[X]

VRBO

Star Half star Empty star Empty star Empty star
1.7 out of 5, based on 12 ratings and
43 reviews & complaints.

Most Popular | Newest | More Options >
More filter options:
VRBO #149919 in Park City, Utah
Posted by on
PARK CITY, UTAH -- We were excited to stay at this rental because the reviews on VRBO all sounded so wonderful. Didn't know at the time that VRBO owners have control over posting their reviews, so potential renters will never see the negative reviews. Our experience turned negative during our stay, and has soured our memories of the trip to the point that we will probably not ever rent another VRBO again.

Two things happened. First, this rental advertises "a secure GARAGE PARKING, which is heated in the winter time, with RESERVED PARKING space (Floor/level 1)". WOW, this is great in theory. The problem we had is that on our 2nd night there, someone else parked in the reserved parking space for our rental. After discussing the situation with the on-site office manager, we were told we could not have a pass to park out in one of the many spaces out front (the easiest solution for all), nor could we park anywhere else BUT our supposedly reserved spot. She was not very helpful, probably since we were renting from a private condo owner, and the office manager was there to represent condo owners who used HER services to rent their condos vs. VRBO. A towing policy was posted on signs in the parking garage for those who violated, so we had to call a tow truck to remove the offending vehicle, and my husband wasted 2 hours of precious vacation time dealing with the tow truck process so that we could just park our car for the night. The first tow truck was too big to fit through the garage door opening, and we had to wait for a second truck to show up. Then we had to worry about having damage done to our rental vehicle, keying or whatever, due to an upset owner of the towed vehicle. It cost this guy $250 to get his car back. So lesson here is (1) definitely don't park in anyone else's reserved spot, and (2) heaven forbid that someone else park in your reserved spot as YOU will get stuck wasting your vacation time to arrange for towing just so you can park your car. I'm not personally blaming the condo owners for this incident at all, but just noting it is a "benefit" - ? of this rental that can quickly turn into an undesirable situation for you.

The second thing that happened concerned the king-size master bed. My husband (6' tall, 190 lbs. - normal weight!) went to lie down, by himself, for a short nap on the afternoon of our last full day. After a few seconds, the side board of the bed collapsed. It was made of some type of softwood, with large grain variations and knotholes galore. The sudden drop actually jarred my husband's back. We called the local property manager immediately, and waited 1 1/2 hours for him to show up. He looked at it and we all noted that the weak point seemed to have been a rather large knothole right smack in the middle of this sideboard. We sent the condo owners a cell phone picture of the damaged board. The condo owner husband quickly texted back that he was sorry for the inconvenience, and that it appeared to him as well that the knothole was a weak point AND stated to us that he was a safety inspector for his career. THEN, the real problem started - the tune changed when the condo owner wife got the news. She called me about 2 hours later, and started making accusations that my husband or I must have stood on the side rail to cause it to fail. I told her we certainly did not. All we did was sleep in the bed during our stay, nothing else, if you get my drift (and I'm 5'6", 128 lbs. - normal weight, just like my husband). She was wanting us to pay for the damages, claiming we had CAUSED the problem. If we had caused any damages, we certainly would have offered to pay up, in a heartbeat - we are honorable, church-going people. But we had done no harm. If a 190 lb. person lying on a bed results in the bed collapsing on one side, then one has to question the integrity of the bed. When inspecting the bed after the collapse, while the property manager was still there with us, it was noted that the bed had no vertical supports underneath the mattress and that the bed side rail had an inferior quality wood that was used to support the horizontal slats underneath (at the point where they connected to the side rail). Most of the weight to support this bed was resting on these side rails. Paired with all the knotholes in the wood, it was clearly an accident waiting to happen. I'll save you the long story of the next few days concerning all the phone calls and e-mails from the condo owner wife seeking payment from us. Her husband seemed to be understanding that an accident had occurred, through no fault of ours, but she wanted to place blame and was unreasonable, in our opinion, to talk to. Bottom line, she deducted the money from our $400 security deposit to repair this obviously faulty bed. We came away from this experience grateful that something more expensive had not failed during our stay - a heater, a refrigerator..... as we surely would have been blamed if it had quit functioning properly during our stay.

