Whirlpool Microwaves - Page 2

Star Empty star Empty star Empty star Empty star
1.1 out of 5, based on 10 ratings and
29 reviews & complaints.
www.whirlpool.com

Product/Service Menu >

Most Popular | Newest | More Options >
More filter options:
Whirlpool Gold Star OTR Microwave Is Junk
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

IOWA -- Bought this microwave October 2010. In Jan. 2012 it went bad and estimate to repair was $250. Whirlpool Cust Service said they couldn't do anything - no help on parts or labor as it was out of warranty. Had it fixed for approx. $220. Yesterday same thing happened again and repair guy said Whirlpoo only warranties parts for 90 days!!!

I will never buy another Whirlpool or any other brands they make again

     
Replies
Don't Buy Whirlpool
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

COLORADO -- Our Whirlpool Gold over the range microwave broke after 1 1/2 years (average use)!! Whirlpool "customer non-service department" will leave you high and dry. When I informed the Corporate manager that we will be replacing the rest of our appliances with "Kenmore" (non Whirlpool manufactured), NEVER purchasing Whirlpool again and will be letting everyone know NOT to buy Whirlpool she said "okay" and that's where I hung up. LESSON LEARNED!

     
Replies
4th Failure of Whirlpool in 33 months
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

JACKSONVILLE, FLORIDA -- I purchased this unit new for $2400 at Lowes. After the 12 month warranty passed, the unit failed 3 times. First a diode failed. Then the magnetron failed, Then the door interlock failed - i.e. it thinks the door is open so will not run.
I think purchased a repair plan.
Guess what, within the 12 months of the repair plan - the microwave interlock has failed yet again.
At what point do I have cause for legal action. I have paid for the unit, 3 repairs and a 1 year service plan - on a $2400 unit!

     
Replies
Don't Buy Whirlpool
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

BENTON HARBOR, MICHIGAN -- I bought a Whirlpool Gold Microwave 12/08/10. Eleven months later it went bad. It took 1 month to get it repaired. Now 02/12/12 it has gone again. And I am waiting again to get it repaired.

Whatever you do don't buy anything Whirlpool or anything they make.

     
Replies
Microwave Gold "Not so Good"
By -

I purchased a brand new home in the end of July 2011. The Whirlpool gold microwave started "arching" after about 2 weeks, the repair man came and replaced the Magnatron and some other piece. He had indicated that several of my neighbors (all new construction with Whirlpool Gold series) had the same issue. He also indicated that he was surprised that it had not burned through the cabinet (that is reasurring). Now the microwave is "arching" again. Can Whirlpool make a series that will last more than 3 months? I think the unit needs to be replaced, I really don't want my new house to burn down because Whirlpool can't make a decent product. Is anyone else having these issues? Perhaps Whirlpool needs to recall these microwaves.

     
Replies
What good is a warranty?
By -

Our microwave just turned 9 months old. It completely stopped working and we were told to take it in for repairs. The shop was told to order two parts and the approximate wait time will be two weeks --- The customer complaint line gave me no satisfaction at all -- I was told that

I could talk to a supervisor, but they can take no action. I was also told that no action would be taken on any complaint. There is no time limit for the company it satisfying a warranty.

If my refrigerator stopped working -- too bad --- wait for it to get fixed. I offered to buy another microwave for a substantial discount, but there is truly no option available to dissatisfied customers.

I will never buy a Whirlpool appliance again -- I will tell everyone, by any method available how poor their service was!!

     
Replies
Whirlpool Gold???
By -

The microwave portion of this device failed (3 times) in less than 22 months. I have had service out 3 times to repair it for a total of $320.

I spoke with Whirpool customer service who indicated that the quality of the unit is generally very good. If that is the case, then mine is defective and Whirlpool should replace it. Otherwise, I guess that Whirlpool thinks that a failure after less than 2 years of use is "normal". (That is poor quality to me.)

I was very nice with their customer service people, but they simply said that the unit was out of warranty ( i.e. 12 months), and there was nothing they can do. Keep a life span of 22 months in mind when buying this "WHIRLPOOL GOLD"! Better buy that service plan, or better yet - buy a better appliance that does not need a service contract in the 2nd year of use.

I may be unreasonable, but I expect an appliance I pay nearly $2000 to last for more than 22 months. I have never had a microwave fail, much less in this short of a period. I expected more of a "WHIRLPOOL GOLD".

     
Replies
Very Disappointed my new kitchen
By -

I purchased a complete line of Whirlpool appliances 2 years ago at Lowes.
I bought the complete stainless steel.
I spent a fortune and am very disappointed.
My side-by-side fridge/freezer Ice maker died within the first six months.
The convention oven required a complete new computer system within the first year.
Now the microwave is peeling.
It is the over the stove version that has the vent in it. It alone cost more than $600.

I called a repairman and had the first two repaired.
Between the two, the repairs exceeded $700.
The repairman tells me he works on your products more than any other.
And they all break down within the first two years.
Way to develop loyal customers.

I hear it is not a good idea to repair peeling paint inside a microwave.
So I think it only fair to tell your company how bad your products are.
The only thing that hasn't died is the dishwasher.
In addition I picked this set because I was promised a $ 500 rebate that I have yet to receive.

I may be one person but I intend to complain to who ever will listen.
I will post complaints everywhere I get a chance online.
I should not have to buy an extended warranty to survive the first two years.
It is not unreasonable to believe that $4000 worth of appliances should last at least two years.

There at least I got that off my chest.

Last time I buy Whirlpool.

     
Replies
Whirlpool Microwave Hood Design Flaw
By -

This appliance was purchased 10/16/05 from Lowe's. In 2009 the plastic vent (part # 8183852) above the door fell off. Examining it, showed that the plastic had disintegrated around the screws and clips that held it in place. The door has developed 3 cracks around the screws on the right side under the handle. These cracks are all the way through the door in places. The whole door (part # 8204880) will have to be replaced. It will cost $220 for parts only plus service fees. There has been no abuse to the product. It looks like the plastic has lost integrity possibly because of heat, but the appliance is designed to be used over the stove top. Has anyone else had this problem?

     
Replies
Very poor quality
By -

I purchased a new condo with Whirlpool appliances in April 2007 and everything was fine until December 2008 when the magnetron went out on my built-in microwave. Whirlpool referred me to a repair shop that took over 5 months to make the repair. It was finally repaired on May 21, 2009 at a cost of $319.12. Just over two months later, on July 24,2009 the same part went out again. Whirlpool said that they don't
offer warranties on their parts so I have to pay to have it repaired again. I will never buy a Whirlpool again if this is how they build their products.

     
Replies
Top of Page | Next Page >