2
Helpful
Votes

Parkview RV Center Complaint - Won't Return My Money And Won't Take Or Return My Calls.

Review by NotRVing on 2011-07-25
SMYRNA, DELAWARE -- On Friday, May 13th, PARKVIEW RV asked for a deposit to hold really good price on an RV they knew we weren't sure we wanted. It was a new 2010 and the 2012 models had just come out which is why the price was go good. We foolishly gave them a deposit. This happened at a promotional location so they were not able to give us any paperwork because they "didn't have a copier" nor did they give us a credit card receipt. Bigger mistake. We should have cancelled immediately but they wouldn’t give us the special price. All they gave us was a different year brochure for that RV and the salesman's business card. They were going to mail stuff to us on Monday – they never did. The next day, we decided against purchasing it. We called and cancelled Monday morning. The salesman returned our call and confirmed the cancellation of our deal. The unit was sold to someone else.

Not only will they not return our deposit, they will not respond to us. The salesman returned my first call and said he would take care of it and get back to us. Since then, no one will take our calls or return our calls. After badgering the receptionist again, which I don’t like to do because she has nothing to do with this, she finally forced someone to take my call. The sales manager was arrogant and rude. In talking with him, he had read my letter and gotten my phone messages. He finally said he would speak with the salesman and get back to me.
Neither of them have called me back.

I’ve filed a dispute with my credit card company but that seems to be in limbo. Parkview is probably not responding to them either.

PARKVIEW RV will not refund our money nor will they take or return our phone calls.
Comments:8 Replies - Latest reply on 2011-08-01
Posted by trmn8r on 2011-07-25:
Wow. Wow. Having no contract is like having no deal. This was a mess from the moment you let them charge your card.

I hope you tracked this regularly from the moment the salesperson confirmed your cancellation, and within a few weeks filed the dispute with the credit card company. That *should* be sufficient to resolve the matter. I'd file a complaint with the BBB also if the CC bank says there is an issue. Some people don't believe they do any good, but they have for me. This is the kind of issue they very well may be able to assist with pressure wise. The co shouldn't want "failure to resolve sales issue" on their record.

Not having proof of what they charged your card for is a possible negative, but on the other hand they have the same problem. Good luck.
Posted by Skye on 2011-07-25:
AlWAYS get everything in writing. That was a silly excuse, oh we don't have a copier. So you fill out two exact forms with everything, and both parties sign it.

Always go with your instinct. They cannot force or pressure you to do anything, unless you allow them.

Why isn't your credit card company helping you? That's their job when you have a dispute. Don't just say it's in limbo, find out what's going on.

Good luck!
Posted by trmn8r on 2011-07-25:
Good point Skye. I don't know if it legal, but it should be. Two originals, both signed by both parties.
Posted by Skye on 2011-07-25:
It's legal. Judges always tell you to do this when their isn't a copy machine available. People do this everyday. This is the advice Judge Judy always gives when people say, oh but we didn't have a copy machine. Both documents are legal as long as everything is the same and all parties agree and have their signatures on it.

Easy fix for those pesky times a copy machine is not right there in front of you.
Posted by jktshff1 on 2011-07-25:
What kind of reputable business has no means to copy or scan and print something?
VH
Posted by trmn8r on 2011-07-25:
The kind that wants to give you the business.
Posted by NotRVing on 2011-08-01:
The sales manager from Parkview RV called me back on Friday, July 29th. He was kind, pleasant and courteous. Mike took the time to review our file. Parkview willingly returned our deposit to my credit card.


Posted by NotRVin on 2011-08-01:
PARKVIEW RV RETURNED MY CALL AND REFUNDED MY DEPOSIT

On July 29th, the sales manager from Parkview RV returned my call. He was kind, pleasant and had taken the time to review my file. Parkview willingly returned our deposit to my credit card.
Please disregard my complaint. Parkview RV has proven themselves to be an ethical, responsible RV dealership.

Your Name:
(displayed with your comment)
Your E-mail:
(required)

Your Experience/Advice:
Check spelling


By clicking submit you agree that you have read and accept the Terms of Service & Privacy Policy.


Note: All comments are reviewed by a moderator before being published. Please be sure to read our guidelines before commenting.