Preview Review

Next Review

XM Satellite Radio Consumer Reviews

Most Popular | Newest | More Options >
More filter options:
Beware Music Lovers, Don't Do It.
By -

Beware music lovers of XM Radio. Don't Get sucked in because it's almost impossible to get out or cancel your agreement. First of all it's great that they let you try it out when you buy or lease a new vehicle. But if you continue the service with them be sure to read the fine print in the owners package of information. It states that the service will automatically continue unless you call them to say you want to cancel.

What I'm saying is that you get a bill in the mail to renew your plan. You don't want to renew the plan so you toss the renewal application in the trash and everything is OK, right? WRONG. You have to call them or they will continue to charge your credit card. Now in the case where you have changed card companies closing one account and opening a new account they can't automatically charge you. However, they turn it over to their collections people and start to hound you.

If you ask them why they would charge you if you didn't renew your service they will tell you that they don't want to interrupt other customers service who forget and are paying late. They say this keeps XM from having to charge those late customers a reactivation fee in case there account is canceled. So in other words you are subsidizing the late paying customers by tossing that renewal in the recycle bin.

But wait, there's more. I drove a leased vehicle that had to be returned to the lease company by the end of December 2010. But last summer they sent me a special deal... 5 months for $20.00. I got sucked in and took the deal. But having prior knowledge of this company, I called in November and told the customer service representative that I no longer wanted to continue the service. Also I would be turning the vehicle in at the end of December anyway so why would I keep the service.

The representative told me there was no problem and that I didn't need to call them anyway because the special promotions was not subject to automatic renewals. OK fine, but I called and was sure I would not be charged. WRONG! In November, they started charging me which I didn't realize till after Xmas. Recently I have called my card company to protest the charges and also XM to cancel again (calling customer service can also be interesting, don't expect it to be quick and easy).

It's a shame that this is the only choice for music and news lovers. Remember that the two satellite companies merged, you don't have a choice. If you get sucked in because of a weak moment it's like making a deal with the devil. I can't see how these people can avoid a class action suit some day as they are desperately ripping people off to stay alive instead of providing great service and growing the business. I don't usually bother to write something like this, but I think I thought it might help someone else before they get into trouble. Good Luck!

Replies
Advertisement
Lying Representative... They Should Be Ashamed of Themselves
By -

I have been a loyal and very satisfied customer of XM for several years. In July of 2009, I crashed my car, ruining my XM receiver. On August 10th, I called XM to cancel the account. After being transferred several times to several different representatives, I began talking to a woman about why I was cancelling. She explained that XM would be willing to supply me with a new radio and install it for just $10. However, I was looking forward to replacing my radio with an MP3 player so I hesitated to accept the deal.

She told me that I was already paid until Sept. 21 and that she would go ahead and refund the remaining amount but she wouldn't actually cancel my account for 30 days, in case I changed my mind. Sweet, I thought... Foolish me. She never explained that I would have to call back if I choice not to accept the deal so I didn't.

On Sept. 23, I saw my quarterly charge (for Oct. Nov. and Dec.) on my credit card statement so I immediately called XM... Put on hold... The first representative I talked to couldn't help me so she transferred me to someone else. On hold for a long time. He told me he could help me and put me on hold. When he came back, he said that my account was cancelled as of today meaning I had PAID for the service from Sept. 10 (30 days after the offer of 30 Free Days) to Sept. 23. even though I didn't even have an actual working radio and was already told that I was refunded that money!

I asked to talk to a manager. Put on hold. She was able to pull up the notes from the phone call conversation that I had with one of her reps in Aug. Apparently they don't record every conversation and apparently they don't write down everything you say and everything that they say. She didn't write down that she had offered me a free month so not only was I paying for the 10 days in September that I shouldn't have been, I was paying for the 30 days of "Free Service." She wouldn't refund my credit card, she would just credit my account for the $20. My account? What account, I just cancelled my account?