So do yourself a favor. Don't assume, like we did, that just because a VRBO has favorable reviews that you will have an enjoyable experience with that rental. Truth be told, if the condo owner wife had been more sympathetic and understanding, we probably would have offered to pay for some or all of the damage of this unstable bed on our own initiative, just out of human kindness. But she insisted from the start on falsely accusing us of directly CAUSING the damage (stepping on the side rail - which we did not do), and that does not make for a very conducive environment for reaching a settlement. No one likes to be falsely accused. I would not rent this VRBO again, or any other unit, from these owners.
     
Read 0 RepliesAdd reply
VRBO is a SCAM
Posted by on
I have used VRBO a few times now, and about to again but my intuition is telling me not to. I shouldn't ignore the facts. My first VRBO rental was disgusting. The owner posted pictures of a home that had clearly been taken years earlier, when the house actually was livable. Everything in the home was broken and it looked like a foreclosure property. The pool didn't work, the grass was overgrown, every cabinet and door knob was missing, there were holes in the walls and stains in the carpet. They took arial photos of the properties which were just wide enough to NOT show the plethora of garbage and broken down fences which surrounded the property. My second rental in Tucson was better - the owner was very attentive, yet it was clear that the home had not been cleaned sufficiently before we arrived. It was a nice home, but had only received a light "wipe down" and a quick vacuum before we arrived. There's something about someone else's sticky glass stains that gross me out... The last rental was a similar process I have been noticing on VRBO. Many people will post very beautiful properties with attractive rates, show availability, yet when you email them, they are NEVER available and direct you to their private websites for their other properties, cutting VRBO and your protection out of the equation. These are horrible, unethical tactics, but clearly there is no supervision or consumer protection to prevent this from happening. Finally - here's what has happened to me FOUR times now...an owner agrees to the dates and rates via email and I wait patiently for the contract, which never comes, because they use my confirmation as a way to negotiate the rate up to another renter who is willing to pay more, never giving me a chance to rebid because VRBO prohibits bidding wars. So people do it in private and never tell you, thus screwing the renter yet again. What's sad is that most renters leave the properties in better condition than when they arrived, and are held hostage by not knowing a particular location or if the crime in the area is rampant - you can do all the internet searching you want but unless you've physically been to a specific location, you are at the mercy of the property owner, who I have found, is typically a huge liar.
     
Read 0 RepliesAdd reply
Beware RentJaco.com
Posted by on
A friend and I booked this property via vrbo.com for two nights (including New Year’s Eve) and immediately wired payment, including a $25 cleaning fee. Joe Scrivo, the owner, assured us that the condo would be ready for our 2 pm arrival. I arrived early (approximately 11 am), and the condo was an absolute horror show; it had not been cleaned from the previous guests. The sink was piled high with dirty dishes, trash was everywhere (including beer bottles both in and around the property), dirty towels were on the floor, and the entire condo reeked of smoke. The shower was filled with sand--so much sand, in fact, that the water could not drain properly. All three beds had been slept in and were unmade. To top it all off, there were broken eggs littering the entrance.

I immediately contacted Joe via email; I gave him the benefit of the doubt since I was three hours early. To his credit, he wrote back immediately. He told me that I needed to find the cleaning lady and get her working on it. Of course, I did not know the cleaning lady and it wasn’t until 2:30 pm when she finally showed up on her bicycle. She told me that the condo would be ready by 3:30, so we waited. And waited. And waited some more. We sat outside the condo from 11 am until 5:30 pm, when the cleaning job was finally complete…sort of. The towels that she gave us were damp, and the bedding consisted of only a fitted sheet and a flat sheet (no mattress pad or bedspread).

By 5:30 pm, we had lost both an entire day in Jaco as well as qualitative planning time, since we had hoped to book an excursion to Tortuga Island for the following day. I emailed Joe to give him an update and let him know that we were finally able to get into the condo at 5:30 pm. He wrote back that he, too, was on vacation and had been disappointed because his rental didn’t have internet and had not been cleaned either. I regret that he had a similar experience, but it does not lessen the fact that he manages the Jaco property and should have been responsible for ensuring that it was ready for our arrival.

I tried to resolve this amicably with Joe via email, and he offered me a free night in Jaco. I explained that I do not plan on returning to Jaco, in part because of my rental experience at rentjaco.com, and requested monetary compensation to cover lost time. Joe has not responded to my request.

I would not recommend this property to anyone. There are much nicer, cleaner properties throughout Jaco; do not waste your time and money at this rental.

Unfortunately, vrbo.com allows owners to "opt out" of reviews. So, any potentially negative reviews will not be seen by prospective renters. Shame on VRBO!
     
