Preview Review

Next Review

Washington Mutual Consumer Reviews

Most Popular | Newest | More Options >
More filter options:
Washington Mutual Staff Gave Wrong Advice Several Times Causing Big Problems
By -

MIAMI, FLORIDA -- Washington Mutual sells MONEY ORDERS. That is not the problem. The problem is that they do not back them up, it's a company from Colorado which backs up the money orders. You better believe that - I found it out when I used one I had from a few years ago, to use as emergency money. I paid partly in cash and with a Washington Mutual money order to buy a vehicle. Bank of America accepted the money order until Washington Mutual refused to honor it. Now I was facing a big financial loss. The seller had nightmares done to his credit and his accounts, we were both in financial hell.

Quickly, I went to WaMu and was surprised to be told to call the State of Florida, that WaMu had sent the money there as the money order had not been cashed. I am a weekly customer, with automatic deposit of salary check, why wasn't I contacted rather than the state? That time I was refused talking to the manager but the staff member informed me to call the state office which keeps unclaimed funds and when I did - TreasureHunt reported not having the funds.

After weeks of no info, I returned to the branch where I had originally bought the money orders. This time the manager was available. A few of her questions surprised me - such as asking me if I had ever had an account with them, the answer being yes, as long as they have been on the east coast. For about 2 hours, between other duties, she made phone calls using only her first name to numbers she gathered on her computer. Then she told me to get a lawyer, WAMU could not redeem the eschewed money orders.

I asked her to please identify herself as a bank officer as it had more influence than my making more dead-end phone calls, which she finally did when we were approaching 3 hours of refusals. It helped, of course it helped, she got someone to ask her to fax copies of the money orders. Now she gave me a final phone number to call myself and as a nice gesture called it herself. It was the number for a pain clinic.

We were both exhausted by this time and I agreed to return 2 days later to give time for the fax to be answered. I did more research and found that the mystery company is owned by American Express. I called the branch manager to thank her for her work and to give her the specific phone number which is current for now. In time the funds will be returned, it takes between six-eight weeks, and I am still waiting.

I am hopeful this will be the end of it all. However, I am prompted by those who I tell of this experience to write about it, to inform others how money orders purchased at a bank are not necessarily a product of the bank, how money orders have expiration dates, seven years if purchased at a bank and ten years if bought from the US Post Office. I wish I had known this and not listened to Washington Mutual staff assurances - "our money orders are safe forever as long as you don't date them." It's not true. No way!

Replies
Advertisement
Curtailment Forced Bankruptcy and Foreclosure
By -

Bank One N. A. moved-in March, 2001 {15 Year, 6.5 fixed, never seconded} Loan Transferred to Homeside Lending November, 2001 all posted payment's achieved timely conformation from April, 2001 to March, 2002, twelve month old timely paid loan was demanding twelve $102.99 Escrow Shortage monthly's from April, 2002 to March, 2003. Assistance Filing “Proof of Claim” against Washington Mutual's Bankruptcy is needed before 3/31/2009 deadline.

November 19, 2004 Washington Mutual requested patience promising loan history production relating “The Comptroller of the Currency” and “Better Business Bureau” involvement relative to second' ignored R. E.S. P.A. “Qualified Written Request” telephonically on December 15, 2004 loan management conversed, that Bankruptcy STAY' was released and loan history was transferred to Washington Mutual archive department in Chicago.

Archive department instantly e-mailed unclenched' loan histories, ending loan manager's “48 month” covert “Principal Curtailment” concealment, and erroneous Escrow reduction missing fund's concealment, the Better Business Bureau then removed Washington Mutual's chief arbitrator chair, expelling for three year's, “speaking retrospect-fully acquiring Credit Report in 2002 would-have averted Foreclosure Theft nothing else!” Case Number ** including Core Adversary Trial's Appealed award.

December 2007 Washington Mutual returned $7,515.98 loan payment funds to Bankruptcy Trustee without Arbitration, Explanation or Accountability, as a precursor to July, 2008 Foreclosure, Mooting Judgment Ruling by equating yet another Fiduciary fault/guilt Theft admittance, self assessing, while grossly underestimating actual damage, ignoring commitment clauses Contractual damage, accrued damage's, Interest and accrued Interest.

Specifically “Deed” commitment damage's clause, By the Rights granted by Benjamin Franklin and The Founding Fathers, in their leading Statute of the very First Amendment {SCIENTER = meaning or Science of the Contract - Anti-trusting' exacting Lending Institution's' while including certain Contractor's “stating” Contractor must contractually abide the universal forwarded stipulations of contract offered, cemented with binding Mutual' Signature requirement} Loan Originator and Loan Manager Both protectively harbored $778.34 “Principal Curtailment” {evading' shouldered $10,286.25 Contractual Commitment's damage Clause'}

Also protectively harbored the unaccredited $637.22 Escrow reduction {later claimed as November, 2001 erroneous Escrow reduction intended for December, 2001 payment} concealing Both by protectively harboring loan History for Four Year's “Principal Curtailment's” self defining and $637.22 Escrow Reduction's definitively “Escrow Curtailment” intentionally coveted from loan statement's by “pencil shading” Void without digits.

December, 2001 payment accountability Box, then stealthy omitting from requested, received 2002 Escrow Summaries and Final loan history the first “28” November, 2001 after loan transfer Day's, Also returning $336.00 Escrow to progress “Escrow in shortage” for preplanned future $175.26 Escrow reduction, claiming the $637.22 I. R.S 1098 without 2001 fund's received Re-taxing, Credit Repository deception, forcing Bankruptcy, releasing Stay, and Foreclosure Theft.

Washington Mutual Executive Response Center formal December 16, 2005 report admitted discovery “Bank One 2001 credited, then suspended, then “Curtailed” $778.34 monthly payment, crediting loans overall Principal only” then transferred loan to Homeside Lending that reduced “Escrow” $637.22 (“claiming” November 28, 2001) explaining erroneous misapplication attempt at reversal of “Principal Curtailment.” Loan Management admitted Escrow reduction while denying it vanished unaccredited; singularly defending monthly's progression concoction.

Actualities; real-time statement starkly contradicts December 16, 2005 Final' loan history's recorded date, because Homeside Lending received loan November, 2001 and November 5, 2001 exacts $1,289.85 Escrow transferred, then Escrow reduced by $637.22 to $652.63, accrediting Principal $253.34, accrediting Interest $383.88, accrediting Escrow $175.26, recoiling back-to overall Escrow balance $175.26 action'.

