired!
By -

About a year ago, probably as a result of a lightning storm, my phone began to behave oddly - I could dial out, but the call would never go anywhere, and no one could dial in. I've been a Verizon customer for well over 15 years, and had paid for internal wire maintenance, never thinking I would need it.

So began the hellish odyssey to get some *gasp* actual technical service from this bloated corporation that can spend thousands and butcher uncounted trees mailing me dozens and dozens of unwanted glossy brochures for their ** FiOS (as well as dig up my TINY front yard and leave a dinner-plate sized manhole cover for the neighborhood FiOS install, all done by people who couldn't speak a word of English).

Over the course of about a year, I tried several times to work the morass of the multi-layered, go through a billion menus, system that protects Verizon from having to actually FIX anything. Let's see, there was the time I got through to someone and they told me to check the lines with a corded phone, and call back in 24 hours (of course the lines are dead, doesn't matter what kind of phone you use). Then having run the gauntlet of menus again, some person told me "I would have to go out and check the box...." What box? And why am I checking it? I'm not a phone technician.

How about the times I sat through endless menus, being routed from one department to another - and stuck on hold for minutes at a time at my expense, so either some elevator music was playing or there would be some clicks and I would get cut off.

I've been able to rely on a cell, but with aging parents I decided the situation was ridiculous and grimly decided to tackle the issue again. So 2 weeks ago, after doing the phone gauntlet and having to listen to a spiel about FIOS, I was informed it would be 2 WEEKS before I could get an appointment. (The fact that it takes so long to get an appointment with Verizon has been a huge problem, as my job requires travel and I have to work within certain time windows). But I was PROMISED, that by Friday the 16th I'd have my phone back - I just had to be there between 8-5! Nice-NOT. So I took the day off to sit around and wait for Verizon.

Guess what? By 4:00 I was on my cell, completely furious, running the gauntlet of menus. It was ungodly, shifted from department to department, at one point ending up talking to some guy from Frontier's phone company? That had nothing to do with the situation. It was so bad my cell battery actually drained and I went to a neighbor's.

After running the menu obstacle course AGAIN, finally a woman admitted that I was scheduled for the 16th, but some fool at Verizon also had me down for tech work on the 19th. But she seemed to be trying to fix the situation, she PROMISED, that she would call me on my cell to rectify the situation. That she would call by 3:45 TODAY. (Of course, these people are buffered by menus so you can't call them back directly, or even know who you are talking to.)

Well, gee, guess my little bit of business after all the years isn't worth it to Verizon, because apparently I wasn't worth contacting today. So I had to push off a colleague who needed me to do something, lost a day of work = money, lost uncounted cell phone minutes = money, had massive stress, been forced to listen to dozens of minutes of screechy static, clicks, elevator music, and put through this crap by a multi-billion dollar company who had no problem taking my money and stuffs the mailbox with glossy expensive junk mail and crapped up my tiny lawn, but can't be bothered worry about customer SERVICE.

Do they seriously expect me to switch from good old cable TV to a company who can't even send out a guy to check phone wires? I LIKE my cable TV. I don't want to be stuck without a cable TV for a year. So the hell with you, Verizon, Comcast at least works 7 days a week and while I'm not happy about the rising costs, I haven't had a problem with customer service - Comcast even came on a Sunday to switch me to digital.

And I'll be telling the BBB as well, as I spent years paying for wire maintenance, and then you get jerked around when you actually need it, as though Verizon were doing you a favor. You'd think with so many people dropping their landlines Verizon would be falling over itself re customer service, but I guess Verizon has decided that part of the business isn't worth concerning itself with.

Replies
Horrible Customer Service
By -

I have not had my phone working since Monday July 12th, I called Verizon to schedule a repair and was told the problem was outside and a representative would come out on Thursday (once again my issue started on Monday).

On Thursday I get a phone call from the Verizon Rep who asks if I'm home, where I proceed to tell him that my problem is outside why would I need to be home. I come home from work that night and surprise, surprise the phone isn't working. I call Verizon again, and they tell me that another representative has to come out to finish the job and they would be out on Friday and we would be the 2nd job on the tech's list.

Well, surprise, surprise, I get a phone call from someone at the house, from their cell phone, telling me the house phone isn't working yet. I once again, call Verizon and I'm told that a technician will be out by 9:00 pm (this call was placed at 4:15 pm).