Read 1 RepliesAdd reply

User Replies:

karleebarlee on 2011-01-10:
I agree that this sounds like a terrible experience. My only question is when the cleaning lady finally arrived and she was working, why didn't you go out and enjoy the day? Instead, you say you lost a day sitting around. I don't know, I would have just taken off for the day and returned in the evening.
Close commentsAdd reply
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty Star
WARNING WARNING --- VRBO did not post my negative review
Posted by on
Rating: 1/51
Be careful of renting through VRBO they are for the Home owners and not the Home renter. They will not post a negative review.

I stayed in a house with a pool in Rancho Mirage this spring. It wasn't cheap, but I was prepared to speed the money.. It also including a $1000.00 damage deposit... One week after our stay I sent the home owner a text message asking for the return of my deposit. Text came back saying no problem, they would be seeing their Accountant that week and a cheque would be put into the mail.... Right ....It's June and no replies to my text messages, emails, or phone messages.. I know that my text messages are being read as I have an iPhone, and so do they. With iPhone to iPhone texts you can see that.

So I let them know that I would post an unfavorable review as, they have not returned my damage deposit .. And I do not want that to happen to anyone else... I also feel really stupid that I paid them what they were asking for, it was worth maybe a third of what I paid them.

So I wanted to post a review with VRBO, and 3 times it has been rejected . So here I am on this site...

Beware of property 450223.
     
Read 3 RepliesAdd reply

User Replies:

Soaring Consumer on 2013-06-12:
You may have to file a suit in small claims court to get your money back. The fact that you have the text messages where they promised to return the money prove your case. Some states may provide that you receive interest on top of the money you are owed.
Owner on 2013-07-30:
Odd because I have a property listed and I do not have a choice to as to whether or not add a comment re: my property. Should contact VRBO directly
Wow on 2013-09-04:
That's terrible. I hope you get your dd refunded. Was there damage? Probably not if they said they would mail it so why the delay? As I a property owner and I am on VRBO and have been since 2008 I can't imagine not refunding a dd for very, very good reason. I would definitely take this up with VRBO or court.
Close commentsAdd reply
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty Star
Vrbo reviews are not reflecting truth
Posted by on
Rating: 1/51
KIHEI MAUI, HAWAII -- We rented this unit a year ago for a month on the first day found out it was infested with bed bugs. Needless to say we left his condo and rented another. After much discussion the owner refused to reimburse actually had the audacity to accuse us of bringing the bed bugs into his unit which the mattress was blackened from bed bug feces. We were contacted after from another woman who had dealt with the same thing in September. Then another man in April of 2012 also had rented this condo with almost the story as us and the same results. I actually contacted the latter and we both had written in our complaints to Vrbo. Neither one got posted but miraculously I see two postings now on his site and amazingly both go on about what a great guy he is and how lovely his condo is. The pictures on his site have the same delapated lamps and the mattress covers are the same ones that had the bed bugs all over them. Also somehow when you Google Vrbo and his condo number it has a 5 star rating.?? This is sad that he can get away with these comments and advertising it as a 5 star rating. Don t know how that can even be possible? .... So don't go by the reviews as they don't reflect the truth Read tripadisor...
     
Read 5 RepliesAdd reply

User Replies:

bob932304 on 2012-10-25:
Thanks. I am going to Maui and now I know which VRBO to NOT use.
Ril123 on 2012-11-05:
Commenting on my own review.. If nothing else I see he has removed the 5 star rating of his condo from google. Google tripadvisor B304 Maui these are the comments that VRBO would not post on this site.
Nancy on 2013-02-09:
I am convinced VRBO allows the owners to edit and/or delete the reviews. I am currently experiencing a nightmare after paying for the entire month of February for a condo that is not only dirty, but very noisy. It was advertised as a 1 bedroom, sleeps 4-6, but it's just one room. I always use the filter so I don't rent a studio or efficiency. This was a last minute rental and I read the reviews more carefully after I arrived. One said it was not as described, which I pointed out to the owner. I don't see that review any more.
Owner on 2013-07-30:
Owners do NOT have the ability to edit a review. I know, I am an owner. BUT, keep in mind, they can have anyone write one.
Joanne on 2013-10-18:
VRBO wouldn't post our reviews or the reviews of another individual who had rented this unit with a bed bug problem as well as the same deteriorated conditions the reviews are describing today of this unit 2 years later. We have the (pictures and reviews on tripadvisor B304 Maui ). Vrbo are finally allowing reviews that are honestly reflecting the condition of this Unit (VRBO 101865) on the site. Yeah!! He did comment and as always blames the tenants for the condition of his unit. He hasn't fixed or upgraded one thing from 2 years ago. As the owner who commented above said owners can have anyone write one. His anonymous review should not even been allowed as it was definitely written by him it says that everything had been upgraded or fixed. Well I am looking at the site right now and there is nothing new or upgraded in his pictures. The bedspread is there that was blackened with bed bug debris and lamps and sofa in the living room which had bed bugs as well in it are all there still from 2 years ago. No one that has ever stayed in this unit would ever write a review that like the ones he has about it been clean and upgraded.
Close commentsAdd reply
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty Star
The absolute WORST website I ever used!
Posted by on
Rating: 1/51
A friend of mine who owns a condo in Myrtle Beach and has a website on VRBO.com asked me to take over running his rental property this summer because hes getting older and just doesn't want to do it. He had a guy last year running it who totally ripped him off, so I have been trying to edit the property page on the website. I log into his account, and cannot edit the page. First it tells me there are technical problems and to try back later, now its telling me there are no properties to edit, then when I try to click on edit from the page itself, I get an error telling me page can't be found.....Fantastic....So I log onto the forum page for the website, and everyone on the site tells me they are having no troubles with the site. So I try to contact them and the ONLY way to contact them is either emailing them, or sending message them with YOUR phone number and they will call YOU? What the heck kind of BS is that? Of course they have a phone number on their site for "sales" calls in case you want to give them your hard earned money for crappy customer service! From what my friend tells me, he paid a LOT of money to advertise on this site too and this is the kind of BS you have to deal with? I sent them an email and they tell me it can take up to 3 days for them to respond???? So meanwhile I am unable to get any inquiries or update for any potential renters while I wait for them to get to the email that apparently takes longer to get a response from than sending a letter with a stamp on it. So I try the phone number thing, thinking maybe I'll get a quicker response.....I enter my phone number and hit submit and all I get is a blank screen....So I have no clue if they even got the message or not. Unbelievable. What a crock! If I had known about this site before he signed up, I never would have let him sign up for this crap!
     
Read 0 RepliesAdd reply
VRBO, HOMEAWAY Works AGAINST their customers
Posted by on
FLORIDA -- HomeAway, HomeAway.com, Vacationrentals.com, Vrbo, Vrbo.com, Complaint

Vacation rental owners BEWARE OF VRBO/ HOMEAWAY's FATAL FLAW - Vacation Rental Website

I was a happy customer of VRBO/Homeaway until I found out their fatal flaw!

We own/mangage many high end properties. As owners we charge security deposits to cover damage done by guests.

I am now fearful to deduct the cost of damages done because of their ability to then retaliate an post negative reviews about your property.

Homeaway allows these slanderous reviews to be posted and gives owners almost no consideration. Owners are coerced into waiving fees for damage done because of the fear of retaliation. (We had one guest who too the Flat Screen!)

By allowing this, they cripple the owners ability to enforce their rental agreements. As an owner we pay to advertise on the site.

We are the customers.

It is very upsetting that we, the customers who pay to purchase ads, are not given more consideration and have no control over what is posted on the ad page that we are paying for.

This is a problem.

The only recourse an owner had is to cancel the ad and to lose the money they paid to run it for an entire year. Homeaway does not issue refunds for the balance of unused time if you do this.

Homeaway is a Monopoly

Unfortunately, with huge investments from Wall Street, homeaway has bought up other independent sites and become a sort of monopoly.

One bad review can do a multitude of damage the reputation of a rental.
     
Read 5 RepliesAdd reply

User Replies:

Alain on 2011-11-09:
When we had rental property, we always used a local real estate company to advertise & manage the property instead of large franchised/multistate firms. We didn't get as much coverage from ads, but we always received personal service and had someone local to talk to in the event of problems. We were always booked solid for the summer and frequently booked well into November (this was in Avon, NC).
Marco Owner on 2012-02-07:
I agree hardily with Luxuryrentalssouth22's posted comment. VRBO used to be a great site but is owned by HomeAway. Homeaway has conspired to allow false and negative complaints from renters in order to boost their falling share price caused by a few bad apples. They should have instead targeted the bad apples just like VRBO did when it was independently owned. As a home owner that has been with VRBO (my low number attests to this fact)when it was independently owned by the couple that started it in Denver, I can factually state that once Homeaway bought VRBO and the three other independent ad sites customer service disappeared and we (the paying customers) have suffered greatly with real financial losses. I can attest that some renters now resort to blackmail wherein they seek a discounted refund on their rental fee or they write a negative, false, unsubstantiated claim that does real financial damage. I even had someone write a bad review that never stayed at my home. Turns out he was another homeowner competitor. Homeaway would not remove it and they take the attitude that false and slanderous reviews are our problem plus just part of the business. They even stated that we should spend more money with them to counter act it. Now we get the new notification (January 2012) from them that our rental rates will DOUBLE in order to stay in the upper exposure tier. They are just out to milk as much profit without regard to customer service.
TIME TO MAKE A NEW COMPETING WEB SITE INDEPENDENTLY OWNED FROM THIS WALLSTREET MONEY GRINDER.
Jerry on 2013-07-17:
I wouldn't have a big problem with VRBO, except for the fact their customer support is INCOMPETENT as hell. Mainly because their techies create too many problems for them to learn about and management wants it all covered up. So, when you call, they act like you're the one with the problem - LAME.
John on 2013-07-24:
They did not post my totally accurate but soso review of the property I stayed in. So it goes both ways. Will not rent from there again.
Karlette Johnson on 2014-01-29:
I completely agree with the damage that a negative, false review can due to business. I have owned 2 properties that I listed on VRBO. Both had one extremely negative review that were false. One of them even posted the wrong date that they stayed, yet VRBO would not remove it. In the second case I have an email chain to prove that the guest was lying, but they would not remove the review. We definitely need another advertising option to protect the investments of owners who are slandered by bad guests.
Close commentsAdd reply
VRBO does not report Bait and Switch complaints on property websites
Posted by on
I recently rented property on the VRBO website. The specific VRBO listing I rented was #309174 in South Beach, Miami. VRBO refused to post my review of the property because I did not actually stay in the property shown in listing 309174. The reason I did not get to stay in the property was because the owner engaged in bait and switch. The owner gave us a different apartment in the same building. Although the apartment was not bad, it was not as nice as the one shown on the website and it was on a lower floor that had no view and a lot of night street noise. So anyone considering renting a property through VRBO should note that it is their policy not to publicly acknowledge cases of bait and switch by the owner. VRBO told me that they would discuss the matter with the owner and would note the bait and switch incident in their VRBO file. Unfortunately, prospective renters will never know.
     
Read 4 RepliesAdd reply

User Replies:

MRM on 2011-03-14:
Canucks, you're on the roll!
Skye on 2011-03-14:
MRM?
MRM on 2011-03-14:
I'm trying to post ahead of him so that he could see my comment.
jktshff1 on 2011-03-14:
Then maybe you should have done a review on the apartment you were in and noted that you were "forcibly" switched from the one you booked.
Close commentsAdd reply
VRBO 181152 Fajardo
Posted by on
DIRTY.

This place wasn't horrible, but it also isn't what was advertised.

First, the place was dirty. A cleaning service was not used - dirty floors, smudges and finger marks on glasses, hairs in the shower, soap scum all over the shower. We contacted the owner to let her know the place was dirty and her cleaning service clearly wasn't doing their job and she responded with a defensive email that it wasn't dirty and she mopped the floors. Yet, there were hairs on the floor and a lot of dust/dirt. I've rented other VRBO condos and they were clean. This one was not. The bucket full of dirty water (from mopping I assume) was left in a sink next to the washer/dryer.

Second - NO DISHWASHER yet the ad says "full kitchen" Most Americans have a dishwasher.

NO cable TV - we only picked up basic channels.

The hot water went out one day, but the owner was actually helpful about that and gave instructions on how to turn it back on.

We were given one bath towel and one washcloth a person for SEVEN DAYS. We paid to rent a 3 bedroom condo but only two bedrooms were prepared and we were given two bath towels. We didn't pay per person, we paid for the entire condo.

The pool in the complex is nice and so are the beaches, but just get a hotel room.
     
Read 2 RepliesAdd reply

User Replies:

bhskittykatt on 2011-02-24:
That sounds gross. Were you able to request more cleaning and more towels?

