Preview Review

Next Review

Windsor Windows Consumer Reviews

Most Popular | Newest | More Options >
More filter options:
None, Zero Customer Service or Responsiveness
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

WEST DES MOINES, IOWA -- We moved into our custom Timber Frame home last May. However after countless issues we experienced before taking possession we are still waiting to have many items resolved. We purchased the Windsor Window Package from the Timber Frame company with the understanding that coordination, warranty, etc. would be handled promptly by the window dealer.

Our problems started early on when the windows arrived. The contractor quickly flagged to me that the jamb extensions had not been ordered the correct length -- 1/2" short! We immediately contacted the Windsor dealer and he admitted his mistake, and agreed to pay for additional costs to rectify the issue. Little did we know, although it was our house, the solution they wanted was the cheapest, not what we would be prepared to accept so we ended up paying the balance (finishing costs, custom trim, paint, etc.).

Our next item was we had ordered a custom Fiberglass Door Slab in a Windsor Frame from the dealer. When this was three months late arriving when we needed to get the house locked up we are told that they couldn't make this work. Funny they had a year to resolve from when they received the order and it was now a surprise they couldn't do it? So we accepted a clad door...not what we wanted.

Our next issue was one door which shipped damaged was replaced with another slab that had more damage. We couldn't believe it but had to fight to get the original damaged slab back and paid our finishing carpenter and painter to repair the door. Next in nonessential areas we ordered primed jambs to save some money. What a mistake. The wood used was terrible. Our master painter spent almost a month trying to get these to look like something. His costs far exceeded any savings and we now have to live with it.

Next the dealer took it under his authority to order white screens and hardware for all the primed windows. Funny colour for windows in a wood timber frame house? We have been trying to get a price on getting these replaced to match the rest of the windows but we still do not have anything after six months of dealing with a territory manager and customer service.

Another issue we have is we have extremely bad leakage on two garden doors and we have been given no explanation but "check this, check that" which we have. It's my opinion it is a manufacturing issue. One of these same doors had to have both slabs replaced as they had been manufactured incorrectly and wouldn't close. I assume this is another manufacturing issue!

Our final issue is we have a patio door that is warped 3/8". We cannot seem to get any solution or how we get resolved from Windsor. Again it's "check this, check that." If this company truly wants happy customers, appoint top shelf dealers who do what they say they will do and have credibility and are honorable, address issues promptly as they aren't going away, get customers' responses. We made a mistake by choosing Windsor and caution others to look at other options.

Company Response 04/27/2016:

Hello Brent -
Windsor Windows & Doors takes all reviews very seriously. Our Director of Sales, Scott Renke, has personally requested to speak with you so he can learn more about your experience and address your concerns directly. He will be traveling much of the coming week, so please call 1-800-218-6186 between 8am and 5pm Central Time to leave your contact information so he can call you back.

Replies
Advertisement
Faulty Windows
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

METAIRIE, LOUISIANA -- Water is trapped and does not drain from underneath closed windows in newly installed Windsor Next Dimension windows. This is a result of an absolute design flaw in this window. Even the very experienced installer agrees that this is a basic design flaw.

The dealer from whom the windows were purchased refuses any responsibility for this. I am hoping to reach Windsor manufacturer and have them replace these windows with satisfactory style without that problem. In order to post this situation to this site, I am forced to select a rating. I am doing so but I hope there will be a pleasant resolution of this problem with new windows immediately. If so, I will happily change my recommendation.

Company Response 06/16/2016:

Hello NJ -
Thank you for reaching out. We invite you to call our office at 1-800-218-6186 between 8am and 5pm Central Time and ask to speak to our Director of Sales. He would like to learn more about your situation and address your concerns directly.
Best regards,
Windsor Windows

Replies
Leaking mold windows
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

ILLINOIS -- We have our house build in 2001. The builder used Windsor windows. The problems started slowly and we dealt with them. Every winter we have had condensation and icing issues. I spend every spring cleaning mold and ruined wood from the interior of our windows. I have sanded and re-sanded re-stained and even used marina polyurethane, nothing works. We monitor our humidity, checked seals, you name it. Now we have given up. We are in the process of getting quotes for new windows.

