Preview Review

Next Review

Wyndham Vacation Resorts Consumer Reviews - Page 2

Most Popular | Newest | More Options >
More filter options:
Lies told by Wyndham Sales Personnel
By -

On 22 August 2010, we purchased 154,000 Wyndham Points from Mr. ** at Wyndham Grand Desert. Based upon that initial meeting, we subsequently purchased another 146,000 points (for a total of 300,000 points) on 2 October 2010. Also on 22 Aug 2010, Mr. ** promised 2 “free” weekends at the Grand Desert with tickets to a “show of our choice” each stay—haven't seen them yet. Prior to our return trip to Las Vegas on 2 Oct 2010, Mr. ** and I discussed the room and the show tickets. We specifically requested Blue Man Group; Mr. ** assured me all was taken of; he said, “Don't worry; I'll take care of everything.”

It wasn't until after arrival that I found out that he would not pick up the entire cost of both the room and the show tickets; we decided that we would pay for the tickets and Mr. ** would take care of the room. After that weekend I noticed that we were charged 37,100 points for our stay. I worked with Mr. ** on multiple occasions to correct the error. Finally, he stated that he was unable to return the points. He subsequently sent us a coupon for one week. However, the times and places that were available were unrealistic. So, not only did we have to pay for the BMG tickets, Wyndham charged us 37,100 points for the privilege to be lied to more.

Mr. ** also directed us to apply for an RCI Elite Rewards MasterCard issued by Bank of America, with a 6-month introductory APR of 2.9%, to make our initial Wyndham Properties ownership purchase. He further directed us at the 5-month point to apply for the Wyndham Rewards VISA issued by Barclays Bank Delaware, with a 6-month APR of 0.0%, and transfer the balance from the RCI MasterCard to the Wyndham VISA. He failed to inform us there was a transfer fee that would have negated any savings that might have been realized from the lower interest rate. But this small fact is beside the point.

The real issue is that Mr. ** described that by financing the ownership purchase at such low rates for the first 12 months, he'd assist us in renting our points (at 100% return) during this time, in effect having our ownership “pay for itself” before we had to pay the purchase loan off. Another conversation that we had with Mr. ** on 22 Aug 2010 that lead us to buy was that he told us his family rents out their points and makes money “hand over fist.” And, Mr. ** stated that occasionally he comes across points being sold at significantly reduced cost: like “$7,000 for 150,000 points.”

I told him I would be extremely interested in increasing my ownership point holdings if we could purchase additional points at that kind of discount. On or about 15 Sep 10, Mr. ** called and said he had more points for us—he never specified the dollar amount. Then when we came in on 3 Oct 2010, I was expecting significantly discounted points. He said he didn't have any of those at that time, but that he could offer us the same “discounted” deal that he had given us on 22 Aug 2010.

I specifically said, “I am not convinced that we got a good deal the first time.” He assured us we did, stating that 150,000 points typically retail for $60,000. This does not appear to be the case according to the research I've completed. We now have cause to believe Mr. ** sold us Wyndham ownership based upon false pretense. He sold us Wyndham ownership as an investment and explained how we would make money by renting our points. During his sales presentation, Mr. ** presented a copy of a Wyndham property invoice from Travelocity showing a room that had recently rented for $10,000 per weekend.

Mr. ** provided us his business card and told us to call him any time for assistance. After a few calls with no response, I then called Wyndham and left a message. He then called me and said it would take at least 24 hours for him to respond. He never returns calls. We specifically mentioned we were not interested in vacationing with Wyndham as they do not have properties for the types of vacations we typically take.

Both PC and the Lead Sales Presenter jokingly mentioned that we had a point; that they ought to make a testimonial video of us as the “types of vacationers Wyndham represents.” There was a witness; the sales lady sitting next to us was privy to our conversations. ** even asked her, "Can you believe the trips these people have taken." On 2 Oct 2010, Mr. ** promised to rent all our points for us with 100% profit coming to us. To date, this process has not worked as described by Mr.**.

We are extremely disappointed because we have followed Mr. **'s instructions, attempted to rent our points through the program offered by Wyndham, but have had completely unsatisfactory results. Subsequently, we voiced our displeasure to Mr. ** and on two occasions Mr. ** assured me that he could sell our ownership. Once on 2 Apr 11, I asked Mr. ** if he could sell our ownership. He said, “Yes, I always have people looking for more points.” I told him I wasn't looking to make a profit. He said, “I will get you a profit, you always want to make a profit.” He then told me call him in 3 weeks.

