Preview Review

Next Review

Vonage Consumer Reviews - Page 3

Most Popular | Newest | More Options >
More filter options:
The Worst Phone Service / Bar-none
By -

My experience with Vonage has been mirrored by the comments I read below and the complaints I have since found on the internet. I desperately wish I had done my homework before starting service with this company. They hands down have the worst customer service I have ever had the displeasure of being in contact with. After establishing service with this company I had numerous phone calls with their technical department due to my connection never working correctly. I repeatedly had disconnected calls.

I also found that the phone system interfered with my internet connection, causing my internet to constantly disconnect. Vonage was unable to resolve the issue, but they absolutely refused to disconnect my service without charging me a high fee to disconnect. I was told if I waited out my “contract period” (oh yes they have a contract, despite the fact they advertise no contracts!) then I would not be charged a fee.

This I did, for 6 months I kept my connection to Vonage but had to get another phone service that actually worked. So while I was not using Vonage, I was being charged for it. At the end of my contract period I again called them to disconnect my service.

That was the hardest task imaginable. They tried to refuse. They gave me such a run around that I was literally on the phone with them for 45 minutes. After finally disconnecting my service I too was charged the disconnection fee stated in other complaints, although I had been told by the customer service in my previous attempts to disconnect that I would not be charged if I waited through my contract! Vonage is a fraud in my opinion; please do your research before ever signing up with this company… I imagine it's easier to get out of jail than get out of there “service web”.

Service cancellation Vonage requires customers to cancel service by calling a toll-free number, as service cancellation is not available on-line. The direct number for cancellation is 1-888-879-1978. Customer descriptions of the cancellation process frequently involve hold times of approximately twenty-five (25) minutes, depending on call volume.

Difficulties faced by customers when attempting to cancel Vonage were detailed in a May 2006 Wall Street Journal article[23] which related one customer's experience with a Vonage representative who refused to cancel an account unless a repair attempt was allowed by the customer.

In the last 12 month reporting period, the Better Business Bureau has closed 3687 complaints (as of Oct 2007). The balance of complaints centered on service, billing and refund issues.[24] Despite marketing their service as having no contracts or long-term commitments, Vonage charges customers a fee for cancellation within the two years of service, changed from one year February 1st, 2007.

This fee is noted in the provider's Terms of Service when a customer signs up or attempts to access his Web Account. The fee is $39.99 per physical voice line which is disconnected. This fee does not apply to dedicated fax lines, virtual telephone numbers, or the computer-based "SoftPhone" lines. A "Rebate Recovery" fee is also assessed if the account is canceled after the 30-day, money-back guarantee, but before 180 days of service.

Different for each device, this fee is the "instant rebate" offered on the Web site during sign-up; this protects the company from having bogus accounts created and canceled shortly thereafter by scammers seeking free or discounted routers that may then be sold for profit. Vonage charges $39.99 to every customer who discontinues service—for any reason. [25][Citation needed]

The customer may avoid these fees if he cancels service before the end of the money-back-guarantee period, which sometimes varies between 30 days to 60 days, depending on the sign up terms and frequency of communication with Vonage Customer Service. Often, representatives attempt to retain a customer by extending the money-back-guarantee period. Upon cancellation of the account, the customer is responsible for the cost of return shipping to Vonage.

As of March 2007, the FCC maintains that Local Number Portability rules do not apply to VoIP service providers such as Vonage; however, Vonage states that subscriber numbers may be transferred to other companies per its Terms of Service[26] (section 6.6). Vonage states that LNP transfers are handled by Focal Communications, but Focal was acquired [27] by Broadwing Corporation which itself was acquired by Level 3 Communications. [28]

Service Issues VOIP service is dependent on consistent broadband-ISP uptime and VOIP-equipment compatibility with the ISP's modem. There have been widespread reports of difficulty in operating Fax machines on Vonage lines, either dedicated Fax lines, or regular Vonage lines. Difficulties have also been reported with residential alarm systems and TiVo. [Citation needed]

When using a fax machine, it is suggested that users connect their fax directly into the VoIP adapter, regardless of the provider. This ensures the fewest variables in a specific network setup. In addition, users should ensure that an "Error Correction Mode" or "ECM Mode" is disabled on their fax machines as this compounds problems and distortion regarding the compression, decompression, and transmission of data communications through a VoIP provider.