I am stunned that window would have so many issues and need to be replaced so soon. I would never recommend Windsor windows to anyone. I can now understand the saying, "Have a great experience and tell a friend. Have a bad experience tell everyone.." I'm telling everyone who is considering these windows, run the other way!!! Now I need to scrape up 20K plus to replace and inferior product.

Company Response 11/06/2015:

Dear Mike -
Thank you for bringing this to our attention. Windsor Windows & Doors takes all reviews very seriously. Our Director of Sales, Scott Renke, has personally requested you contact him so he can learn more about your situation and address your concerns directly. Please contact him at 1-800-218-6186 between 8am and 5pm Central Time. Please ask specifically for him. He will be expecting your call.

Best regards,
Linda at Windsor

Replies
Drafty Windows
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

BLOOMINGTON, MINNESOTA -- I purchased my condo in September. The weather was beautiful as was the condo, (10 years old) I didn't even think about the windows. Why should I in such a new place? I live in Minnesota, for those of you who may not know, it's cold here in the winter. When December came around I was bitterly aware of how drafty they were. I have double hungs and the top of one window falls off the track if I tilt it in, the bottom of same doesn't stay up if I open it. Honestly they are a mess. I have decided to replace the windows and patio door to the tune of $10,000.00. Maybe these windows were from a bad lot? All I can say is they are bad.

Replies
Advertisement
Issue Resolved
StarStarStarStarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 4/51

PUEBLO, COLORADO -- Windsor stepped up to the plate and had them repainted. A professional painter from Denver (100 miles north) came and painted all the peeling windows on my house. They match the others perfectly and look fantastic. THANKS WINDSOR!!!

Replies
Glass Exploding
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

I have purchased these windows for my construction work for many years and then my dealer was told that Windsor was changing the distribution of their product. I have a customer experiencing the glass actually exploding and when it happens on the inside pane it becomes very dangerous as some of the windows are next to beds and it has happened during the night. I contacted my dealer and they couldn't help as they had no further connection with the company.

I contacted Windsor to be put on hold for an eternity and then was told the person to speak with was at lunch. I told that girl who answered that I've been calling for 3 months at different times of the day and funny how the one person that can handle the problem is always at lunch when I call. The last call was the best as I was now told that I was calling the wrong department and needed to call the sales dept. Called them a few times and left voice mails without one courtesy call returned.

The best is that Windsor is now available from my lumber supplier where I buy hundreds of thousands of dollars worth of materials a year and they now know that Windsor is not responsive to their customers, therefore the product isn't pushed. Going to cost you big Windsor and I won't purchase them again with this kind of treatment and embarrassment to my good customers. Stay away from this company.

Company Response 06/01/2015:

Heidke465 –
Thank you for bringing this to our attention. Windsor Windows & Doors takes all reviews very seriously. Our Director of Sales, Scott Renke, has personally requested you contact him so he can learn more about your experience and address your concerns directly. Please contact him at 1-800-218-6186 between 8am and 5pm Central Time. Please ask specifically for him. He will be expecting your call.

Best regards,
Linda at Windsor

Replies
Stay Away From Windsor Windows!!
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

OAK CREEK, WISCONSIN -- We had our home built in 1992 and the builder installed Windsor Windows. In September of 2014, We decided to have our kitchen and entire first floor remodeled using the same builder. When the contractor pulled up the living room old carpeting, the subfloor had water stains under the windows. We also noticed that the floor joists were rotting at the foundation, as well as the exterior studs and plywood were simply rotted. Since we were remodeling, the building inspector noticed the damage also. The builder informed us that they have not used Windsor windows since 1994 and switched to another manufacturer.

Since all of our windows had showed signs of leaking (after the siding was removed - I have the photos to prove it!) we agreed to have all of the windows replaced. We also had to have 3 exterior Walls completely rebuilt, and We had to have our floor joists reinforced with MicroLamb joist/headers at a total cost of $40,000. I contacted my Homeowners Insurance. They sent a representative over, but we were told that this damage was not covered. I would strongly recommend you stay away from Windsor Windows.

Company Response 06/01/2015:

Sueken -
I am sorry to hear of your frustration, and please know that Windsor Windows takes all reviews and customer calls very seriously.

Experts agree that water leakage in a home is complicated and can be due to many factors -- it is almost never the result of just one product. Often the windows are blamed when in actuality it is the installation, how the siding or flashing was applied, or a combination of factors.

