Preview Review

Next Review

Whirlpool Consumer Reviews - Page 5

Most Popular | Newest | More Options >
More filter options:
Defective Product - Pathetic Customer Service - Warranty ignored
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

MICHIGAN -- On June 11, 2014 our one-year-old cooktop failed, flashing error F47. We called 18002350065 and were told we'd be called back within 5-7 business days, that the unit needed to be replaced, and that it would be scheduled. No call back came.

On June 26, 2014 we called 18002350065 and got an apology for the delay and a promise of a callback within a day. No callback came. On June 27, 2014 we called 18002350065 and were told that it would take 10-14 days for someone to call us to schedule a replacement. I called corporate headquarters, trying to reach you, and was shunted to a voicemail that promised a callback. None came.

I posted a nasty note on the Whirlpool Facebook wall. Two days later I got a sincere sounding apology from Amber in their digital department, who asked for the model number and serial number, and promised to do what she could. I e-mailed the information promptly. Two days later, nothing has happened. I called a local appliance repair place that does work for Whirlpool - they said they've been replacing the model ICI1500XB 00 (sold by Ikea) in homes all over the area...that it apparently is a product with a serious problem.

Whirlpool? They're absent, ignoring their responsibilities to customers like me. We have tenants who haven't had a cooktop for three weeks, and are being told it will take weeks more to repair. To say this is unacceptable warranty service does not even begin to describe it. Anyone who buys a Whirlpool appliance (they're IKEA's supplier) does so at their own peril. Serial XPU1000422. Model ICI1500XB 00.

Replies
Advertisement
Whirlpool Products Are Garbage
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

BENTON HARBOR, MICHIGAN -- We purchased a Whirlpool range in 2011. The day it was installed it did not work. They sent a repair tech to fix it. One year later, the same problem happened. They tried telling us it was actually a different part that went bad. Not true and it cost us $200 to fix it.

One year later, the same problem happens again. We again contact Whirlpool. Their answer was to sell us a $279 extended warranty plan. Great. The oven will stop working again as soon as the extended warranty expires then they will sell us another one. The extended warranty is more than the repair. This oven is a joke. Whirlpool is a joke. Do not buy Whirlpool products. They do not stand behind their products.

Replies
Beware Whirlpool Extended Warranty
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

UNKNOWN -- I called Whirlpool to buy an extended warranty on my Jenn-Air refrigerator. I was honest with the customer service representative when she asked if there were any issues with the fridge (big mistakes, I know, honest people get done over every time). The doors need adjusting, I told her, but everything else is perfect. They said I could only buy a 5-year plan ($232) and they normally cover adjusting doors if they don't close properly but because I was honest and told them, they wouldn't cover them for me.

I could still buy the contract, they told me, but just for me (how special I am!) they wouldn't cover that service call if I requested it. If you do, they'll cover it. But not me because I was honest with them. I called 1-800-874-4698 and they transferred me to their extended warranty department. So here's the lesson folks: lie. What a shame that this is what this company does to good people like me.

Replies
Warranty Repairs for Whirlpool Appliances
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

We had a new refrigerator that worked two days, have now been waiting a week for them to get a repairman out to fix it. They still don't know when someone will be there to get it done. They don't call you back, you have to call everyday and check. I will never buy anything that is made by Whirlpool again. They just keep saying, "We are working on it, sorry for the problem." I asked them if we could have their refrigerator and of course they had no comment.

We also have a brand spanking new microwave with the vent hood and lights that do not work and there again no one to repair it. It never worked. Whirlpool products used to be good and their service was good, now I would not recommend anyone to buy a Whirlpool product. Forget trying to get warranty work done. I would give them a zero rating for their warranty work.

Replies
Advertisement
Whirlpool Will Not Honor Its Warranty on Its Air Purifier
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

OAKLAND -- I got a letter from Whirlpool warranty service with False information. It stated that I have "the right to schedule no-cost in-home repairs, thanks to your warranty" and urged me to extend the original warranty. I say "No thanks" to your bogus warranty, Whirlpool! Even your original warranty doesn't deliver on its promised coverage.

The display on my Whirlpool Whispure 510 air purifier no longer worked properly so I called their warranty office because my unit was less than a year old and still under the original "warranty." Here's what happened: I would speak to someone in the coverage department then I would (supposedly) be transferred to another dept that would assist me. Instead, I would go through the SAME voice mail options I started with and end up where I started. I went through this countless times.