This is ridiculous and not a very nice way to run your business. They need to have a little more scrutiny over what their representatives say and/or represent to their customers and how the reps record it. I'm not mad about the $20 (well actually yes I am), I'm also mad that I was lied to and that a month later, the manager wouldn't acknowledge that one of her employees made a mistake and thus compensate me for her mistake. I just think it is a horrible way to treat a past/possible future customer.

I'm a manager, as well, and when it comes to dealing with unhappy customers who are going to stop recommending my company - the customer is ALWAYS right especially when it is over $20. I just wanted to give everyone a fair warning that you can't believe everything they say to you on the phone. It was a pretty unethical thing, or maybe just a simple mistake on the rep's part, to do.

Replies
How to get your money back from XM when improperly charged
By -

I sent the following letter to XM Radio, requesting removal of a charge they applied that I did not authorize. Not only did I send it to the email address XM says to send to on their website (listercare@xmradio.com) but I looked up who the senior management was at XM/Sirius (CEO, COO, Sales/Mktg SVP, etc.) and found that the logic XM/Sirius uses in their email system is first letter of first name followed by entire last name and sent the letter to both @xmradio.com and @siriusradio.com for each name. The @xmradio.com emails were returned unsent but the @siriusradio.com went through!

This morning I received a call from XM Corporate indicating they got my email and completely removed the charge from my account and sent an email confirmation to me as proof (upon my request. I figured I'd post this to help the MANY people I see are having similar issues and feel there's no possible solution. Here's the letter I sent:

To Whom It May Concern:

Three years ago I signed up (over the phone) for a 3-year subscription for both of my cars (radio ID's: ** and **), paying in advance. My 3 year commitment expired and I was debating on whether to renew but had not decided yet. Today I received 2 invoices for $34.05, indicating a past due amount. I called your customer service to understand what the charge was for and was told that because I did not call to cancel my 3-year subscription, it automatically renewed and was shut off because of non-payment. I was told that it was my responsibility to go to your website to understand the terms and conditions which indicate I needed to call to cancel.

I am disputing the charge and would like it removed from my account and not sent to collection, in that I never signed nor agreed to an automatic renewal. I signed for a 3-year plan and expected that at the end of my commitment I would not have service if I did not renew. No different than a magazine subscription. I asked to get escalated to a supervisor (Will -employee #**), who told me that he was the farthest I could escalate to and that I should've gone on your website to be familiar with a term and condition that required me to physically call to cancel my subscription.

When I asked/told him how people would be expected to do that if they did not have internet or a working computer, he told me I/they would need to go to the library to access your website. When I asked for a call back from his manager, he told me it was unlikely I'd get a call. I am outraged that this has happened and planned to re-subscribe in due time but have serious doubt about it now learning that this is how you treat a customer who had faith to sign and pay for 3 years in advance. I would greatly appreciate it if you would acknowledge removal of this charge, in that I do not want to have to deal with collection disputes and other time consuming/costly effort to defend myself.

After Googling to see if there was anyone who had this same problem and how they got it resolved, I was appalled to find this is a BIG issue and not uncommon. Please prove them wrong and waive this charge. I hope this has been helpful to you! Good luck!

Replies
Billed and Billed Again
By -

I had XM Radio in my Honda Ridgeline for about 4 years. I decided I could use the money for other things, so I decided to discontinue my service. I called and cancelled the XM in my vehicle. They said fine, they would and I thought that would be the end of it. That month I got my CC statement and there was a charge of $163.65 for 1 year subscription to XM. I called and said I did not authorize any charges and I had cancelled XM the month previous. The XM CS person told me since I had agreed to pay for XM with my CC previously that meant I "automatically" agreed to auto-renew with my CC in the future.

I told them I no longer wanted XM and to cancel my account and to refund my money. I was transferred to the service cancellation dept., where they offered me a $77 a year deal and, being an idiot, I agreed to it. But, I told them I wanted to get the refund on my CC, I no longer wanted them to charge my CC, and wanted to get a paper invoice for the $77 a year deal. They said that would not be a problem and they would take care of it. When I got my next CC statement, I say they credited my account on June 15 of '09, the $163.65, but then applied a charge of $66.60 to my account 2 days later.