As for the dishwasher, from my understanding "full kitchen" just includes refrigerator, stove, and oven. Garbage disposals, dishwashers, and microwaves are extra options. (I don't even have a dishwasher at my place.) It seems the definition of "full kitchen" varies on opinion. Source: http://www.answersforrealestate.com/real-estate-answers/full-kitchen.html

Glad that they fixed the water heater issue promptly, and that the area amenities were nice.
tpadsfasdf on 2011-02-28:
We contacted the owner and said the place was dirty but they did not offer to come and clean or send a cleaning service. We didn't mention the towels as our main concern was the dirty floors, dishes and bathroom.

Close commentsAdd reply
Not Pet Friendly
Posted by on
My only personal review is in the attempt to book the property. They are not pet friendly. In the exact words of the owner, "Our greatest concern with accepting your beloved pet (we have dogs too and adore them) is for our future tenants health, especially when people may be allergic. For that reason we can only accept "non-shedding", hypo-allergenic dogs. I know that your dog is probably a real sweetheart, but the oils from his/her fur can become imbedded in the furniture, or baseboards and create a real problem for some of our tenants. I am so sorry to have to place these limits on our rentals, but I'm sure that you can understand our concerns." It's awesome that they look out for future tenants but just wanted to warn anybody desiring this property with a pet, you'll probably get this same response. I'm sure that they didn't want to rule out any potential tenants without the paw print but they may as well just limit the property to humans and not pets. All dogs shed and all have oils that get imbedded on furniture, etc. It's not restricted to a 15 pound dog. When I told the owner very politely that I wouldn't compromise and continue to be patient in finding a place for my pup and I, she responded with "Good For You!" Ouch. Not only that? Beware. A lot of these places say "steps from the beach" when they are actually a house or two or a block away. This is the case with this property. It sits behind a beachfront home with its' back to it facing in the direction of the street. I'm so sick of being deceived by these beach communities trying to rent their properties. And YES I would pay a cleaning/painting deposit of $1000 or whatever it took to bring my pet along on my trip. I'm just SICK of the deception. My issue here is that they said they are pet friendly and they are not. These places SAY a lot of things but when it comes down to it all it is is bait. And YES it is an owner's property to do as they please with the rules they enforce, etc. but I'M the one paying their mortgage and property taxes on it when I CHOOSE to pay the $3000 grand or more per month. Hate to hit you in the face with reality but it becomes MINE then for the time I'm there. The minute these places forget this is the minute that they need to and should get out of the business of renting out their properties. This forum is for customers protecting customers. You don't go around to any review and stick up for a place when you are on a site that is out there to be informational in order to protect the next guy that comes along.
     
Read 16 RepliesAdd reply

User Replies:

momsey on 2011-02-20:
I'm not sure what your complaint is. They told you ahead of time that they're not pet friendly. That's certainly their prerogative.
Mrs.Cole on 2011-02-20:
That is what is nice about Google Street View and satellite images. When I was looking for a vacation rental I Googled the address... HA HA HA... I'm glad I did. At first I thought it was the wrong address but then I zoomed in on the address number on the front of the house. Oh my, four blocks from the beach is not "right on the beach" and having to cross main Blvds. with children and gear is not worth $350.00 a night. We ended up with a very nice condo.. right on the beach. So get out street maps and check then recheck.
madconsumer on 2011-02-20:
it is their property. they can do as pleased.

would YOU be willing to pay a $1000 deposit for cleaning and re-painting?
Basha on 2011-02-20:
I do need to correct myself. The actual listing was VRBO #147333 and not 190794.
trmn8r on 2011-02-20:
I'm having trouble figuring out exactly what your complaint is. I think the main problem has to do with their pet policy, but then the complaint shifted to location relative to the beach.
Critical_level2 on 2011-02-24:
I agree with Mad, their property, their rules.

Even if you rent it form them, it in never "yours" for any amount of time, it is still theirs. If they want to restrict the type of dogs they allow, that is their right as property owners. You either follow their rules or rent somewhere else.
PepperElf on 2011-02-24:
Exactly - the owner sets the rules.
if you don't like it you can rent elsewhere.

you don't have the right to force the owner or rental agent to accept your pet if they already stated "no"
Anonymous on 2011-02-24:
This is plain and simple a case of false advertising. The owner listed the property as pet friendly with cute little paw prints but when the rubber hits the road this is not a pet friendly listing. Although to be fair the owner did have this disclaimer on the listing:

"Pet Friendly: With approval only. MUST be hypo-allergenic, well-behaved and prefer under 15 pounds."

Still I agree with the OP the property should not be listed as pet friendly because it ain't.