November 28, 2001 loan update highlighted Escrow's $652.63 balance only, the erroneous Escrow reduction then vanished before December, 2001, because December, 2001 Principal, Escrow and Interest received “pencil shading” without digit accreditation, mirrored on all loan updates, both 2002 requested Escrow Summaries, including Final loan history that intentionally covertly omitted first 28, November, 2001 Day's, add $336.00 Escrow returned, figure Curtailment and Curtailment's loan;

Re-terming adjustment, equates the $1,148.48 April, 2002 to May, 2003 $102.99 Escrow Shortage, perfecting the irreconcilable pretzel logic that created the phantom like December, 2001 unsubstantiated, unaccredited void that blocked outside refinance, with twelve $102.99 Escrow shortage's, reflecting Homeside Lending used “Mindbox” Data Repository and Loan Manager used its editing, point and click “Soap” Program', augmenting date's to protect stolen Escrow, with historic recreation faltering.

Blocking outside refinance by erroneous Credit Repository reporting, Also loan manager thwarted Washington Mutual's letter promising loan history production, by releasing Bankruptcy “Stay” selfishly knowing loan history concealment protected Principal Curtailment and missing Escrow Reduction whose production would-have eliminated forced Bankruptcy, adverted Bankruptcy, forced Bankruptcy reversal;

Foreclosure was desired solution, release of Bankruptcy Stay action was required, because Bankruptcy protected manager from case-load accountability review, additionally Washington Mutual's inherent case-load accountability review, Fear protectively circumvents Justice by reimbursing half of all “Court appointed Attorney” fee's across Texas, Lobbying courtroom participant's, insuring prosecution protection!

Curtailment defined {“liken-to lopping off Horse's tail” Curtailment = covert' prepayment deception, Breach of commitment, of accountability, of relationship, emphasizing intentional Breach of Chartered License, here repeated to mask'} Curtailment abandoned December, 2001 and November 5, 2001 Escrow reduction intended Curtailment replacement, evaporated {liken to “Escrow Curtailment” defined = Anti-trusted} diligent loan history harboring became required' to protect Homeside Lending Data Repository' “Mindbox” problematic “point & click” power editor “Soap” extremely assessable Program's limitless historic editing ability's finality from caseload review.

Loan Manager testified' Homeside Lending used {INNUS} Credit Repository, pondering in-house. Prior to release of Bankruptcy Stay all loan histories reported December, 2001 unaccredited, requested Escrow Summaries and November 16, 2004 Final loan history report, covertly omitted the “first 28, November 2001 day's” following loan transfer, compelling deception intent, in actuality both {Curtailment-theft's} relates double standard when prosecuting Violent armed bank robbery thief's, theft and these isolated matter's expanded universally, damaging unreported multitude's.

Payment timeline; March, 2001 Bank One N. A. 6.5 fixed 15 year NOTE contracted timely payments are no later than the Fifth of the month, each payment received generates posting account update statement, including single fixed detachable coupon for next monthly payment up-to November, 2001; all agree timely.

Bank One received December, 2001 $812.48 coupon payment and properly accredited Principal $246.59, Interest $389.63 and Escrow $176.26, then all became suspended, then overall Principal “Term” commitment reduced $812.48 - $34.14 P. M.I. = $778.34 truncating from “NOTE” overall Principal financed “Principal Curtailment” transferring loan with December, 2001 unsupported.

November, 2001 Homeside Lending received transferred loan with $1,289.85 in Escrow funds. November, 2001 proof of payment investigation team {loan payment entry Stay'} requested front and back photo-copied canceled check routing # proof that Bank One received December, 2001 payment, posted them U. S Mail.

November 5, 2001 not November 28, 2001 Escrow reduced $637.22 to $652.63, real-time statement documents accrediting Principal $253.34, accrediting Interest $383.88, accrediting Escrow $175.26 recoiling back-to Escrow balance $175.26 action' {Escrow reduction addressed Principal and Interest replacement = $175.26 un-curtailed, awaiting Escrow shortage fund accumulations for repeating covert Escrow reduction} action.

November 29, 2001 statement' only highlight's Escrow's $652.63 balance, prior to $637.22 vaporizing. December, 2001 the $637.22 Escrow reduction has already vanished, amounting four year Curtailed. December 10, 2001 $1,168.26 County Tax payment, amounted Escrow to minus $515.63 shortage. December 15, 2001 received $336.00 Escrow Surplus, increasing Escrow arrears to minus $851.86. December, 2001 Escrow reduction's $637.22 claimed I. R.S. 1098 taxable in 2001, Re-taxing!

January, 2002 paid $813.49, February, 2002 paid $813.49, March, 2002 paid $813.49; all agree timely. January, 2002 requested, “Escrow Summery” report detail's, December, 2001 without digit entry or itemization, payment box only “Pencil shaded” blank {all other monthly's itemize Principal, itemize Interest, itemize Escrow} Also all loan monthly payment update's exacted December, 2001 without Principal, Interest or Escrow accreditation “Escrow summery” accounted unrepaired accountability.

April, 2002, payment with Escrow Shortage requirement $813.49 + $102.99 = $916.48; check did I. S.F. April 15, 2002, “Escrow Summery” report again requested, received, still' December, 2001 has no digit entry or itemization, payment box “Pencil shaded” blank {all other monthly's itemize Principal, itemize Escrow, itemize Interest} Also' loan monthly payment updated balance's reflect December, 2001 lack's any/all Principal, Escrow or Interest accreditation;

Escrow accountability remains unrepaired, lender demanded remaining Ten' x $102.99 = $1,029.90 Escrow shortage arrear “paid in full” prior to additional Escrow Summery loan history reports communicated, payments suspended after May, 2002

May, 2002 $2,000.00 payment, Loan Manager Testified all payments, charges and fee's updated current, prior to July, 2002, only' the Ten' demanded $102.99 Escrow shortages remained unaccounted. July, 2002 to September, 2002 prioritized Credit-card balance reduction, anticipating outside refinance. October, 2002 all refinance attempts failed, reasoning was then unknown, Credit-cards showed $60,000.00 available credit with low remaining balance due.