In the mean time I got a bill of $88 and some change for the $77 plus royalty fee in the mail. I called them and asked about the $66.60, was told it was for a year of XM (even though that wasn't even the right amount), and I told them I got a paper invoice for the year subscription... and that I was not paying the paper invoice until I got a refund for the $66.60 that showed up on my CC... which was an unauthorized charge to boot.

From June of '09 through Oct. of '09, I fought with them to get my refund. I called them at a least a dozen times and literally spent hours on the phone with them...all to no avail...they just would not refund the money. I kept being told the refund would be processed in 72 hours or that it was "in suspension" and they couldn't process it. I got a different story every time I called them. To make matters worse, they sent the paper invoice amount to collections and I started getting hounded by collection company calls.

Finally in Oct. of '09 I disputed the charge with my CC company and I got my money back. Once I got confirmation from my CC company I was going to be getting my money back, I called XM and told them, in no uncertain terms, that I wanted my account cancelled and never to be contacted by XM again. About a month later I got a check from XM for $66.60 and then, two days later, I got a notice from a collection agency, saying I owed XM $66.60!!! I took the check I got from XM and paid the collection agency. Little did they know I paid them with their own money! Haha!

I thought that was the end of it... but no... in Feb. of 11 I started getting bills from XM saying I had signed up for auto renewal and I owed them $40 for 3 months of XM. I called and tried to get it straightened out, but they contend I never cancelled my account, I had XM all the way through until Jan of '11, and I owed them for 3 months of service.

I tried to work something out with them, but they refused to budge on it, so I told them they could stick the $40 where the sun don't shine... because I cancelled my account over a year and 1/2 ago... and there was no way on God's green Earth they were getting a ** penny out of me for something I never received. Well, just recently I got another bill from a collection agency. I have to figure out how to dispute this... I'd rather pay a lawyer a $1000 then give XM one more GD red cent of my money!!!

Replies
Advertisement
Unable to Cancel XM Sirius Radio Subscription
By -

NEW YORK, NEW YORK -- With a major difference, my experience is very similar to that of "con380" posted on 9/2/2010 on this site. Contrary to what con380 was told, that even phone calls to cancel your account does not work. At this point it is not obvious to me what will. Here is my situation in capsule - considering the new economic realities, my XM Satellite Radio yearly subscription was on the list of things to cancel. My renewal date was 12/06/2010 - Fees of approximately $160 are collected in advance/charged to your credit card.

On 10/04/2010 I called XM at 877-967-4672 and talked to **, one of their representatives. Explained to him why I was calling and asked him to do two things for me: (1) To remove my credit card # from their database (had been set up for automatic updates); and, (2) to cancel my account immediately. I told him I did not plan to renew my subscription for the foreseeable future due to economic hardship. He was polite and complied with my requests. We ended the call by giving me confirmation # for the cancellation (which I still have in my records).

As expected, early in December 2010 my XM Radio service became unavailable. Surprisingly, on January 24, 2011, I received an email from XM Radio stating I had till February 2011 to take care of the balance in my account (fees for an additional year of subscription). I immediately called XM customer service again at 877-967-4672 and this time was connected to **. I explained the content of their email and the reason for my surprise. I gave her my cancellation confirmation number from the previous conversation in November 2010. She could not find the number.

I explained that as far as I was concerned my account had been closed. If not, would she please close it now? Cherry gave confirmation # for the cancellation and our conversation ended. I was happy that the matter was finally taken care off. Much to my surprise, on the evening of 01/28/2011, I got a call from XM radio (**, ** this time) wanting to know when I would take care of the balance in my account.

I expressed my surprise and asked I could review the background with him. He said, did I mind if our conversation was recorded -- so that he could play it back for his managers - he suggested that the reason for my out of ordinary experience was that I had not gone through the right channels for the cancellation. I agreed and proceeded to review the background - albeit that I was getting very angry having to spend so much time with this simple request.