I get home from work and call Verizon at 6:05 pm to check the status on the technician and once again I am told he will be here by 9:00 pm. By 7:30 there was still no technician, I call Verizon again and once again I am told a technician will be out by 9:00. At 9:01 pm I call Verizon again, I get 1 representative who tells me that the technician will be out tomorrow (the 16th) by 2:30 pm. I ask why didn't the technician come out today like I've been told all day and he didn't have an answer.

I ask to speak to a supervisor, he puts me on hold, comes back on the line and tells me the supervisor's line is busy and he can't transfer me to anyone, I ask to be placed on hold and he said he can not place me on hold. I again ask (in a loud tone by this time) to speak to a supervisor and the representative stated he can not get me a supervisor and he could not keep me on hold because he had to answer other calls, I told him how could he answer other calls if he's not done with my call, he said he couldn't help me and I should call back. I told him I would not hang up and if he wanted to answer his other calls he would have to hang up. He hung up on me.

I then call Verizon again (by this time at 9:50) and get another representative, I immediately ask to speak to a supervisor, she places me on hold and tells me the line is busy, when I ask to be placed on hold I get the same response as the gentleman before me, they can not place me on hold. She asked for my account information (which I repeated for the 5th time today) and she said the technician noted at 6:30 pm that he would not be able to make it to my home to fix my phone, I asked why no one told me on the multiple previous phone calls I had placed and she didn't know the answer.

I have not had a land line in my house all week and have been treated like crap by the customer service representatives. In a time where there are multiple phone companies someone can move to, this company should be concerned about their customer service representatives and how they treat their clients. When a customer is told a technician is coming, the technician should come.

Not everyone in my household has a cell phone and we have a senior citizen who is not in the best of health, if he had to call 911 at all this week, he would have had to wave someone down to get their attention, if he would be able to walk. At this point I am sick and tired of Verizon and am looking to move onto another company.

Replies
Verizon Has NO Intelligent Customer Service
By -

My contract had expired about 18 months. I had very good service the last 3 years and loved my Razor. My daughters were with Verizon so I stayed. In Jan 2010 I decided to stop in the mall near my daughter and check out the new phones. I found one I thought I could work with and learn texting. The next few months I was having problems so I called Verizon. They were SORRY I was having drop calls. They sent me another phone. NOT a new one, but one someone else turned in. A REFURBISHED one, someone else's problem. Well as long as it would work OK. Then I still had drop calls, doing nothing, sitting still, talking with someone else on Verizon.

The voice activated would repeat over and over. Well guess what they sent me another phone. Now this is my 3 phone. This one the battery would not stay charged. I was still getting drop calls and they told me they were working in my area about that. They wanted to send me another phone and I said NOOOO. They thought a new battery would work. So they sent an extended battery. Great, would not fit my cover and I had to prop my arm up to talk it was so heavy. After a trip I took I called again about the drop calls. This time they want to send me a Samsung and get me off the LG. OK whatever. The phone I get was the worse phone I had ever seen.

When you open it it had nothing but numbers. I AM TOO old to count to do my texting. When I called back in the supervisor told me that was the only thing they could send me and that was their policy. I say another Samsung looked similar to the LG but they would not even consider working with me to get me a working phone. How dare a phone company tell me this is the phone I am getting and this is the policy. After going home I decided to call one more time before contacting the BBB, attorney etc. I did find a supervisor who apologize about all the problems I have had.

There famous words, "You have been with us for a very long time and we don't want to lose you." so he was going to send out this Samsung Reality. Great. I received the phone today (7-12). Looks nice, similar to the LG. I proceeded to figure the phone out, got the battery looking to where it goes and have no clue. I look in the box and no manual. Oh this is great. Got a new phone have no idea how to use it. I called Verizon again... I asked about the manual... I was told I had to call the company to see if they would send me a manual or I had to go on the internet to get instructions. WOW WHAT A COMPANY.

I asked for a supervisor in Arizona and I was told this is their policy since it is a refurbished phone... Great I have another phone with someone else's problem which is my problem trying to figure out the phone. I guess it will sit here along with the other Samsung until they contact me. I now have 3 phones in my possession, 2 in boxes and the one I am trying to use. I know once I get out of this contract I will not go back and I hope I can get my 2 daughters to move also. I think they stand out on the street corner and ask people, "Would you like a job." It takes no education to be customer service with Verizon.

