Preview Review

Next Review

Windsor Windows Consumer Reviews

Most Popular | Newest | More Options >
More filter options:
Windsor Door Frame Failure
StarStarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 2/51

JOHNSTON, IA -- We had a Windsor door and composite frame installed last summer after our first door arrived damaged. Once the new one was shipped and installed it leaked. And since we had been trying to get the issue taken care of. I had gone through the installer who sold us the door and they were denied that there was damage in all places. We had pointed out where there was yellow glue like substance between seams of the white composite frame noticeable from inside. Then they said later that the window transom wasn't sealed so they sealed it and said problem was fixed.

I tried multiple times to contact Windsor to get their opinion because the frame was spacing out and more glue still was noticeable. Seams still appeared to spread and sidelight bowed. The regional contact was absolutely no help referring me back to the installer. Which has been no help. Now almost a year later there is yellow residue coming in from door seams, even more and more spacing between frame pieces. I will be contacting the BBB to complain as this is ridiculous for the money we paid for a product that hasn't even lasted a few months let alone a year!

Company Response 09/06/2017:

Hello Ashley-
We are sorry to hear of your frustration. So that we can address your concerns directly, we encourage you to contact Betty Deemer in Windsor's Field Service Department at 1-800-218-6186 (8am-5pm CST). Please ask to speak specifically to Betty -- she's expecting your call.

Company Response 09/13/2017:

Hello Ashley-
Thank you for bringing this to our attention. So that we can address your concerns directly, please contact Betty Deemer in Windsor's Field Service Department at 1-800-218-6186 (8am-5pm CST). Please ask to speak specifically to Betty -- she's expecting your call.

(p.s. I submitted a reply here a couple weeks ago but just discovered it never showed up. My apologies for the delay.)

Company Response 09/18/2017:

Ashley -
Thank you for bringing this to our attention. So that we can address your concerns directly, please contact Betty Deemer in our Field Services Department at 1-800-218-6186 between 8am and 5pm Central Time. Please ask to speak directly to Betty. She is expecting your call.

(p.s. I apologize for the delay in responding here. This is my third attempt. The other replies did not post for some reason.)

Replies
Advertisement
Rotten Windows
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

WEST DES MOINES, ALABAMA -- A few years ago we purchased a house built in 2003/4. The builder used Windsor windows. The problems started slowly and we try to fix them... we resealed the windows, we repainted them, etc... We have tried everything to fixed the ruined wood from the interior of our windows and the water coming in when it rains. I contacted Windsor Windows and was told that these expensive windows were out of warranty and need to be replaced. I would NOT recommend these windows to anyone!

Replies
None, Zero Customer Service or Responsiveness
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

WEST DES MOINES, IOWA -- We moved into our custom Timber Frame home last May. However after countless issues we experienced before taking possession we are still waiting to have many items resolved. We purchased the Windsor Window Package from the Timber Frame company with the understanding that coordination, warranty, etc. would be handled promptly by the window dealer.

Our problems started early on when the windows arrived. The contractor quickly flagged to me that the jamb extensions had not been ordered the correct length -- 1/2" short! We immediately contacted the Windsor dealer and he admitted his mistake, and agreed to pay for additional costs to rectify the issue. Little did we know, although it was our house, the solution they wanted was the cheapest, not what we would be prepared to accept so we ended up paying the balance (finishing costs, custom trim, paint, etc.).

Our next item was we had ordered a custom Fiberglass Door Slab in a Windsor Frame from the dealer. When this was three months late arriving when we needed to get the house locked up we are told that they couldn't make this work. Funny they had a year to resolve from when they received the order and it was now a surprise they couldn't do it? So we accepted a clad door...not what we wanted.

Our next issue was one door which shipped damaged was replaced with another slab that had more damage. We couldn't believe it but had to fight to get the original damaged slab back and paid our finishing carpenter and painter to repair the door. Next in nonessential areas we ordered primed jambs to save some money. What a mistake. The wood used was terrible. Our master painter spent almost a month trying to get these to look like something. His costs far exceeded any savings and we now have to live with it.

Next the dealer took it under his authority to order white screens and hardware for all the primed windows. Funny colour for windows in a wood timber frame house? We have been trying to get a price on getting these replaced to match the rest of the windows but we still do not have anything after six months of dealing with a territory manager and customer service.

Another issue we have is we have extremely bad leakage on two garden doors and we have been given no explanation but "check this, check that" which we have. It's my opinion it is a manufacturing issue. One of these same doors had to have both slabs replaced as they had been manufactured incorrectly and wouldn't close. I assume this is another manufacturing issue!

Our final issue is we have a patio door that is warped 3/8". We cannot seem to get any solution or how we get resolved from Windsor. Again it's "check this, check that." If this company truly wants happy customers, appoint top shelf dealers who do what they say they will do and have credibility and are honorable, address issues promptly as they aren't going away, get customers' responses. We made a mistake by choosing Windsor and caution others to look at other options.

