[X]
Feedburner count

3
Helpful
Votes

Sketchers. Complaint - Sketcher shape-ups!

Review by daniel410102 on 2011-06-21
OMG! I just saw a commercial advertising those goofy shape-up shoes of your!! What are you trying to do to our youth, hurt them? My daughter is trying to feed her family by working as a waitress, with 3 pins the size of an ink pin, IN EACH HIP to hold her bones together, and now you are after someone elses kids! What is wrong with your thinking! Look at all the injuries from the goofy things and tell me you have their enterest at heart. It is always about money, and that's the ONLY thing you are after. I cry when I see my daughter limping from the pain after having to work so hard with all her pain! It makes me sick to my stomache to think others could have to go through what she has is and will be going through for the rest of her sweet life. I am not just saying she is sweet, SHE IS! Everyone loves her, she is precious...it hurts all of her family seeing such a warm and wonderful caring person put through this ordeal.

Please take these things off the market, I would lay down my own life in trade for my daughters if it were only possible...I would take her pain. It doesn't work this way, so I beg you, please take these shape-ups off the market and don't be the cause of innocent souls getting hurt.
Comments:31 Replies - Latest reply on 2011-06-21
Posted by Venice09 on 2011-06-21:
If you daughter's injuries were caused by Sketchers Shape-Ups, has she considered suing them? She would need proof, of course.
Posted by jktshff1 on 2011-06-21:
Details on exactly how the shoes are to blame for the injuries would be helpful. Trip, stumble, fall, etc?
Posted by Churro on 2011-06-21:
There's a class action law suit in the works against Skechers for making false claims in their advertisements and injuring people with their shoes.

I agree wholeheartedly people need to quit buying these goofy shoes.

Excellent review!!! I hope people take your warnings seriously.
Posted by jktshff1 on 2011-06-21:
Thanks Churro, ya got a link?
Posted by Churro on 2011-06-21:
I don't JKT. I saw it on the news awhile back. I imagine if you google Skechers and Class Action you'll find it.
Posted by SteveWiginowski on 2011-06-21:
I saw that class actions suits were trying to be made. The issue, though, is that all of them are from around a year ago. I don't see anything regarding anyone actually winning, and from the articles I could find, it seemed like Sketches was passing them off as silly lawsuits.

My wife has a pair and likes them with no problems.
Posted by Churro on 2011-06-21:
Really Steve? That surprises me. I’d bet good money Skechers would proclaim the all the class action law suits valid. Go figure.

Regardless of the marginalization attempts going here in the comments section the OP is voicing the exact same complaint as many others. If that many people are screaming foul I'd say it's probably far from a 'silly' complaint.
Posted by SteveWiginowski on 2011-06-21:
If they took them somewhat seriously, I would think they wouldn't comment at all, or at least wouldn't comment that they are frivolous lawsuits.
Posted by Churro on 2011-06-21:
LOL, You're killing me Steve. I take it you don't have just a whole lot of experience with lawyers. I'm gonna have to post your comment on my facebook. Its a guaranteed 'like' getter.
Posted by SteveWiginowski on 2011-06-21:
So you think that when a company is concerned about a lawsuit, they say they think it's a silly lawsuit? Interesting. I'd imagine that if a company was going to take a lawsuit seriously, they'd have little comment on it. But hey, anyone can file a lawsuit, and since you are an expert with lawyers (apparently, compared to me), you must be right.
Posted by Churro on 2011-06-21:
We can banter the ethics of lawyers all day long and in fact if you want to paint lawyers as a noble group of truth warriors keeping the faith well then far be it for me to disagree. Heck, if anything I’m gonna encourage ya to spread that word.

All that aside though it doesn't change the fact the OP is voicing the same complaint as many others. I'm thinking there's probably something to it.
Posted by trmn8r on 2011-06-21:
The inference one gets after reading your complaint is that this product is responsible for your daughter's health issue. However, you didn't actually state it.

Do you have proof this is the case?

I found a few complaints and lawsuits of false advertising regarding health benefits of using them, which were dismissed by the company as frivolous.
Posted by Churro on 2011-06-21:
It's trial by google. Awesome.

"According to the brochure that accompanies the Skechers Shape-ups brand of toning shoes, "the core of this technology is in the dynamic rolling bottom, soft foam insert under the heel, and the dual density mid-sole. These three elements work together to give you the feeling of walking on soft sand-regardless of the actual surface." Therefore, by design, toning shoes alter gait mechanics and are designed to create instability.




However, many medical specialists have warned of the dangers of these shoes, particularly for consumers with undiagnosed foot problems.



While in a conventional shoe, these problems are minor, but the built in instability of these shoes exacerbates these problems and can lead to serious injuries. The shoes may be particularly dangerous for those with Achilles tendonopathy, Rothbarts Foot and PreClinical Clubfoot Deformity. Also those with transverse plane deformities such as in-toeing or out-toeing will not have normal heel-to-toe transition in these shoes and could potentially be more prone to tripping or falling."