Also the "Baud Rate" should be lowered to no more than "9600". When faxing the fax should be set to "Standard" instead of "Photo or Fine." It is important to note with faxing that your internet connection more than Vonage really dictates if you are going to be able to fax consistently. There are also settings on the device such as codecs, jitter buffer and rx tx gains that can be adjusted to improve Vonage faxing. All these things combined make faxing with Vonage close to faxing over a landline.

Vonage suggests that customers contact their local home alarm system operator to determine whether their existing home alarm solution is compatible with any VoIP provider. Vonage does not make specific recommendations about security systems. [29] However, Vonage does specifically mention alarm.com as being compatible because it uses wireless technology rather than depending on a phone line. [30]

TiVo's Series 1 units contain only telephone ports to connect to a wall jack. Series 2 and Series 3 hardware contains an ethernet jack, and optionally supports USB-based WiFi adapters, which typically do work properly with VoIP providers. At one point, the initial connection made by the TV unit required the use of a regular telephone landline prior to use with a broadband connection, but this limitation was removed in 2005 with TV version 7.2[31].

Vonage's Technical Support states that their phone system does not work with alarm systems. They did state that it is sometimes possible to get a Brink alarm system to work with their system. It is most important to make sure your alarm system will be able to call out to fire or police before switching over. Additionally, Vonage installs under a two-year contract, wherein cancellation within that time period results in $150 or more in fees.

Replies
Advertisement
Vonage 30 Free Trial Fraud
By -

Vonage's 30 Day free trial fraud. On April 14, 2008 I called Vonage's 800 number to sign up for their Unlimited Local & Long Distance calling (Premium Unlimited Plan) for $24.99 per mo. which included with a free 30 day trial period. I spoke with a Vonage sales rep and gave him all the information he needed and my credit card number to be used as guarantee back-up for payment, I wanted monthly billing sent to my home.

After we finished the sign up process, he said for the cost of just $.99 cents that is, I could get another line for fax or whatever I needed it for. He apologized for the .99 saying it was required for 911 service. I said OK, and he said they would send acknowledgment for my order via email and the service would start when I received my modem in the mail (5 to 7 days). Also that I should go to their websites and check the status of the installation process.

On the April 15, I went online to the Vonage website, I notice that on April 14, 2008 my credit card had been charged ($25.54) for various start-up fees and there was another charge to my credit card for $48.69 on April 15 for installation and monthly service fees for the second line.

I called Vonage customer service and told them that the sales rep said it would only cost 99 cents. This service rep pretty much accused me of lying and said she had never heard of such a thing. I said if it cost what they had charged my credit card, then I didn't want a second line. She asked if I wanted to cancel the second line and I said "yes I did." Later that day, I checked to see if my order had been corrected, I found another charge on my credit card for $39.99 to have the second line canceled.

That evening I called customer service and spoke to someone about what happened and he said I shouldn't have been charged for the cancellation. Also that he would submit for a refund on the second line installation charges. My Vonage account was credited fir $39.99, not my credit card. Then on April 27 my Vonage account was credited for the second line installation, again not to my credit card. So now I had a credit balance of $88.68 on my Vonage account.

On April 21, I received the modem and installed it and now my telephone line was activated. I wasn't real happy with Vonage sales and customer service but thought I would try it. I noticed a severe degradation in my cable internet service which Vonage uses as its telephone line. After trying a few thing suggested by Vonage technical service there was still the degradation for my internet.

I decided Vonage wasn't for me so on May 16, 2008 I called another carrier and signed up with them. They would notify Vonage and change my number to them. We went through a verification with another company that asked if I was requesting the switch and I confirmed it.

On May 19, when the new service started, when I went to disconnect the Vonage modem I called Vonage because I noticed the service was still on, their modem was still activated into my internet carrier and still degrading the service. I said I had cancelled their service and wanted to get an RMA to return the modem.

After 20 minutes of badgering me with all sorts of offers they told me there would be cancellation charges because their agreement with me stated such and that I couldn't return the modem because it had been used. I asked why the cancellation charges and she said because it was over 30 days and I had an agreement. I said "no it wasn't over 30 days because my service was never activated until April 21 and I cancelled on May 16."

The service rep was everything but pleasant. She kept telling me our contract specified all of this. I then told her I had no contract and never signed one and wouldn't have it this was specified. She then told me my cancellation charges would be $122.08. I said I needed to speak to someone else and she said she was a manager and that no one else was higher.