November, 2002 Countrywide exposed home loan payment history problem, Credit Repository Report, restriction hobbled their refinance efforts, undersigning dismissed out of hand. November, 2002 any / all outside refinance offers and term commitments attempted without availability, even high risk, high Interest, refused loan, including without the expanded Principal first desired. December, 2002 Involuntary Bankruptcy protection forced.

December, 2002 Attorney charged ¼ hour proof of claim, explained additional funds available for loan history research and volumes of loan history documents copied and conversed, numerous office visits and hours expended without loan history resolve. Early, 2003 Bankruptcy requires finance training class, reviewed check paid loan history problem with Attorney / Scholars/ Teachers proof of claim review suggested.

Middle, 2003 Bankruptcy Conformation Hearing, demanded on the Court recorded record, credit for cashed check payment accountability waving canceled check's to Judge, Trustee, Homeside Lending. Judge forced Signature then “Stayed” Bankruptcy Conformation for 60 Day's, reprimanding and ordering Attorney to file “Proof of Claim” for loan history resolve.

October, 2003 Judge's 60 Stay time allotment expired, Attorney stated Homeside Lending offered return of Principal Curtailment and Escrow reduction funds, offer denied, without Credit Report itemizing returned funds, some damages and loan history production's proof of event accountability, fearing unrealized additional damage's, he conversed quitting, payments halted for court review date.

February, 2004 received Bankruptcy Attorney's notice of quitting all Houston, Texas case-load, “he” recommended Bar Association Attorney. March, 2004 New Attorney formatted loan history from real-time summaries and composed “R. E.S. P.A. “qualified written request,”

April, 2004 New Bankruptcy Attorney's R. E.S. P.A. “qualified written request” was being ignored letterhead Dated February 12, 2004, request carries time-line restriction's with damages {“loan servicer must acknowledge within 20 Days, and resolve within 60 Days”} Attorney backdated letterhead way before our first acquaintance pre-expiring, home loan payments halted for Court review.

September, 2004 release of Bankruptcy Stay hearing, called Attorney at office, she refused courtroom attendance, in courtroom My Bankruptcy Trustee “Attorney” was busy hearing and releasing Bankruptcy Stay's and Foreclosure's ruling from Judge chair, allowing Judge' Courthouse absentee day, Trustee “Stayed” Bankruptcy until October, 2004 awaiting Bankruptcy Attorney representation, Again canceled check stubs waved demanding accreditation with loan history production.

September 17, 2004 used Attorney's unanswered / ignored February 12, 2004 R. E.S. P.A. “qualified written request” to craft, format, personal R. E.S. P.A. “Qualified Written Request” posted Certified Mail, Washington Mutual, Bank One and Homeside Lending, Also' posted First Class B. B.B. Comptroller of the Currency, Office of Thrift Supervision, RESPA and more, e-mailed all-about. “Comptroller of the Currency” forwarded assisting, “Better Business Bureau” forwarded assisting and repeatedly ignored, despite Washington Mutual seating one of their Five Chief' arbitrator chairs, B. B.B. later reported three Year, Washington Mutual suspension resulted.

October, 2004 Trustee recommended Attorney file amended Proof of Claim or file Core Adversary, “privately conversed with Attorney and Trustee, Both' stated Core Adversary filing intended” Trustee related, Judge Ruled, Bankruptcy “Stay” suspended until December 15, 2004. October, 2004 Year later 2005; Judge ruled Bankruptcy Attorneys ignored R. E.S. P.A. “qualified written request” inadmissible evidence in Core Adversary Courtroom proceedings, actual postings questioned.

November, 2004 Attorney claimed forwarding with Lender communication for loan history production, possibility of Core Adversary trial avoidance, her filing still pending if loan history production unresolved. November 19, 2004 Washington Mutual letter requested patience' promising loan history production while relating The Comptroller of the Currency and Better Business Bureau involvement.

December 15, 2004 called Washington Mutual for status up-date, Management reported Bankruptcy “Stay” released, and loan history transferred to Washington Mutual Chicago Archive department, called Archive department and four year coveted, protected loan history received by e-mail that Day.

December 16, 2004 called archive department disputing loan history received, explaining discovery of Principal Curtailment and Escrow reduced with wowing response. December 19 or 20, 2004 Bankruptcy Attorney office meeting, Core Adversary filling was pending. December 15, 2004 Core Adversary filing's letterhead date

Clarifications; Bank One loan originator “Principal Curtailment” was a breach of DEED contractual Term commitment preemptive clause's signed authorization requirement's, restriction of covert prepayment's compromising “NOTE” {here fifteen year} final pay-off, that specifies' instead of damage arbitration, all loan originator received funds and earnest funds returned, supporting DEED 180 month term commitment paperwork', $12,291.54 but for Insurance, Tax and Inspection Costs related = $10,286.25 amendable with discovery.

THIS Specification was the missing top half of preemptive “DEED” Clause's “Paragraph” that protected “NOTE” omitted by Judge on Judgment rendered, the forward substance of Core Adversary Justice sought, Judgment quoted “NOTE” from the “and therefore” down, only, Plagiarized by edit, delete, plus 10% Interest Bankruptcy Trustee charged, plus forced Bankruptcy damages, doubled with foreclosure.

Washington Mutual argues substantiation of Credit Repository, inaccuracies, required. Loan manager testified Homeside Lending used {INNUS} Credit Repository. The three major Credit Repositories report's itemize only twelve most recent month's detailing generalization “no derogatory.” Home loan was hobbled with lender accountability derogatory of December, 2001 phantom-like void of accreditation {pencil shading} matching posted loan history's and Escrow summaries, accessing itemization of December;

2001 requires release by Homeside Lending {INNUS} Washington Mutual, but Escrow reduction's only challenge is real-time statement date predates loan history's recorded date, to alone' allow Washington Mutual connotation that November, 2001 Escrow reduction anticipated December, 2001 payment need, only forwarding their nonsensical slimmer of convince-ability's baffling relevance,

Washington Mutual states dispute the “No Derogatory” for solution, Assumption's November 5, 2001 Escrow reduction first credited November, 2001 {assuming and/or December, 2001} then payment discovered, defaulting payment to December, 2001, but December, 2001 was also proved paid by check photocopy, then before December, 2001 the $637.22 vanished, Tax payment created Escrow in shortage, at some point the $637.22 was reported I. R.S. 1098 Taxed;

$336.00 Escrow returned. Detailed Escrow summery report was demanded, requested, received early January, 2002 and again requested, received April 15, 2002, intentionally all reported December, 2001 “pencil shaded = void”, without accreditation including monthly loan account histories and Final loan summery began Homeside Lending loan history November, 29, 2001 intentionally coveting first 28, November 2001 Day's following loan transfer, explaining creation of $103.00 Escrow Shortage demand, Credit Repository Report's void, blocked outside refinance forcing involuntary' Bankruptcy protection.

