[X]

Washworks


1 Reviews & Complaints

Car wash broke ignition key and did not wash car nor refund money
Posted by Sweetk546 on 12/28/2006
LAS VEGAS, NEVADA -- On December 28, 2006 I went to Washworks at 3:39pm to have my car washed. I paid $15.00 for a Deluxe car wash. After 40 minutes of waiting I began asking employees where my car was. No one was able to locate my car. I asked for a manager and they told me he was in a back garage. I walked back there to find my car in a shut garage and it had not been washed. I asked what was going on and he said the key broke off in the ignition and so they pushed it into the garage and left it. I asked him why they did not come and get me and he said he did not know. I asked to speak with the owner and he said that he was not there. I told them I wanted my money back and he said no and I needed to get a tow truck and get my car out of their garage. I called Lexus and they talked me through putting back pieces of my broken ignition key and I was able to start my car. I again asked for my money back as services were not rendered. They refused and called the police to have me tresspassed off the property as I was no longer a customer. So Washworks, DID NOT WASH my car like I paid for, They broke my Lexus key of $250.00 and they caused me to be 2 hours late for work and called the police on me for not leaving simply because I wanted my $15.00 back. Their number is 7022636010 and owned by Richard Olden



Kimber Roseberry


     
Read 18 RepliesAdd reply

User Replies:Close comments

Posted by *Brenda* on 2006-12-28:
Did you talk with the police or leave before they got there?
Posted by Anonymous on 2006-12-28:
*Brenda* has a good question. Which one is it?
Posted by DebtorBasher on 2006-12-29:
They will probably hide behind the "we are not responsible for any damage to the vehicale" crap...but to just let it go like that and not even tell you ... were they going to hide your car from you forever? I hope you filed a police report for damage whether they admit to it or not.
Posted by MRM on 2006-12-29:
This story is unbelievable, not only did they broke your key igntion but they did not refund your money for services unrendered. GO to smal claims court and get your money back and your reimbursement for having your key ignition repaired. This is not right!
Posted by DORCAS on 2006-12-29:
MRM and DB, I was thinking the same things. I actually would have been the first one to call the police as it seems like they were stealing the car by hiding it. Get a police report and keep your receipts and go to small claims court. The Judge will probably say it alot better than any of us. Very wierd story and it actually made me angry reading it. Bad car wash. Very Bad.
Posted by tnchuck100 on 2006-12-29:
I agree with DORCAS. Get your ducks in a row and sue them. I think you have a good case.
Posted by Aloe on 2006-12-29:
SUE SUE SUE!
Posted by sweetk546 on 2006-12-29:
i waited for 1 1/2 for the police only for them to say it was a civil matter and I was not able to file a report but that I would have to take them to small claims court to get my money back. On the receipt for the car wash it does state that they are not responsible for damage but it you have damage to get a damage claim form
before you leave the car wash by filling out a claim form. I asked for one and they refused saying I was no longer a paying customer and I needed to leave, ironically though my car wouldn't drive with the key broken so he called the police because I wouldn't leave. Ultimately Lexus took care of my car and a friend had to come get me.
Posted by Toni I. on 2006-12-29:

The guys who own/run that car wash are real scumbags!

If that happened to me, I would have been arrested, because I would have refused to leave until they called a locksmith (at their own cost) and fixed my ignition!

However, if I did wind up getting arrested, I think that I would have excellent grounds for a lawsuit against the car wash and the police (I have heard from many people that the Las Vegas Police are a corrupt bunch of useless douche-bags!)

P.S. I just called up the car wash and told them what a bunch of scumbags they are!
Posted by *Brenda* on 2006-12-29:
The police wouldn't let you file a report for the damage they did to your car? The whole reason for having a report is so when you go to small claims then you'll have proof!
I would still go the small claims route though even though they have a disclaimer. They can't disclaim gross negligence and someone not being able to put a key in the slot right at a CAR wash, where they put keys in ignitions all DAY LONG seems pretty negligent to me.
Posted by sweetk546 on 2006-12-29:
Thanks Toni for your suppport, that made me smile. Yeah, I spent $87.26 on a new key today, Lexus saved me money since I always get my cars oil changed there but yeah, Las Vegas police just do there own thing and I felt like the criminal just for getting my car washed that day. It amazes me that I pay taxes just to get yelled out for the neglegence of others.
Posted by Bababooey on 2006-12-30:
sweetk546, in order to prevent something like this from happening to other people, you need to sue the car wash in Small Claims Court for the cost of the replacement key and the price of the car wash. If you were docked pay for going into work late, you can add that to your claim too!

When the car wash claims that they are not responsible for any damage to the vehicle, that only applies to exterior items such as antennas, loose mufflers, etc.

Please be sure to tell this story to as many people as possible! You will be amazed at how bad word of mouth can adversely effect a business! The next time I go to Las Vegas (I usually go there 3 or 4 times a year to visit family), I will tell as many people I can about what happened to you!

Good luck!
Posted by rhondam718732 on 2007-01-02:
HOW did they even break off the key if they hadn't even washed it? Why would they have tried to remove the key? SUE them
Posted by Dotti on 2007-02-09:
sweetk546,
I also was treated similarly by this very same car wash. It was a large scratch that wasn't there before I drove in for a car wash. It just happened so I'm now going through a process to file a complaint with Small Claims Court.
I also agree with Bababooey that bad word of mouth is the most effective way to alert consumers about businesses to avoid.
Posted by WashWorks on 2007-04-03:
As the owner of the above car wash, I find the initial posting quite interesting. True, the key was broken but, as the responding officer from Metro pointed out, there was adhesive on the key where it had been taped together before arriving at our facility. We had to call the cops to get these irrational people off the property, even thought I did offer a full refund to the customer. The next morning, the customer's father came to visit me and apologized for his daughter's behavior and said that he has told her a number of times that she needs to go to anger management classes and learn how to control her temper. I again offered to give the full refund to the father to give to his daughter but he declined saying that, if he knew his daughter, I had more than $25 worth of foul language and harrassment from her. He was right on that count. The customer's friend had to be told, under threat of going to jail by Metro, to leave the property and not come back.

The llcustomer filed a complaint with the Better Business Bureau and when I told them what occured, they said that it sounded like one of the occasional whackos that they have to deal with from time to time.
Posted by kilika702 on 2008-03-22:
I myself had issues with this business with my car being damaged. Upon leaving the business I filed a claim. The initial response was we did not do it. After yelling at a nobody who claims to be a manager, another person who claims to be a manager came out. He pretended to record a claim. He them told me he would have one of his manager's get back to me about my claim. Ten days passed and not phone call. I filed a complaint with the better business bureau. This manager responded to the better business bureau letter. His claim was he never told me he ws going to have a manger call me back. First lie. He also claims he reviewed the video of my vehicle being washed and concluded he did not see my vehicle being damaged. I was never allowed to see the video. A refund was never offered and at that last visit, my vehicle was never vacumed.
Posted by desertgolfer on 2008-08-25:
Sorry to hear of your experience. I go there quite frequently and have nothing but good things to say about Wash Works and their staff. They've always been courteous and professional with me.
Thanks!
Posted by mermaid on 2012-01-22:
SO sorry to hear your grief. The car wash IS at fault. (I will never go there when in vegas) You, the customer, wanted a car wash with no damage and wasted time. They are at fault for damage. I would sue them in small claims (for the key cost, lost time), complain to NV attorney general, and bad report to BBB! Why go to these sleazy over-pricd/careless washes--to find the wash co. thinks they can do unlimited damage and not be responsible! There must be protection for the customer.
Close commentsAdd reply


Top of Page | Next Page >