Good Review.
Sheldonrs on 2011-02-24:
So because YOU don't like the property OWNER'S rules, they should get out of the business? Does that mean because I don't like Taco Bell, they should go out of business?
And BTW, when you rent a place, regardless of how much you pay, it is NOT "your" place. Anymore than a hotel room I may rent makes it MY place.
PepperElf on 2011-02-24:
" I wouldn't compromise and continue to be patient in finding a place for my pup"

What exactly where you expecting when you said this? Were you hoping the threat of taking your business elsewhere would make the owner change his mind?

Sometimes, that trick doesn't work.


As for the other claims about distance from the ocean... how does that apply to this rental? It sounds like an attempt to discredit the owner by lumping all of your rental complaints onto him, regardless of whether or not those specific issues even applied to him.

Trying to paint all rental owners with the same brush doesn't really help your complaint. Although it does make me wonder why you would rent if you feel they're all the same, as you've implied.
Anonymous on 2011-02-24:
I'm assuming by your comment PepperElf you're experience with vacation rentals is pretty limited. The OP is spot on about the exaggerated ocean front claims. I’ve encountered the same many times. Like the time I rented a ‘beach house’ in Destin FL advertised as having an ocean view. I got there I could see no ocean. I asked the owner where’s the ocean view? He said well if you get on the roof and look out yonder you can see the ocean on the horizon. I liked his style so I chose not to make it an issue or kick his ass. A nice old man actually.. Took me out on his boat… Anyway the OP is correct. Exaggeration is pretty common in the vacation rental Biz. You have got to do you homework like the OP did. Also haggling like the OP did is just part of the game. Only a chump goes 100% with the advertised offer.

All that aside the OP was very wise to skip this listing for no other reason than the listing only has one feedback. No WAY NO HOW should you ever rent one that has less than a dozen ‘legit’ feedbacks. I'll let some other sucker find out it’s a trap that ain't my job.

Again GREAT REVIEW!
PepperElf on 2011-02-24:
LR - it's not about whether or not the ocean front claims are true.

it's about the fact that he's using complaints about OTHER facilities to make this one look bad.


That's like complaining about business X for one item, and then saying well "all of them do *this other thing* too" whether it's actually true or not for business X...

thus although he didn't specifically say the owner lies about how close it is to the ocean, it's an attempt to stir you up against others who are... so that you take that anger out on the owner for a different complaint.

Anonymous on 2011-02-24:
PepperElf, I guarantee you the OP is correct. Unlike you I've read the listing. It's full of red flags. There's no way in hell I'd rent #147333. When the listing says "just steps to the pristine sand of Seal Beach" you just know you're about a quarter mile away. How do I know this because in the picture section they use canned beach photos.

Unless you've done the VRBO rental thing you just don't know how it is. It's a jungle out there. I for one am thankful the OP is raising the flag on VRBO #147333.
Solumina on 2011-02-24:
"Only a chump goes 100% with the advertised offer." Then I guess every one of the people who rent my family's cottage are chumps because we don't accept anything less than asking price, with the exception of family and friends, and we never have an issue getting booked up.

There are people who aren't totally honest in their rental listing and you should verify the information in them. I also agree that that is not a very pet friendly listing but it also isn't a total lie, they do allow some pets and many places don't allow any so in that regard they are somewhat pet friendly, and I doubt VBRO lets owners select "somewhat pet friendly" as an option. I can sympathize with both sides here.

The part of this review that does get under my skin is all of this talk about how when you are renting the place that it is yours. It isn’t. If you want your own vacation home then you have to buy your own place. When you rent you are enjoying something that someone else is letting you have on a temporary basis and you are to leave it in the same condition it was when you arrived. You don’t get to take anything unless it is specifically marked as a gift and you don’t leave anything, including cigarette residue and pet dander, unless the owner says it’s okay.
Skye on 2011-02-24:
What kind of pets do they accept?
Ytropious on 2011-02-24:
My dogs shed, my mom's dogs don't. There's a huge difference in the quality of our homes. Mine is almost always covered in dog fur even though I vacuum once a week. Her's isn't. I can't blame them for saying no. If a place said they didn't take shedding dogs I'd totally understand because I LIVE IT, they make a mess! A lot of apartments are "pet friendly" but won't allow large dogs. Sure, not all large dogs are destructive but you know what, that's their call to say no. Deal with it OP.
Close commentsAdd reply
Top of Page | Next Page >