After continuing to tell her I needed to speak to someone else I was put on hold for about 20 minutes and finally someone in the accounting department answered and told me they couldn't help me because they were the accounting department and their computer did this when someone cancels service. I immediately went to Vonage website to see if they cancelled the account and a charge of $122.08 was already on my credit card.

So far Vonage made 4 charges totaling ($236.30) to my credit card that was supposed to be used for backup payment only. Out of the 4 charges only the first for $25.54 could be considered legitimate even though they told me no activation charges. My Vonage account showed no credits for the earlier false charges. I have all documentation to support what I have stated including the Vonage advertisement for the free 30 day stating to how to get a RMA to return the Vonage modem. This is outright fraud.

May 22 I called Vonage to get an RMA to send back their modem and they refused to give me an RMA. Their 30 free trial ad says I have 14 days to return the modem after I cancelled the service, I am documenting this they will later tell me I didn't return the modem with the 14 days.

Replies
Do Not Get Vonage!
By -

DO NOT GET VONAGE!!! If you are keeping it forever like till you DIE go ahead because Vonage is awful to cancel! Well as I read down if you die your family will have to deal with these people. Now I will tell the whole world DO NOT GET VONAGE! I've been with them since July 2005.

Well my Cable company got me last week. I just could not pass a great all in one deal when I see one. So today I call Vonage to CANCEL because the cable guys are coming out tomorrow. It was awful. I even began to lie just so she would help me cancel. First I told her all the info she needed and then the questions came flying! Why do you want to cancel? Because I'm going with the cable company. Why did you go to the cable company? Why this? Why that? Why I ask (myself not her still trying to be nice) does she even need to know this.

If I wanted something else I believe I would have called for that not to cancel. So her next question was so why do you really want to cancel? So yes I started to lie to her I said, "Well you see I'm moving to my sister's house and we will be living with her so I don't need a phone she has one." Then she asked where does she live? Then the ** hit the fan I said, "You don't need to know where she lives. I just want to cancel." Yes I was getting mad. Being honest did not work lying did not work. So my husband was listening on the other phone and I said, "You can ask my husband WE WANT TO CANCEL."

So my husband said, "WE WANT TO CANCEL". Then she, "Asked do you want to transfer your service?" It took all I had not to curse or yell at her. But I calmly said I'm not stupid nor dumb if I wanted to transfer the service I would have called and done that.

Then my husband said, "WE WANT TO CANCEL." She says I quote "If you would like to cancel please say 'cancel'." I was thinking, "Are you ** kidding me? I was at my wits end with this lady. My husband said CANCEL. She knew he was pissed. Finally she said, "OK your account is now cancelled." Also I cancelled the credit card they have on file for my account. They are not going to treat me like I'm dumb and stupid then steal money from me too.

Screw me once shame on you screw me twice shame on me it's not happening. I will be sure to go to the BBB and let them know how we were treated. We are not dumb Americans and we do not need to be treated has if we are. If this is the way some Vonage reps. have to do their job :(

Shame on you, get a different job. No one could pay me to treat people badly just to keep them. I wish I would have recorded my call. I will not go through that ever again!! ALSO I found this on the BBB website. On March 27, 2007 Vonage company's membership in the BBB was revoked by the BBB's Board of Directors. Also the BBB processed a total of 7626 complaints about the company in the last 36 months.

Replies
Rebate Ripoff!!!
By -

CHINO, CALIFORNIA -- Back in December 2006 I purchased a Vonage router at Best Buy with an offer of a $100 best buy gift card and a $50 rebate check. I activated my service with Vonage on Friday, December 29, 2006 and by 4:00 p.m. that afternoon I made my first call. Sometime in January I mailed in both rebate forms with all the necessary paperwork, UPC and MAC id information. The last postmark dates for the rebates were February 15th and 28th, 2006.

Again, I mailed it out in January so that should not be a problem. In early may 2007 I received my $50 rebate check. Good. In early June 2007 I received a postcard that my $100 best buy gift card was "declined". Bad. On June 6th, 2007 I called the Vonage resubmit office at (800) 347-4017 and after a difficult time speaking with "customer care," I managed to get transferred to a floor supervisor. He managed to "resubmit" my rebate. It was an unbelievable challenge to get someone to help me.

I was told by the initial person that she could do nothing about this and when I asked to be transferred to someone who could do something about it, she said she could not transfer me. It was only through my persistence that she finally transferred me to the floor supervisor. So we left off that I should give Vonage 4 to 6 weeks to mail out my $100 best buy gift card.

