3
Helpful
Votes

Pyrex bakeware Complaint - Pyrex Casserole Explodes!!

Review by nesbitt9293 on 2011-07-10
Last evening I was warming stuffed peppers in a pyrex 8" glass casserole dish. I was warming them in my microwave and as I went to take them out there was a loud boom and glass shards went flying. I had them on my arms, hands, right shoulder counter and floor. I could not move as there were sharp pieces of glass all over my floor and I was wearing only socks. My bf had to get a broom and dust pan to sweep me out. Our dinner was ruined and I spent the evening picking pieces of glass out of skin and feet. If I had not used a kitchen towel to remove the dish I may have been blinded. It was very scary, I did nothing wrong and this happened to me. I have read on the web where lawyer's for them say these dishes do not explode, well, I would love to have had them for dinner that night and they can tell me that as they pick the glass out of their food and skin. I have been cooking 54 years and can tell you I never had anything like this happen to me before I bought this set 2 years ago at local Wal-mart. The 2nd time I used the pyrex measuring cup to warm milk in the microwave it exploded too. I will never use these products again. Too dangerous.
Comments:19 Replies - Latest reply on 2013-08-05
Posted by Venice09 on 2011-07-10:
Pyrex DOES explode. I stopped using Pyrex after reading the horror stories. Maybe Brenda will stop by and tell you her story of exploding Pyrex.

I dropped a Pyrex bowl once, and it shattered to smithereens in all directions. It didn't break like ordinary glass. It was pulverized.

Pyrex has been around forever, but these exploding stories seem to be fairly new. Maybe the manufacturing process has changed?
Posted by Alain on 2011-07-10:
Call the Consumer Product Safety Commission hotline at (800) 638-2772 and report this.
Posted by madconsumer on 2011-07-10:
i have had this happen to me as well. scary to say the least.

was the glass dish cold when you placed into the microwave?

great review.

very helpful!!
Posted by *Brenda* on 2011-07-10:
Yep, this happened to me and ruined my oven!!! A squash had already been in the oven for an hour, no chips in the glass, it wasn't a hot to cold thing, just BOOM! I will add a picture to my profile. It was not a happy thanksgiving to us!
Posted by *Brenda* on 2011-07-10:
I wonder if anyone has had this happen with corningware? I am afraid to use pyrex obviously.
Posted by Anonymous on 2011-07-10:
great review, very helpful!
Posted by grandma005 on 2011-07-10:
those Pyrex dishes were made for the oven no the Microwave. I have Pyrex casserole dishes that are 40 years old. Never put them in Microwave only an oven.
Posted by Venice09 on 2011-07-10:
From the Pyrex website:

PYREX glass products are oven, microwave, refrigerator and freezer safe and a number of PYREX glass bakeware pieces are available with plastic sealing lids for microwaving and storage.

I, too, have 40-year old Pyrex glass bakeware that I am not afraid to use in the oven. However, I no longer use or buy the newer pieces for baking. I don't think it's safe anymore.

This is obviously a problem with Pyrex glass. There's an entire section of the website dedicated to safety and how to avoid breakage. It addresses the exploding problem in a roundabout way. I abused my old Pyrex to death, but it never broke or even cracked. I think the product is made differently now, perhaps to accommodate microwave use.
Posted by trmn8r on 2011-07-10:
I also use old Pyrex bowls and pie plates. I've never had any issues, but I don't put them in the microwave. The bowls I pour boiling water into regularly, the plates are in a 425 deg oven.
Posted by ktisnumeroUNO on 2011-07-11:
Brenda, I use corningware and needless to say nothing like this has ever happened to me. The fact that people have had this experience to me is terrifying, and I'm just glad no one was serverely hurt from these combustable bake pans. Crazy.
Posted by Anonymous on 2011-07-12:
My Pyrex exploded after coming out of an oven set at 350 degrees for one hour.
Posted by trmn8r on 2011-07-12:
Where did you place it when it came out ript? It wasn't cooled quickly, was it?
Posted by Anonymous on 2011-07-12:
No it wasn't cooled quickly trm. I took it out of the oven and placed it on top of the stove, turned my back and BOOM!
Posted by Venice09 on 2011-07-12:
Ript, how old was the Pyrex?
Posted by Anonymous on 2011-07-12:
I don't remember exactly Venice, but if I had to guess I'd say about 10 years old at the time. The other pieces in the set are still in service. Someone suggested it could have happened because there may have been a scratch, but I am not convinced. Too many freaky things have happened in my kitchens for me to readily dismiss it with such a reasonable explanation.
Posted by Venice09 on 2011-07-12:
When I first heard about exploding Pyrex, I looked online and found lots of similar stories. I have a feeling it involves newer Pyrex (like yours) and not the old pieces (like mine). Anything that I bought in the last ten years or so I don't use in the oven anymore. I think Pyrex is aware of the problem, and that's why there is an entire portion of its website dedicated to safety. These aren't isolated incidences. There is definitely a problem.

I hope you weren't near the glass when it exploded. I can't believe someone hasn't been seriously hurt. I think it's just a matter of time.
Posted by Anonymous on 2011-07-12:
That is pretty disturbing. Thanks to everyone else sharing your experiences, too. I think I'd avoid Pyrex. Glad no one was hurt.
Posted by karen marquez on 2013-01-11:
I had a my pyrex explode in my oven today. And I mean explode. Like a bomb.. all over my oven. Shardes of glass.. Thank God no one was hurt..
WTF? And the company says just a small amount of complaints on this? Bull--- Something needs to be done about this huge danger.
Posted by Bits on 2013-08-05:
3 days ago I was baking in my Pyrex casserole dish like I usually do. As I pulled it out of the oven my casserole dish exploded in my hands and I ended up with 2nd and 3rd degree burns to my arms and chest. I don't understand how it can exploded in my hands and it wasnt in the oven or on top. I guess my injuries could of been much worse. So I am lucky with only getting 4 2nd degree burns and 3 3rd degree ones.

Your Name:
(displayed with your comment)
Your E-mail:
(required)

Your Experience/Advice:
Check spelling


By clicking submit you agree that you have read and accept the Terms of Service & Privacy Policy.


Note: All comments are reviewed by a moderator before being published. Please be sure to read our guidelines before commenting.