[X]
Feedburner count

Wildwood Place Apts Complaint - Straight Up, Bad Business / Don't Ever Consider Wildwood Apts For Living. If You See It Keep Going!

Review by sunup42day6 on 2011-07-25
I stayed at Wildwood Place Apt it was based on a sudden decision due to circumstances. It was affordable and uncomfortable. The first day I got my keys I could not get in, you believe that, I couldn't! The Manager came down and tried my set as if she did not believe me; I was giving the set she had and was told to only use the bottom lock. Winter time: no hot water on several occasions, Maintenance entering whenever, personal stuff missing, couldn't get out of our carports due to the neglect of snow plowing, not just me, my neighbors, their neighbors blah, blah, blah. Unbelievable! Moved out without violating lease agreement, cleaned the apartment, I mean move in condition! Well security deposit time, yeah here we go again another story about deposits but guess what I'm getting mine and some, You Heard Me! They're trying to jack me for my deposit when the but thinks to some of the reviews I've read and how we all have something in common it's on!

PS Don't ever, ever, ever, ever, consider this place, straight slum lords/ deposit crooks.
Comments:7 Replies - Latest reply on 2011-07-25
Posted by jktshff1 on 2011-07-25:
A location would be helpful. There are Wildwood Apts from Washington to TX to Ohio to NC.
Posted by trmn8r on 2011-07-25:
I beat the deposit scam at an apt I had once, because I noted that the lease said "deposit may be used to fulfil terms of the lease (ie rent)".

So, the last month I was there I intentionally did not pay my rent because I heard they fleeced a previous tenant.

They sued me, I showed up in court with pictures, and they did not show. Case closed. Unfortunately, this clause is not in all contracts, and I was lucky the deposit was exactly one month's rent.
Posted by Churro on 2011-07-25:
My guess would be Ft Wayne Indiana since that's the location of the last my3cents wildwood place complaint.

It's people like wildwood place that give slum lords a bad name.

Interesting review.
Posted by SteveWiginowski on 2011-07-25:
As a tenant, you can request a final-walk through with the landlord. Also, you should be able to request a listing of what work they did (along with costs). Take their number away from your number, if there is money left over, that's what they owe you.

My wife and I had two different apartments. The first one my wife had for a few years before she met me. I lived with her for a few years. When we moved, we knew that some work would have to be done. We requested a list and we actually got some of the deposit back, much to our surprise. The second place, we were only there for 10 months, so we got back the entire deposit since we kept it clean.
Posted by trmn8r on 2011-07-25:
Great advice Steve.
Posted by Churro on 2011-07-25:
In Oklahoma by law a tenant must request in writing the return of the deposit within six months of lease termination. If the written request isn't received then the deposit becomes the landlords.

You'd be surprised how many renters don't know this. I'm sure its similiar in other states as well.
Posted by Skye on 2011-07-25:
It's always a good idea to take pictures and or video before moving in, and then upon moving out.

What story are they giving you, regarding the return of your security deposit?

Your Name:
(displayed with your comment)
Your E-mail:
(required)

Your Experience/Advice:
Check spelling


By clicking submit you agree that you have read and accept the Terms of Service & Privacy Policy.


Note: All comments are reviewed by a moderator before being published. Please be sure to read our guidelines before commenting.