Six weeks later... No gift card. Eight weeks later... No gift card. 10 weeks later... Nothing. On August 20th, 2007 I called the Vonage resubmit office and again after fighting my way passed the initial "customer care" rep, I managed to get a hold of Luke, a floor supervisor. I had to retell my entire story and he looked into the matter, and said, "I've escalated this matter so would you please give us 3 weeks to get this taken cared of." Fine!

On September 21st, 2007 I called the Vonage resubmit office, again, and after retelling my story to the "customer care" rep, and fighting my way to someone with higher authority I am transferred to John, a floor supervisor. Again I am told that "the matter would be escalated! Please allow 4 weeks for you rebate to be processed!" No, this time I ask to be transferred to someone above the floor supervisor, so I'm placed on hold. And no one ever picked up the line so after 20 minutes I hung up. Rude! Rude! Rude!

On October 11th, 2007 I called the Vonage resubmit office, again I have to retell my story, get passed the "customer care" rep, get transferred to a floor supervisor and this time I asked to speak with his supervisor. "Please hold while I transfer you to my floor manager." Finally I speak with Martin **, floor manager (employee # **) and he promises to "escalate" this matter to Phillip, account manager. Please call us back in 10 days. "10 Days," I said, "Yes," he said. "So call you back on October 18th?" I said. "Yes," he said.

So on October 19th, again I called the Vonage resubmit office, get passed "customer care" who did not want to transfer me, she did not want to transfer me at all. She said, "I can't do that sir." "Transfer me." "I can't do that sir." "Transfer me now!" So I get Jerry, a floor supervisor. I ask that he transfer me. "May I ask why?" he said. Here I go, with my story. So he says, "Sir, please give us 10 business days to wait for a response." Great, now it's 10 business days. So call back by October 26th. For what?

What am I calling back for? Why isn't my gift card in my possession 10 months later. Forget 10 business days, 10 business days have turned out to be 10 months. 10 Long and ridiculous months! October 29th, I called again. Spoke with Paula, customer care rep (employee #**). Nothing has been done to my account, there are no notes of my previous conversations and she said she would kindly escalate this matter. Ridiculous, just ridiculous.

Replies
Advertisement
Vonage Billing Scam
By -

PITTSBURGH, PENNSYLVANIA -- I signed up for Vonage back in December of 2006 I researched them for a little while and thought it was a better deal than Comcast at the time. So I went on the Vonage site and signed up. During the signup there is an authorization you had to authorize Vonage to roll the number from Comcast to Vonage. Standard practice between phone companies; what the authorization says is me the verified owner of the number authorizes the new company to take the number. This is an FCC law which allows me the consumer to move to which ever phone company provides better service and/or pricing without losing my number.

Vonage told us not to contact the current carrier because it could delay things and that the transfer will go through without a hitch. I did not have to contact Comcast and terminate because they wear already informed of the transfer. The number took about 7 days to become active on the Vonage service. After a couple of months my wife decided that she liked Comcast better and to avoid an argument I agreed to switch the number back. Since I wanted my own phone number and I liked the idea of Vonage VOIP service for my office I decided to add an additional number to my Vonage account before she switched our primary number.

So we did everything in reverse, we contacted Comcast and authorized the move of the number back and waited. They told us not to contact the other carrier because it could delay things. The number switched in about 10 days and everything seemed fine. Here is where it gets weird. I wasn't paying attention to the email about the Vonage invoices and just assumed everything worked as smoothly as when we switched to Vonage. Well about 2 days ago I looked at one of the Vonage bills and noticed that they were still billing me for both numbers.

I thought it was a simple clerical error and that they would rectify it. So now they admitted they know it'€™s ported, they don'€™t run it and yet they still billed me for it. So at this time I'€™m a bit angry because the logic is escaping them. They are charging me for a number they don'€™t own and are aware they don'€™t run. What'€™s so hard to understand? Simple right? Wrong! I called them and got on the phone with their rep, and she said she needed to verify who I was to cancel. I kept my cool and answered her questions. She then came to the big question "Why are you canceling?"

Trying to be mature about this I explained to her the entire situation that although the number has been ported, they know it'€™s ported, they were notified it was being ported, they did the porting, what'€™s the point of calling you if I already authorized the porting? Crying out loud they already received my authorization through my new carrier. It's not like I'm still waiting for them to move it, nor have to authorize Vonage to let it go. It's already moved by my authorization that I gave Comcast.

