VACATION PROPERTY SERVICES Complaint - Deposit Refund Issues Took all the Joy Away!!
LINDA DAVIS - OWNER -- Deposit Refund Issues Took all the Joy Away!!
On 5/18/11 I contracted with Linda Davis (owner) to rent this house for 3 days (5/13-5/16). The charge was $1500 and a $500 security deposit which had to be paid BEFORE the reservation could be confirmed. Unlike most other VRBO owners we have dealt with, she did not take any credit cards. Therefore, checks were mailed to her that day (5/18) to confirm the rental. She required that the deposit be a separate check.
Our stay at the house was fine, except that 2 of the 3 nights we were awakened at 2 A.M. with the next door neighbor pounding on our door saying we were in her parking place (which we weren't). We enjoyed Charleston as we always do and left for home about mid-day on the 16th.
According to the contract we signed, the deposit was to be returned upon inspection and release by the housekeeper. Presumably this was completed within a couple of days (of 5/16) since we were told the house was "booked out" for the rest of the spring/summer. I waited 2 full weeks for the deposit refund. Well, that didn't happen...... Shown below are the steps it took to get my money returned:
•5/16 - We leave the house in "pristine" condition
•5/31 - I email Linda questioning deposit return-
•5/31 - Linda responds says she's been on vac will mail deposit refund Thu 6/2/11
•6/13 - I email Linda (after waiting 11 more days)
•6/14 - Linda responds saying she's been traveling for work - will mail that day!
•6/18 - I email Linda (after 4 US mail days)advise still not received
•6/19 - Linda responds - claims she did mail 6/14
•6/21 - I email Linda ask her to stop payment on the "check" she claims to have written and send a cashiers check in overnight mail. No Response from Linda....
•6/24 - The refund check arrives with a postmark of 6/21/11 ------6 weeks after we left her rental home.
This extended game of email tag/promises was very awkward and annoying. Although we enjoyed our trip, the difficulty in getting our deposit refunded felt "sleazy" and left us with a very bad taste in our mouths. As a longtime owner of beach rental property I cannot imagine behaving this way with a guest. We have used VRBO many times before including in Europe and have never encountered such treatment. One lesson learned is NEVER send a cash deposit again.
Copies of all the emails/documentation referenced here are available if you want to review.