Kris said for me to stay online while he had his manager listen to the recording of our conversation. Then the manager will come on the line to resolve the issue. Five to ten minutes later another representative came on to ask me if I was ready to settle my balance! Does anyone to know how to cancel an XM radio account? I am mad as hell and will do all that I can punish XM Radio for treating me this way.

Replies
Bait and Switch and Incompetent Customer Service
By -

I received a teaser offer in the mail to rejoin XM at the "incredible rate" of 5 months for $20. Not a bad offer, so I stupidly got on the phone for the 45 minutes it took to re-initiate service (It took this long to cancel, so not sure why I thought it would be any better on start-up.).

The representative, "Brynn **" informed me of a new $3.50 "royalty fee" on top of the $20. I wasn't happy about the "new fees" but went ahead anyway. What appears on my CC a few weeks later was for $35+ to which I just logged a dispute with my credit card company for the difference between what appeared on my card and what I was quoted by the XM representative. I thought the matter was closed.

XM sends me an invoice, and several invoices thereafter, for this difference of $14 and some odd dollars! Not wanting to have another 45 minute conversation, I sent them a note from their "customer care" portal and the thread of ridiculous conversations got me nowhere near solving the problem. And now they have terminated my service BEFORE the 5 months that I had originally paid for has even lapsed!! How do you get decent service from this company without spending 45 minutes on the phone??

I've posted this saga here http://www.my3cents.com/showReview.cgi?id=84289 and will post it in other consumer forums so that others like me aren't lured into this ridiculous mess. Reviewers Note: They actually responded thru this email (below) and it appears to be the first time my issue has actually be reviewed. Looks promising but I am skeptical... Will update this review with the outcome.

XM on 8/5:

"Dear Mr. **,
Thank you for contacting XM. We apologize for the inconvenience caused. We are glad to assist you. In response to your email, we reviewed your account and record indicates that the last payment we received from you was last April 30, 2010 in the amount of $23.05. We made an adjustment on your account and to compensate the inconvenience caused, we already waived the balance on your account in the amount of $42.47.

Your service will continue until January 29, 2011 and rest assured that you have a zero balance on your account. If we can be of further assistance, please feel free to send an additional email or you may contact a Listener Care Representative directly at 1-800-XM RADIO (800-967-2346).
Thank you, Aldrin".

Replies
Worst Company Ever!
By -

I had been a customer of XM Satellite radio for approximately 2 yrs. When my subscription expired at the end of June I wasn't aware it had expired until I was not able to get a signal & called to have the signal resent. I called them 2 different days attempting to get a signal with no luck. On the 3rd day I was told that my subscription had expired at the end of June (this call was placed on the 21st of July) & through the double talk & broken English, I was able to decipher that I now owed them $20.75 for the time they allowed my service to run over before they decided to interrupt my service.

The operator attempted to get me to renew my subscription for 3 months for around $45.00. I told her that I had been on a yearly plan & asked how much that was. I have paid approximately $180.00 a year for the past 2 yrs. & was not expecting to hear that my grand total would now be $309.55. I told her not to charge anything to my account at this time as I wanted to confer with my wife to see how much she had originally paid for the service. She stated that my card would not be charged & gave me a reference number & we disconnected.

Upon speaking to my wife, she stated that it should not have been that much & that she would call them & see what she could accomplish. After attempting to haggle with them over the price, she concluded that our lives would not be negatively affected by canceling the subscription, which I wholeheartedly supported. I found out a few days later that XM had charged my credit/debit card for the $20.75 that I told the operator not to charge but that they had further charged the $309.55 for the one year subscription that we clearly stated we had no interest in.

I understand that there may have been a bit of a language barrier between myself & XM's operators, but when a customer states "I want to go ahead & cancel my account, I do not authorize any further transactions on my credit card" & they charge it anyway, that is just plain illegal. The other 3 cents I have about this situation is against our judicial system who fails to protect its people from corporate predators like XM. If an individual had taken my credit card information & charged $309.55 they would be prosecuted for Credit Card abuse in Texas.