On 26 Apr 11, Mr. ** told me that he had a buyer and to call him on Tuesday or Wednesday next week; he told me that he was going to be in Los Angeles. I told him I would meet him for lunch to finalize the sale of the Wyndham Ownership. He told me that wasn't necessary that he would be able to handle the transaction by telephone. I have attempted to contact Mr. ** multiple times, to no avail. I also called Mr. ** and asked him to have ** call me; I also called the Wyndham Sales Department and left a message. I informed the lady that took the message that I have left multiple messages and she assured me that she would have Mr. ** call me.

As of 19 Apr 11, there has been no call from Mr. **. Mr. ** has failed to follow through with selling our points and terminating our ownership in Wyndham. Mr. **'s recent actions seem to continue a pattern of deceit. It should be noted that on our sales paperwork, Mr. ** specifically instructed us to identify “convenience, value, and property selection” and not “investment” as our reason for purchase. On 20 May 11, the Wyndham “Executive Management Team” informed us that there was no basis for our complaint, that since it wasn't in writing it wasn't valid. Does that mean Verbal Contracts are not valid in Nevada?

We bought into Mr. **'s pitch that we could make money; I no longer believe that is true. We are out $50k based on his deceitful sales practice. That money was taken from our retirement fund; with no foreseeable potential to "make" any money to supplement our retirement.

Replies
Advertisement
Wyndham Vacation Resorts Very Disappointing
By -

MYRTLE BEACH, SOUTH CAROLINA -- After purchasing a one week vacation rental from a gentleman on eBay, my wife and I traveled over 700 miles by SUV from New Jersey to Wyndham Seagate, Myrtle Beach, South Carolina. Once we arrived at the reservation counter, we noticed immediately that they wanted us to participate in a selling of time shares scheme. They offered "gifts" to schedule an hour or better with some staff members to conduct a "survey" of the room and properties amenities. We were polite, but was really not looking to waste time on something that was not in our plans at the time we bid on the vacation package.

After being given our room keys and left to "lug" our luggage from our SUV (which No parking spaces could barely fit), we arrived in a room that was NOT nearly as nice as was described in the eBay auction. The room was not even cleaned properly and human hair was left on bathroom fixtures and on the kitchen floor! The beds were rumpled and was missing bed spreads. The most serious of misrepresentations in the eBay listing was the floor plan of the room. It showed clearly a two room floor plan with multiple balconies that would face the ocean. Our room had one single balcony facing another building across from ours.

The "alley" that separates the two building has a "lagoon" filled with green moss and water scum. The views were terrible as was the customer service once we complained about this situation. At first, the women that signed us into the resort (5 star resort "was advertised") tried to make it look like she was concerned and gave me a room key for another suite. I looked at it to see that it was slightly better than the first unit, but directly across the same "lagoon" water feature. My wife came over to inspect the newly offered room and made the decision we would take it because it was 90% cleaner than the first one offered to us.

Going back to the women at the "customer service" counter to let her know that the room would be fine, she alerted us to the fact that she gave me the wrong room to look at. I was upset further, as was my wife, who had been in tears after seeing the first room. Taking another key now to inspect a third room, we insert the key in the door and open it to find two women already in the room!

We apologized and explained what we have been through ourselves and giving them the key that opened their door. They were very upset with their room as well as the intrusion by me, my wife, and two small children. When we returned to the women to tell her of our complete dissatisfaction and aggravation. We asked what was going to be done now? And was told that we were "back to the drawing board"!! This is now a half of a day of moving luggage from trunk to room and back to trunk of car, inspecting rooms that were NOT available to us anyway, and being told there was now NOTHING they can do or offer!

Replies
Timeshare Presentation
StarStarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 2/51

NEW ORLEANS, LOUISIANA -- We went for a timeshare presentation because my husband believed the phone solicitation/phone pitch, which was we would receive free flights. We went to the presentation and were polite, stayed almost four hours not the two they told us would be required.

Toward the end when it became apparent to our salesperson that we had no intention of buying, things turned dark. She said, "Why did you come to this presentation? We all know nothing is free." I wanted to say, "So... you got us here under false pretenses?" Yes, we could pay cash for their timeshare. But... Even the New Orleans one was cheesy, pedestrian. We told them it just wasn't us.

Our person kept up with the subtle and not so subtle jabs. Please never fill out another card and put someone through a presentation if you don't intend on buying because this is how she pays her bills. "Please let me get you out of here so I can get another customer." I asked if she had a card. She said she only gave her card to people who buy from her, otherwise she didn't want us to have her number! What? Maybe I wanted to have it in case we changed our minds or to give to another customer who would like their program. Really ill-mannered!

Replies
Poor Maintenance and Cleanliness
StarStarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 2/51

PHOENIX, ARIZONA -- We reserved a two-night, paid stay at this facility as convenient to the purpose of our stay in Phoenix. The rate for the stay was comparable to other places in the area, but the accommodations were substandard and dated. We were invited to a "presentation" (we all know what that's all about) but declined as our schedule didn't allow the time.