Company Response 04/27/2016:

Hello Brent -
Windsor Windows & Doors takes all reviews very seriously. Our Director of Sales, Scott Renke, has personally requested to speak with you so he can learn more about your experience and address your concerns directly. He will be traveling much of the coming week, so please call 1-800-218-6186 between 8am and 5pm Central Time to leave your contact information so he can call you back.

Replies
Defective Products - Denial by Company
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

OSHKOSH, WISCONSIN -- We built our cottage in 2006 and by the recommendation of the lumber company, we went with Windsor Windows and doors. Right away we had seal problems with the doors. They were drafty and you could see light around the door seals. The representative came and looked at it and said in a chuckle "you got better seals than I do"! They did order thicker foam seals for us that seemed to help but they definitely do not keep out the weather. I have 4 of these pricey doors and all 4 have water stains, mold and are warping on the bottom. Rep said there is nothing else they can do for us.

Flash forward to 2014 when we contacted representative again. Curt **, Territory Manager, was not helpful at all when we told him about the windows. We believe water got within the metal cladding and then expanded the wood when it froze. It cause the cladding to deform. The representative denied it was possible and said that the damage was from blunt force trauma. There is clearly no impact point. He would not even come to look at it and dismissed our claim. Last spring, a second window is doing the same thing. No response from representative at all.

Company Response 10/13/2017:

Dear JeanO -
We've tried numerous times to submit company responses to each of your posts, to no avail. Please scroll down to your other posts for additional information.

Company Response 10/16/2017:

Hello Jean - Please see our reply below: http://mythreecents.com/reviews/windsor-windows#post-150892

Replies
Advertisement
Defective Products - Denial by Company
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

OSHKOSH, WISCONSIN -- We built our cottage in 2006 and by the recommendation of the lumber company, we went with Windsor Windows and doors. Right away we had seal problems with the doors. They were drafty and you could see light around the door seals. The representative came and looked at it and said in a chuckle, "you got better seals than I do!" They did order thicker foam seals for us that seemed to help but they definitely do not keep out the weather. I have 4 of these pricey doors and all 4 have water stains, mold and are warping on the bottom. Rep said there is nothing else they can do for us.

Flash forward to 2014 when we contacted representative again. Curt **, Territory Manager, was not helpful at all when we told him about the windows. We believe water got within the metal cladding and then expanded the wood when it froze. It cause the cladding to deform. The representative denied it was possible and said that the damage was from blunt force trauma. There is clearly no impact point. He would not even come to look at it and dismissed our claim. Last spring, a second window is doing the same thing. No response from representative at all.

Company Response 10/03/2017:

JeanO -

We appreciate your diligence in bringing your concerns to our attention and want you to know that we have tried repeatedly to respond to each of your posts. However, the administrators at My3cents.com have only posted the one response, here: http://mythreecents.com/reviews/windsor-windows#post-150860.

We are attempting yet again to respond, so that you and others can see that we try our best to respond to concerns and that your feedback is not falling on deaf ears.

So that we can address your concerns directly, please contact our Field Services Department at 1-800-218-6186 between 8am and 5pm Central Time and ask for Betty Deemer.

Replies
Don't Buy Windsor Doors or Windows
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

IRON MOUNTAIN, MICHIGAN -- We built our cottage in 2006 and upon recommendation of the lumber company, purchased Windsor products. I have never been so disgruntled by anything like this before. The outswing doors have bad seals and leak air horribly. Moisture seeping in is causing mold. Curt **, Territory Manager came and looked and said we had a better seal that he did! He ordered us extra thick replacement seals but that really didn't do much. We have 4 of these doors and 2 have warped to the point that if we open them, we can't get them back closed.

2 of our Windows allowed water to penetrate the cladding and when it got cold, froze causing the frame to distort. Again, Mr ** claimed it was nothing that a warranty would cover. He suggested it was caused by blunt force but there is no damage to anything except for the cladding. He dismissed our concerns promptly saying there was nothing he could do. We paid a lot for our doors and Windows and we are very disappointed in their quality. I will NEVER recommend them to anyone - even for a camp!

Company Response 09/18/2017:

JeanO -
We are sorry to hear of your frustration. So that we can address your concerns directly, please contact Betty Deemer in our Field Services Department at 1-800-218-6186 between 8am and 5pm Central Time. Please ask to speak directly to Betty. She is expecting your call.

(p.s. I apologize for the delay in responding here. This is my third attempt. The other replies did not post for some reason.)

Replies
Faulty Windows
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

METAIRIE, LOUISIANA -- Water is trapped and does not drain from underneath closed windows in newly installed Windsor Next Dimension windows. This is a result of an absolute design flaw in this window. Even the very experienced installer agrees that this is a basic design flaw.

The dealer from whom the windows were purchased refuses any responsibility for this. I am hoping to reach Windsor manufacturer and have them replace these windows with satisfactory style without that problem. In order to post this situation to this site, I am forced to select a rating. I am doing so but I hope there will be a pleasant resolution of this problem with new windows immediately. If so, I will happily change my recommendation.

