[X]
Feedburner count

Giovanni's Brick Oven Pizzeria Complaint - Sad all around - Food

Review by Consumer on 2011-08-21
Hubby and I were really impressed with a pizza we had at First and Last Tavern about a month ago. Spoke with a co-worker who recommended Giovanni's in Glastonbury Ct. I remember being burned a few years ago by an incorrect salad order from them and felt no need to go back. The thought however, of getting a pizza of comparable taste and quality as the one from First and Last, right here in my town, was too much to ignore. So, off we went.

The restaurant was moderately busy and has seating both inside but mostly outside in 2 separate patio areas. You go in and wait to be seated by a hostess at the register. So, in we went and waited patiently. Half a dozen girls just hanging around the register chatting, so we wait for them to finish. Another lady came in after us and one of the "hostesses" helped her and ignored us. Ok, easy mistake to make but she must have sensed something and then asked if we had already been helped. I replied not yet. We were then seated in one of the patio areas. Waitress came and we ordered 2 sodas and asked for more time to look over the menu. We then decided on Frickin' pickle (dill pickles and peppers fried in a batter and served with ranch dressing and "goldmine" sauce), and a large Mediterranean pizza. Frickin' pickle came out and it was ok. Items were neither crisp nor very hot but we were hungry so tried to make the best of it. Then the Mediterranean pizza arrived. I still had 3 of the pickles on my plate so I kept it with the ranch sauce and asked our waitress if she could please wrap the rest to go with some ranch (I had none at home)as I would finish using the ranch she served. She said ok and off our appetizer went. The pizza looked so good even though it wasn't hot. Our first bites brought disappointment to our countenances. I am not exaggerating when I say this pizza had no taste. It was sad. We just looked at each other, speechless. Speechless and sad. For a twenty dollar pizza, we hoped for better. Waitress didn't return for quite awhile. So, we just flagged the waitress helping the adjacent table and asked if she would be kind enough to refill our sodas. Ten minutes after that our waitress made an appearance. Never asked how anything was, just brought our wrapped appetizer. We asked for the bill. Little did we know the best was yet to come. To add insult to the entire experience, our waitress tagged an extra 65 cents onto our bill for the ranch dressing I asked be packed with our appetizer. Never, had a restaurant done that before to us. Especially one that charges $20 for a pizza and $9 for a dozen fried pickles and peppers. Never again Giovanni's. Sad when the best part of your meal was the sodas. But it was a hot day, and those were good sodas, despite them being pepsis :)
Comments:18 Replies - Latest reply on 2011-08-21
Posted by Anonymous on 2011-08-21:
They charged extra to include a condiment that already came with the appetizer? That's horrible. Pizza is one of my favorite foods and I've had my share of bland, tasteless pizzas. I hope you never go back there.
Posted by drugdoc121 on 2011-08-21:
I know littleshorty- that was the icing on the cake. It already came with the appetizer, yet because I wanted the 2 tablespoonfuls they put in those little to-go cups, they charged me extra. Don't worry, I won't be back. There's nothing to go back for. Especially when I prefer Coca Cola!
Posted by Anonymous on 2011-08-21:
What were they going to do with the ranch, put it back in the bottle? They charged you for something that they probably were going to throw out anyways. Unless the charge was for the to-go cup. But still, that's ridiculous
Posted by drugdoc121 on 2011-08-21:
I guess this was considered "extra" hence the charge. Still sad. I'm silly that way. I will pay $20 for a good pizza but nickel and dime me on stupid stuff and you'll never get my business again. Cheapness irritates me.
Posted by Anonymous on 2011-08-21:
It irritates me too. Seems like a lot of places are nickle and diming lately
Posted by Anonymous on 2011-08-21:
Wow thats bad service. I have never been charged for extra ranch at a pizza joint. They got globbs of that stuff sheesh cheapos.
Posted by *Brenda* on 2011-08-21:
We always got pizza from Foxy Pizza, it's in the fox run mall in G-bury. Always yummy!
Posted by Anonymous on 2011-08-21:
There's nothing worse than bland tasting pizza. This was a very informative review. I shall stay away from that location if I'm ever in the area. Thanks!
Posted by drugdoc121 on 2011-08-21:
Brenda- I used to frequent Adriatik in the same mall quite a bit. Where is Foxy's relative to them? Do they specialize in NY or Chicago style pizza?
Posted by drugdoc121 on 2011-08-21:
sorry guys- having a hard time rating the comments very helpful :( Thanks for all the input though!
Posted by madconsumer on 2011-08-21:
very helpful review. i just wish the votes showed.

there is no longer service in customer service.
Posted by drugdoc121 on 2011-08-21:
I noticed that about the votes too Madconsumer. So weird. I get notified that quite a few people voted my review helpful but it doesn't show. Glitch?
Posted by drugdoc121 on 2011-08-21:
..and sadly you are also right about the lack of service, especially at this restaurant.
Posted by Venice09 on 2011-08-21:
The helpful votes aren't showing up on reviews due to the recent site problems, but they are being registered, which is why you're receiving notification, drugdoc.

I'm voting your review helpful because tasteless pizza is always a big disappointment.
Posted by *Brenda* on 2011-08-21:
NY style. They are.... near the toy store lol. If there even is a toy store anymore. I haven't been there in so long. My dentist was in the offices above. :-) It's a small place. My parents won't order anything else.
Posted by drugdoc121 on 2011-08-21:
Thanks Venice. Will have to check it out next time we are craving pizza Brenda. Though, to be honest, never remembered seeing a toy store in that mall. Will have to look! :)
Posted by *Brenda* on 2011-08-21:
Well last time I went to the dentist there was like 10 years ago! lol. I guess what... there's whole foods there now, it's in that little strip.
Posted by drugdoc121 on 2011-08-21:
yup- there's a Whole Foods in there now.

Your Name:
(displayed with your comment)
Your E-mail:
(required)

Your Experience/Advice:
Check spelling


By clicking submit you agree that you have read and accept the Terms of Service & Privacy Policy.


Note: All comments are reviewed by a moderator before being published. Please be sure to read our guidelines before commenting.