4
Helpful
Votes

Paradise Coach - Used Motor Homes, Portland, OR Complaint - Underhanded & Dishonest

Review by Christian Manager on 2011-06-15
SHERWOOD, OREGON -- My name is Kurt Enge, and I am the Manager of Aamco Transmission in Tigard, Oregon. I am a Christian man and feel it is my personnal duty to report that Paradise Coach in Sherwood - Tigard, Oregon, recently brought in a motorhome that they had ALREADY SOLD, because the transmission was leaking fluid. The Manager of Paradise Coach, Jeff ?, stated that they had "Cheap Sold" it because the bank note on it was coming due.

We found that the transmission was leaking from multiple areas and recommended an inspection for reseal, which requires removal and disassembly of the transmission. At this point, Jeff, asked if there wasn't some cheaper way to make it stop leaking "for now". I explained that this was the only way to stop the leak, so he agreed reluctantly.

Once the transmission was removed and inspected it was found to have internal part damage as well as severely burned clutchs. This unfortunatly made the cost of repair go up. Jeff told me that they didn't have enough profit from the quick sale amount to cover the proper repair, and asked me if I would just "patch it up" for less money. I told him that I would not do something like that and he became upset. About 15 minutes later, Jeff called me back and told me that I should not do anything as he needed some time to make a decision.

Two days later a guy in a pickup truck shows up at my shop and say's he is there to pick up the disassembled transmission. I called Jeff, and he verified that and stated that he was going to have a mechanic buddy of his look it over. A few days go by and the transmission is brought back to my shop, assembled and ready to be installed, which I have no choice but to do, because this 30+ foot motorhome is stuck in front of my shop. This really didn't set well with me, because I know in my heart that whatever sort of repair that he had done was less than what should have been done to make it right.

As if that wasn't enough from Jeff at Paradise Coach, he has the nerve to write a review of my shop that say's I tried to overcharge him. Like he is somehow a poor victim in all this. The real victim is the people that bought the motorhome, in good faith, and will likely have a real bad experience out in the middle of nowhere....
Comments:9 Replies - Latest reply on 2011-10-19
Posted by The Pauper of the Surf on 2011-06-15:
Thanks for sharing your experience, Kurt!
Posted by jktshff1 on 2011-06-15:
a link to his review??? we very seldom get a chance to see "the other side". Good Review
Posted by trmn8r on 2011-06-15:
I'm sure stuff like what Jeff does happens very often. Unfortunately.

I find it odd that Jeff went public with a complaint, given what he was hoping to accomplish behind the scenes.
Posted by Anonymous on 2011-06-15:
That is terrible. Thanks for sharing this.
Posted by Slimster on 2011-06-15:
I believe the sheer SIZE of this vehicle is what is making people shake their heads in disbelief. Fact of the matter, this kind of thing goes on in dealerships across america everyday when selling used cars. Often consumers are less than up front when they trade in their own car, knowing what "problems" they've had to live with over the years - rightfully estimating that the dealer will give them even less for their trade if they disclose what might be wrong. Sure, a dealership can do their 32 point inspection, blah blah blah, to convince the next poor sap the car is road-worthy, but come on now, is it really any different than what the guy with the RV did? Buying a car sux, owning a car sux, and selling them isn't much different. It's all BUYER BEWARE or however that funny little french saying goes. Anyone who DOESN'T have an independent mechanic/shop at least give a used vehicle a cursory inspection is inviting trouble - willingly so, in this tough economy. 'nuff said.
Posted by Slimjim on 2011-06-15:
As I was reading this, i couldn't help but feel how unusual it was to see someone write such a complaint towards another who gave THEM business. Then at the end, I see where apparently Jeff already opened the flood gates by doing Kurt a dirty first. Touche
Posted by Anonymous on 2011-06-15:
I'm really glad to hear that as a Christian man, you reported this. Hopefully the owners of the motorhome will read this.
Posted by jktshff1 on 2011-06-15:
I'm not sure what being Christian has to do with this..there are honest Jews, Muslims, Mormons, etc out there.
Posted by paradisecoach on 2011-10-19:
This is such bologna, I have read the coments and the CHRISTIANS post on my business. This all happened after he ripped me off and I left hime a bad review. Then he threatened me that if I didnt retract my bad review of TIGARD AAMCO Transmissions That he would ruin me on the internet. So dont believe everything you read.
If you reall want to see how I do bussiness. Check my eBay profile over 600 and 100 percent.
Ill bet Tigard AAmco couldnt do that for over 10 years !

Your Name:
(displayed with your comment)
Your E-mail:
(required)

Your Experience/Advice:
Check spelling


By clicking submit you agree that you have read and accept the Terms of Service & Privacy Policy.


Note: All comments are reviewed by a moderator before being published. Please be sure to read our guidelines before commenting.