7
Helpful
Votes

McCain Compliment - How Sweet It Is! - Crinkle Cut Sweet Potato Fries

Review by Venice09 on 2011-07-31
Thanks to M3C member, DebtorBasher, we all know which sweet potato fries to avoid (TJ Farms), so I thought I'd let my fellow sweet potato fry lovers know about an excellent frozen brand that will not let you down.

McCain crinkle cut sweet potato fries are a great alternative to making them from scratch. These fries are perfectly cut and sized, with a minimal amount of small or broken pieces. They cook up in about 15 minutes on the stove, and the finished product looks beautiful and tastes great. The best part is that they are not at all greasy. I cool them off by dipping each one in nice, cold ketchup, for a quick, easy and nutritious snack.

I like all of McCain frozen potato products, especially Roasters and Seasoned Spirals. I have been buying them for a long time and have never been disappointed. I usually get them on sale for around $2.00 or $3.00. The sweet potato fries come in one-pound bags, and the other varieties are approximately 26 oz.

I hope you'll try these. I think you will like them as much as I do.
Comments:18 Replies - Latest reply on 2011-07-31
Posted by Alain on 2011-07-31:
I enjoyed this review, Venice! (For some reason I tend to like most food reviews.) I really like McCain products, too. I'm a big fan of sweet potatoes in any form and these look delicious. Since my wife doesn't go for sweet potatoes, I can just give her some McCain 'Smiles' and those will make her happy while I munch on the SP Crinkle Cuts!
Posted by jktshff1 on 2011-07-31:
+10
Posted by Venice09 on 2011-07-31:
Haha.. I've never had 'Smiles' but I'm sure they're just as good as all the others.

I'm the only one here who eats sweet potatoes, too, so sometimes I just have the fries as a snack, as I did last night. They were exceptionally good, which is what prompted me to write the review.

I like food reviews, too. I'm always looking for something new and different, otherwise cooking can become monotonous.
Posted by Alain on 2011-07-31:
We can always get excellent BBQ tips from Jkt!
Posted by jktshff1 on 2011-07-31:
Nah, you are not the only one...the fries are good, but having them whipped with some butter, putting marshmallows on top and then back in the oven 'till the marshmallows brown a little mmmmmmmmmmmm....goes good with BBQ also.
Posted by madconsumer on 2011-07-31:
i was not impressed with them. i found making my own far tastier and healthier.
Posted by madconsumer on 2011-07-31:
i like sweet potatoes that too jkt!
Posted by Anonymous on 2011-07-31:
Nice compliment Venice. I'm not bold enough yet to try frozen sweet potato fries or frozen sweet potato anything, I prefer fresh sweet potatoes.
Posted by Venice09 on 2011-07-31:
Ript, my favorite way to eat a sweet potato is right from the oven, skin and all, no additives. But I don't do that when it's 90 degrees outside. These were ready in 15 minutes, and I didn't even have to light the oven! And they weren't mushy like sweet potato fries can sometimes be. I really enjoyed them.
Posted by trmn8r on 2011-07-31:
Great review Venice. Very helpful, and shows that you might just save some time and energy buying a good prepared product.

Making your own is fine if you have nothing else to do, and leaves more time for posting on your favorite feedback sites, as well as the others.
Posted by Anonymous on 2011-07-31:
Where did you buys these? Sounds like something I should try.
Posted by Venice09 on 2011-07-31:
HRM, you can buy them at Shop Rite and Stop & Shop. I think it's a popular brand that can be found at any supermarket. Walmart probably carries them, too.
Posted by Churro on 2011-07-31:
Sweet potato fries sounds great in theory but I've yet to find one I actually like. If I see this at the store I'll have to remember to give it a try. Sounds great.

Good Review!
Posted by Anonymous on 2011-07-31:
I love slicing up fresh sweet potatoes and baking them, but I'm going to get a bag of these for when I'm short on time to cook. If made right, sweet potatoes fries are delish!

Thanks.
Posted by Anonymous on 2011-07-31:
Mmmmmm.....sweet potato fries. LOVE them! I will have to look for this brand next time I'm at the store
Posted by Venice09 on 2011-07-31:
At my stage of the game, I tend to take a lot of shortcuts. This is one of them!.. (especially in the Summer).

I've had other brands that were not so good. McCain frozen potatoes, in general, are very very good.
Posted by Starlord on 2011-07-31:
I will have to look up McCain's (love the name, BTW) as I love sweet potatoes. be they in the form of fries, baked, mashed or in my favorite treat, sweet potato pie. Unfortunately, my better half doesn't share my love for the orange tuber. Great review.
Posted by Venice09 on 2011-07-31:
Thanks, Star. Sweet potatoes are one of nature's perfect foods. I, too, can eat them any way you dish them out!

Your Name:
(displayed with your comment)
Your E-mail:
(required)

Your Experience/Advice:
Check spelling


By clicking submit you agree that you have read and accept the Terms of Service & Privacy Policy.


Note: All comments are reviewed by a moderator before being published. Please be sure to read our guidelines before commenting.