[X]

2
Helpful
Votes

Jello Complaint - Jello Temptation Ads

Review by Consumer on 2011-08-08
I am still appalled that Jello continues to air these ads for a product that shows parents lying to and scaring their children. Is this what we want to teach our children?

Jello has long been one of my favorite companies but not if this continues. Shame on you Jello after being a positive influence for years.

Nancy Smith
Comments:13 Replies - Latest reply on 2011-08-09
Posted by Anonymous on 2011-08-08:
No one teaches your child anything, except you. Look around you, the world is filled with things you personally might find inappropriate/offensive/immoral, but your neighbor doesn't....it's up to each individual and their personal beliefs and opinions how to raise their children the best that they see fit.
Posted by Jay on 2011-08-08:
jc, I couldn't have stated it better myself. Excellent response.
Posted by clutzycook on 2011-08-08:
I'm sorry but, what? How does a parent lie to and scare their child in a Jello commercial?
Posted by Skye on 2011-08-08:
I think we just need to remember, it's only a commercial. But contact Jello, and tell them how you feel about their commercials.

Kraft Foods Global, Inc.
1 Kraft Court
Glenview, IL 60025
Attention: Consumer Relations Group

1-800-543-5335
9 a.m. - 5 p.m. Eastern Time, Monday through Friday, excluding holidays.


Email them at:

http://kraftfoods.custhelp.com/app/contact
Posted by Starlord on 2011-08-08:
The mother is telling sort of a campfire story about a creature that catches people who steal other people's pudding. The father, obviously is the 'monster,' making noisoes outside the tent. The kids throw the container of pudding and run into the house to escape the 'monster.' I think it is a cute way to break kids from stealing. I would assume that the parents had told the kids that the treat was for the adults, and the kids took it. Better than punishing them, I think. It's a question of perception and concepts in child-rearing, and there are as many theories as there are parents.
Posted by raven2010 on 2011-08-08:
wonder if the OP is referring to this one? I think it is hilarious

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=z5FjHYQJM4s
Posted by raven2010 on 2011-08-08:
OOPS, sorry Starlord---I was messing around on youtube while you posted, LOL
Posted by Anonymous on 2011-08-08:
So it's not OK to tell your kids scary stories? People have been telling scary stories for years. Same with pulling pranks and jokes on each other. My librarian in grade school would tell us scary stories while the other librarian would sneak up behind us and yell 'BOO!' Kids love to be scared. So do adults. Besides, we've been 'lying' to our kids for years; about sex, Santa, Easter Bunny, tooth Fairy. How is this different?
Posted by Anonymous on 2011-08-08:
Great review, very helpful, master ghostdoc would agree!!
Posted by Venice09 on 2011-08-09:
Coincidentally (or maybe not), I haven't seen that commercial since the last review. I didn't find it funny. I thought it was a bit cruel.
Posted by madconsumer on 2011-08-09:
I found the commercial very funny. it was meant to be a tease to the kids, and not a cruel joke. the same kind of tease that is often played at sleep overs and the like.
Posted by Nohandle on 2011-08-09:
This is the second time the Jello Ad has been mentioned as far as I recall. I'll say now as I did then I'll always remember the neighbor at Halloween who would wrap himself up in a bedsheet and hide behind the shrubbery at his home. As the children would walk up to his door for their treat he'd jump out. They would scream and run, only to return for another visit to see if the "ghost" had moved. They must not have been too frightened. Everyone thought it was hysterical. My, how times change.
Posted by olie on 2011-08-09:
As a parent whose children *still* seem to think that what's mine is theirs, I kind of like these commercials. They show a child at a young age who took Mom's special food. And Mom's getting her stuff back.


Your Name:
(displayed with your comment)
Your E-mail:
(required)

Your Experience/Advice:
Check spelling


By clicking submit you agree that you have read and accept the Terms of Service & Privacy Policy.


Note: All comments are reviewed by a moderator before being published. Please be sure to read our guidelines before commenting.