Since XM has corporate lawyers that can run the prosecutors in circles for God knows how long, the judicial system writes it off as a civil matter, because they are either simply too lazy or too afraid to go after the corporations. I was a police officer for 9 yrs. & have built & testified & worked with prosecutors on cases like this, so I do have some "behind the scenes" knowledge about what goes on behind the closed doors of the Judicial System.

Replies
Customer Service and Billing
By -

I am very upset with XM Radio. Two months in a row now they have overcharged my account. In August my monthly fee went up due to the royalty charge, which by the way was never notified about. When I called about the overcharge in August, the girl I spoke with told me how very sorry she was that I was never notified and that she would credit the overcharge back to my account and then offered me a deal that if I signed up again for another year that I would only pay $12.80 per month. I said, "O. K. that sounds good." Thought all was taken care of... Wrong.

My September payment time rolled around and I was checking my bank account online and what - to my surprise I find a charge on my account for $128.00. That was 3 days ago. I called right away to get this reversed and credited back to my checking account. The woman I spoke with said her name was Justine and could help me. She offered me a free month for the inconvenience and gave me a reference number for that. She then proceeded to process the credit to my checking account.

I asked her how long it would take to go back into my account and she said it would be credited back to my account by Friday. I told her that I hoped so because I had a bill that was out there that was part of the money that had taken out of the account. (There is a bit of difference between $12.80 and $128.00.) She said no problem and that she was processing the credit as we spoke and also gave me a conformation number for that and said the money should be back into my account by Friday. Well, here it is Friday. I checked my account and NO CREDIT. SURPRISE, SURPRISE.

Oh, by the way, the check I had told Justine about went through my bank as of last night, and due to the money not being all there, I now have a $25.00 Returned check fee!!! I called XM Radio immediately and spoke to a representative by the name of Arme. After I told her about my call to them 3 days ago and what was supposed to happen, she proceeded to tell me that the person I spoke with before never processed the credit. I told her that she gave me a confirmatin number. I gave Arme the number and she proceeded to tell me that there was no such number. I said, "So she lied to me!"

Arme said she was going to process the credit herself and then she gave me a confirmation number. I asked to speak with a supervisor several times and was put on hold several times. Each time Arme came back on the line I was told the supervisors were very busy. I asked about another number I could call and she said that there was only the one I just called. I asked for a location that I could write to and she told me that I would have to send it to South East Asia.

At this point I am about ready to boil over. I can not believe a business can be run this way and continue to stay in business. I am considering canceling my subscription and writing to the BBB and FCC concerning their business practices. This is not right and from the majority of comments I have seen on here, there are a lot of unhappy customers.

Replies
Advertisement
The Worst Liars I Have Ever Talked To.
By -

I called XM over the online radio and since my mom had an account already on her Hyundai so I thought we could get it free. I was wrong then the lady said that we are having a promotion and that you could have a $200 dollar radio for $19.99 and it was the SkyFi3. I thought it was a good deal and so I listened and thought I got all the information I didn't.

She said, "Sorry but we don't have that in stock. That "We sold the last one but I can give you an express EZ for $9.99." Well I thought wow that was a really good deal and then she said, "You have to have a three month subscription for $8.95 and we will not charge you for activation or shipping" so I said, "OK" and I gave her my card number. She said, "We are sorry for the long wait on getting your code for the order that you purchased and I will call back." And she never did.

I got a hold of a new person and this time he said that it didn't go through. I said, "What do you mean" and he said, "I will reorder it for you except this time amazingly the SkyFi3 was back in stock" and I said, "OK that was fine" because it had more than the Xpress EZ and then he said that the bill was $14.99 for the activation, $15.00 for the shipping, $8.95 for the 3 year subscription per a month, and then I paid $19.99 for the radio. I told him that it wasn't $55.98 that the lady said it was blah blah blah. I called the supervisor and she said OK we will get rid of all the fees and will put them as credits in your account so I said, "OK I will take it." Big mistake.