Company Response 06/16/2016:

Hello NJ -
Thank you for reaching out. We invite you to call our office at 1-800-218-6186 between 8am and 5pm Central Time and ask to speak to our Director of Sales. He would like to learn more about your situation and address your concerns directly.
Best regards,
Windsor Windows

Replies
Leaking mold windows
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

ILLINOIS -- We have our house build in 2001. The builder used Windsor windows. The problems started slowly and we dealt with them. Every winter we have had condensation and icing issues. I spend every spring cleaning mold and ruined wood from the interior of our windows. I have sanded and re-sanded re-stained and even used marina polyurethane, nothing works. We monitor our humidity, checked seals, you name it. Now we have given up. We are in the process of getting quotes for new windows.

I am stunned that window would have so many issues and need to be replaced so soon. I would never recommend Windsor windows to anyone. I can now understand the saying, "Have a great experience and tell a friend. Have a bad experience tell everyone.." I'm telling everyone who is considering these windows, run the other way!!! Now I need to scrape up 20K plus to replace and inferior product.

Company Response 11/06/2015:

Dear Mike -
Thank you for bringing this to our attention. Windsor Windows & Doors takes all reviews very seriously. Our Director of Sales, Scott Renke, has personally requested you contact him so he can learn more about your situation and address your concerns directly. Please contact him at 1-800-218-6186 between 8am and 5pm Central Time. Please ask specifically for him. He will be expecting your call.

Best regards,
Linda at Windsor

Replies
Advertisement
Repeated Shipping Delays -- They Increase Their Profits at the Owner's Expense -- Don't Trust Them!
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

WEST DES MOINES, IOWA -- We have 26 windows that we are replacing the sashes on. I had urgent need to replace 3 of those windows. Cold weather hit. My plan was to order those now, then the remaining 23 windows in the spring. We ordered three (3) Windsor replacement sash kits on 9/28 with a local dealer with the understanding of a six (6) week lead time.

On 11/1, Windsor notified our dealer they couldn't meet that six week lead time unless we paid them $500 for shipping because it was such a small order. Otherwise, the ship date would be 11/28. On 11/22, Windsor notified our dealer the ship date is now 12/9. On 12/7, Windsor notified our dealer the ship date is now 12/16. It is now 12/16, there is no word from Windsor. It has been 10 weeks since we ordered. The cold weather is here and I'm losing heat (MONEY).

Windsor should have warned us when we ordered that they could not ship such a small order without additional fees and that if we didn't pay those fees, there would be no telling when they actually shipped the windows. Windsor will NOT be getting our business for the remaining 23 windows this spring. That comes out to over $8000 that they lost just so they could save a few hundred dollars now. With a policy like that, they will not stay in business. Jeld-Wen will get our business. Goodbye, Windsor!

Update 12/31/2016:

Too late, "Windsor Windows". Everything Mr Renke needs to know is right there in clear black & white text. I suggest Mr. Renke search within your company to find out why that decision was made.

And one last thing... "Best regards, Windsor Windows"? Really? Why can't a REAL PERSON take responsibility and sign their name to this? My profession has been customer service for 34 years now, and I didn't get this far along by responding that way, and I would never work for a company that allowed that.

Company Response 12/30/2016:

Hello James -
Thank you for your patience while we looked into your concern over this holiday week.

Our Director of Sales, Scott Renke, would like to learn more about your situation and address your concerns directly. He is out of the office this week, but will be back in the office on Tuesday, January 2. Please call 1-800-218-6186 between 8am and 5pm Central Time and ask to speak to him. He is expecting your call.

Best regards,
Windsor Windows

Replies
Drafty Windows
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

BLOOMINGTON, MINNESOTA -- I purchased my condo in September. The weather was beautiful as was the condo, (10 years old) I didn't even think about the windows. Why should I in such a new place? I live in Minnesota, for those of you who may not know, it's cold here in the winter. When December came around I was bitterly aware of how drafty they were. I have double hungs and the top of one window falls off the track if I tilt it in, the bottom of same doesn't stay up if I open it. Honestly they are a mess. I have decided to replace the windows and patio door to the tune of $10,000.00. Maybe these windows were from a bad lot? All I can say is they are bad.

Company Response 10/10/2016:

Hello Rob -
We are sorry to hear of your frustration. So that we can address your concerns directly, we encourage you to contact Nick Anderson in Windsor's Field Service Department at 1-800-218-6186 (8am-5pm CST). Please ask to speak specifically to Nick -- he's expecting your call.

Best regards,
Windsor Windows & Doors

Replies
Top of Page | Next Page >

Windsor Windows Rating:
Star Star Empty star Empty star Empty star
1.8 out of 5, based on 16 ratings and
18 reviews & complaints.
Contact Information:
Windsor Windows
900 South 19th Street
West Des Moines, IA 50265
515-223-6660 (ph)
www.windsorwindows.com
Compare Home Improvement Companies