Brief timeline; Closed March, 2001 “Principal Curtailment” theft, loan transfer, “Escrow misapplication, check payment investigation, Escrow misapplication vanishes becoming Escrow Curtailment” theft, December, 2001 unaccredited, Escrow Curtailment Re-Taxed, Escrow Surplus return, requested Escrow Summery received, twelve $103.00 Escrow shortage's demanded starting April, 2002, April, 2002 first untimely payment {check ISF}, Again requested Escrow summery received, May, 2002 $2,000.00 payment, Prioritized Credit Card balance pay-offs, refinance blocked, Bankrupt, loan history denied, Judge orders Proof of Claim loan history resolve;

Staying Bankruptcy Conformation 60 Day's, Attorney Quits all Houston case-load, New Attorneys R. E.S. P.A. ignored, My R. E.S. P.A. ignored, Comptroller of Currency assistance, Bankruptcy Stay released, Better Business Bureau expels Washington Mutual, paid Trustee to end Bankruptcy, Sued Washington Mutual/ Homeside Lending, Trial ended 100 Days later Judgment received, awarded $1,000.00 for ignored R. E.S. P.A. only', Attorney received compensation Award, DEED specification Curtailment damages ignored equates Judge allowed Theft, erroneous Escrow reduction {is Escrow abuse, without damage award} Escrow reduction vaporized equates;

Again Judge allowed Theft, {Congressional “RULE” 2005} timely appeal ruled by Bankruptcy Judge late factually overruling 2005 Congressional mandate, forcing Excusable Neglect court arguing, Second Appeal shouldered {docketed} awaiting Enron Judge, Main Enron Trial conclusion, Houston Courthouse Supervising Judge expected to expose Houston Courthouse Judges impropriety of ignoring congressional “RULE” 2005 overshadowed Excusable Neglect case merit's, then Appealed Fifth Circuit to over-rule Enron notoriety Judge's decision!

“Wall Street” protectionism, Appeal's denied up-to desired U.S. Supreme Court when Appellate Attorney let time expire before sending case to printer, never once compiling Core Adversary Merits to Brief, Washington Mutual uses Bankruptcy Trustee to return $7,515.98 without Arbitration, Explanation or Accountability then Forecloses.

Specific detailing advanced from above; Bank One N. A. “Principal Curtailment” breach of “DEED” term commitment signed prepayment authorization Clause “NOTE” protection, Contractually specifies, instead of damage arbitration, all loan originator received funds and earnest funds returned, supporting “DEED” Lender Signed “NOTE” paperwork, exempting Insurance, Tax and Inspection Costs relative $12,291.54 minus $1,289.85 transferred, best accountability updateable, if arbitrated Attorney advice required!

Minus $1,168.26 County Tax, minus $239.00 PMI, minus $308.00 Hazard Insurance, Judgment omitted these specifics, {quoting from middle Paragraph} starting from the “and therefore” altering composers contractual protection intent = $10,286.25 plus 10% Interest, plus Escrow reduction that vanished damage's, plus forced Bankruptcy damage's, plus foreclosure damages, plus homestead return

Damage was extraordinary and $1,000.00 each Day's justifiable, even circumstantially shortsighted, once examining premeditatedly misapplication advancements, considering theft admittance was precursor of courtroom fallacious court argumentum, understanding asset division shoulders certain limitations, additional fund sources hold promise that may of may not factor into Washington Mutual asset treasury revaluation, comparatively paling damage's accounted, first' help is needed “nonetheless” quest's, exposing derivative, assumption's, researchable, learn-ability, prior to April, 2009.

Damages Sought in Three Day, Core Adversary Trial, and demanded today! In accordance with original “forced Bankruptcy damage's” sought, as a simplification' Day-rate damages equate, relating arbitrate-able self-judgment $1,000.00 each Day' was recorded at Core Adversary Trial. Actual damage's forwarded without accounting all accrued damage's or restitution.

Damage's 2,744 Day's and 2,744 Day's Interest require, amendments accordingly, Day-rate's simplify. From September, 2001 or from November 5, 2001 to March 31, 2009 all assessed = 2,744 Day's. Mindful Trustee charged 10% Interest resulting, so 10% results. Foreclosure was Homestead Theft doubling overall damage's if not restored

Bank One Principal Curtailment, Deed damage's of $10,277.25 X 10% Interest X 2,744 Day-rate. Homeside Lending Escrow reduction $637.22 minus $336.00 Escrow returned = $301.22 X 10% Interest X 2,744 Day-rate, plus forced Bankruptcy damage's X 10% X 2,744 Day-rate. Combined = Curtailment damage's $10,578.47 X 10% Interest X 2,744 Day-rate and 2,744 Day's X 10% Interest on Curtailment Damage plus forced Bankruptcy damage's X 10% Interest for 2,744 Days

Then minus Washington Mutual's December, 2007 return of $7,515.98 damage reduction that shortsightedly omitted $3,582.75 damage's from included Theft's, then Interest accrued and day-rate damage amount's. Again' Core Bankruptcy fund return is admitting faults burden of guilt, Both' Mooting and Muting Judgment while Self accessing restitution that grossly underestimating damage rendered, ignoring all accrued Damage's and accrued Interest.

Simplified eliminating arbitration and Attorney fee's = 2,744 Day's X $1,000.00 = $2,744,000.00 with homestead's return or with Foreclosure damage doubled, But' $5,488,000.00 accounts fighting Usury by using = $3,000,000.00 Claim or ironclad $3,500,000.00 defendable Claim.

Replies
Washington Mutual Credit Card Interest Rate Rip Off
By -

COLUMBUS, OHIO -- I have been a long-standing credit card customer of Washington Mutual, I pay on-time and would consider myself a valued customer. Unfortunately, they don't feel the same way. They doubled my interest rate out of the blue for no good reason. I've been employed at the same company for 10 years, I own my home, I have a brand new car that I'm currently half-way through my loan cycle for, I pay MORE than the required payment on pretty much every bill I have, I have no negative marks on my credit, no late pays, so what is the reason for this interest rate increase? I pick up the phone to find out.

