[X]

Wyler's

Star Star Star Star Star
1 Reviews & Complaints

StarStarStarStarStar
Mmmmmm Yummmmmmy
Posted by CrystalSword on 03/19/2012
PITTSBURGH, PENNSYLVANIA -- I remember when I was a small child, Mom used to buy the double box of Mrs. Grass Soup, actually, I think she still does. It's a flavorful noodle soup with real chicken broth and it uses a golden "egg" you drop in with the noodles and it dissolves into mouth watering flavor. Mom used both boxes of noodles and saved the egg and seasoning packet for her own noodles at another time. Add a tuna sized can of mixed white and dark chicken if wanted, WITH broth.

In going through the old Fuller's Market the other day, I saw that Mrs. Grass has come out with sealed bags of Vegetable Beef Soup, Beef Stew Mix and a couple different types of Chicken Noodle Soup. OMG....talk about dying and going to heaven!!! The Veg/Beef Soup Mix is all the stock you need and some freeze dried veggies.....cut up some beef stew meat real small, brown it and add it and a couple handfuls of extra macaroni shells, it is to die for..... just make sure that you whisk the seasoning real well with the water or it comes out "lumpy". The flavor is out of this world! The Chicken Noodle Soup...was far better than the boxed Mrs. Grass Soup, just add soup cut up, pre-cooked chicken....DELICIOUS!!

Now, for the Beef Stew Mix....what an incredible taste treat!! I have a shaker cup from Tupperware that I put the seasoning in, split it in thirds, adding 12 ounces of water and shaking like crazy for about 30 seconds top make sure the seasoning was well absorbed into the water and so it didn't get lumpy, then added the remainder of the needed water. I don't use a whisk in my good pans.....started this in my West Bend Slow Cooker...while it heated, I browned a good sized package of stew meat, added that to the slow cooker, peeled and cut up a half dozen small potatoes and added those raw....and some frozen sliced carrots I wanted to use up, although there are some freeze dried carrots in the mix, I didn't feel there were enough....talk about a thick, wonderful gravy this makes....YUMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMM....there are a couple other flavors I want to try, now that I have experienced three of their new packages.

The new packaged soups each make a HALF GALLON....great to cook up and freeze in individual servings in the Ziploc or Glad bowls.

Wyler's is distributed by Heinz North America. Try their website....
www.wylers.com

I'm normally not real crazy about these type of soups, but if the name Mrs. Grass is on them, I GOTTA try it. Starlord even said that the Mrs. Grass Onion Soup Mix is far better than Lipton's for making dip for his chips!

     
Read 22 RepliesAdd reply

User Replies:Close comments

Posted by Slimjim on 2012-03-19:
My grandmother would serve these to us when we were kids. Great for the money. Tip: make sure the golden egg fully dissolves. Didn't boil long enough once and got a bite of bouillon. Nasty thing it was.
Posted by DebtorBasher on 2012-03-19:
The Mrs. Grass soupe in the double blox is still a favorite of mine. All these newbie soups can't even compare. I remember watching that little egg in the pot turn clear then disappear..LOL!
Posted by DebtorBasher on 2012-03-19:
Slim...when I make mine, I just put the golden egg and seasoning in the boiling water first...once it's all desolved, then I add the noodles until they are done.
Posted by madconsumer on 2012-03-19:
very helpful review!!
Posted by Alain on 2012-03-20:
Good review, Crystal! I wonder if I can get a discount by getting this at the Heinz facility here?
Posted by jktshff1 on 2012-03-20:
Thanks!
Posted by CrystalSword on 2012-03-20:
The soup and stew mixture that I got were $4.39 here, the boxed Mrs. grass is $1.99 and doesn't make as much. Alain, you can try...Fuller's is the only market where I have seen the new products from Mrs. Grass and the name alone is what made me want to try it!
Posted by Skye on 2012-03-20:
Good review Crystal.

I've never heard of Mrs. Grass, but will be on the lookout for it now.
Posted by CrystalSword on 2012-03-20:
It's in the boxed or dry soup section of the store, usually the upper shelves.
Posted by Skye on 2012-03-20:
Thank you!
Posted by DebtorBasher on 2012-03-20:
You've never heard of Mrs. Grass soup???????? Man-O-Man, girl...you don't know what you've been missing....drop in a buttered cracker in that soup and your tastebuds will thank you!!!

My Mom used to make us just the broth from Mrs. Grass soup when we had colds...it was the next best thing to her homemade soups. She'd put the broth in a cup and we'd sip it with a straw and she'd tell us to drink it as hot as we can stand it...it's really good for sore throats and it tasted sooooo much better than medicines!
Posted by Skye on 2012-03-20:
I hope I can find it here, because it sounds really delicious!

UPDATE: I just searched the King Soopers site, and they don't carry it.
Posted by MRM on 2012-03-20:
I too never heard of Grass soup.
Posted by CrystalSword on 2012-03-20:
you'd have to cover the cost and postage....but its well worth it....
Posted by DebtorBasher on 2012-03-20:
Skye, I'd be more than happy to send you some. They sell it in all our stores here...even drugstores like DrugMart and Walgreens.
Seriously, I can send you whatever you want...I guy it all the time and my Dad loves it with crackers.
Posted by CrystalSword on 2012-03-20:
TY DB!!
Posted by Skye on 2012-03-20:
Hey thanks DB!

Since its the first day of spring, and it's FREEZING outside, this soup would go so well today with this weather!
Posted by DebtorBasher on 2012-03-20:
I'm having Cherry Twizzlers for lunch today!
Posted by CrystalSword on 2012-03-20:
Mrs. Grass Soup and a grilled cheese or tuna sandwich!
Posted by trmn8r on 2012-03-20:
Freezing outside? Is that Colorado? It feels like 80 here in eastern PA. I think the temp was only 74 today, but I was working in the sun and it felt like summer. It's 79 inside my house, and I refuse to turn on the AC. That may change in the next few days - it is supposed to be 78 or 79 I think.
Posted by CrystalSword on 2012-03-20:
here in washington state, its 39 degrees at 2:30 p.m. wet and windy out....anyone wanna trade????
Posted by trmn8r on 2012-03-20:
Considering the alternatives, I (grudgingly)agree that I shouldn't be complaining...
Close commentsAdd reply

Top of Page | Next Page >