Wilmington Nissan

2 reviews & complaints.

Most Popular | Newest | More Options >
More filter options:
Car Dearler lives up to bad reputation
Posted by on
WILMINGTON, NORTH CAROLINA -- Wilmington Nissan
5406 Market street
Wilmington NC 284105
910.392.4300

On Tuesday, June 19th, 2007, I made my sixth trip to Wilmington Nissan, the third in the same day, to discuss actual terms of buying a Versa hatchback. The salesman, Jim Sessoms, refused to discuss figures. On Wednesday, I called the dealership and asked if anyone there was interested in selling me a car. I got an immediate appointment, discussed price, terms, etc., and on Thursday left my car as a trade, and presented a cashier's check for the remainder, payment in full, with the promise that I could pick up the car on Friday the 22nd. I was told by the salesman, Fred Cobbs, he would call on Friday to let me know when I should come, and he allowed me a loaner since he insisted that my trade now belonged to Wilmington Nissan.

Friday--No call.

Saturday--No call.

I called the dealership and asked to speak to the salesman, and immediately, Scott Amedy, the General Manager came to the phone and proceeded to tell me that the deal was off. He was canceling the contract and I should come immediately to pick up my car, title, and money.

No explanation was offered.

The salesman called within five minutes and said he could salvage the deal...that he would call at 7pm on Saturday night.

No call.

The dealership was closed on Sunday.

Monday--no call.

Today, I went to pick up my car, title, and check, and was denied the opportunity to speak to anyone in authority, and denied any information as to whom I should direct my complaint and disappointment. At no time was I offered an explanation, or apology. I was told I could not get my money refunded until my cashier's check cleared, at least ten days.

When I advised that I would not leave the lot and that I was calling the newspaper, the local television stations, and the police, they promptly refunded my money.

While I was never given an explanation, I assume the same car was sold to two people and it was their original plan to string me along until they could talk me into something else, or find a replacement for what I had purchased.

Needless to say, I am disappointed in the outcome, given the time, homework, trips, effort, inconvenience, but more so I am beyond angry over the deception, the lies, and the verbal abuse. How can a business break a contract without even an explanation and then verbally, hostilely abuse a customer?

I will not own a Nissan, ever. I hope to prevent/protect as many people as possible from suffering the same nightmare I have experienced.

Thank you,

Matt Doyle
     
Read 8 RepliesAdd reply

User Replies:

Starlord on 2007-06-25:
I am not a lawyer, but I think you have a great case for breach of contract here. That was pathetic.
ejack053824 on 2007-06-25:
I'd still call the TV stations on those incompetent morons along with the Nissan Corporation.
Pomona Guy on 2007-06-25:
Given the reputation of car dealers, why on earth would anybody who is not insane give his car, title and a cashier's check to a car dealer in return for a promised car in the future? And you have had nothing but trouble with the dealership before this. How old are you? Are you insane? You should get a knucklehead of the year award!
Anonymous on 2007-06-26:
Matt, that is one he11 of a story but I have no problem believing it. Thanks for the information and I will never use those people. Glad at least you got all your stuff back.

