Feedburner count

Vitacost - Page 2

Star Half star Empty star Empty star Empty star
49 Reviews & Complaints

Most Popular | Newest | More Options >
More filter options:
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty Star
A Complete Hassle to Deal With.
Posted by B521980 on 08/26/2013
ONLINE, FLORIDA -- If I could give negative stars, I would. Their prices and customer service have always been incredible, but I've noticed in the last 6-9 months, they have gone completely downhill. I live in Canada and they started advertising "No surprise tax bill at your door" in their Canada shipping ads. I thought this was too good to be true -- and it was. After my delivery, I emailed them to clarify and their response was:
"We guarantee duty free shipping, however, actual tax may differ from duty. I apologize for any inconvenience."

If that's the case, they really need to stop calling it No surprise tax bill at your door and replace it with no surprise duty bill at your door. I think this is false advertising, however, seeing that 99% of the time I am paying duty when ordering from a US merchant, I'm not surprised when these additional costs do come up upon delivery -- in fact, I expect it.

However, what upset me the most is that in my last two orders, I received the shipment in 2 boxes and they pasted the same total invoice to both boxes -- meaning I paid double the duties/taxes. After it happened the first time, I emailed them and they were quick to refund the duplicate charge, but they could not guarantee it wouldn't happen again. Of course, a mere 2 months later, it happened again on my next shipment and once again, I had to go through the whole process all over again. They claimed they put a refund through on my credit card, but that was nearly a month ago and I called my credit card company who said nothing has gone through yet.

Honestly, it's just not worth the hassle...unfortunately, stay away :( Amazon doesn't deliver most supplements/vitamins to Canadian customers, so I find luckyvitamin.com to be a great alternative if you're in Canada ordering from the US.

Read 1 RepliesAdd reply

User Replies:Close comments

Posted by Catherine At Vitacost.com on 2013-09-03:
I'm sorry to hear that you had this negative experience. It is possible your order was placed prior to us implementing this No Surprise Tax advertisement and that is the reason you've experienced further fees. Please accept my utmost sincere apologies for this inconvenice. Please email me directly with the details of the order(s) and the further fees incurred and I will get back to you as soon as possible! My email is Catherine.Corey@Vitacost.com.

Catherine C
Customer Communications Specialist
Close commentsAdd reply

StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty Star
First Time Is the Last!
Posted by Russophile77 on 08/15/2013
This was my first time to order from Vitacost but I did it because someone recommended some of the Vitacost brand products and offered me a 10$ off coupon. I completed my order and all the items were listed as "in stock." I then received and e-mail that my order had shipped, but at the bottom there was one item that was listed as "not shipped" and that it would be shipped later.

A few days later, I received a notice that my order was canceled. I fired off a quick e-mail complaining and asking why this item that was supposedly "in stock" was now suddenly just canceled. I received back a snippy, semi-apologetic e-mail from a customer service agent, informing me that it was the manufacturer who was out (this is a VITACOST brand product, they should know if it's in stock or not) and that I could sign up to be notified when it was back in stock. I wanted to order this when I had the coupon and when I had enough for free shipping, not later, when they supposedly have it in stock again....but how can I believe the website?

This was enough for me to rule this company out for any possible purchases but there was one more blow when my order arrived today and I discovered that they had not only removed the out of stock item, but they also magically made my 10$ discount disappear. I am so mad right now. Companies like this should not be in business.