When I got it, it didn't even work so I waited on then and waited for someone to answer so then I received another radio the Xpress EZ that I didn't want so I told them to cancel the SkyFi3 and moved it over to the Xpress EZ and they said it wouldn't be no charge. I got a statement saying I owed a lot of money and I called them to find out what happened and they said we owed this amount even though we paid for everything before we got it.

I told the lady that "If you didn't straighten this out" that I will get a lawyer and sue their asses then she said, "Sir, sir we aren't going to do anything." I told her that "You will take this to a collection agency and I will be the first one to it before you cost my mom her credit rating and make it worse." She said that "We are transferring to a manager" and finally got everything straightened out.

Now we sent in the SkyFi3 for our money back and yet we still never received our check or credit whatever they were planning so now I have to call them and UPS to find out what happened tomorrow because it is too late here. But if I don't get my money back then I will be the one to file a class action lawsuit and you all will be included.

Replies
No Response to My Letter - Sound Familiar?
By -

I write you this evening after having been put on hold by your XM associates for a total of 109 minutes. I have three XM radios. I have been a subscriber of yours for more than seven years. I recently lost my job and one of my cars. I, therefore, no longer need one of the three radios. The ID of the one I want cancelled is **.

I have spoken with no fewer than 8 of your associates this evening. After explaining my wishes they said they could not take care of it and would have to transfer me. Each time I was transferred and being on hold each time for 15 minutes or more, I told them I wanted to cancel one of the three radios I was disconnected. I finally wanted to speak with supervisors and was told there would be a minimum wait of 30 minutes.

When I complained to one of your associates that XM had run this 100+ minutes from my cellphone account, she told me I had dialed a toll-free number. Someone needs to explain to her toll-free numbers do not make the call free when using a cellphone. Because I have lost my job I now have a small cellphone plan, therefore each of those minutes will cost me 25 cents (times 110). You can do the math.

I want this one radio cancelled immediately (effective June 1, 2009) and for my nearly two hours of my time, suffering with horrible customer service people, some of whom I could not understand due to their location in India, as well as the over $25.00 in cell phone costs, I am insisting on one free month of service for the remaining two radios.

I also, under the circumstances, refuse to pay any cancellation fee for any reason, including this one radio not having been in service for a year. Again, I have been a customer of yours for over seven years. I believe this is the least you can do to even come close to calling it respectful, respectable and reasonable customer service.

Also, while I have your attention, your recent marriage with Sirius is the worst thing you have done since I began my subscription. We have lost the weather channel, you are now combining cities (which make no sense together) on your traffic and weather channels, the morning “team” on “Nashville” channel 11 is horrendous – They are no better than a local small-market country station and now we have to listen to all the commercials in addition to the poor product?

So convince me why we listeners should have to pay for that when it's available anywhere in the country. The announcers on the seventies channel are a joke. They read this terrible attempt at humor and it's laughable, but not with them. To demonstrate how out of touch you are with your programming, why could you possibly believe the “Open-Road” Channel (now Road dog) should have promos for Martha Stewart! On a trucker's station???

When I first bought into your company the big deal was commercial-free music. It is anything but that today. There are commercials all throughout your programming not to mention these “mini-sermons” (religion) we are forced to listen to. Just what are you trying to accomplish? Who do you believe your audience is? How much more do you think your listeners, your customers can take?

I could go on but XM has taken up enough of my time tonight. I plan to not send another dime until I receive a positive response from your offices with regard to my request and to my comments about the product. I thank you for your time and await your response.

Replies
Top of Page | Next Page >

XM Satellite Radio Rating:
Star Empty star Empty star Empty star Empty star
1.0 out of 5, based on 1 ratings and
120 reviews & complaints.
Contact Information:
XM Satellite Radio
1500 Eckington Place NE
Washington, DC 20002-2194
866-962-2557 (ph)
202-380-4500 (fax)
www.xmradio.com
Compare Entertainment Companies