Preview Review

Next Review

Vonage Consumer Reviews - Page 3

Most Popular | Newest | More Options >
More filter options:
Rebate Ripoff!!!
By -

CHINO, CALIFORNIA -- Back in December 2006 I purchased a Vonage router at Best Buy with an offer of a $100 best buy gift card and a $50 rebate check. I activated my service with Vonage on Friday, December 29, 2006 and by 4:00 p.m. that afternoon I made my first call. Sometime in January I mailed in both rebate forms with all the necessary paperwork, UPC and MAC id information. The last postmark dates for the rebates were February 15th and 28th, 2006.

Again, I mailed it out in January so that should not be a problem. In early may 2007 I received my $50 rebate check. Good. In early June 2007 I received a postcard that my $100 best buy gift card was "declined". Bad. On June 6th, 2007 I called the Vonage resubmit office at (800) 347-4017 and after a difficult time speaking with "customer care," I managed to get transferred to a floor supervisor. He managed to "resubmit" my rebate. It was an unbelievable challenge to get someone to help me.

I was told by the initial person that she could do nothing about this and when I asked to be transferred to someone who could do something about it, she said she could not transfer me. It was only through my persistence that she finally transferred me to the floor supervisor. So we left off that I should give Vonage 4 to 6 weeks to mail out my $100 best buy gift card.

Six weeks later... No gift card. Eight weeks later... No gift card. 10 weeks later... Nothing. On August 20th, 2007 I called the Vonage resubmit office and again after fighting my way passed the initial "customer care" rep, I managed to get a hold of Luke, a floor supervisor. I had to retell my entire story and he looked into the matter, and said, "I've escalated this matter so would you please give us 3 weeks to get this taken cared of." Fine!

On September 21st, 2007 I called the Vonage resubmit office, again, and after retelling my story to the "customer care" rep, and fighting my way to someone with higher authority I am transferred to John, a floor supervisor. Again I am told that "the matter would be escalated! Please allow 4 weeks for you rebate to be processed!" No, this time I ask to be transferred to someone above the floor supervisor, so I'm placed on hold. And no one ever picked up the line so after 20 minutes I hung up. Rude! Rude! Rude!

On October 11th, 2007 I called the Vonage resubmit office, again I have to retell my story, get passed the "customer care" rep, get transferred to a floor supervisor and this time I asked to speak with his supervisor. "Please hold while I transfer you to my floor manager." Finally I speak with Martin **, floor manager (employee # **) and he promises to "escalate" this matter to Phillip, account manager. Please call us back in 10 days. "10 Days," I said, "Yes," he said. "So call you back on October 18th?" I said. "Yes," he said.

So on October 19th, again I called the Vonage resubmit office, get passed "customer care" who did not want to transfer me, she did not want to transfer me at all. She said, "I can't do that sir." "Transfer me." "I can't do that sir." "Transfer me now!" So I get Jerry, a floor supervisor. I ask that he transfer me. "May I ask why?" he said. Here I go, with my story. So he says, "Sir, please give us 10 business days to wait for a response." Great, now it's 10 business days. So call back by October 26th. For what?

What am I calling back for? Why isn't my gift card in my possession 10 months later. Forget 10 business days, 10 business days have turned out to be 10 months. 10 Long and ridiculous months! October 29th, I called again. Spoke with Paula, customer care rep (employee #**). Nothing has been done to my account, there are no notes of my previous conversations and she said she would kindly escalate this matter. Ridiculous, just ridiculous.

Replies
Advertisement
Vonage Billing Scam
By -

PITTSBURGH, PENNSYLVANIA -- I signed up for Vonage back in December of 2006 I researched them for a little while and thought it was a better deal than Comcast at the time. So I went on the Vonage site and signed up. During the signup there is an authorization you had to authorize Vonage to roll the number from Comcast to Vonage. Standard practice between phone companies; what the authorization says is me the verified owner of the number authorizes the new company to take the number. This is an FCC law which allows me the consumer to move to which ever phone company provides better service and/or pricing without losing my number.