Windsor windows and doors have been installed in some of the most magnificent homes throughout North America -- a testament to the quality and reputability of our products. Most importantly, our windows and doors meet the same rigorous standards set by independent testing companies as other window manufacturers that display the American Architectural Manufacturers Association (AAMA) sticker, and meet or exceed the specifications put forth by the National Fenestration Rating Council (NFRC).

Again, I am sorry to hear of your frustration.

Replies
I love my Windsor Windows
StarStarStarStarStarBy -
Rating: 5/51

I live in a 1950s house and have a couple different brands of replacement windows. Five of the windows are Windsor (3 wood double hung, 2 vinyl casement), the remainder are Marvin (wood double hung). This has given me a great opportunity to compare the differences. The Windsor Windows have out performed the Marvin windows, hands down! In winter, my Marvin windows get a lot of condensation and icing. The Windsor Windows do not get any condensation at all! The windows operate smoothly and have not given me any trouble whatsoever.

Unhappy people always post negative reviews. Rarely does a happy customer take the time to post a positive review. I have no complaints against Windsor Windows and would buy them again. I just wanted the world to know that.

Company Response 08/27/2015:

Michelle -
Thank you! We appreciate you taking the time to write and sharing your positive experience. We're glad to hear your are pleased with how your Windsor Windows are performing -- with smooth operation and no condensation in winter.

The next time you are shopping for windows, be sure to look us up! You can easily find your nearest Windsor distributor using the Dealer Locator our website.

Best regards,
Windsor Windows & Doors

Replies
Advertisement
Window Issue Resolved
StarStarStarStarStarBy -
Rating: 5/51

In response to a post I placed on June 1, 2015 about exploding windows from Windsor Windows, I have now received the service and courtesy that is exemplary of a professional company. I had a serious issue with the product and a representative called me shortly after the post and made every effort to correct all problems. I now have a happy homeowner again and my good business reputation has been restored with this customer. Thanks Windsor for your efforts and prompt solution.

Company Response 08/27/2015:

Phil -
Thank you for the very nice follow-up report! It's rare for someone to take time out of their busy day to do so, and we greatly appreciate it! We are very happy we were able to resolve the issue to you and your customer's satisfaction. If we can be of assistance in the future, please don't hesitate to contact us.

Best regards,
Windsor Windows & Doors

Replies
Windsor Windows are Horrible - Never Buy Them!
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

WEST DES MOINES, IOWA -- My home is 11 years old and has Windsor wood windows. I have had to have my windows repaired three times already and now have to call again for repair for 11 windows. The springs are broken on some so the windows don't stay open, some have the top sash slide down when opened, some won't open at all, and some have broken locks. One upper stationary window leaked in the corner and ruined my drywall. Also, the windows are drafty, have lots of condensation in the winter and freeze with ice on the inside.

As a result of this, the paint is peeling off, the wood is rotting, and I have black mold on the windows. Some windows have warped so that they now won't lock and seal. The authorized Windsor repairman agreed that the windows are lousy. When I contacted customer service, I had to call multiple times and leave multiple messages before someone would call me back. They just gave me the contact information of a repairman. My warranty is now expired so the company won't cover parts now. I live in a $600,000+ home and expected better windows. Unfortunately, it will cost me $40,000 to replace all the windows.

Company Response 06/15/2015:

Hello Trina -
I am truly sorry to hear of your frustration. Since we sell exclusively through distributors, we always recommend you first contact the distributor who sold your windows. They are authorized and responsible for providing service on our products.

Experts agree determining the cause of a structural issue is complicated and it is almost never the result of just one product. Often the windows are blamed when in actuality it is the installation, how the siding or flashing was applied, interior or exterior environmental issues, or a combination of factors. While this may sound like an excuse, it is true.

If you should need assistance beyond what your distributor is able to provide, please contact us at 1-800-218-6186 and specifically ask for Betty in our Field Service department. We certainly want to provide you with the information and support that you need.

Replies
Top of Page | Next Page >

Windsor Windows Rating:
Star Star Empty star Empty star Empty star
2.1 out of 5, based on 10 ratings and
12 reviews & complaints.
Contact Information:
Windsor Windows
900 South 19th Street
West Des Moines, IA 50265
515-223-6660 (ph)
www.windsorwindows.com
Compare Home Improvement Companies