I will be going back to ordering from Super Supplements who: are honest, have excellent customer service, have fast shipping and keep accurate stock reporting on their website.
Read 2 RepliesAdd reply

User Replies:Close comments

Posted by John Nicholson on 2013-08-16:
I can see where VitaCost might not have something in stock. This happens. Nothing to get upset about. However, I don't understand why they would not allow the $10 discount. Perhaps because of the out of stock item the order total fell below some requirement needed to use the discount. In any event, it would seem VitaCost is still having problems. I used to order from them but after reading the many complaints, I too have switched.
Posted by Catherine At Vitacost.com on 2013-09-03:
Hi there and thanks for your feedback. I'm sorry that you had some trouble with your previous order. It sometimes can happen that folks place their order before we get the chance to update our web site in regards to the item not being available as well as the inconveniences associated with trying to use your discount. We offer our utmost sincere apologies. I'm happy to personally check this out for you. Please email me directly at Catherine.Corey@Vitacost.com. I look forward to helping you!

Catherine C
Customer Communications Specialist
Close commentsAdd reply

StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty Star
Misleading promos. Bait and switch
Posted by Amancino on 08/07/2013
LEXINGTON, NORTH CAROLINA -- I just called your customer service line and explained that I was very unhappy with the way Vitacost uses their promo codes as bait but rarely honors them. I became familiar with Vitacost through a promo for $10 off your first order. I familiarized myself with your website and loaded my cart. Upon checkout the system would not take the promo code. I called the customer service line for help only to be told that the coupon could not be combined with any other promo and since the items I chose were on promo, the coupon wouldn't work. They spoke matter-of-fact and they were not sympathetic to the issue and the fact I wasted my time. Nowhere on the coupon did it say that it could not be combined with any other promo. Even though I made that clear to the customer service rep, they did not honor the coupon. At that point I started receiving emails with promos.

A few months later I attempted to use a promo. Again, it wouldn't take it even though I had received the email only 1 day before. Apparently I was 2 hours late. Again, another bait without honoring the promo. You should give your customers a reasonable amount of time to use the promos you advertise to avoid frustration on our end.

Today I tried to take advantage of your BOGO offer on Vitacost products. The banner clearly states in large print "Buy one get one 50% off on Vitacost brand products". So I loaded my cart with two coconut oils and attempted to check out with the promo. It didn't work. I called the customer service line and was told that item was excluded. I'm very frustrated and feel that Vitacost baits us with misleading emails and refuses to honor what they represent to the customer. As I was speaking to the customer service supervisor I noticed the fine print at the very bottom in very small letters "exclusions may apply". Again, a very underhanded way to promote your products. I told the css that I wanted the promo honored for the Vitacost product I chose because after three poor experiences with your promos I was feeling mislead and I wanted them to honor the promo as it was represented. She checked with her manager who denied my request even though I made it clear they would lose my business.

It's unbelievable that this is how your manager handled this situation after I expressed willingness to be loyal to your business if only I was shown an act of good faith and extended a reasonable offer considering I've been jerked around so much.

Vitacost needs a good lesson in customer appreciation and circumstantial exceptions to the hard and fast rule.
Read 2 RepliesAdd reply

User Replies:Close comments

Posted by Susan on 2013-08-07:
This is not bait and switch - it is the consumer's responsiblity to read the terms and conditions and abide by the promo rules.
Posted by Catherine at Vitacost on 2013-09-03:
I'm so sorry to hear that you had a negative experience. I am more than happy to share this with the folks that create and execute the promotional offers. In the meantime, if we need to discuess further, please email me directly at Catherine.Corey@Vitacost.com. Thanks in advance for letting me help!
Close commentsAdd reply

StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty Star
Deceptive Advertising Practices to Get or Increase Orders
Posted by Casablancawatch on 06/30/2013
LEXINGTON, NORTH CAROLINA -- They may have low prices but I get a slew of deceptive and outright lying 'coupons' and 'codes' in my email and on their website. They refer to discount that are legalistically worded to suggest savings and discounts, and then when you are done with your purchase, you realize most of what you were lead to believe is EXCLUDED!

My latest experience was on the website it said $10 off on orders of $50 or more of Vitacost products...most people would assume that items bought on the website would qualify as this is Vitacost...but, no.

