5
Helpful
Votes

Appliances Informative - Opinion on old versus new

Review by virgil_watts6 on 2011-07-06
Just my opinion I think you would be better off to repair your old appliance. Only the ones with the manual knobs that worked for years mostly trouble free. I have started repairing the older washers and dryers. I get from people geting new ones and sell them to people who don't have much money. Some I even get from the junkyard. Most of them I repair fairly cheap. I see more newer ones in the junk than older ones but I don't get them they are nothing but trouble. They mostly need transmissons and boards which are expensive. They made good products for years, what happened? Cheap plastic parts and electronic boards operating on low voltage which don't take much to burn out parts. I wouldn't buy a new appliance of any kind as long as I can find parts for the old ones.
Just my opinion.
Comments:6 Replies - Latest reply on 2011-07-06
Posted by madconsumer on 2011-07-06:
the older appliances were made to last. these days we are in a disposable society, things are not made to last many many years. i remember a ge washer i had, was 20+ years old and worked great. sold it when i moved and regretted it a few times since.
Posted by old fart on 2011-07-06:
Amen brother! our washing machine is 30 years old and works perfectly every time... Old is good!
Posted by trmn8r on 2011-07-06:
I think that your opinion is dead-center correct. I'm not surprised to hear that you see a plurality of youth in the appliance junkyard.
Posted by Venice09 on 2011-07-06:
You are my new best friend, virgil watts6.
Posted by Anonymous on 2011-07-06:
I agree virgil. My over 25 yr. old fridge runs like new. Better than the "new" in many cases. All it needs is a little love every now and then.
Posted by GenuineNerd on 2011-07-06:
The older appliances do work better and last longer. My mother is still using a Maytag washer that she bought in 1974...all it needed was a belt replacement in those 37 years. As for today's new appliances, the lower-end models still use the old fashioned knobs. Even some lower-priced HE front loaders use knobs as well. Most low-end Whirlpool models, often sold under the "Inglis", "Roper", and "Estate" brands, use mechanical knob controls, whose reliability has been proven over the years. When it comes to appliances, more expensive isn't always better. The cheaper models that appliance buyers tend to shun (and appliance salesmen tend to steer buyers away from) are often the most reliable.

Your Name:
(displayed with your comment)
Your E-mail:
(required)

Your Experience/Advice:
Check spelling


By clicking submit you agree that you have read and accept the Terms of Service & Privacy Policy.


Note: All comments are reviewed by a moderator before being published. Please be sure to read our guidelines before commenting.