[X]

1
Helpful
Votes

Wal-Mart Jefferson Ave Newport News VA Complaint - No Wheel Chairs That Aren't Electric For Handicap Customers And Family

Review by kenepate3 on 2011-07-09
My family and I do a lot of shopping at your store over here where we live and its real frustrating that the only wheel chairs available are the electric one's, and sure they are great for customers that are able to use them. In out case and several other people I've spoken with at the Alzheimers Support Group share the same complaint. We are unable to go into your store and push out love ones around the store to shop due to the non- availability of wheel chair's to make this a more enjoyable trip. We managet to get to the pharamacy to get the medicines, not able to walk around and push our love ones to shop. They also enjoy getting out and its not always possible to get someone to come in and stay while I run over there and grab the things that are necessary. Having these would make it much easier on families and the patients who no longer have the luxury of walking like most of us. I asked all the managers on duty and they all said "I don't Know"
but were real nice and showed and shared our concerns.

The electric ones are nice, but built for two or even one to manage with a physicall/mentally challenged patient/customer on it. I would appreciate some changes in this withing the store policy to better serve us and continue to make it a little easier on us as its already a major challenge. Thank You.

Kenneth E. Pate
Newport News, VA 23602-6733
757-877-2307
Comments:8 Replies - Latest reply on 2011-07-10
Posted by trmn8r on 2011-07-09:
Interesting complaint. I can't think of a store I've been to that supplies non-motorized wheelchairs. We used to bring our own when I took my mom to the store.

You have to ask yourself exactly how they know which handicapped accessories to provide. They could stock walkers, canes, pick-up tools, etc if they had the space and manpower to administrate the program.
Posted by Venice09 on 2011-07-09:
Bringing your own wheelchair would be the best way to make sure you have one when needed. Even if stores did supply non-motorized chairs, that doesn't mean there would always be one available. There is only so much stores can do to accommodate handicapped customers.
Posted by Skye on 2011-07-09:
Have you sent your complaint to their corporate office? I think you should. They cannot attempt to correct something that has not been brought to their attention. Bring this to their attention.

Walmart Home Office
702 SW 8th Street
Bentonville, Arkansas
72716-8611



1-800-Walmart (1-800-925-6278)
Posted by madconsumer on 2011-07-09:
you have every right to ask for a push around wheelchair. unfortunately, not everyone can afford to purchase or rent their own wheelchairs.
your request is perfectly in line.

great review.

very helpful!!
Posted by Venice09 on 2011-07-09:
I agree. Customers have the right to ask for a wheelchair. However, stores are not obligated to supply them. It's always better for customers to take responsibility for their own needs to avoid discomfort and disappointment.
Posted by Old Timer on 2011-07-09:
Very true MadC.

Kenneth E. Pate or M3C's Admin, the personal info should be removed from this review ASAP.
Posted by jktshff1 on 2011-07-10:
Get your personal info off here. It's not wise to put that type of info on a public web site.
Posted by clutzycook on 2011-07-10:
Some walmart's do provide non motorized wheelchairs. After Baby C was born 3 years ago, I needed groceries after I got out of the hospital, but was still too sore to walk to far 3 days post c-section. Our walmart at the time only had the non motorized wheelchairs available, so I sat in it and Hubby pushed me. However, they're not REQUIRED to provide their customers with anything. What they do provide, they do it as a courtesy.

Your Name:
(displayed with your comment)
Your E-mail:
(required)

Your Experience/Advice:
Check spelling


By clicking submit you agree that you have read and accept the Terms of Service & Privacy Policy.


Note: All comments are reviewed by a moderator before being published. Please be sure to read our guidelines before commenting.