Preview Review

Next Review

VRBO Consumer Reviews

Most Popular | Newest | More Options >
More filter options:
This Company Is a Scam Artist
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

AUSTIN, TEXAS -- HOMEAWAY/VRBO/VACATIONPAYMENT ARE ALL SCAMS BELONGING TO THE SAME CORPORATION. I am a property owner and listed my property on Homeaway, worst company ever to deal with. Most of the travelers on this site are crooks. Case in point Amanda ** of San Diego made a reservation for 54 nights through Homeaway and paid with credit card through Homeaway payments and 20 days into her stay her plans changed and out of the blue filed two complaints on the same day in an effort to find an excuse to get out of the lease. First one was that the toilet is leaking. Sent maintenance the same day and found no leak, then she complained that her gate tag was not working.

Replaced the gate tag with a new one but nevertheless she left and filed a charge back dispute stating the services were not provided. Contacted Homeaway and Homeaway payments and both are totally incompetent idiots working in this organization. Homeaway even though was being paid per reservation that means virtually no contact with the tenant until reservation is confirmed and homeaway is collecting fees upward of $400 for this reservation but takes no responsibility whatsoever when crooks like these use their site.

They have no safeguards against such activity. They are only interested in making money on the backs of unsuspecting property owners and if a crook disputes the charge Homeaway neither takes any responsibility or assists with resolving the issue. They are basically saying to the property owner, "Go ** yourself. We do not care.” Worst customer service ever, all located overseas and their customer service reps are unable to communicate in proper English. It seems like Homeaway purposely hires the dumbest of the dumb.

And their payment processor is even worse. All they do is send generic emails and every time it's a different person so you do not even know who the hell is handling your case and you are unable to speak with anyone in authority. I don't think they have any executive staff at all or they are hiding their tails somewhere and are unavailable on the phone. Homeaway and its affiliates appear to be a complete scam and if any property owner is reading please for your own sake stop using this service because they will screw you without hesitation.

Replies
Advertisement
Do Not Use VRBO: They Are Ripping You Off
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

If you are an owner, of a Vacation rental property and you want to advertise on VRBO, do yourself a favor and don't do it. (1) They charge travelers an onerous "Service Fee" for which the traveler receives no benefit. (2) The fee will increase the price of your stay to the point where your prices are no longer competitive. (3) They will strictly control your communication with guests lest the guest discovers a way to book the reservation without paying the fee.

(4) They will accuse you of violations of their Terms of Service even if you are strictly adhering to the rules. (5) Customer support is downright abusive. Imagine dealing with an IRS agent who believes you are a tax evader and you will get the image.

If you are a traveler, (1) there is no reason to book with VRBO. Do a little more legwork and you can find the same property for less on another site. (2) VRBO charges you a "Service Fee" even though they are not delivering a service. The owner of the property you are considering has already paid a fee to advertise their property on VRBO. (3) VRBO wants to handle your payments, even though they are completely unqualified to do so.

VRBO used to be an excellent site for advertising vacation rentals and facilitating direct communication between property owners and travelers. Those days are gone. Look for regionally-focused sites that are now catching on and are taking advantage of the dissatisfaction with VRBO.

Replies
The Renter Guarantee Is Worthless
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

ARIZONA -- I have booked several vacations through VRBO. My latest booking went wrong and VRBO did not honor its "guarantee". I made a reservation through VRBO for a summer vacation. After booking, I did not see the reservation under "my trips". I called the owner and VRBO.

The owner assured me he would straighten things out. VRBO said they would open an investigation. I asked if I needed to do anything else to fix the reservation and was told they would call me back. I called them again the next day and was told the same thing. On the third day, the reservation appeared and looked just like every other reservation I had. VRBO never called me back.

Months later I found out that the owner had sold the property prior to my vacation and he refused to return my deposit. I called VRBO and they told me that the guarantee was not valid because of the problems I had at the beginning of the process. They told me that they allowed the owner to post the reservation on my account even though they did not intend to cover me with the VRBO guarantee. They misled me and now offer me absolutely no help. I will not use them ever again.

Replies
Thieves
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

I was booking a cottage, and for whatever reason (they won't tell me why) they said that my credit card was rejected because of "irregularities" but they still managed to charge the card $1,500. How exactly they pulled that off is quite a feat. Even better, they aren't returning the money for 5-7 business days. Now, this cottage was for my boss, who is arriving in 2 days.

So in order to make sure she has a place to stay, I am going to have to shell out even MORE money to secure her lodging. And I still have no idea why they took my money and then claim they have to return it. Unprofessional and unacceptable. Customer Service was a joke and the property owner is equally as furious as I am.