She then paused, and said "well what I can do is credit you 50.00 or half the amount of the incorrect billing if you stay." I responded with, "why should I lose 50.00 of the 100.00 you robbed from me for? You incorrectly kept billing me for 4 months and now you want to keep 50.00 of the 100.00 that you should not have taken?" I said "no I want it all and if you cannot credit the correct amount terminate the account and I will deal with this legally."

She puts me on hold for 10 minutes and returned to say "are you sure you want to cancel?" I said "unless you credit me the entire amount that you incorrectly billed me for, yes terminate the account." To my amazement and utter shock she said that "there will be a 39.99 early termination fee for each phone number." One of which the they don't own and haven'€™t owned for 4 months now. I responded with "this is going be the best legal and news story ever. Have a nice day."

So I am now in the process of filing paperwork with my attorney, credit card company, FCC, and every news outlet that will hear me. I think they have scammed thousands of customers on bogus policy that says you have to contact us for a roll over, when you have already contacted and authorized the new carrier to speak in your behalf. It's absurd and I bet if you look further into this I bet there will be a lot of 24.99 over billings they have over charged people for. This is not about the money with me.

Replies
Vonage Sucks, and Here is Why
By -

I ordered the Vonage VoIP system on March 16th. I was told by the sales-person that it would take 14-20 days before my cellphone number (Cricket) would transfer over so I wouldn't have to change numbers.

I waited 14 days and then called them. It was hard enough to find someone who didn't speak Indian or eubonics that could make any sense of what I was saying and visa versa. Finally I got a case number and was told it could take up to 20 business days, so I waited six more business days.

I wait over 25 business days and called them back. First I got a very rude female who would not help fix the problem at all. She was rude and defiant and probably shouldn't even be in that business. I wanted to talk to the supervisor, so they put me on hold for 10 minutes thinking I would just get angry, but I stayed on.

The problem was that my cell phone carrier had not sent them some FOC date. Like I give a hoot what their problem is they promised me something and broke their promise, so now my cell phone company wants their $50. Well I shouldn't have to pay it because it should have been transferred and shut off, so Vonage told me that my number had to remain active to stay on, so I am out $50 bucks and they gave me my free month with a phone I couldn't @W#E$@#$ use! They tell me they will credit me and put me through to someone who never answered after 15 minute, so I hung up. I am done with them and I have already found a lawyer and will be filing suit, so anyone who wants on the bandwagon and has been lied to by Vonage about their number transfer times please feel free to contact me about information in attain losses by Vonage. Now on to the rest of the story.

My wife who works for SAFECO and is a Customer Service Specialist gets on the phone and literally gets into a fight with the person on the phone because the first person that hung up on her told her they would credit us, then wrote a derogatory message in their not box, so he has already told us that he can credit us and that the manage will call us within 20 minutes. We never hear from them again.

Then my wife gets the guy Rajaijm or some Indian guy who can't even speak good English. He tells my wife that they are not allowed to give credit.

Now I know there are a lot of cheap call centers like ICT, CCI, etc. Everyone there hates their job, the hours suck and so does the pay! These people just want the least amount of conflict, get their paychecks, and get out. It would be in Vonage's best interest to first get a quality call center that is going to respect your customers as a person. The millions you lose will definitely cover the losses you will soon be taking in lawsuits and market value.

Thanks for making my experience one of the most heinous that I have ever had with a corporation. I hope you get bought out by Comcast!

And over 30 business days later my phone number is still not transferred.

Replies
Vonage and Fraud
By -

MIAMI, FLORIDA -- I live in Miami and I subscribed to Vonage in mid December and I ported my number from Bell South.

I bought the proper equipment and begin using the service with very irregular results.
Sometimes it will work properly, sometimes it will work poorly and some times it will be impossible to understand each other on the line.

I spent a lot ( over 30 minutes, with many attempts aborted after waiting 10 or more minutes) of time trying to reach the person to solve this. Finally after reaching somebody in the technical department, they asked me about my bandwidth and other technical stuff ( that I was not asked before subscribing) and they told me that they had solved the problem from their end and that everything would be OK now.

But guess what ? It was not, it was as irregular as usual. I went to the whole process for the second time (also with many aborted attempts after waiting an unacceptable amount of time ). They promised now that THIS TIME they had solve the problem.