I am immediately greeted by a gentleman calling himself Brandon but clearly has a thick accent and is clearly reading from a script. He tells me he cannot help me as they periodically review credit cards for an interest rate reduction so I'll just have to sit around crossing my fingers and hoping I get one in the near future. I will be notified by mail. "Brandon" offered me no good explanation as to why my interest rate has doubled, his script tells him to let me know that they base the rate off of my FICO score and various other reporting sources.

Since Brandon was of absolutely no help to me, I ask to speak with an account manager vs. a customer service representative that has memorized the answers to my questions. The script tells Brandon to let me know that the account staff are on the other side of the building and there is no way for him to reach them for me, he has no phone numbers and again, I'll just have to wait on a periodic review of my account. I have to wonder, does Brandon have feet? Can he not walk to the other side of the building and obtain an account person for me? Does Brandon not have a company listing of staff?

With absolutely no help being provided to me at this point, I must ask Brandon what he is going to do when I hang up this phone. The answer to this question my friends, you're not going to believe this, the answer is nothing. Brandon is going to do nothing. Hmmmm.... and why does he work there? To do nothing? We are paying him, with the elevated interest he is able to keep us at with his diversion tactics, for nothing folks! After going in circles with this guy that is barely understandable, I demand to speak with the supervisor. It was like a bad dream replaying.

Here comes Nigel the supervisor and wouldn't you know, another accent and another script. The only difference, Nigel says I had the opportunity to close my account if I were not happy with the interest rate they notified me of a few months back. Now I'm no rocket scientist here folks but I'm also not a dummy, you don't just close out a long-standing account. Talk about a FICO score in the toilet! This is the solution to my problem, just close the account if I am not happy. Hmmm... and this is the Customer Service Department you say???

At this point, I have had it with their utter lack of intelligence and disregard for their customers so I tell it just as it is. They are punishing the good customers with a higher interest rate to make up for their losses on home foreclosures! We all know this. It's been on the news for God's sake! They were in such financial distress that Chase had to come and rescue them! We are not blind, deaf or dumb here. I tell Nigel that if he does not care about his customer's satisfaction then I will just not be their customer as they wish. Nigel really doesn't care. I'll have to just wait on a periodic review or, I can just close my account.

Those are my options. That's what I get for paying on time and being a loyal customer. I've never felt so loved and appreciated. For all his hard work and concern, I tell Nigel that I hope he still has a job when Chase takes over. And the worst part, I think Nigel thought I was being serious.

Replies
Poor Customer Service and Disrespect
By -

LONG ISLAND, NEW YORK -- To make a long story short, I have a checking/savings account and credit card account with WAMU. On 7/31 I found my credit card was frozen. I wonder why because I made my payment which was actually more than my statement ending balance sometime between the 15th and 18th of the month as this is when I pay all my bills. I thought my card was stolen or something like that. Turns out my electronic payment never went through.

I asked them why they frozen an account with a perfect history, and I mean never late and only 1 or two months did not pay off the balance in full (and this was because of my wedding in March), without calling me, the card holder and only name on the account. They told me it was policy to put a hold on a delinquent account. Now this made me mad because I am a 25 y/o who takes great pride in being financially independent, out of debt, no student loans, and just paid off my wedding from March.

I keep a very accurate accounting book, but I forgot one rule, always write down the confirmation number when doing an online payment. Anyway, I made an express payment over the phone got them to waive the 14.95 fee and take off the $39 non-payment fee. Now today, 8/4 nothing had posted to my account. Not the payment, not the two credits, but what was there was a $10.03 finance charge. I called again this morning and was told that it takes up to 2 (TWO) billing cycles to credit an account. The finance charge was interest because I carried a balance.

I again explained that I made the electronic payment as I have done every month for about 2 years since opening my account and it did not go through. They put me on hold and the call disconnected. Okay I thought, these things happen to everyone who works in an office occasionally. Called back, explained the same story and was told that they needed to review my account. Again disconnected... or I should say hung up on!!!

I may be mad as anything right now, but when I deal with customer service I am nice and to the point. You don'€™t mess with people who can easily hurt you, like waiters (or food handlers) or customer service people. I had to speak with the accounting supervisor on staff just to have the finance charge reversed, but again, it takes up to 2 billing cycles to credit my account.

I have never had an issue with them before, and I will never have another one as I will be closing my accounts with them once my $65 in fees are refunded. In addition to all this, I wrote an email to them regarding everything that happened on 7/31 and all I received was an email stating the last payment I made. Poor, poor, poor customer service (except for the supervisor who did correctly fix my problems without any phone disconnections).

Also, for those of you who care, WAMU outsources its call center to India at night. These were the people who I spoke with on 7/31 as I was paying for a dinner for my wife and friend at 10:30pm EST when this happened. These people were rude and demeaning, talking to me as though I was a deadbeat who owes tens of thousands of dollars and has never paid my bill. If you talked to me 7 days ago I would have recommended WAMU to anyone. Now I will tell people to look elsewhere. To any WAMU reps who read this, tell your company heads to take a long look in the mirror to see what WAMU has become. Sorry, guess this was not short after all.

Replies
Advertisement
Overdraft Charges and Bank Errors
By -

I have more than just one complaint for this company. So let's start on day one. I opened my checking and savings account with about $3000 in cash. So all the girl needed to do was DEPOSIT. But instead the bank teller decided to TRANSFER an extra $1000 from someone else's account into mine at the same time. So as the days went on I paid bills and went shopping and kept tracking the numbers in my little check book. Also, the savings account was pulling money out of the checking every month just like it was supposed to.

All of a sudden two months later Washington Mutual withdrawals $1000 from my savings account which was supposed to only have about $150 in it. The only thing the transaction history said was " amount owed to WaMu." Huh? So I called and told them what happened. The man said he would look into it and call me back. (I never heard from him again) BUT they made sure to pull the $1000 from the correct account...my checking. So I was exactly -$850 in my savings and -$500 in my checking. I called and they told me that even though it was a bank error I did spend the money and had to pay it back.

