3
Helpful
Votes

Burger King Colorado Springs, Filmore St. location Complaint - Breakfast - Manager refused to to turn the Breakfast board around at 6am

Review by alanmctacios3 on 2011-06-17
At approx. 6am I went to the drive thru only to see the menu displaying burgers. At 6am I would to expect to see breakfast. When I let the manager know, he told me he couldn't turn it around. So, I let him know that I wasn't interested in any hamburgers in the morning. I ended up spending my money across the street at Mc D's. Customer service is seriously a decision point I use when I spend my money, and I really don't think I will spend my money at any Burger King if this I their standard for customer service. At 6am, I don't think the public is interested in hamburgers and fries. Mcdonalds however has their breakfast board and that will be where I get my breakfast from here on out.

If this msg gets to somebody at BK, I hope they will adjust their breakfast hours, and that MGR at that store.
Comments:49 Replies - Latest reply on 2011-07-18
Posted by Ben There on 2011-06-17:
I am confused... were they selling breakfast items at the time, but the menu board was simply stuck on the lunch and dinner menu, or had they started selling lunch hours early?
Posted by Anonymous on 2011-06-17:
Ben - "Breakfast - Manager refused to to turn the Breakfast board around at 6am".
Posted by Nohandle on 2011-06-17:
I believe, according to the OP, the Manager stated: He couldn't turn it around, not that he refused to. CORRECTION..The OP said both. Who knows what the case was.
Posted by Venice09 on 2011-06-17:
They must have been serving breakfast at 6am, and I can understand wanting to see the menu. But if the manager *couldn't* turn it around for whatever reason, I wouldn't let that stop me from going back. Did the manager give any explanation at all for not displaying the breakfast menu?
Posted by Churro on 2011-06-17:
Who cares why the manager couldn't change the menu. The fact is this BK lost a customer. It's just that simple.

Awesome review!
Posted by Venice09 on 2011-06-17:
I think it matters why the manager couldn't change the menu. If there was something preventing him from doing it, I would have asked if the breakfast menu was displayed inside and ordered that way. If he just refused to display the breakfast menu, I too would have left.
Posted by trmn8r on 2011-06-17:
I don't think there is enough information here to suss out what happened and why (other than the manager couldn't display breakfast menu items).

How about the last sentence, asking BK to adjust their breakfast hours. How does that figure into the mix?
Posted by Venice09 on 2011-06-17:
I think the OP wants people to believe that BK was serving hamburgers at 6am, but that is highly unlikely.
Posted by Churro on 2011-06-17:
If I go to a restaurant and they can't show me a menu without me jumping through hoops then I'm leaving. There's nothing silly about that. There is way too much competition for the morning drive-thru buck to let a little thing like laziness cost you some business. This manager probably needs to be disciplined or demoted back to the fryer.
Posted by Passing Through on 2011-06-17:
Sounds like you made your decision on how you plan to handle this situation. Good for you! Don't let anyone tell you otherwise
Posted by Ben There on 2011-06-17:
If the board was broken, what was the manager to do?
Posted by Venice09 on 2011-06-17:
There is no way of telling from the review why the board wasn't changed or if it was a matter of laziness.
Posted by SteveWiginowski on 2011-06-17:
It certainly sounds like the board was broken since the manager said he couldn't turn the board around. Somehow the OP converted that into that the manager refused to and that the BK was going to serve lunch/dinner instead of breakfast.
Posted by Churro on 2011-06-17:
Burger Kind had no Breakfast Board – Burger King got fired by the OP.

McDonalds has the Breakfast Board -- McDonald's gets the OP’s sales. The Where, why and how really don't matter. This birdie has flown

As Sam Walton always said, 'The customer is always right' and this review demonstrates perfectly what Sam was talking about.
Posted by Venice09 on 2011-06-17:
It's not wise to cut off your nose to spite your face. If the OP prefers BK, why write them off just because the breakfast board was broken? What will the OP do if the board breaks at McDonald's? Go back to BK?.. haha
Posted by SteveWiginowski on 2011-06-17:
The customer certainly is entitled to decide where they want to go. I think what people are trying to say is that you shouldn't blame someone for something that can't be controlled.

If a tree fell down and knocked out the power of one side of the street (the side with BK so that it couldn't open for a couple of days), would it be fair to write a complaint about how BK isn't open because they have no power?
Posted by Anonymous on 2011-06-17:
As long as they were serving breakfast at that hour I'd still order.
Posted by Venice09 on 2011-06-17:
I would have gone inside and ordered from that menu.
Posted by Churro on 2011-06-17:
I'd have to have a menu board because I've never eaten breakfast at BK so without one I'd be lost on what to order. I guess they serve sausage biscuits and some from of pulverized bite sized shaped fried potato.