You needed to purchase actual Vitacost 'BRANDED' products...of course their offer didn't state the word brand or branded...so after adding things to my order to hit over $50, it wouldn't take. Assuming their customer service would apply the discount after the purchase, that it was a failure of the website, I made the purchase anyway.

Of course their customer service said they meant Vitacost BRAND products even though their ad didn't say that...so for $10 they had about 4 agents message me that they wouldn't give me a discount.

I don't care what the prices are, when a website uses deceptive or borderline deceptive advertising practices to bump an order, and then spend voluminous amount of customer representative time to back up the deception, they have not only lost a customer, but gained someone who will spread the word about their deception and anti-customer practices.

Add reply

Great Experience.
Posted by Luvdpups on 05/08/2013
LEXINGTON, NORTH CAROLINA -- I have placed three orders over the past couple of months and could not believe how quickly they arrived. The items were large and fairly heavy but were packaged perfectly with care. Don't know who their mail service is with - couldn't read the name on the truck. Wish I knew because I would use them myself. I have had so much trouble with UPS and FEDEX taking my packages to wrong addresses and sometimes just disappear (this has happened four times with orders from Amazon). I do a lot of mail orders and I will definitely use this place again and again. The products are great and their service is amazing. I've read some very negative posts on the one in Nevada and I can't speak on that one but this main website in NC is the one I'll do business with again. Their prices are unbeatable and shipping is free mostly - don't buy the extra fast shipping because the regular shipping gets here faster!
Add reply

StarStarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty Star
Be Careful With This Store
Posted by Iago_itabr on 04/15/2013
LEXINGTON, NORTH CAROLINA -- The first time I ordered some items from this store, everything worked fine. I ordered only 3 items and everything worked perfectly. They delivered it to me, in Sweden, in a very reasonable time.
However, in my second order I wasn't lucky and they simply did not deliver anything. I never received my order and when I asked them what could possibly have happened, they answered that they would refund me immediately. I suspected of their easy refunding policies, but after talking with some friends that faced the same problem, I concluded that they didn't have the items I ordered and simply did not send anything.
Be careful with this store and, like some other reviewer said previously, avoid it if you are ordering from somewhere out of the USA.
Add reply

StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty Star
Beware Of This Company
Posted by Tybaichan on 03/19/2013
LAS VEGAS, NEVADA -- Decided to try out this company by placing a small order--no problems. Order was shipped and received in less than one week. Second order--not so good. Still waiting, even though they sent me an email 3 days ago saying my order had shipped and provided me with a UPS tracking number.

When I click the tracking number I get this message from UPS:

A UPS shipping label has been created. Once the shipment arrives at our facility, the tracking status--including the scheduled delivery date--will be updated.

This will be my last order with this company. I'll stick with Amazon, pay a few bucks more and know that I'll receive my order and excellent customer service.
Read 2 RepliesAdd reply

User Replies:Close comments

Posted by Alain on 2013-03-19:
You may pay a bit more by using Amazon, but, as you point out, at least you'll get your product. Looking at the complaints about Vitacost, both here and on other sites, they do seem to have service and shipping problems. Thank you for the warning.
Posted by Tabitha on 2013-03-20:
Wish I had seen this before ordering. I ordered on Saturday. It's Wednesday night and no message that my order has shipped. Very frustrating.
Close commentsAdd reply

StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty Star
Vitacost - Misleading, Poor Service
Posted by Toninaparis on 03/18/2013
Paid for Priority shipping but they are shipping using Global shipping (which is cheaper, slower). They also estimated a delivery time of 5-10 days when I placed the order, but the confirmation email says it could take over four weeks. I attempted to cancel the order when I found out they had been extremely misleading with the estimated shipping time, but they ignored my emails. They have only replied to tell me they shipped my order via Global shipping (the incorrect, cheaper option) and have ignored all other enquiries. Avoid this company, particularly if you are an international customer.

Possibly the worst company I have ever ordered anything from online.

