4
Helpful
Votes

Huffington Post on AOL Complaint - Banned from using the Huffington Post although an AOL member

Review by Redtom1008 on 2011-07-08
I am a member of AOL. Months ago, AOL bought the Huffington Post. Prior to that, AOL had blogs that the members used regarding news stories. The Huffington Post did the same. Many members of AOL were worried about the Huffington Post since it is regarded as a far left blog. We were worried our messages would not be posted or we would be banned for not following their lockstep politics. After 2 months of posting, the Huffington Post just pulled my user name and made me persona non grata. I sent a number of messages to them asking them why, no answer. I asked them if they ban someone, it is common decency to tell the person why, no answer. Then I wrote AOL with the same, no answer. I think I have a right to know why, since I have not used swear words and have only answered other bloggers in the same tone that they used. If tone was the reason, nobody would be left on the Huntington Post. If I am banned from the Huntington Post, I want to know what AOL is going to do for people like me. We should have our own blogs. For 62 years, I would not have cared about this. I worked and had no time. Now I have time and at 65 years of age I am banned. The Huntington Post uses mederators from their blog base. Their blog base are made up of far left people, so I think that has something to do with it. I realize my free speech rights may not apply in this instance, but I am just asking for clarity, and an explanation by somebody who can be fair. What do you do when nobody will respond to you, and you have no idea why you were banned? I think I deserve answers from the Huntington Post and the parent company AOL.
Comments:10 Replies - Latest reply on 2014-03-01
Posted by Slimjim on 2011-07-08:
So a far left news outfit silenced you for a different set of opinions.
Knock me over with a feather.

Posted by Slimjim on 2011-07-08:
Um, let me clarify I'm siding with the poster here for the person that couldn't quite grasp that.
Posted by Skye on 2011-07-08:
There was a similiar complaint a while back about the same thing, and admin moved their review over to the community side.
Posted by Churro on 2011-07-08:
Well if I were you I'd scratch the Huffington Post off my browsing list. Perhaps you'd be better off hanging out in the Fox Nation ( nation.foxnews.com/ ) or better yet The Free Republic ( www.freerepublic.com ). I'm a freeper --- Come join me. It's a blast.

Interesting Review.
Posted by Anonymous on 2011-07-08:
The Huffington Bluffington Post has never posted any of my 247 comments.
Posted by Slimjim on 2011-07-08:
Too funny, someone keeps flagging my post. Hello clueless in cyberspace, this isn't Huffington's site. You are allowed to speak freely as long as you are not insulting the poster or other members. AGREEING with the author is pretty far from insulting them.
Posted by Anonymous on 2011-07-08:
Great comment Churro!! I would take it off my browsing list as well.

Also..insightful review.
Posted by Anonymous on 2011-07-08:
Letting it bother you only further feeds and fuels their power trip.
Posted by Dayle King on 2013-07-19:
As Redtom wrote in his blog about being banned from AOL. I also was banned about a year ago. Just like he said, I never was vulgar or harmful speaking to anyone, however I would disagree with the "far left" comments that the Huffington Post would choose to post. Just like RedTom, I also understand that to be the reason for the ban. They absolutely do not want to have a diverse public opinion, so they just ban you
Posted by TC on 2014-03-01:
I went looking for some place to complain also about Huffington Post. They also banned some one I know for no reason. I agree with the person above that it should be told to the other side why? I think it is time that people do some complaining about it. From day one HP has not been fair. I would like to have an answer for my friend who is upset by this, and was never given a chance to voice their side. Nothing foul was said, and I think they are a very unfair site. I ask people to complain if they are treated in an unfair manner. Some times you say some thing and it is fair to you and the person on the other ends is offended and it is not even offending, it is just that, maybe that person should not be on do to they can't handle the post being sensitive. Well they don't have to worry, Yahoo post is much better and kinder.

Your Name:
(displayed with your comment)
Your E-mail:
(required)

Your Experience/Advice:
Check spelling


By clicking submit you agree that you have read and accept the Terms of Service & Privacy Policy.


Note: All comments are reviewed by a moderator before being published. Please be sure to read our guidelines before commenting.