In addition to the room being dated, the ice machine for the couple of dozen rooms in our complex did not work and appeared it had not not worked for some time. It was reported, but not fixed. The pipe to the showerhead was leaking (likely back into the wall) and the base of the showerhead sprayed water on the walls and over the tub enclosure. Neither sink in the bathroom held water, and up to three minutes elapsed while waiting for hot water. The small closet door for hanging clothes could not be opened and it was obvious by deep scratches in the tile floor this was not a new problem. The refrigerator cycled off and on 24 hours, and was annoying.

To top it all off, we found a cockroach on the floor after the first night's stay. Some time ago we experienced the cleanliness issue at a Wyndham "resort" in Flagstaff. The purpose of this information is to further alert Wyndham management and consumers. On the plus side, hats off to the grounds crew!!!

Replies
Advertisement
Wyndham Ownership Is A Joke!!!
By -

I just want to let everyone know NOT to buy "points" from Wyndham Vacation Resorts. It is the biggest joke that I have come across. The company and its sales people are all deceitful liars. We originally purchased over a year ago and I was having trouble booking a vacation to where I wanted to go, they get away with things because they tell you it is "based on availability" the problem is nothing good is ever available. When I told another salesperson the problems we were having they told us we were having trouble because we didn't have enough points and we should purchase more and we would get what we wanted.

That was not true at all and when I phoned our sales person directly to tell her I wanted to cancel within the 7 day period and needed know how it had to be done, she did not get back to me and I missed it by one day, even though I did tell her within the 7 day period Wyndham is denying my cancellation.

They said it had to be in writing to the Vegas office within that time, that is absolutely impossible. We live in Canada and it would never get there on time, so that is just a loophole they used to steal your money. I have complained to a "customer care specialist" but she doesn't care either. She said that the Vegas office denied that I phoned this sales person to tell her we wanted to cancel, even though I sent her copies of my phone bill to prove that I made the calls to this salesperson. So they obviously do not care one bit about the customer and as long as they have your money they will lie and blame you for not knowing all the fine print.

Watch out when they have your credit card number too because we have had charges on there from Wyndham that no one can even tell you what they are for and they are supposed to refund us but haven't yet to this day. Also the maintenance fees are outrageous and when you do get to go somewhere you get next to nothing for service at a hotel that you are supposed to be a "owner" of. We get better service at other hotels and we did not have to pay $60,000 for it. We also just got another bill for some kind of "user fee"??? No one ever mentioned that either. All I can see is that they rip you off over and over again!!!

I will tell everyone NOT to purchase this vacation club unless you like throwing your money away on things you cannot use. And don't expect any kind of customer service from anyone at Wyndham. I am putting this review on every single website that I can find to warn people.

Replies
Wyndham Empty Promises Beware
By -

We are timeshare owners since 1978 buying into Fairfield resorts in 1994. Since Wyndham took over and started the points system we gradually upgraded our membership to Presidential Reserve. We did this because of the Wyndham buy-back provision. After doing some research, we found the buy back deal is not guaranteed as promised. They would buy back at maybe their price terms. Our first big disappointment with Wyndham. During our last visit to Williamsburg, our assigned member services contact person had another great deal for us.

We had previously told him we wanted to sell our timeshare with Diamond Corporation as we didn't need the points due to our over 2 million points we had as Platinum VIP presidential reserve. He said Wyndham and this new program that would give us more value in trades than we could get on the open sales market for our Diamond points with the additional purchase of Wyndham points and Wyndham would pick up the maintenance fees. We bought into the deal. Now 6 months later and a new year, we still have our Diamond timeshare and had to pay that maintenance fee and were told there were legal issues with the plan we purchased, but it would take place soon.

We visited N. Myrtle Beach last month and were invited to a "Member Update". During that meeting we inquired about the program that we had bought into in Williamsburg, the member service guy said that Wyndham never had that program and never will. Long story short, he said that we're lied to and that the best remedy for us was to purchase a few more points so Wyndham could credit our full purchase price on the previous sale and he would double the points from the old contract and add the new points and we would be made whole.

When we looked over that contract, we found the points were not as promised and decided to cancel. After numerous phone calls to the "salesman" we decided to make another trip to the office and gave notice to cancel. We were contacted by another supervisor from N Myrtle who told us that Wyndham indeed had the old program, but his sales personnel were to say the program didn't exist. We mailed our cancellation letter first by regular mail and then certified mail. Wyndham will not honor our cancellation as they say we did not notify them in time.

We used to really enjoy going to Wyndham resorts as they were a bit more upscale than some other time shares, but being lied to are making us believe that Wyndham is becoming a valueless, dishonest company. This is certainly something I do not want to burden our children with when we pass on. That is another empty promise made by Wyndham also.