They closed both my accounts and I had to pay $850 then they returned the extra $1000 that they took from my checking. THEY NEVER RETURNED THE OVERDRAFT CHARGES! And now I just learned they sent my "claim" to a business who puts your name on a list that pretty much lets every bank know you can't open an account for 10 years! Luckily I already had another account opened. It was a Washington Mutual account but it was the only one I could use. Recently some of their policies have changed.

My hair dresser of three years accidentally charged my card twice. So instead of $250 being taken out she charged $500 and overdrew my account. I called her to let her know and she said she would put it back no problem. Then I called Wamu to tell them that she would fix it and they could reverse the overdraft charges. They informed me, once more, that it was not a bank error and that they would not reverse the overdraft charge. I'm sorry but that means I have to pay for something that is definitely not my fault. They told me to call the merchant and have them pay the fee.

So now I have to call my sweet hairdresser who made an honest mistake and tell her to, practically, give me back the tip I gave her that day. Unbelievable! Thank god my hairdresser uses a credit card company and it was their fault so they are going to pay for it. But still. Washington mutual just got $30 for free. Something is wrong here. If the mistake had not happened they would never have taken out that $30. And it didn't mess up their funds. It was mine so I should get the extra $30 if anyone. The point is Washington Mutual will find any way to STEAL money from you! DO NOT BANK WITH THEM!

Replies
Excuses never match
By -

CALIFORNIA -- On March 05, 2008, I had to wire transfer funds to family outside of the US. It was an emergency and therefore, I spoke to WAMU Customer Service about doing such a transfer. They assured me that the transfer can be handled through WAMU without any problems and will take only 2 - 3 business days. When asked if we could use Citibank as the intermediary bank since the international account is a Citibank account, they said "yes, that would be no problem." I went to our branch in Rancho Cucamonga with all of the necessary information to wire transfer $2,000.00 to our family and into their Citibank account.

I specifically gave the Teller handling the transaction all of the Citibank information along with a Citibank Internal SWIFT Code to ensure delivery. I explained it to her; however, she insisted that HSBC had to be used as the intermediary bank. When she tried to enter the SWIFT Code, it failed, so I again explained to her that it is an Internal SWIFT Code for Citibank. She explained that she would forward the Citibank information to HSBC. Hell, she could not even get the account documentation correct. Long story short, they lost the funds and I ended up having to research everything.

They could not give me a straight answer as to the tracking information with HSBC and Citibank said they never saw it come through. When it was reported to WAMU Executive Services, Christian, he promised to locate the problem and contact me back that same day, March 10th. I never received a call back from him. I did however provide him with the information originally given to the teller at the Rancho Cucamonga Branch.

On Friday, March 14th, the funds magically appeared in the Citibank account that they were being sent to. I still had not received a call from Christian regarding the status of the funds. I had made several attempts to contact his manager and to no avail. I also made numerous attempts to contact Mr. Thomas Casey, EVP/CFO and Mr. Kerry Killinger, Chairman/CEO. I was blocked from speaking to them by the switchboard. I ended up flying to Seattle and met with investigative reporters there at the SEATAC Airport, then returning on March 12th.

I lost 2 days of work behind this incident at a cost of $500.00 per day, on top of the ticket to fly there, for which I was refused a meeting after having been invited. We had to secure an emergency loan for the family in that country for the amount we sent. We are out well over $1,500.00 in losses total which includes the interest we paid for the short term loan. WAMU has yet to accept responsibility for this incident. I finally received a call from Christian on March 24th at 9:31am, advising me that the funds had made it to the destination.

However, the situation with WAMU became worse on March 24th. I learned of a withdrawal of $1,026.00 that took place on March 20th from our checking account at approximately 4:53pm. Before contacting WAMU, I called my wife and asked her about it, since the on-line statement shows it as a Customer Withdrawal. She said has no clue as to the withdrawal and suggested I call WAMU. I did and was told that we withdrew the funds from the Escondido Branch. Clearly, this wasn't the case so I requested information on this withdrawal. I was transferred to a fraud investigator who informed me that the withdrawal was made in Escondido California.

She stated the withdrawal was against a check deposit of $2,200.00. Naturally, this deposit does not show up on our online account as all others do. I asked her about that and she replied that deposit never show up that same day on the online banking. This was incorrect information and I know this was false since they do appear on-line after a deposit is made the same day, just as withdrawals are. She contacted the branch where the transaction took place and was convinced that the funds were supposed to be for another account.

I am convinced otherwise as she said in the beginning that this was likely someone using our account to defraud the bank. How is it that the tellers do not check identification? I have all mine and so does my wife. We also have our cards and PIN's are never written down. The investigator told me she would get the deposit slip and a copy of the check for me so as to file crime report with the Escondido Police Department. I was ready to go to Escondido to meet with EPD Fraud Investigators when I was convinced that it would not be necessary. Needless to say, I did file a report.

I again call corporate Executive Services and again, I had to speak with Christian. Gave him the information and was told that this matter would be expedited. I was also assured that there would be no fee's for any transactions coming in.

On March 25th, they charged our account 2 overdraft fees of $30.00 each (We changed banks and put the money elsewhere because of the problems prior to the March 20th incident and left the $1,026.00 in the account to cover outstanding transactions). I sent the customer service unit an e-mail on each transaction including the theft. They replied that they are fee's owed for the transactions and that WE took the $1,026.00 out of the account in Pullman Washington! Needless to say, this is incorrect and very WRONG.

Since this matter came to light, we have been given 3 different stories as to what had taken place with our funds. Again, Executive Response is not being very responsive and making excuses. I have come to know that their job is not to help WAMU customers, but protect those at the executive level. I have also learned that Customer Service knows little about escalating matters such as this to Quality Assurance or Executive Response. In fact, when I questioned Customer Service, they believe they are the ones who handle all complaint issues.

Clearly, the business philosophy of those in the Executive Management Team starts with 1 word "GREED". While making a minimum BASE salary of $900,000.00 annually and a very liberal bonus structure as the CEO of Washington Mutual, you would think that being sued for their mishandling of customers and investors might cause Mr. Killinger, his direct reports and the Board of Directors to take a closer look at how they are doing business and how they can save their investors and depositors millions of dollars each year.

With a growing trend of complaints on internet consumer websites regarding Washington Mutual, one might wonder if it is really worth doing business with them. With the economy falling into a recession and businesses closing their doors, investors losing millions of dollars, the mortgage industry taking dive. Is it not worth taking the time to hear what the consumers are saying? Business philosophy needs to change if they intend to remain in business.