Replies
Customer Service does not provide any valid service
By -

I went into store to get my phone serviced on Friday of last week. They did a hard reboot. I literally walked out the door with the phone and it started messing up again. I went back inside and it was almost closing. She said I needed a new phone. She wrote my information down and told me due to the holiday, I could not get it till Wed. I ended up on Sat morning reconnecting my old Blackberry long enough to get the phone delivered.

I had someone at the house to receive the phone Wed. About lunch time when no one showed I called to get tracking number. The lady on the phone said that the girl that was supposed to order it, did not update my account with any information after the hard reboot. I spent 40 minutes on the phone with the lady yesterday talking about how she so wanted to make it all right so she would send me one overnight delivery by 10:30 today "with no charge" to me since it was their mistake.

I asked for a tracking number and she gave me an order number. I again asked for tracking number and she told me all she could do was give me an order number. I finally accepted her promise and hung up. Today after the phone did not arrive after 10:30 I called to get a tracking number again.

The gentleman told me my phone had not been shipped. It had not even been approved until today. I told them I needed a reliable phone because daddy having cancer and I need to be able to be reached. I asked him to just let me go to a store and exchange due to the misrepresentation from Verizon on when I would receive a phone. I was then referred to a supervisor. The supervisor said it was being shipped today. I will by the time it is done have asked someone to sit at my house 3 days for a phone that at this point has not even been issued a tracking number.

I asked to fill it as an insurance claim and have Asurion just send one courier to me today. I was then informed that my phone does not have insurance and that it cannot be added now unless it is open enrollment. I had mentioned it being a possible insurance claim to everyone along the way and until the supervisor today, was not even informed I did not have the insurance. I then asked since they have "Lied" to me 2 times about having a phone shipped, the least they could do would be to allow me to add insurance on my phones.

He said I can only do it in open enrollment. I asked when open enrollment was. He said "I don't know." I asked how I can be notified of open enrollment and he said he did not know. I asked how they informed customers and he said maybe a flier. I am paperless so how do I find out. He said he had no idea. So I can enroll for insurance during open enrollment but there is no way of me ever finding out when that is? So I think I will call the Customer service line everyday for the next 2 years to see if that day is open enrollment and ask to speak to a supervisor to find out.

I will burn up so much dollars in your customer service hours you will pay for the cost of my phone over and over again. This is ridiculous. Still no phone, no tracking number, no insurance and one highly pissed customer. "Priceless." Actually $320 per line if I choose to cancel contract. Right now I will tell every person I know to not use Verizon!

Replies
Advertisement
I can't believe this is happening.
By -

CALIFORNIA -- Where to begin?? We have never been satisfied with our DSL service. The second router sent to us by Verizon did not work any better than the first two. Then one day our land line and DSL went out after a heavy rain storm. We were without service almost two weeks. We had Internet, home phone, and my wife's cell phone all on one bill. One day we get a bill that is way bigger than all the previous ones.

After many phone calls and being put on hold, my wife is told she went over her minutes. She asked for a printout of her calls. Verizon promised to send one but never did. She finally became so frustrated she cancelled her cell phone and paid the early cancellation fee. DSL still not working very well. We have to reboot the router every time we go to use the Internet. I was calling and complaining fairly frequently. One day we get a bill that now has a new charge of six dollars. I call to ask about the new charge and am told that since we don't use enough long distance on our home phone, we must pay a "VLD Shortfall Charge."

The customer service representative convinced me to sign up for FiOS phone and internet. I took a vacation day from work to get the job done. I get home late the night before the service is to be installed, so I do not see that someone had already done some work in our backyard. In the morning I walk out to the backyard and see a black cable running from service pole to our garage and from the garage to our house. I can literally reach up and grab the FiOS cable with my hand. It is only seven feet off the ground. Definitely not to code, not to mention that I was told we would be notified before anyone tried to come into our backyard due to our two dogs.