Vonage told us not to contact the current carrier because it could delay things and that the transfer will go through without a hitch. I did not have to contact Comcast and terminate because they wear already informed of the transfer. The number took about 7 days to become active on the Vonage service. After a couple of months my wife decided that she liked Comcast better and to avoid an argument I agreed to switch the number back. Since I wanted my own phone number and I liked the idea of Vonage VOIP service for my office I decided to add an additional number to my Vonage account before she switched our primary number.

So we did everything in reverse, we contacted Comcast and authorized the move of the number back and waited. They told us not to contact the other carrier because it could delay things. The number switched in about 10 days and everything seemed fine. Here is where it gets weird. I wasn't paying attention to the email about the Vonage invoices and just assumed everything worked as smoothly as when we switched to Vonage. Well about 2 days ago I looked at one of the Vonage bills and noticed that they were still billing me for both numbers.

I thought it was a simple clerical error and that they would rectify it. So now they admitted they know it'€™s ported, they don'€™t run it and yet they still billed me for it. So at this time I'€™m a bit angry because the logic is escaping them. They are charging me for a number they don'€™t own and are aware they don'€™t run. What'€™s so hard to understand? Simple right? Wrong! I called them and got on the phone with their rep, and she said she needed to verify who I was to cancel. I kept my cool and answered her questions. She then came to the big question "Why are you canceling?"

Trying to be mature about this I explained to her the entire situation that although the number has been ported, they know it'€™s ported, they were notified it was being ported, they did the porting, what'€™s the point of calling you if I already authorized the porting? Crying out loud they already received my authorization through my new carrier. It's not like I'm still waiting for them to move it, nor have to authorize Vonage to let it go. It's already moved by my authorization that I gave Comcast.

She then paused, and said "well what I can do is credit you 50.00 or half the amount of the incorrect billing if you stay." I responded with, "why should I lose 50.00 of the 100.00 you robbed from me for? You incorrectly kept billing me for 4 months and now you want to keep 50.00 of the 100.00 that you should not have taken?" I said "no I want it all and if you cannot credit the correct amount terminate the account and I will deal with this legally."

She puts me on hold for 10 minutes and returned to say "are you sure you want to cancel?" I said "unless you credit me the entire amount that you incorrectly billed me for, yes terminate the account." To my amazement and utter shock she said that "there will be a 39.99 early termination fee for each phone number." One of which the they don't own and haven'€™t owned for 4 months now. I responded with "this is going be the best legal and news story ever. Have a nice day."

So I am now in the process of filing paperwork with my attorney, credit card company, FCC, and every news outlet that will hear me. I think they have scammed thousands of customers on bogus policy that says you have to contact us for a roll over, when you have already contacted and authorized the new carrier to speak in your behalf. It's absurd and I bet if you look further into this I bet there will be a lot of 24.99 over billings they have over charged people for. This is not about the money with me.

Replies
Horrible Customer Service
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

BATON ROUGE, LOUISIANA -- The customer service I received through Vonage has been a nightmare. I am a generally calm and friendly person, but the reps at Vonage pushed my blood pressure up and they really almost got a good ol' cussin. I was blown away at how the reps treated me like I didn't have any common sense, made canceling a nightmare, and added extra fees wherever they could.

I would definitely NOT recommend them to anyone. The service was fine, but if you ever plan on canceling or moving or anything else that requires customer service, FORGET IT! It is also a principle issue: If I am spending my hard earned money with your company, I deserve to be treated with respect and not robbed by extra "fees" that were previously never mentioned. RIP OFF!!!

Replies
Nightmare
By -

I have had Vonage for 1 year and 11 months and they have been paid for the 12 month to finally take care of the 2 year commitment that I did not know I had until last year I tried to cancel my service. I did not read the fine print, and that is what they are hoping for. If you take their service they are like family that comes to stay for a couple of weeks to get back on their feet. YOU CAN'T GET RID OF THEM. If you try to leave before your commitment is up they will tell you it is cheaper to finish out your 2 years and then they will give you some reduced rate or even give you some service free. LEAVE.

I am at my 23rd month and I called today to cancel my service. They have already charged my credit card with the next month of service which will pay me up to the 16th day of June which is my due date for month 25 which they will deduct from my card on that day. Even though their service is paid in full until my 24 month commitment is up I still can't cancel my service with them until the day in which my 24 month service is up. I would gladly forfeit the month they have taken, and cut my service off now and we would be through, but no if I cut it off today even though they are paid through to my 24 month they will charge me a prorated charge for disconnecting early, and they have tier money. I just want them to go away.