Life's too short to mess with a lazy manager to sick in their own obesity to sashay out to the menu board on a summer’s morning when I can just pull up to Sonic, America's Drive-In, where they always serve the full menu. Order anything you want any time of day. Simple. I'll be honest in my unbiased opinion there's no better FF breakfast item then the Super Sonic Breakfast burrito. And that's a fact.
Posted by Anonymous on 2011-06-17:
If the manager couldn't turn the board around, the manager should have expanded..It's stuck, locked, etc, but if you know what you want or need to know what's on the menu, I'd be happy to tell you..bet this would have been a compliment instead had that been the scenario.

OP, I'm with you...I spend my money where customer service still exists. Too bad you aren't a regular, this would have at least 25 helpfuls by now..good review.
Posted by MRM on 2011-06-17:
How rude that the manager refused to change the menu! All the manager had to do push a button to turn the board.
Posted by Venice09 on 2011-06-17:
I would need a menu, too, because the only fast food breakfast item I know is Egg McMuffin.

It's not fair to assume the manager is lazy, sick or obese, or that he needs to be disciplined or demoted. Otherwise it would be fair to assume the OP is too lazy, sick and obese to go inside. I would never do that.
Posted by Churro on 2011-06-17:
You're right about that JC. The popular kids get all the helpful votes. That's why I quit posting reviews because quite frankly I got tired of the 'who you are not what you post' mentality. I wish I had a star so I could vote your comment helpful because JC you make a lot of sense on this one.
Posted by Venice09 on 2011-06-17:
Just, I'm not so sure the manager didn't offer an explanation. I don't think the OP wanted to hear it. Just speculating, of course.
Posted by Churro on 2011-06-17:
If I had to speculate I'd say the manager was too busy playing angry birds on his phone to give a fiddler's fart about his/her customers.
Posted by SteveWiginowski on 2011-06-17:
If the manager came out and said that he refused to change the board, then I certainly would've voted this as a helpful review. The OP stated that the manager said he was unable to change the board, though. It's not about who you are, it's about what you post.
Posted by Churro on 2011-06-17:
Spin it all you want but this manager had a customer in sight with money in hand ready to buy some BK "food" and the manager lost the customer to McDonald's. The 'why' doesn't matter. The manager failed. It's just that simple.
Posted by Anonymous on 2011-06-17:
When the OP told the manager he wasn't interested in spending his money at BK, it appears that the manager had no response, as he just didn't care. Just speculating as well.

I sure hope the OP comes back and clarifies whether it was couldn't or wouldn't.

Posted by SteveWiginowski on 2011-06-17:
The why is very important. If I go to a Toy's R Us an hour before closing on Christmas Eve and can't find the most popular toys that I want to buy, would it be fair to complain that they don't have the products? I would say no, although you may think that things run perfectly everywhere, so it would be a valid complaint. In a perfect world, there is an endless supply and nothing ever goes wrong. In that perfect world, half of us wouldn't have jobs though. It's just how things are.
Posted by Churro on 2011-06-17:
When Sears was falling from the top of the retail empire their bean counters and corproate smart-boys had a whole lot of "why's". Now they're owned by K-mart. In business the "why's" never matter. The only thing that matters is the money which this manager watched go across the street to McDonald's.
Posted by Anonymous on 2011-06-17:
Great review +1009. Ghostdoc agrees.
Posted by SteveWiginowski on 2011-06-17:
The money went across the street. Why? Because of a sign that wouldn't change to breakfast. Why? Because it wasn't working. What can be done to correct this? Get someone to fix the sign so that it can change.

If I'm running a business, I'd be mad if we lost customers, I'd want to know why, and how to prevent it. The "why" is very very important. If the "why" isn't getting addressed, then there's an issue.
Posted by Anonymous on 2011-06-17:
If it's fair to assume the OP didn't like the answer he was given, or that it can't be voted helpful because the OP chose to use 'couldn't' vs. 'wouldn't,' than isn't it also fair to assume that the manager just didn't want provide good customer service and didn't care that the OP took his money elsewhere? It doesn't matter why he couldn't/wouldn't turn the breakfast sign on, what matters is that his customer service skills were so lacking that a customer chose to leave his premises and go elsewhere.

Posted by SteveWiginowski on 2011-06-17:
I don't believe it's fair to assume that the manager just didn't want to provide good customer service and didn't care that the OP took his money somewhere else. The customer left (it seems) because he saw lunch/dinner menu instead of the breakfast menu, not because of the answer he was given.
Posted by Venice09 on 2011-06-17:
I'm not convinced the manager's customer service skills were lacking. The review leads me to believe that it's more likely the OP was annoyed and didn't want to hear an explanation. I suppose the manager could have read the entire menu to the OP through the speaker, but wouldn't it had been easier to just do inside?
Posted by Churro on 2011-06-17:
The customer left because the manager failed to rectify a simple situation. How hard is it to appease somebody who wants nothing more than to see a menu.

