[X]

12
Helpful
Votes

What-A-Burger Complaint - What-A-Burger...What-A-Mess!

Review by 143061 on 2011-07-25
AMARILLO, TEXAS -- I should have listened to my wife as we pulled off of I-40 in Amarillo, TX when she said, "Hmmmmmmm...the parking lot is pretty empty, that can't be a good sign"? Well, she was spot on. Attached is a picture of the lobby seating, along with the month-old fries and lettuce stuck between them. I decided to wash my hands and splash a little water in my face after driving so many consecutive hours, so I also attached a picture of the restroom upon entering. Obviously, we didn't stay around very long. Harmon Dobson would be ashamed.
Comments:32 Replies - Latest reply on 2011-07-26
Posted by Anonymous on 2011-07-25:
I was really hoping they had a Carl's Jr, but surprisingly enough, they didn't:(
Posted by Anonymous on 2011-07-25:
I have been to whataburger before the food was good. But this location looks like a dump
Posted by Petulance on 2011-07-25:
In case you didn't know, in the South Carl's Jr is called Hardees.
Posted by Venice09 on 2011-07-25:
Maybe you hit them at the end of a long day? Not really an excuse though. The bathroom doesn't look as bad as I expected, but the food in the seat is gross.
Posted by Anonymous on 2011-07-25:
Wally> Very true. I remember a Whataburger in Phoenix, AZ that served great food and looked very clean compared to this joint. The employees were just standing around chit-chatting, so it wasn't as though they didn't have time to clean.


Venice> I didn't have the words to describe the other half of that restroom. Let's just say, I showed the good side, and not the side with the urinal.
Posted by Churro on 2011-07-25:
Your wife sounds like good people to me Justice. It's shame whataburgers inconsistency. If you find a good store it's a great burger. Problem is though there are way too many bad stores out there.

I live about two miles from a whataburger but when I want whataburger I don't go to the one by my house but instead drive 20 miles to the awesome one in another town. I don't make that drive very often.

good review man.
Posted by Anonymous on 2011-07-25:
Never cared for Whataburger. Justice, you were in Texas and you chose a burger joint over bbq or Tex-Mex? Shame on you!
Posted by Anonymous on 2011-07-25:
Churro> I couldn't agree more with your sounds words of wisdom. I have found myself on many occasions bypassing the store nearest me in an effort to seek out quality service and food from another branch down the road.
Posted by Anonymous on 2011-07-26:
littleshorty> This review was from our trip back on Sunday. We were rushed for time in getting back for work this morning, so it was just eating on the go. On the way there was a different story. We ate at Big Texan...NO, I didn't battle the 72-oz steak that is yours free if you can eat it all!
Posted by Anonymous on 2011-07-26:
I'd rather eat a gas station burrito than eat at Whataburger
Posted by Anonymous on 2011-07-26:
Hey wait, did you bring me back anything this time?
Posted by Anonymous on 2011-07-26:
ZZ.
Posted by Anonymous on 2011-07-26:
Getting tired...starting to typo. Maybe I'll post a pic' of him for you before I go to sleep?
Posted by Churro on 2011-07-26:
The big Texan is fun. Its a kick watching people take the challenge. I like the steaks there alright. It not Amarillo's best but still it's in my heart.

I was looking for ya Saturday night at the biting sow on the off chance you got a wild hair. You missed a good time.
Posted by Anonymous on 2011-07-26:
Heaven forbid should the Grammar Gestapo pay a visit to my thread.
Posted by Anonymous on 2011-07-26:
Churro> Saturday night I was playing volleyball in a vain attempt to turn back the hands of time and show my siblings that I still got it...then it was off to the muggy and sweltering hot tent for a long night of chirping and some unidentified squawking in the tree tops (Alain?)

The only time I was in your neck of the woods, was when I stopped at Cracker Barrel Thursday night, off of 35 near Edmond. Good eating man! They serve a mean chicken fried steak.
Posted by Anonymous on 2011-07-26:
Sleepy...goodnight...
Posted by Alain on 2011-07-26:
Good review, J4A and it sounds like you had a nice trip, too!
Posted by Anonymous on 2011-07-26:
You should know by now to always listen to your wife. A woman's intuition is the best barometer.
Posted by Alain on 2011-07-26:
...you know, ript may be right..but i never said that...
Posted by DebtorBasher on 2011-07-26:
I am speechless...I am without words!
Posted by DebtorBasher on 2011-07-26:
WAIT! Is that Jimmy Hoffa I see stuffed in that booth?
Posted by Anonymous on 2011-07-26:
Of course, I had to photoshop the image from the mirror, since I KNOW that is the first place that draws attention to everyone's eyes.
Posted by DebtorBasher on 2011-07-26:
Did you take the picture naked?
Posted by Skye on 2011-07-26:
Never heard of this burger joint, but now I know NOT to visit this location. It's true, how they attend to the bathrooms shows how well they take care of the kitchen. NASTY.

Good review.
Posted by trmn8r on 2011-07-26:
I'm wondering how you tell the difference between month old and two week old fries.
Posted by Anonymous on 2011-07-26:
I count the rings on the fries, much like trees. Or which side the mold is growing on, dictates which direction the restroom is.
Posted by Old Timer on 2011-07-26:
The kitchen area was probably no better if not worse. Good move to get out and get along on your way. Like LS says, if ever in that situation again hit some Tex Mex, then you can gas each other out for a few hours. But you will have eaten well.
Posted by Anonymous on 2011-07-26:
I would let corporate know this place was a pig sty.
Posted by madconsumer on 2011-07-26:
great review.

very helpful!
Posted by Anna Molly on 2011-07-26:
Wally86++...those photos are disgusting.
Posted by jktshff1 on 2011-07-26:
For some reason, I can't see some of the photos on here anymore.

Your Name:
(displayed with your comment)
Your E-mail:
(required)

Your Experience/Advice:
Check spelling


By clicking submit you agree that you have read and accept the Terms of Service & Privacy Policy.


Note: All comments are reviewed by a moderator before being published. Please be sure to read our guidelines before commenting.