I immediately called Verizon and was told their technician would take care of the problem. When he arrived, he told me there was nothing he could do about the FiOS line that was hanging so low. He suggested I dig a trench and reschedule for installation. I told him to pull the ** wire down. Then one day I get a call asking me if I plan to go through with the FiOS installation. I tell the lady the story and tell her absolutely not. She says "so you don't want the FIOS?" And I say "correct." Then this morning my wife calls me at work to tell me our phone service has been disconnected.

I call Verizon and they tell me that I cancelled phone service, and that is why it was disconnected. They are not able to tell me when I cancelled the service. I tell them if it is not turned on by this evening I will cancel for sure. They promise it will be turned on by 5 pm. Of course it was not turned on. I call to ask when they plan to turn it on. I am told the office that handles this service is now closed and I will have to call tomorrow. I will pay more for less, but we are getting rid of Verizon.

Replies
Bad Customer Service
By -

On May 20, 2010, I ordered Verizon high-speed internet. The following day a message was left on my voice mail that a technician needed to install a line and that was scheduled for May 27th between eight o'clock and noon and I needed to be there. I took the day off work for the installation.

On Thursday, May 27th I waited until nearly noon and no one showed up. I called customer service to inquire as to when the technician would arrive. I was told that you don't send a technician to install the DSL. After asking repeatedly why I was told someone would come to my house, the customer service representative finally keyed my number into his computer and told me that someone had to connect the line at the box and that had already been done. He told me at least three more times that you don't send a technician to install the DSL; instead you send the installation kit.

When I asked where the installation kit was, he transferred me to another department. I was transferred three additional times, each time I had to provide my phone number, sometimes to someone who couldn't understand or speak English very well. After fifty minutes, someone finally was able to determine that the installation kit had not been sent. I repeatedly heard the word “sorry” but none of the sorry people was willing to make any additional effort to remedy the situation, specifically, send the modem via overnight courier as I requested. As a result, I didn't have internet service that I needed over the long holiday weekend.

On Tuesday, June 1, 2010 I called customer service to verify the modem had been sent. After thirty minutes on hold, the call was disconnected and I had to start over. I called back and explained that I had just been talking to someone and had been disconnected and asked if she could determine who I had been talking to. She was able to determine who I had talked to but wasn't able to transfer me to him. This person seemed competent and found a UPS tracking number which indicated the modem was to be delivered later in the day. She gave me the tracking number and we hung up.

Late Tuesday afternoon, the package arrived. However, there was no modem in the package, just a quick start guide and the Verizon online terms of service document- two pieces of paper. I called customer service yet again. The first person I talked to was outraged and of course I heard “sorry” again but, of course, he couldn't help me. He transferred me to technical support where I went through the second maze of button pushing before I could talk to a person.

Naturally, technical support couldn't help me and transferred me to someone else who couldn't help me and he transferred me to a fourth person. Person number four wanted to know how many computers I would be using and what type. When I inquired as to why that mattered she said it was so she could send the right router. I explained that I didn't need a router, I needed a modem. She said she would send one and it would arrive overnight on Wednesday. She provided a UPS tracking number.

When I keyed the number into the tracking site on Wednesday, the response was that it was an invalid number. I called Verizon at approximately 8:05 AM. I asked for confirmation and tracking number of modem sent previous night. I was put on hold for over 90 minutes. The person I talked to couldn't find any record that the modem had been sent. I was transferred to her supervisor who confirmed. After over two hours on the phone the supervisor said she would have the modem sent.

I called Thursday June 3, 2010 again to get a UPS tracking number. After a short wait I was told it looked liked it was cancelled. When I asked what was cancelled she said everything. I asked to be transferred to a manager. I was transferred to a supervisor. When I talked to the supervisor I told her my story and asked if everything was indeed cancelled. She said yes. I said thank you and goodbye. I called Time Warner and they came out two days later and installed the service. They showed up on time and did what they said they would.

At Verizon customer service, no one will give you a last name. There is no way to get back to the person you previously talked to so there is no accountability. All the customer service person has to do is get you off the phone and they never have to deal with you again.

Replies
Top of Page | Next Page >

Verizon Rating:
Star Half star Empty star Empty star Empty star
1.3 out of 5, based on 80 ratings and
684 reviews & complaints.
Contact Information:
Verizon
1095 Avenue of the Americas
New York, New York 10036
800-621-9900 (ph)
www.verizon.com
billingservices@verizon.net
Product/Services
Compare Phone/Mobile Services