So now I must call on the 16th, and they will have charged my credit card by that morning for another month of service. I can cancel my account that day, if I can get through to customer service, and listen to all the "We are so sorry to see you go" crap. It will probably, knowing how Vonage works, take 3 months to get my payment back, if I get it at all. I called the Utilities Commission in NC to file a complaint and they are very aware on what goes on at Vonage but not the right division to take complaint, so on and so on. Vonage service is so so at my home with cable Internet.

I just really did not use the service enough to justify the amount I was paying however I let it ride for about 11 months because it was cheaper to keep it than to get rid of it. I am sure I am not the first nor am I the last. I am also sure that all this crap was somewhere in that little piece of paper they email you upon starting your new service with them, so it is all legal and sweet but it is not right to the consumer. If you take their service I wish you all the goodwill and happiness and hope it all works out like you think it will. READ THE CONTRACT, every word.

Replies
Advertisement
Vonage Customer Service Nightmare
By -

Avoid Vonage, they are not able to fix problems that THEY create which may require special attention: First off if you enjoy speaking to someone with a thick Indian accent named Steve, Glen, Randy or Beth, then this is the right company for you. Oh, and add that they repeat back everything you say to them (in monotone) peppering the feedback with "I understand" and "I'm sorry". I don't care where their call center is located, nor whom I am speaking to as long as I can understand them, they can understand me and most importantly, they can actually offer customer service. Vonage falls short on all accounts.

On 11/27/09, to save a few bucks I decided to switch my two phone numbers from Comcast to Vonage. Savings would be about $10 per month (combined). Sara, who by the way was in the US (new service calls go to a US call center), took my order and assured me that there would me no downtime for my numbers, that at no point in time would a caller even know that I changed phone carriers. Nothing could be further from the truth. Today is 12/19/09 and one of my two numbers has been "disconnected" for 11 days. Callers hear, "I'm sorry, this number has been disconnected".

Apparently, Vonage requested the porting of only one of my two phone numbers. Since I was receiving a combined rate on the two lines from Comcast, Vonage having ported only one caused the second to be disconnected. Further, when a number is disconnected, it goes into some sort of limbo where no company can port it (btw: port means transfer). To make matters worse, the non-customer service that has ensued is only through call centers in India. Note: the call quality to these call centers is horrible. Customer service call center = Bad connection, thick accent, inability to fix a problem that is out of the norm.

Bottom line: After 22 days, over 8 hours (combined) on the phone with Vonage, I still have a disconnected number. Vonage is not capable of providing assistance when something out of the ordinary happens when transferring (porting) a phone line. The Vonage CS personnel have told me on 3 different calls to wait 3 days and call back.

They do not have the capability of having one CS person follow through on a problem (call back a customer, keep track of an unresolved situation, etc.). IF something goes wrong, you could be without phone service and callers receiving a message that your number has been disconnected. Again, it's been 22 days for me. I made a huge mistake moving from Comcast

Note: I have called Comcast in an attempt to facilitate the reconnection of the second phone line and transfer of that line to Vonage. Comcast's repair, customer service call center is in the US, and I have a representative I can contact directly. That representative has told me that there was only one day when my number was unavailable for transfer and Vonage has not requested a porting/transfer since their first attempt. This contradicts everything I have been told by Vonage.

Replies
Phone #s, Names etc. to Cancel
By -

To cancel: Try 1-866-243-4357. I believe I hit the prompt for cancellation info. Recording states over 2 yrs no cancel fee. States to call number given above to obtain auth # to put on box modem shipped in and put in box along with all written materials ever received from Vonage. "Office closed" at that time so had to wait till Monday. Rep kept me on line 4 hrs. I am disabled, older woman, single. I am not stupid. They want us to keep their modems as long as possible and promise to keep all promises they made in past they didn't do and to lower your rates blah blah blah. Told her service hadn't worked in a year.