I voted you most helpful
poppapia on 2007-06-26:
You state in your header line that this dealership lives up to their bad reputation. If you knew they had a bad reputation ahead of your visit, why on earth would you even go there?
rhondam718732 on 2007-06-26:
I'm with Pomona Guy...WHO gives a dealership just one of those items let alone all the stuff you did?? Are you crazy? When they physically deliver the car you deliver the goods. A deposit may be requested (and is reasonable) but not all you gave them. And for them to just cancel the deal and not bug you to death to buy something else when you were paying chas...I don't buy it for a second. If they sold your car they would still be stringing you along aND TRY TO SWITCH THE CAR ON YOU, NOT JUST CANCEL. Doesn't add up...they WANT your $.
Anonymous on 2007-06-29:
So JayD you old fart, now you are assuming you know what happens are you also a physic? LOL!!!!
unfair deal on 2012-05-27:
On March 18, 2012, I and wife purchased a new SUV from the Toyota of Winter Haven. I brought a copy of an quote I received from the dealer via E-mail for a 2012 RAV4 model priced at $22,189 to negotiate . The blue tooth system unique to the 2012 model was especially intriguing and a reason I preferred the 2012 model over the 2011. Also, after checking on the KBB, I saw that the 2011new vehicle loses almost $9000 in value for first year in contrast to a 2012 that loses significantly less. I lost two year value instead one year. The sales person, Amanda, conned me to test drove a 2011 RAV4 without my knowledge and corresponded back and forth with the sale manager many times, but finally met my price at $21,950 and a $4,700 trade for my old car, but the dealer did not tell me that price negotiated was for a 2011 vehicle. When I was almost finished signing the contract, I saw that the contract was for a 2011 model, rather than the negotiated 2012. Because I paid the price of a RAV4 2012 but received a RAV4 2011, I am not satisfied with this deal . I asked where the copy of an quote is, but they all said that do not know where it is at, and they cannot find it. Their sales manager, Matthew Daly, offered my wife and me $500 to keep the car, but knowing that would not fully compensate, I requested $700. Despite agreeing with my request, he only gave us $300 and some other form of compensation additional, but since it was Sunday, no high level management working and the deal would have to wait. He will talk to the highest management on Monday to compensate us. On March 20, 2012, I went back to Toyota of Winter Haven to speak to the high management. They responded with a bad attitude, and offered me no help, telling me I was bonded to the deal.
I believe I negotiated for a 2012 Toyota RAV4, thinking I got a fair deal, but in reality, the salesman and dealerships conned me into buying a 2011 model for the price of a 2012. The dealership unfair and deceptive sale and its workers are unfriendly and dishonest.
Also according from the dealer website, the dealer website offers 0% ARP for 36 months on a new 2011 RAV4 model. Also, according from edmunds.com, I could get a $500 rebate or 0% ARP. The Toyota of Winter Haven dealership did not offer us any of these saving programs.
I have a few of other dealer's quote via E-mail for a 2012 RAV4 model price: 1) Toyota of Tampa's quote priced it at $21398, 2) Toyota of Orlando's quote priced it at $21276 and 3) Smart Auto Offers' quote offered it for $21800.63. Also the quote via E-mail for the 2011 RAV4 model from Toyota of Tampa priced it at $19990. According to all of these quotes, it is clearly proven that Toyota of Winter Haven did not give me a fair price for my car.

I request for the Toyota of Winter Haven to exchange my 2011 RAV4 to 2012 and should meet the comparative price of the market. Refund over price for 2011 model.
Close commentsAdd reply
01 Maxima catalytic converters/O2 sensors
Posted by on
WILLMINGTON, NORTH CAROLINA -- This dealer does not cover any replacement parts
(especially catalytic converters, sensors, etc.) that are more than 1 year old. Since my Maxima is now due for a third catalytic converter/sensors at $1,200 (first one replaced at 52K!) third one would be at $1,200 at 82K within 2 years!
On-Board Diagnostic Computers are great for making money, they indicate which part is bad (highest prices items) then the service department replaces it. The cause is never investigated. Anyway, I'm no longer a Nissan customer.
Company Response 01/04/2011:
It is the policy of Nissan North America as to the Warranty they put on replaced parts. Nissan North America has set the parts warranty to be 12 months or 12000 miles which ever comes first. This is not the dcision of Wilmington Nissan. As a Nissan Franchised Dealer we have to follow Nissan's Policy, Procedures and Warranty Guidelines.
     
Read 7 RepliesAdd reply

User Replies:

Anonymous on 2006-12-20:
Perhaps you have been using the wrong fuel. Catalytic converters should last much longer than you show.
Anonymous on 2006-12-20:
I agree the computers on cars now a day have a two edged sowerd effect. They can be configured to show problems that don’t exsist. I would see if you can finded some who can re-load the factory program. The guys who do the inspections should be able to do this. Good luck
Anonymous on 2006-12-20:
Buy your own "code reader" for about 100 bucks, and do some of your own troubleshooting before taking it in to a shop.
maxedout on 2006-12-21:
I've been using 93 octane fuel for 5 years with this car and the same dealer for all maintenance for 4 years. Now I need to have the car inspected
this year for the "New NC emissions testing". I suspect my case is one of many with the same dilemma.
maxedout on 2006-12-25:
Whatever happened to consumer protection services and fraud litigation?
Is consumer theft less grievous than bank theft?
Class-action suits may be our only recourse. If you steal you go out of business and into jail!
maxedout on 2006-12-27:
UPDATE: Midas Muffler of Wilmington replaced the cat on bank 2 for $910. They got the part from Wilmington Nissan, no aftermarket part was available. No future Nissan vehicles for me.
CurtisMDoyle on 2007-06-29:
This tale is more and more the norm. My "cube" mate let Wilmington Nissan repo her car when it blew up one day after the warranty expired and they refused to assist in any way. Good luck also trying to get the Nissan headquarters to respond. No exaggeration, since my own negative experience with this company, I have spoken to possibly 200 people and not one will have anything to do with them. How do thieves stay in business? In fact, I get the same advice from all: DO NOT BUY A CAR IN WILMINGTON, NC.
Close commentsAdd reply
Top of Page | Next Page >