But guess what ? Yes, it was still the same.

I called and went to the long and tortuous process of contacting them ( don't get fooled for the prompt response you get when you want to subscribe, this will not happen ever again once they have you !!) for the third time.

This time I said that I wanted to cancel the service ( that was the first day of my billing period and I had been charged that same day ) and to apply for the reimbursement of the money I had paid for the now useless equipment.

I was asked to hold on and after a few minutes this person, Mr. Peyton, told me that my service had been already terminated at my request. I asked what that meant and he said that they had disconnected my phone. I asked to be reconnected until I could get my previous supplier. I was told that that was not possibly and he left me without a phone in a household of 5 with three minors.

They refused to reimburse me for the equipment because more than a month had gone by ( I had been with them for about three months ), that they neither would give me my money back for that month because the did not prorate their bills ( meaning that I would pay 30 days having used only one day of (dis) service. To make things worse a few minutes later I got a mail from these thieves indicating that hey had debited my credit card for $ 39,99 for terminating the service.

Finally and to make things really worse, they kept my phone number that I had had for many years and now I have to inform of the change. They also refused to put a recording when somebody calls my number, thus, when I get a call from a bank, credit card or any business call they will think that I run away or something.

I tried to bring them to Small Claims but to my surprise they do not have a registered agent in Florida and then there's nobody you can serve with the summons.
Is that legal ? What protection do we have against this type of abuse ?
Is somebody out there that wants to file a Class Action ?

Please contact me at rolando@newyork.com

Thanks
Rolando Epstein

Replies
Nightmare
By -

I have had Vonage for 1 year and 11 months and they have been paid for the 12 month to finally take care of the 2 year commitment that I did not know I had until last year I tried to cancel my service. I did not read the fine print, and that is what they are hoping for. If you take their service they are like family that comes to stay for a couple of weeks to get back on their feet. YOU CAN'T GET RID OF THEM. If you try to leave before your commitment is up they will tell you it is cheaper to finish out your 2 years and then they will give you some reduced rate or even give you some service free. LEAVE.

I am at my 23rd month and I called today to cancel my service. They have already charged my credit card with the next month of service which will pay me up to the 16th day of June which is my due date for month 25 which they will deduct from my card on that day. Even though their service is paid in full until my 24 month commitment is up I still can't cancel my service with them until the day in which my 24 month service is up. I would gladly forfeit the month they have taken, and cut my service off now and we would be through, but no if I cut it off today even though they are paid through to my 24 month they will charge me a prorated charge for disconnecting early, and they have tier money. I just want them to go away.

So now I must call on the 16th, and they will have charged my credit card by that morning for another month of service. I can cancel my account that day, if I can get through to customer service, and listen to all the "We are so sorry to see you go" crap. It will probably, knowing how Vonage works, take 3 months to get my payment back, if I get it at all. I called the Utilities Commission in NC to file a complaint and they are very aware on what goes on at Vonage but not the right division to take complaint, so on and so on. Vonage service is so so at my home with cable Internet.

I just really did not use the service enough to justify the amount I was paying however I let it ride for about 11 months because it was cheaper to keep it than to get rid of it. I am sure I am not the first nor am I the last. I am also sure that all this crap was somewhere in that little piece of paper they email you upon starting your new service with them, so it is all legal and sweet but it is not right to the consumer. If you take their service I wish you all the goodwill and happiness and hope it all works out like you think it will. READ THE CONTRACT, every word.

Replies
Advertisement
Vonage Customer Service Nightmare
By -

Avoid Vonage, they are not able to fix problems that THEY create which may require special attention: First off if you enjoy speaking to someone with a thick Indian accent named Steve, Glen, Randy or Beth, then this is the right company for you. Oh, and add that they repeat back everything you say to them (in monotone) peppering the feedback with "I understand" and "I'm sorry". I don't care where their call center is located, nor whom I am speaking to as long as I can understand them, they can understand me and most importantly, they can actually offer customer service. Vonage falls short on all accounts.

On 11/27/09, to save a few bucks I decided to switch my two phone numbers from Comcast to Vonage. Savings would be about $10 per month (combined). Sara, who by the way was in the US (new service calls go to a US call center), took my order and assured me that there would me no downtime for my numbers, that at no point in time would a caller even know that I changed phone carriers. Nothing could be further from the truth. Today is 12/19/09 and one of my two numbers has been "disconnected" for 11 days. Callers hear, "I'm sorry, this number has been disconnected".