Still all the googling aside the OP is voicing a similar complaint to many others and that complaint is substantiated by many medical specialists. Good grief does the OP ever get even a sliver of the benefit of the doubt.
Posted by Anonymous on 2011-06-21:
I hope if the OP doesn't get discouraged by some of these highended replies and posts a follow up.
Posted by clutzycook on 2011-06-21:
These type of shoes have been on the market for years. I think Sketchers are just the first company that have made them within the financial reach of the average Joe (I think a brand called MDX has had them for years, correct me if I'm wrong). Thing is, for every complaint that these shoes have hurt someone, there's probably two or three people singing their praises. I wore a pair for about 4 months last year.
Posted by Churro on 2011-06-21:
I'm sure for every smoker that get's lung cancer there's three that die from heart disease but that doesn't mean smoking doesn't cause cancer.
Posted by clutzycook on 2011-06-21:
true. but like Venice said, the OP's daughter had better have proof that her injury was solely caused by her wearing those shoes, because I'll bet you that the Sketcher's lawyers will argue that it wasn't the shoes, but the fact that she's on her feet for long hours and that it would have happened no matter what kind of shoe she wore.
Posted by Venice09 on 2011-06-21:
The thing with these shoes is that they work for some but not for others. A person should know enough to stop wearing them if they are causing problems and not wait until damage is done.
Posted by Churro on 2011-06-21:
Still the OP is voicing a compliant voiced by many other people. Many medical experts agree these shoe's are harmful to many people. This is a very valid complaint.
Posted by Venice09 on 2011-06-21:
It's only valid if the shoes caused the injury. And even then, a person should not continue to wear shoes that are harming them.
Posted by Churro on 2011-06-21:
No it's valid because the OP makes points substantiated by medical professionals and many, many other victims of these shoes.

Trust me these shoes will be taken off the market soon enough because people like this OP took the time to speak out. I don't understand invalidating a person for merely relaying a quite tragic story.
Posted by Venice09 on 2011-06-21:
The OP is not the one who wore the shoes and offers no proof of injury. These shoes will most likely not be taken off the market, but you might see a change in advertising.
Posted by Churro on 2011-06-21:
What possible proof can the OP offer up? Confidential medical records? Pictures? Depositions?

The OP's claims however are substantiated because many people have voiced the exact same complaint. Medical professionals have also spoken out about the harmful effects of the shoes. That's more than enough proof for me to validate a complaint made on an anonymous gripe site.

This is a very tragic story. I think at the very least it's not too much to ask to extend the OP a bit of sympathy and just a tad of the benefit of the doubt. That seems like the nice thing to do.
Posted by Venice09 on 2011-06-21:
I absolutely give the OP and his daughter the benefit of the doubt. But I'm not a judge or jury. Needing pins to hold bones together is an extreme situation. You can bet your bottom dollar that proof will be required. I also must say that I would have stopped wearing the shoes long before they caused such extensive damage, if that is the case.
Posted by Churro on 2011-06-21:
Nowhere in the review did the OP ever mention taking legal action. So I gotta ask where the heck is strict proof going to be required? It's not.

The OP is a distraught mother agonizing over the suffering of her daughter brought on by a silly pair of shoes. Attacking her for merely expressing an opinion held by many other victims of these shoes and by medical professional seems unwarranted and quite frankly flat out mean.

People need to realize that it is living, breathing, feeling human beings posting these reviews. The people posting these reviews know far more about their own circumstances and their own stories than any of us do. I say unless you have proof that the OP's daughter wasn't harmed by these shoes then it's prudent to believe that probably it was or at the very least admit it's in doubt and give the upset mother the benefit of the doubt.
Posted by Venice09 on 2011-06-21:
The OP did not mention taking legal action, but you brought up a class action lawsuit. I don't need proof that the OP's daughter wasn't harmed by the shoes, but the daughter will need proof that she was. The OP and his daughter should be aware that this review will do nothing to help them or to get the shoes off the market. The best it will do is to possibly gain some support and sympathy, but that's not going to help the daughter's pain and suffering.
Posted by Churro on 2011-06-21:
It's reviews like this one posted on this site that first alerted me to the possible hazards of these type shoes. That led me to research the claims and finally to the conclusion that *I* and *MY* loved ones should avoid these shoes. There's the value of this review.

People sharing their lessons learned on my3cents have saved me from learning the same lessons the hard way. There's the value of this review.

So the best this review can do is save somebody from suffer the same tragic fate as the OP's daughter. I'd say that's a pretty positive value to this review.
Posted by Venice09 on 2011-06-21:
I never said this review was not valuable. In fact, the best it does is warn other people about the possible harm these shoes can cause. However, if the OP's goal is to get the shoes off the market, as it seems to be, it will take more than a review on a consumer website.
Posted by Churro on 2011-06-21:
I think the OP's goal is to warn other people about the hazards of these shoes and to vent over a very tragic situation. Mission accomplished.
Posted by Venice09 on 2011-06-21:
"Please take these things off the market, I would lay down my own life in trade for my daughters if it were only possible...I would take her pain. It doesn't work this way, so I beg you, please take these shape-ups off the market and don't be the cause of innocent souls getting hurt."

Only one mission accomplished.
Posted by Churro on 2011-06-21:
Wow we're going to nitpick every detail of this review posted by a distraught mother. The OP never stated it as goal or an achievable aim. I did. The OP is merely relaying a story. A story eerily similar to many other complaints. I too share in the OP's wish that no more innocent souls get hurt by these shoes.

Your Name:
(displayed with your comment)
Your E-mail:
(required)

Your Experience/Advice:
Check spelling


By clicking submit you agree that you have read and accept the Terms of Service & Privacy Policy.


Note: All comments are reviewed by a moderator before being published. Please be sure to read our guidelines before commenting.