When my back broke took 4x to get person on other end to hear me. They charge everyone a cancellation fee of $39.95 and $39.95 for modem. I called "Executive Response Team" (888) 580-4020. Have to leave a message. Best to start asking for a supv after first call (get name) as representative I got said I had no e-mail stating cancellation fee or modem charge. Of course I do. He also did the opposite of what I asked. As I am disabled and calling at 8am (which is a trademark of GEMoneyBank - not a real bank though) doesn't allow me to talk about business. I had to ask him 3 times to call back or leave a number.

He claimed that Comcast, who had ported my same phone number no problem 2 days earlier and hooked up modem whereby I can make outgoing calls and be heard, have sabotaged Vonage's system with their customers. Told him even if that's true, what did Vonage want me to do? Continue to pay for half service? No response.

My bank is Bank of America which is a separate consumer nightmare that the govt hasn't controlled. They will not accept a stop payment and not until it was too late was I told I could get new debit card with DIFFERENT number so couldn't be billed. BOA is taking stand that they will determine who is right... The customer/depositor or the merchant. I don't think so. Controller for Dept of Currency/national banks only ((800) 613-6743. They will not discuss if or what is legal for banks to do and my next step is the library. They will send you a form to fill out and they do have to review every complaint.

Only way to file complaint on Vonage is PublicUtilities@atg.com.gov & I haven't done it yet as I am giving Vonage one more day to respond to my request for rep's supv. He has begun calling me at odd hours, ringing twice and hanging up under "unavailable". I have already *77 so since I have no other probs I must assume Vonage hires these people as childish thugs and names them their "executive response team".

Maybe if I had said I was going home to Alaska and no wireless in my little town or not available they wouldn't do this? I don't appreciate having to lie to keep my grocery money or to have a service that works and doesn't change their charges every month. Over the last two years as service got worse, bill got higher. How does $19.99 go to $28.92? Their account page should not be called account anything. No itemized and no explanation for accelerated costs.

Replies
$39.99 Cancellation Fee
By -

I called to cancel my service and was informed about the $39.99 cancellation fee. I followed with this letter that sums everything up. This is to serve as a letter of formal dispute to Vonage Marketing LLC. I have had Vonage phone service for approximately 1 year. I chose the service to use solely as a fax line and had access to 500 minutes a month. I have paid an estimated $360 in fees for this service. However, I have only used a combined total of 149 minutes during my entire 14 months with the company.

Needless to say it was in my best interest financially to cancel my account. I called on April 7, 2009 and spoke to a very pleasant customer service agent. He informed me that he would be able to cancel my account but wanted to make me aware that there would be a $39.99 fee to do so. We debated this fee for approximately 10 minutes, which only left me frustrated, in tears, and finally angry with the company.

This gentleman was so familiar with the absurdness of this policy that he was able to calm me down, assure me that he knew there was no one that would waive this fee, and then provide information on how to file a formal dispute or pursue legal action. He had first hand knowledge from previous customers on how to contact the company and what the most efficient method was.

I was appalled that a company could be so unethical that its own employees knew the best ways for customers to file complaints. He pointed me to a clause in the terms and conditions that reads: "8.7 Disconnection Fee (Does Not Apply to Business Plus Customers). You will be charged a disconnection fee of $39.99 per voice line if your service is disconnected, subject to state and local laws.

However, if your subscription date is on or after February 1, 2007 and is disconnected after 2 years following your subscription date, the disconnection fee is waived. If your subscription date is on or before January 31, 2007, the disconnection fee is waived if your service is disconnected 1 year following your subscription date."

I mentioned that this is worded in such a way that the average consumer would read it to mean that if the account is involuntarily disconnected, such as when a bill is not paid; this clause does not state anything about voluntary cancellation of the service. He agreed that it is very misleading.

I have paid your company over $350 in fees and used exactly 2% of the services that I was charged for. It is completely outrageous to charge me an additional $39.99. I am trying to make financially sound decisions in tough economic times and believe that everyone, including companies both small and large, should do the same. Honesty, fairness, and kindness should come before money in every situation. I teach at a public middle school in an inner city and stress to my students on a daily basis the idea of living a life that is worthy of respect. How will our kids ever learn that if we don't first set the example for them?