Replies
Advertisement
Ridiculous Fees and Policies
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

I am a homeowner that has many complaints about VRBO. Biggest complaint is the service fee that actually provides no service. I manage my property and any renter who has a problem is going to call me not VRBO. My latest problem is that I had a renter cancel their reservation on us and when that happens we keep the nonrefundable security deposit for taking our property off the market and the possibility of us losing rentals for those dates.

In doing so, by not rounding our guest 100% of their payment VRBO has decided that this gives them the right to keep the service fee that they have charged. How are they keeping a service fee for no service. They will not have to provide service for this guest for my property. Completely criminal. The agent told me I had plenty of time to rebook and that I shouldn't keep their security deposit. Crazy!! I have also had too many agents lately who could care less, so frustrating.

Also learned recently that when you have to keep someone's security deposit for damage done to your home, VRBO charges a 3% credit card fee for the transaction. I paid fees on the damage deposit. Hoping another company comes in and takes over because right now they know they have property owners by the **. Frustrated Homeowner.

Replies
VRBO Has Gone Downhill. High Fees and No Support
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

AUSTIN, TEXAS -- VRBO/HomeAway was a great website and I had a successful relationship with them, then they were sold to a large company. Customer Service is outsourced. When I called for help, regarding a mistake on the billing, they told me I had to work it out with renter, who did not return my calls. They charge a very high fee and offer "0" support. On the other hand, I'm getting more rental requests from Airbnb and when I contacted their customer service this is what I received. "Each and every user that becomes a member of the Airbnb family is extremely important to us," Plus they have lower fees. Which company would you choose? No brainer!

Replies
Kept My Deposit
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

I rented a unit in Palermo, Italy that was listed on VRBO... VRBO listing is 6372200. Stay away from this owner. My wife and I had to leave for the airport sooner than we expected, so we were not able to "officially" check out with the owner. The owner claimed we damaged his door and decided to keep my E100 deposit. I complained to VRBO and was told they would require proof of damage from the owner along with a PAID receipt for repairs...

VRBO claims the owner supplied pictures but is refusing to show me the pictures... They have NO paid receipt. They say it is NOT necessary. We are in our late 70s. We did not damage his door. I will never use VRBO again. They can't be relied upon to protect the renter.

Replies
No Recourse to Owner Comments on Review
StarStarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 2/51

ST AUGUSTINE, MICHIGAN -- We had a horrible experience staying in unit B33 at Ocean Village Club this past winter. When I posted a review on VRBO to try and ward off other potential renters, the owner responded with untruthful comments and tried to turn it around to make me look like I was a difficult renter (all lies)!! I tried to post a rebuttal to his comments, but VRBO would not post it because they said it would be considered a duplicate review!! So essentially, if you are unhappy and post a review and the owner responds, anyone reading the review will see owner comments and figure that is the last word!!!

And also, VRBO should be aware what bad condition this unit is in. Needs major updating and maintenance. The owner won't spend $$ on buying a new microwave (all rusted out) or replacing the moldy shower curtains. Terrible mold odor throughout. Holes in the bathroom baseboard, chipped floor tile throughout, no window screens, very uncomfortable furniture.

Replies
Advertisement
No Support Offered for Trashed home
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

I rented my home on VRBO. The First few renters were wonderful. I think had a rental where the entire house was trashed. Cigarette butts on the floors, glass tables smashed, Sonos speakers and a TV stolen, really trashed beyond comprehension. To compare these people to animals is unfair to animals. VRBO offers absolutely no help or support. A truly terrible company and I wish I had never worked with them. If it were possible to give this site zero stars I would.

Replies
Owners Being Scammed With New Online Booking Procedure
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

CUMMING, GEORGIA -- VRBO/HomeAway is now forcing owners to use their online booking/paying company. Who is this company, who is keeping the interest on our money, who is making decisions about our money? This is my home, my booking and my money. How dare them keep it until after the renter checks in, then taking up to the time they check out for the funds to hit my account? This will mean keeping well over $20,000 of my money at any given time. NOT!! Will be canceling my listing.

Replies
Top of Page | Next Page >

VRBO Rating:
Star Half star Empty star Empty star Empty star
1.3 out of 5, based on 40 ratings and
71 reviews & complaints.
Contact Information:
VRBO
1011 W. Fifth Street, Suite 300
Austin, TX 78703
877-228-3145 (ph)
www.vrbo.com
Compare Travel Services