[X]
Feedburner count

4
Helpful
Votes

Amerimax Home Products Inc Complaint - Quality of Amerimax Galvanized Gutter Guard Screens has declined

Review by trmn8r on 2011-06-12
LANCASTER, PENNSYLVANIA -- I have used this product on my mom's entire house in 2001, and on two levels of my house at different times, in 2002 and 2005. I found the product to be uniformly effective, with perhaps an improvement in the screen coating in 2002 and 2005.

In the past month, I decided to swap the screens I installed in 2005 for vinyl screens I installed on a newly constructed garage with a steep pitched roof, as the vinyl were not draining properly. That process went without incident and fixed the drainage issue, except I needed 3 additional 3' long screens to complete the garage. I was thrilled to see Home Depot still handled them.

When I got back up on the roof to install them, I found that the mounting clips would not latch onto the gutter the way the 20 pieces I had already moved (manufactured in 2005) from the house had. I immediately noticed that the clips sprang open more easily, and that the dimples were not gripping the lip of the gutter. Thus, the screens could not be attached to the gutter on any of the three new pieces.

I looked at the mounting clips of the 2005 units, and they had "0805" stamped in them. I saw "0502" on the ones purchased in 2002. The mounting clips on the new pieces had no date.

I called Amerimax customer service, and a very nice gentleman listened to my problem and said he would send me a package of clips to see if that corrected the problem.

Attached is a picture comparing a clip I was sent (left) and a clip from one of the new screens (right). I immediately noticed a difference in the finish - the replacement looks to be stainless, as it should, while the purchased one does not. It is dated 2010, as the 2002 and 2005 units are. The dimples that grip the gutter are well formed, whereas those on the purchased one are weakly struck.

I haven't even installed these yet, but I am very confident just in handling the replacements that were sent that they will work. My concern is that Home Depots may have hundreds or thousands of these units (mine told me they had 200 in stock), and people will purchase and attempt to install them. In my opinion, it is a complete waste of time to do so. They simply will not stay where they are put with wind/rain. In fact, there is exactly such a complaint on Amazon by one such unhappy customer.

I hope that you will consider an effort to improve the quality control of this item. It appears the correct clips are still being made, and you should make sure that all the screens get them.
Comments:5 Replies - Latest reply on 2011-06-13
Posted by Alain on 2011-06-13:
Great review. Excellent detail and research, Trmn8r! This is the type of review that will save someone out there some time and effort.
Posted by Venice09 on 2011-06-13:
Maybe they only send the good clips out to people who complain? That's a lousy way to cut corners, not to mention the waste of time and energy.

Very helpful review.
Posted by jktshff1 on 2011-06-13:
+10
Posted by Churro on 2011-06-13:
Sounds like great customer service to me. Shouldn't this be a compliment rather than a complaint?
Posted by trmn8r on 2011-06-13:
Thanks Alain. My "research" was out of necessity! (:

Your Name:
(displayed with your comment)
Your E-mail:
(required)

Your Experience/Advice:
Check spelling


By clicking submit you agree that you have read and accept the Terms of Service & Privacy Policy.


Note: All comments are reviewed by a moderator before being published. Please be sure to read our guidelines before commenting.