Do the right thing. Stop putting your customer service agents in a position where they have to present legal dispute options because of their company's selfish ways. Stop charging your customers unnecessary fees just to advance yourselves. We teachers, nurses, firefighters, and community service workers work for far less than the average business person (I would know, I left a life in real estate and sales for a low paying job as a teacher) and we want nothing more than to see people live in a way that honors others.

If large companies set the example, others will follow. Customers would flock to a company that sets themselves above the rest by treating their people with fairness and respect. Respect the time of your employees and your customers. Respect their money. Respect yourselves as a corporation. Do the right thing.

Replies
Customer Service From Hell
By -

When I first signed on with Vonage they mailed 2 modems to my business. When I tried to install the system through their instructional CD it would not operate. When I called Vonage for help I told the representative I had 2 modems. She responded saying "no ma'am you have 1 modem per their records." I assured her I did have 2 modems and needed 2 modems as I have 4 lines and 2 business phones. I was told I am mistaken and apparently need a tech to come over and set up my system.

I was also informed that Vonage offers the first service call free and if I needed anything that required an on site tech in the future I would be billed $100.00. I stated there is confusion on their end and it would be validated when their tech came to my business. The first tech arrives and is absolutely clueless. He actually asks ME the customer why I have 2 modems. After staying 30 minutes or so he states he will request another tech come to my business because he cannot understand why both my phones will not operate and why I have 2 modems. He leaves the Vonage wiring looking like a spider web and leaves.

Another week passes and a second tech comes out that states I must have 2 modems to run 4 lines and implies I am the one that made a terrible mess of the wiring to my computer. He does make the phones operate and leaves. I call Vonage stating they need to record that I still have a free service call because I only needed a tech due to the confusion on their side.

Through the month of December 08 and January 09 my phone system is out most of the time. People would call. The phone would ring on their end but not mine. There were 3 weeks I had no service at all. Phone's dead. I call for an on site tech because every time I called the phone techs would state my system was working because their computer said so...

I took a week to get an appointment. They told me the tech would be there between 1:00 PM to 5:00 PM. The day arrives and as my luck would have it my Comcast Internet goes out at 6:30 that morning due to construction in my area. I call Vonage after speaking with Comcast at 7:00 am to cancel my appointment. I was told by a tech that due to circumstances beyond my control (they cannot work on the lines without Internet duh) they would not charge a cancellation fee of $50.00 for not giving 24 hour notice on an appointment that is free...

I also included that I could provide verification from Comcast if needed. Fast forward to March 13th. I see my online banking account has been charged by Vonage $50.00 2 months after the fact. The bill also has no explanation for the charge. I write to CS (we all know what calling in entails) and explain the situation. They repeat over and over that it is a charge for no 24 hour cancellation.

I would ask questions like (why did you wait 2 months to bill my account after you told me you would not charge my account?). They would ignore the question and repeat themselves over and over. My response from their CS Rep had many misspelled elementary level words as well as bad English.

Replies
Advertisement
Tech Support and Customer Service Is the Worse
By -

COLORADO SPRINGS, COLORADO -- I bought Vonage and the only good thing good was that it arrived in the mail in a timely manner. When I open it up, I followed the instructions which seem simple. However, when I got to step 6 it said that it should provide instructions on the LCD screen to complete the process. No instructions displayed. I next called Vonage. The fist tech guy was rude and unhelpful. The 2nd guy was incompetent even though he was polite. The 2nd guy had me working on something for over an hour but it was obvious he did not know what he was doing.

The 3rd guy told me that the device must be broken since there was no LCD display (why didn't the 2nd guy come to that conclusion instead of wasting my time). The 3rd guy said he was going to send me a replacement and a label to return the defective product at no charge. I soon get an email telling me different information and I had to pay for shipping back the defective device they sent me. I called a 4th person and they told me they apologized for the misunderstanding and they would help. They spoke to me for 20 minutes, I hang up and get another email with different information than what we discussed on the phone.