Replies
Different Use Year Rip off
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

ORLANDO, FLORIDA -- I have been an owner since 1996. I've been a "poster child" for Wyndham until now. In or around 04/12, I was told by a VP not a high pressure sales pitch that by buying points at a location with a different use year 06/03 instead of 12/31, we would be able to extend the life of our points by "rolling them over." I've known this guy for over 8 yrs. and he has never steered me wrong. After one year Wyndham claimed they changed their policy and they were combining all use years to 12/31.

I explained that the only reason I bought the points was to have the different use year. They said too bad. I asked for my money and they made me wait over one month for their answer which was no. I am going to go to the Attorney General to file a complaint. A class action suit would be better. Any takers?

Replies
Wyndham Is Very, Very Bad Investment With Bad Motives
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

Many years ago we purchased timeshares on the secondary market on Kauai. A few years later Wyndham purchased some of the Pahio property and managed the rest. They harassed us for years to flip to Wyndham. We finally gave in. But they still will not leave us alone. Each and every year we have to attend an owner presentation. It is just another sales pitch to sell us more points. The properties in most demand are very hard to get into. There are more loopholes and rules to navigate that the most educated are overwhelmed by all the non user friendly language.

DO NOT INVEST IN EITHER WYNDHAM OR IN MARRIOTT PROPERTIES. YOU WILL NEVER GET YOUR MONEY OUT OF THEM. THEY ARE RIPOFFS. The best timeshare property we have found is on Kauai called "the Cliffs." It is extremely budget conscience with a 6 star rating. It is locally managed and awesome. It is a beautiful property for those who want Kauai every year.

Replies
Advertisement
Wyndham do not go to the seminar
By -

To all that have not attended a Wyndham resort seminar: Do NOT go to the seminar it's a waste of time. Wyndham's salesmen are extremely unprofessional. They'd lied to us saying that RCI had merged with Wyndham, and that we need to hear about the updated info at their seminar. And oh, we have a free gift for you to choose from. It's their way to get you hooked and attend their seminar the next morning.

At the seminar, they will rub elbow grease with you. The salesman will tell you all the different resort locations and how their points system works. But do NOT fall for their trick. No salesman will tell you the negatives of their program only the good. And they will lie to you through their teeth about how easy it is to book a trip. In truth there are still restrictions like any other company. They will have 2 salesman pressure sell you their package for $60,000 and drop the price 2 times so you think it's a good deal.

But think about it here, you are being presented a vacation package for $60,000 and they want you to buy it without doing a single research or knowing anything but what they want you to know about the company. Trust us unless if you're a lawyer you're not getting out of the meeting without a being in a heated debate. It's gruesome. The closeness of the neighboring tables works to their advantage so if you say no it won't sound so good. They will go very far to make sure that you buy. Do not give them your credit card they'll ask for it when they talk about down payment. Don't go to the seminar.

Replies
Stay At Bonnet Creek For A Gem Of A Vacation Stay!
By -

LAKE BUENA VISTA, FLORIDA -- My husband and I purchased at Bonnet about three years ago, when we stayed at the Holiday Inn Nikki Bird in Orlando. Our room at Nikki Bird was frightening - unknown papers, towels, and crumpled toilet paper in the door that we presumed once adjoined our room to the next-- plus, a constant, damp smell that took a couple of washes to remove from our clothing; the best? The swimming pool is a treat. Our tour of Bonnet left us impressed enough to purchase. The resort is right inside the Disney gates. Plus, our family was growing, and hotel stays would come out more costly.

We bought at the still-under-construction Bonnet and got sold on the points system. We traveled to other places -- Rhode Island, Atlantic City, Williamsburg -- all Wyndham resorts and all accommodations very comfortable. In February 2008, two full years after buying it, we stayed at our "home" resort for the first time. We loved it! We got a three bedroom unit that was so huge that our kids kept getting lost in it. My parents' room faced one of the pools, and the kids' room faced the lake. When we stepped out of our unit to the hallway near the elevator, we got a first class view of the fireworks at EPCOT.

The resort is truly beautiful, and with tons to do. Our only complaint was the dust from the construction of the new Waldorf resort right on the premises, and a desperate need for a grocery store or something like it. We'd DEFINITELY recommend this resort to anyone who wants beautiful accommodations and first-class treatment. My husband and I don't regret our purchase. We plan on buying some more points.

Replies
Top of Page | Next Page >

Wyndham Vacation Resorts Rating:
Star Half star Empty star Empty star Empty star
1.3 out of 5, based on 11 ratings and
22 reviews & complaints.
Contact Information:
Wyndham Vacation Resorts
P.O. Box 4090
Aberdeen, SD 57401
877-999-3223 (ph)
www.wyndham.com
Compare Hotels/Motels