After I persisted and even read the terms of their own warranty back to them, I was told that I would need to send in my heavy unit for repairs at my own expense (after I received their repair form in 7-10 days). The point of all this is to alert folks to the Whirlpool warranty scam of promising repairs on a faulty product and then not delivering on it.

They count on people giving up in frustration if they ever do call for the repair service that is stated as covered in their warranty. Every person you speak with asks for your serial and model number and customer info before they send you off to voice mail options again. Don't they enter this information in their database? I'm calling the Better Business Bureau. Whirlpool warranty DOES NOT honor the terms of their own written agreement.

Replies
Beware of Whirlpool
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

I purchased a Whirlpool water cooler D25. In less than a year it keeps freezing up. They will stand by the warranty and replace it if I ship it to California from Ohio. For the price of shipping I could just about buy a new one. This doesn't seem fair to me but the company will make out. Who would pay the price to ship if they could buy a new one for about the same price. I know it's not an expensive item, but when they set it up like this how can you trust them on a major purchase.

Replies
A Continuation of My Review on a Whirlpool Product.
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

Whirlpool after sales service and guarantee proved to be as defective as the product that they make and sell. After three weeks of both myself and the shop where I bought the defective machine. Trying to get Whirlpool to send an engineer to examine and repair the thing. All to no avail. The shop agreed to change the defective Whirlpool, for another.

Needless to say the 'other', was not going to be a Whirlpool. It was in fact a Samsung. After my experience of Whirlpool's lamentable products and after sales service. I will never go anywhere near the company again. As a post script. I live in Southern Spain. One has to hope things are much better in the America.

Replies
Whirlpool Fool's Gold appliances
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

NEGAUNEE, MICHIGAN -- 3 days ago I turned on our oven to bake potatoes. I left for 15 minutes. When I came back, the broiler had turned on instead and it wouldn't turn off. I had to unplug the oven. I tried repeatedly to plug in the oven and each time the broiler turned on and wouldn't turn off. Very dangerous. Thankfully we hadn't put it on delay bake or our house would have probably burned down. We bought all new Whirlpool appliances for our new house in 2003. So far, our microwave failed 2 years ago, our dishwasher failed last year, and the range, 3 days ago. As you may imagine, we will never buy a Whirlpool appliance again.

Replies
Advertisement
Evaporator Fan
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

ROLLING MEADOWS, ILLINOIS -- We are inquiring if this model number has issues with the evaporator fan. We have had to replace this part twice once on February 16, 2010 and then again on August 11, 2011. Luckily we purchase the 60 month extended warranty otherwise this part would have cost us over $ 200 each time plus labor.

Contacted your customer service center and the second person Jesus was very rude and did not care we had an issue. He indicated that there was no issue with the evaporator fan even though I documented this. He indicated that there was nothing Whirlpool would do since we are the only ones having issues and it has passed the manufacturer's warranty. He then proceeded to hang up the phone after transferring me to the extended warranty group.

Replies
Bad Oven
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

This self cleaning oven, (I have the 24") has gotten a very bad, and well deserved reputation for having the circuit board quit working after the self-clean oven feature on the top oven is used. The circuit board "fries" and the oven becomes unusable. I have read over and over again of this happening to people and now it has happened to me, naturally after the warranty runs out. (and even with the 4 yr. warranty offered by many, they would not have replaced the oven, as it happened at the five year mark).

The replacement board is not available from any source, and believe me I searched and searched. I found many forums and especially good help on FixYa. So now I am sending the board off to www.fixyourboard.com be repaired for $130. Who knows how long it will last, though they at least have a 2 year warranty.

Whirlpool has been particularly unhelpful, even though they know that there is a problem with this model, as well as the 27" and 30" double oven, identical except for size. They ALL have a problem with fried boards after using the self-clean feature. Why would they make a board for an OVEN if it was heat sensitive, or at least protect the board in some way. Bah humbug.

Replies
Top of Page | Next Page >

Whirlpool Rating:
Star Empty star Empty star Empty star Empty star
1.1 out of 5, based on 33 ratings and
118 reviews & complaints.
Contact Information:
Whirlpool
2000 North M63
Benton Harbor, MI 49022
616-923-5000 (ph)
616-923-5038 (fax)
www.whirlpool.com
Product/Services
Compare Appliance Companies