Apparently, Vonage requested the porting of only one of my two phone numbers. Since I was receiving a combined rate on the two lines from Comcast, Vonage having ported only one caused the second to be disconnected. Further, when a number is disconnected, it goes into some sort of limbo where no company can port it (btw: port means transfer). To make matters worse, the non-customer service that has ensued is only through call centers in India. Note: the call quality to these call centers is horrible. Customer service call center = Bad connection, thick accent, inability to fix a problem that is out of the norm.

Bottom line: After 22 days, over 8 hours (combined) on the phone with Vonage, I still have a disconnected number. Vonage is not capable of providing assistance when something out of the ordinary happens when transferring (porting) a phone line. The Vonage CS personnel have told me on 3 different calls to wait 3 days and call back.

They do not have the capability of having one CS person follow through on a problem (call back a customer, keep track of an unresolved situation, etc.). IF something goes wrong, you could be without phone service and callers receiving a message that your number has been disconnected. Again, it's been 22 days for me. I made a huge mistake moving from Comcast

Note: I have called Comcast in an attempt to facilitate the reconnection of the second phone line and transfer of that line to Vonage. Comcast's repair, customer service call center is in the US, and I have a representative I can contact directly. That representative has told me that there was only one day when my number was unavailable for transfer and Vonage has not requested a porting/transfer since their first attempt. This contradicts everything I have been told by Vonage.

Replies
Phone #s, Names etc. to Cancel
By -

To cancel: Try 1-866-243-4357. I believe I hit the prompt for cancellation info. Recording states over 2 yrs no cancel fee. States to call number given above to obtain auth # to put on box modem shipped in and put in box along with all written materials ever received from Vonage. "Office closed" at that time so had to wait till Monday. Rep kept me on line 4 hrs. I am disabled, older woman, single. I am not stupid. They want us to keep their modems as long as possible and promise to keep all promises they made in past they didn't do and to lower your rates blah blah blah. Told her service hadn't worked in a year.

When my back broke took 4x to get person on other end to hear me. They charge everyone a cancellation fee of $39.95 and $39.95 for modem. I called "Executive Response Team" (888) 580-4020. Have to leave a message. Best to start asking for a supv after first call (get name) as representative I got said I had no e-mail stating cancellation fee or modem charge. Of course I do. He also did the opposite of what I asked. As I am disabled and calling at 8am (which is a trademark of GEMoneyBank - not a real bank though) doesn't allow me to talk about business. I had to ask him 3 times to call back or leave a number.

He claimed that Comcast, who had ported my same phone number no problem 2 days earlier and hooked up modem whereby I can make outgoing calls and be heard, have sabotaged Vonage's system with their customers. Told him even if that's true, what did Vonage want me to do? Continue to pay for half service? No response.

My bank is Bank of America which is a separate consumer nightmare that the govt hasn't controlled. They will not accept a stop payment and not until it was too late was I told I could get new debit card with DIFFERENT number so couldn't be billed. BOA is taking stand that they will determine who is right... The customer/depositor or the merchant. I don't think so. Controller for Dept of Currency/national banks only ((800) 613-6743. They will not discuss if or what is legal for banks to do and my next step is the library. They will send you a form to fill out and they do have to review every complaint.

Only way to file complaint on Vonage is PublicUtilities@atg.com.gov & I haven't done it yet as I am giving Vonage one more day to respond to my request for rep's supv. He has begun calling me at odd hours, ringing twice and hanging up under "unavailable". I have already *77 so since I have no other probs I must assume Vonage hires these people as childish thugs and names them their "executive response team".

Maybe if I had said I was going home to Alaska and no wireless in my little town or not available they wouldn't do this? I don't appreciate having to lie to keep my grocery money or to have a service that works and doesn't change their charges every month. Over the last two years as service got worse, bill got higher. How does $19.99 go to $28.92? Their account page should not be called account anything. No itemized and no explanation for accelerated costs.

Replies
Top of Page | Next Page >

Vonage Rating:
Star Half star Empty star Empty star Empty star
1.5 out of 5, based on 24 ratings and
397 reviews & complaints.
Contact Information:
Vonage
2147 Rt. 27
Edison, NJ 08817
732-528-2600 (ph)
732-287-9119 (fax)
www.vonage.com
Compare Phone/Mobile Services