I swear if somebody posted a complaint about getting shot in the face for asking to use the bathroom the comments would center around the OP not going number one before leaving the house.
Posted by Skye on 2011-06-17:
OP, I don't blame you for going across to McDonalds. The manager should have told you why he could not turn the menu side down, instead of justing tell you he could not do it. He needs to brush up on his customer service skills. You could also share this with corporate. Maybe they can send someone to fix the menu sign, so that others do not have the same problem you had.

Burger King Corporation
5505 Blue Lagoon Drive
Miami, Florida 33126

Corporate Headquarters
(305) 378-3000

Consumer Relations
(305) 378-3535

Posted by Anonymous on 2011-06-17:
If there was a problem with the board they could of put a sign up saying it was out of order.
Posted by Anonymous on 2011-06-17:
And I don't believe it's fair to assume the customer left because he saw the lunch/dinner menu. I think he left because of the answer he was given..or in other words, lack of customer service.
Posted by Skye on 2011-06-17:
Exactly wally. But I guess nobody can figure that out over at BK.
Posted by Venice09 on 2011-06-17:
If the board didn't work, how should the manager have rectified the situation?
Posted by Anonymous on 2011-06-17:
Venice, simple - "I'm sorry but I'm unable to get the breakfast menu turned around right now. Do you know which breakfast item you would like or would you like me to let you know what is on our breakfast menu this morning?"

Posted by SteveWiginowski on 2011-06-17:
JC, in the OP, it says "Mcdonalds however has their breakfast board and that will be where I get my breakfast from here on out." Which is why I think what board menu is up on display is the issue.

Wally, that's something that sounds like it should have been done. Excellent answer!

I still think that the OP wouldn't have stayed at the BK though, since the board wouldn't have shown the breakfast menu.
Posted by Venice09 on 2011-06-17:
We don't know exactly what the manager said. If the OP knew which breakfast item he wanted, he would have just ordered without the menu. And I can honestly say I wouldn't blame the manager for not offering to read the menu to the OP through the speaker.
Posted by Churro on 2011-06-17:
I still think if the manager wasn't so distracted by his angry bird obsession he would handled this situation instead of giving McDonald's a customer.
Posted by Anonymous on 2011-06-17:
Venice, by that reasoning, then when I'm at the grocery store and an item doesn't scan, the cashier should be able to set it aside and not let me purchase it...because why should they go above and beyond and call and ask for the price?
Posted by Anonymous on 2011-06-17:
When the manager said he couldn't turn the menu around, maybe it was broken. That doesn't really mean they were not serving any breakfast. I would have ordered what I wanted if I knew the menu, and if not, just gone inside.

I wasn't there so I have nothing to say about how the manager handled it and whether their customer service was lacking. But if you felt that there was an issue with the service level, mentioning it to BK corporate would be the way to go.
Posted by Venice09 on 2011-06-17:
Just, if an item doesn't scan, the cashier has viable options. The UPC can be put in manually or someone can be called for a price check. If in fact the BK menu board was broken and couldn't be changed, I really don't know what a BK employee could have done at that point. Since it was 6am. they might have just opened and discovered the board was broken. They couldn't wave a magic wand and fix it immediately. Assuming the OP was unwilling to go inside, which was an obvious solution, I honestly don't know what the manager could have done. All we have to go on is the review, making it very hard to know exactly what the manager said, but my feeling is that the OP was very annoyed he could not see the breakfast menu and nothing the manager said or did was going to make a difference. It was easier to just go over to McDonalds.

Customer service makes a difference where I spend my money, too, but I would never let one incident at one location (which might have been completely unavoidable) send me to the competition permanently. As I said, what's going to happen when McDonald's inevitably disappoints the OP somewhere down the line? If you let one poor experience cause you to boycott a business, eventually you will have nowhere to go.

I understand why the OP was annoyed. about the menu, but sometimes things happen that can't be predicted or avoided. Unless the customer service at this location was consistently poor in the past, I don't see any reason to never return to any Burger King restaurant in the future.
Posted by dink on 2011-07-18:
I work for burger king and for security reason we are not allowed to go outside and turn the menu board till our first employee comes in. Which is usually at 6am but mine is a 24hr store so i cant answer for that store and i can always tell you what we have on our breakfast menu.

Your Name:
(displayed with your comment)
Your E-mail:
(required)

Your Experience/Advice:
Check spelling


By clicking submit you agree that you have read and accept the Terms of Service & Privacy Policy.


Note: All comments are reviewed by a moderator before being published. Please be sure to read our guidelines before commenting.