I call a 5th person, explain my situation and wanted to cancel my service. I'm transferred to a 6th person who tries to convince me that he could help me (it is starting to be as difficult to cancel Vonage as it was cancel AOL during their prime or remember when you joined one of those CD clubs or book clubs and how hard it was to cancel -- that is Vonage but worse). I asked for a supervisor and was put on hold for 30 minutes and finally was cut off. I started this whole adventure over 5 hours ago. The salesman said I would be up and running with Vonage in 5 minutes -- yea right.

I finally canceled and was charged some kind of cancellation fee but they told me it would be refunded once they received the device...we'll see. I never had such a nightmare of service and tech support. Talking to a supervisor is a joke (they just transfer you to another call center employee who is pretending to be a supervisor). All this and I never got Vonage hooked up. It has to be one the worse customer service and tech support experiences I have had in my 54 years on this earth.

Don't buy even if things do work right at first. You are bound to eventually have a problem and you'll be ripped off with unnecessary charges and lose at least a year of your life talking to them and trying to understand the emails which contradict what you were told on the phone. Of course if you like getting the runaround, tons of contradictory emails with spam thrown on top, than Vonage is for you.

Replies
Vonage Is A Fraud Company
By -

ATLANTA, GEORGIA -- On September 2008, I called Vonage for getting a VOIP phone service at my apartment. I was talking to one of Vonage customer representative and during our conversation, I very specifically told him not to send me any modem for this new connection because I have couple of personal modems which I wanted to use.

The representative told me that he will not send any modem but a Vonage technical person would call me next day to verify the modem that I have to see whether it would work with their connection. I agreed to that and I gave my credit card number and other details, immediately the phone line got disconnected. I waited for few minutes expecting the customer service person would call me back to complete the transaction but he did not.

Since this happened late evening, I called Vonage next day to know the status; they said that the account is created and a modem has been shipped to my address. Totally I could not accept this because in spite of me telling them not to send modem they had sent. So, I told Vonage rep. that I do not want the account and requested them to cancel the account.

The representative told me that since the modem is already shipped they cannot close my account; only option is that he would contact UPS and interrupt the shipping and route it back to their address. They mentioned that as soon as the modem comes back I need to call them to cancel the account.

Even this I could not accept because they sending me the modem is not what I wanted on the first place. Anyway, there was no other option so I agreed and I got the UPS Tracking number from that Vonage representative.

I waited for 10 days and I called Vonage again and they said that the shipment has almost come and they need to make an entry somewhere. This time, the representative told me that the account will automatically close moment the modem return entry is made. Then I felt that I am relieved from this problem.

But still I called again in another 3 days to check; this time the representative was not willing to close the account rather he was asking me why am I closing the account and he started offering me 3 month free option etc. I did not agree to anything and I told them to close. Finally, the representative agreed to close the account. All this happened within 30 days of my first calling for the service.

In couple of months, I saw that they had charged me for Vonage usage of $34; with the great shock, I called them. This time they said that the account is not closed and it is active that is why I got the charges in the credit card. I explained them all that happened and this person said he will close the account immediately but he will charge me $93 as cancellation fee. I felt that Vonage has purposely cheated me and they all work together to do this.

I told the representative not to close the account and disconnected the phone call with him; the reason I said this is I do not want to be charged $93 rather I wanted to call credit card company and explain them the situation. Just because Vonage has my credit card number, they do all injustice.

I called Vonage again to get the account number and other details; this time I spoke to a customer representative named “Roxanne”. I explained all that happened from the beginning to Roxanne and she said that Vonage should not charge me anything because the account was already cancelled and she would update my account with all the details and make credit to my credit card; she also mentioned that my credit would be reflected in the following month.

Again shockingly, instead of credit, I happen to see that Vonage has charged me $93. Now I do not have any respect with Vonage and I cannot call them again. Until this time I would have spent many hours each time talking to them and of no use; they have determined to cheat me. I do not have a phone number that was provided by Vonage nor I never made use of their service by any means but I was charged this amount.

Replies
Top of Page | Next Page >

Vonage Rating:
Star Half star Empty star Empty star Empty star
1.4 out of 5, based on 26 ratings and
399 reviews & complaints.
Contact Information:
Vonage
2147 Rt. 27
Edison, NJ 08817
732-528-2600 (ph)
732-287-9119 (fax)
www.vonage.com
Compare Phone/Mobile Services