Consumers are looking for better deals, honesty, integrity and a company that is going to accept responsibility for its actions. Companies who are these things and strive for Quality in the care of their customers will be ultimately be successful in our current situation. As GREED is the current cause of our nations declining market. As executives, middle management and front line team members, we have to remember that we too are consumers and ask how we would want to be treated.

It is no secret, that when a corporate executive is faced with an issue of treatment or handling by someone of another company, they would in fact go straight to the top. They too would want to speak with their equal in handling their poor customer service experience or poor quality of product and service delivery. It happens every day. The end result of which is immediate satisfaction often time resulting in termination. It is a privilege they extend to one another. It is a privilege all should enjoy.

If the executives do not like it, then do business honestly and with integrity. Here a just a few of the websites I have visited. For more, you can Google "Washington Mutual Complaints". There are literally hundreds if not thousands.

http://washington-mutual.pissedconsumer.com/
http://www.consumeraffairs.com/finance/washington_mutual_bank.htm
http://www.my3cents.com/search.cgi?criteria=washington+mutual
http://www.wamufraud.com/
http://www.washingtonmutualsucks.com/
http://www.bizjournals.com/eastbay/stories/2002/03/04/story7.html
http://consumerist.com/consumer/complaints/washington-mutual-fraud-department-doesnt-feel-like-reimbursing-elderly-parents-defrauded-for-1100-294180.php

Replies
Run From It Don't Walk...
By -

SAN DIEGO, CALIFORNIA -- Here I go again, it is not my first bad experience w/ WAMU but for sure it will be my last. I am fed up w/ them and encourage others that are in it or considering it to just run from them -- don't walk... Don't even take my advice on what I tell you but do your own research on the web. You will see I am not the only one...

It all started w/ me checking my account status and call to ask about some transactions posted that were not authorized by me. The guy on the phone ask if I wanted a copy of my statements I said sure that would be helpful... Did not even bother to say "hey there will be a charge for this are you willing to pay it"... Come the next day a $60.00 charge on my account... What? For what? Why wasn't I told this over the phone? Calling them to ask a reversal on it was a mere "we are sorry but can't. It is all in a very fine print about these fees in the consumer fees policies" and I am sure they are somewhere in there, yes in very fine print.

I am mad cause they never asked or told me over the phone about them or else would not even ask for such copies, but yes very nicely ask if I wanted these copies... Of course they were not going to tell me about the fees, cause that's how they get their high scamming money from their own clients. This is how they are a multimillion dollar company from scamming people...

I ask when I call to get my money back if this should be told to me over the phone when I was asking about my transactions? I told them that I don't have these papers handy to actually see right then and there the bottom line about the fees?

And again 'sorry we can't refund your money'... Well WAMU hope you enjoy my 60.00 bucks and put them where the sun don't shine... Cause this girl is taking what little money you left in my account and going to San Diego County Credit Union.. Yeah baby I am out of WAMU... False advertisement, bad people, outsourcing, outrageous fees, no courtesy at all, and of course they won't tell you about the fees... To me it's a big scam... So run don't walk from them... There you go my fair 25 cents...

By the way I am posting this on every consumer site I can get in to alert all of you and yes as a way of letting out steam and taking my advantage of the freedom of speech cause they can't take that from me... And oh! Yeah it feels good to just take a small wack at them via internet....Even if they don't read or even care cause they don't care it is good to have the power of speech... Goodbye my 60.00 bucks and most of all so long to WAMU.

Replies
I Was Treated As A Criminal
By -

ALTAMONTE SPRINGS/ ORLANDO, FLORIDA -- Real, unique, outrageous, unforgettable situation. After waiting for more than a week we got a letter that we requested but it was not complete. We just needed it to state our current balance, date of opening the account and amount deposited last year. So, we went back to WAMU in Altamonte Springs, and a nice Manager's assistant helped us writing another letter but the next day we noticed that the letter didn't have my husband's name, and of course it was required.

So I went back again, but had the terrible luck of being attended - I'm not saying taken care by the "Branch manager". The guy never asked me to take a sit, never looked at me, and then made me wait for 2 and a half hours - in the lobby or waiting area. The time is not an exaggeration, it is signed in.

Then, almost three hours later when I stepped into his office tired of waiting, the guy without a blink, told me that he was not giving me what I wanted. He said that he cannot issue a letter about the business accounts because those belong to a company and companies have an EIN number and not a social security number so he cannot state that those were our accounts.

And, he added like saying nothing, he just can issue a letter about our personal account but would just include the last two statements, and not the total deposited last year. But I won't have it anyway because it had to be notarized and he cannot notarize his own documents so I won't get anything - smile for the picture please!! But that is not the worse.

I asked him questions trying to understand why the "system" won't let him write that information and the more I asked the more dull were his answers. He just meant: I am not giving you anything that you requested no matter what! And then, when I told him he had been really rude making me wait like this for nothing he said very triumphal: "If you don't like it I can escort you out!"

I was shocked!!! The guy is around 6 feet tall, I guess Haitian; I am a medium small woman, Hispanic. I said, "OK, great, awesome; if that is what I can get from you, yes, escort me out; but before doing so, I need to have one of your cards." So when I took the card from his desk he was already calling the police!!! Oh yeah. I thought he was bluffing. But when I was leaving I heard he said "and she is vandalizing my lobby and doesn't want to leave."

So, I came back and said, "what? Wow, I'll wait here if that's the case." But then I thought that if I stayed they might believe I didn't want to leave, but if I leave, I was going to be chased like a criminal outside. I never had a situation like this; what are you supposed to do? This is unbelievable, absurd and very, very humiliating!

The story ends with me waiting for the police outside the bank; crying while talking to my husband and then being questioned by police officers - I got a "Trespassing Order". Oh yeah, he said I was throwing papers while vandalizing his lobby - but then the report just reads "disturbing".

I was never vulgar, never threatened him, never insulted or said offensive things; I am not any kind of danger for him or the Bank, so, how is that after him abusing me, as a client and human being - making me wait like that and mistreating me verbally - he can prohibit me from going to the branch I've been using for more than seven years in a row?

Plus, the worst of the worst, how can he call the cops on me spotting my name and reputation and can sleep without disturbance while I've cried my eyes and felt so terribly bad when my sweet daughter inquired why I had been "escorted" by the police. This guy destroyed my image to cover his lack of respect to a human being, his unprofessionalism, his incompetence and negligence, and then he can get away with it, like nothing, laughing at me I guess? By the way, the Manager of other branch made me the letter. It took her a couple of minutes!! Amen.