Read 3 RepliesAdd reply

User Replies:Close comments

Posted by Alain on 2013-03-18:
In most cases, products comparable to anything Vitacost offers can be found at your local stores at the same cost or cheaper. Thanks for the warning about this company.
Posted by trmn8r on 2013-03-18:
You appear to be in France. According their webiste the options are as you state:

Sounds like they ripped you off, and their customer noservice is poor. Thanks for warning others, and sorry this happened to you.
Posted by Paul on 2013-06-27:
Disappointed too.Ordered early June 2013.Chose the mid option.DHL post no tracking.Said 5 to 10 days.I was sent a new delivery date of August 1,2013.What the ....."US post quicker.I didnt pick the boat option!!!!
Close commentsAdd reply

StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty Star
Never Again!
Posted by Muffiemae1 on 03/02/2013
Today was the LAST time I'll order anything from Vitacost! I live in Panama and orders from the US are shipped to my mail forwarding company in Florida. The Vitacost form would not accept my complete mailing address, so my order of almost $300 will NOT reach me. They only give you 15 minutes to cancel an order and by the time I was delayed with their "Chat" and then on hold trying to call them, the 15 minutes had long past. See a copy of the chat from their idiot "representative."

2:38:00 PM : Dottie: Initial Question/Comment: I just placed this order about 10 minutes ago. I have been trying to add "PMB PMA - 60" to my shipping address but your form never adds it. "PMB PMA - 60" is vital to my shipping address. I will NOT receive my order without it. If I do not receive my order due to your error, I will have my credit card company refund my money.

2:38:20 PM : System: Lavon I. has joined this session!

2:38:20 PM : System: Connected with Lavon I.. Your Reference Number for this chat is 41591.

2:38:20 PM : System: Thanks for getting in touch. I'm researching the answer to your question right now. Stay tuned--I'll have a response for you in a moment.

2:39:00 PM : Lavon I.: You are not able to add products to an order unless you cancel the order and redo it.

2:39:14 PM : Lavon I.: You only have 15 minutes to be able to do that though

2:39:39 PM : Dottie: Grrrrrr - I am NOT trying to add a product, simply to have your form reflect my complete mailing address!

2:40:45 PM : Lavon I.: Sorry miss understood.

2:41:05 PM : Lavon I.: Is there an order number for me to be able to look at please.

2:42:47 PM : Dottie: I gave the order number when I signed up for this "chat" - 15765748

2:44:18 PM : Lavon I.: Thank you one moment please.

2:45:23 PM : Lavon I.: I do apologize but I an mot able to pull this order up right now. It will take at least 1 hour for it to download to us in order to see it.
Add reply

Great Customer Service
Posted by Pra369 on 02/27/2013
I purchased several dog treats and dog-related supplies such as ear and eye wash from this vendor a couple of weeks ago, and I was happy with their packaging and delivery time. What made me want to write this review was the fact that my puppy didn't like a couple of the treats so in accordance with their return policy, I contacted them for a Return Authorization number to return the packages she didn't like. These were opened but she tried a couple and just didn't like them, and as long as it's just one open package of an item, you are allowed to return it if not satisfied. Of course, had I ordered two of each item, you can only return one open package and the other would need to be unopened to qualify for the return.

Well, I wrote them the email and they responded telling me they would credit my card and I didn't have to send back the treats (so no return shipping out of pocket). My dog will not eat them, but I can certainly donate them to a shelter or another dog owner. It saves me on shipping and some other dog will get to enjoy them. I love their prices, which is why I went with them in the first place. Got my treats which aren't sold everywhere (not even at PetSmart) for almost 50% off retail like at Petco. I'd highly recommend them and will certainly be returning when I run out. Plus there's free shipping if you order enough.
Read 1 RepliesAdd reply

User Replies:Close comments

Posted by jktshff1 on 2013-02-28:
Good review, thanks.
Close commentsAdd reply

Top of Page | Next Page >