Replies
Advertisement
Wamu Atm/Debit Not Linked To Your Savings
By -

HOUSTON, TEXAS -- I enrolled via wamu.com for savings and free checking account in February. I did extensive research to find the right bank for me. One feature I was looking for was overdraft protection. Specifically, I was wanting an account that would simply debit my savings account when funds were not available in my checking account. Washington Mutual sent a confirmation/welcome email to me once I was confirmed as enrolled online. This email (which I saved and still have) clearly stated that my ATM/Debit Card would be sent to me shortly and it also stated: "Your savings account will also be linked to this card." That is all that was stated about my ATM/Debit Card. At the end of July I did not transfer funds from my savings account to my checking account to replenish funds. I knew that I had no outstanding checks (I rarely write a check) and wanted to keep my money in the savings account where it could earn interest. Since my ATM/Debit Card was linked to my savings account I thought I was making a sound financial decision that would give me the most benefit.

I got a shocking surprise in the mailbox about a week later. A letter from WaMu advised me that I was overdrawn on my checking account, that the amount to the merchant was paid, however I would be incurring a fee of $35.00. Of course it took about a week for all the transactions to come and once they all did I ended up with $291.00 in overdraft fees alone.

I have called WaMu's customer service on three separate occasions explaining the facts surrounding the overdrafts and that reason for the occurrences were due to official communication I received from Washington Mutual. The agents I have spoken with all state that yes, The ATM/Debit Card is linked to my savings account but only on ATM withdrawals. I told them that is all nice and lovely but their email needs to specify that. The email does say that the debit card is linked to my savings account. There was no small print on the emailed message.

I have also visited two of Washington Mutual's branches seeking a correction of this error and a reversal of the overdraft fees. Apparently there is nothing they can do since this is an "internet" account.

About a week after I had originally opened this account I got a letter in the mail from WaMu (which I still have) expressing difficulty in sending email to my yahoo account. I had been receiving regular emails from Washington Mutual The letter even specified my correct yahoo address as the address that was problematic. This letter informed me of the importantcy of having a valid email address so I could be contacted with important information regarding my account. I was able to get this situation corrected by providing WaMu my Hotmail address instead. Question: When I started to overdraft and incur overdraft charges, why wasn't an email sent to me? Why was I notified by postal mail only? Answer: Washington Mutual wanted me to be oblivious to this for a few days so I would continue using my debit card. My continued use of the card meant more overdraft fees. Washington Mutual has proven it is a company without scruples. They misinform you and mislead you from the beginning. I am an informed consumer who researches and compares companies and products before buying. I expect companies to be candid and honest. Especially a financial institution that is charged with the safe keeping of my money. I had plenty of money in my savings account to cover any and all transactions and fulfilled my obligations.

I have filed a complaint with the Better Business Bureau. After submitting my complaint I soon uncovered that Washington Mutual has a "D" rating with the BBB. Washington Mutual is unethical and predatory in its practices and should not be trusted with something as important as your money.

Replies
Washington Mutual: arbitrarily places holds on deposits
By -

FLORIDA -- Washington Mutual claims in its mission statement to be about "fairness," and to cut through bureaucracies to improve customer service. This company is one big hypocrite, and I am now poised to follow the advice of folks on my3cents who have advocated letters to attorney generals, and to better business bureaus.

Here's the morass I just went through this week at the hand of this corporate hypocrite: My girlfriend is employed at a large local company that owns more than two dozen national chain restaurants in the area and is paid weekly. I am a freelance writer who writes mostly for a very, very large and well-known newspaper group that is based in New York City AND includes our local daily newspaper, for which I write. I, too, make weekly deposits.

When my bank originally informed me six weeks ago that my girlfriend's payroll checks would be held for two days, I objected, and then was told that if I continued to make the deposit weekly, the computer would erase that "hold." Great .... I followed orders and after two weeks, no hold. Then just last week, the two-day hold was reinstated, I was told upon depositing the check. But why, I asked? I've followed your directions and the hold had been removed. Why was it popping up again? Don't know, the clerk said.

Not only did my bank hold this check for two days; it became apparent after Day Two that the check was actually being held for FIVE days!! Wait, there's more: after depositing MY freelance check weekly for several weeks, with no holds, suddenly this week a four-day hold was placed on MY check, as well! NFS fees began to appear at an alarming rate; I Marched in to the bank and vehemently objected. The fees were refunded, but I was given a lecture by the bank about A) being more aware of holds being placed on my checks and B) being nicer to the bank clerks when I come in with a complaint.

When I asked for an explanation of why the holds were put on our checks in the first place, I was told first that holds are placed if the bank is uncertain whether a payroll check would clear; when I reminded the bank manager that both employers were household names, she brushed on past. Then, I was told that holds are placed if our account hs recently been in bad condition. I reminded the bank manager that our account was in better shape now, when the hold was placed, than it had been four weeks ago when the holds were removed. Again, no answer provided.

This is evidence of a bureaucratic nightmare, where the right hand knows not what the left is doing. Two other points: 1) if someone has a record of bouncing checks, common sense says that withholding their paycheck for days after they've been paid would likely increase, rather than decrease the likelihood of more checks bouncing. this policy of punishing us by withholding what's rightfully ours is insulting to the human race. 2) it almost seems as though banks seek to home in on folks that look like good sources of ongoing revenue through NFS fees. I get the feeling that after we bounced a few checks, the bank decided, 'hey, they are vulnerable and ripe for the picking. let's start withholding their checks unpredictably and I'll be we'll make some good money off of these folks.'

I just think that we have become all too accepting of unreasonable policies, as evidenced by the vast number of people I've seen chiming in to questions like this by reiterating and reinforcing bank policies, seemingly closing their minds to the base fairness of the policy in the first place. about 150 years ago, the idea of someone much wealthier than a wage-earner determining when and how that wage-earner could get paid was considered slavery .....

Replies
Top of Page | Next Page >

Washington Mutual Rating:
56 reviews & complaints.
Contact Information:
Washington Mutual
270 Park Avenue
Manhattan, New York, NY 10017
1-877-242-7372 (ph)
www.chase.com
Product/Services
Compare General Finance Companies