[X]
Feedburner count

7
Helpful
Votes

Nordstroms Complaint - Nordstroms - Shocking behavior of VP of cosmetic

Review by keriyaya on 2011-08-23
I encountered a lady by the name of Laurie Black at the Nordstroms in Seattle, Wa. She seemed like a very friendly women I began talking to her. After a few minutes I explained that I had received a gift card and looking forward to using at Nordstroms. She asked me if I normally shopped there. Unfortunately due to money situations I am normally not able to do so there for I was looking forward to shopping there. Mrs. Black told me that she did believe they had anything that I could afford. I was shocked that she spoke to a customer in this manner. My gift card was for $250.00, I was interested in purchasing some perfume and cosmetics. I did not disclose the amount of the card to Mrs. Black. She then told me that I would probably be able to find something more suitable for me in a lower end store. Is this the way Nordstroms wants their employees representing their company? I have never been so embarrasssed before. After walking away I asked one of the other employees who she was because their company needed to know how customers were being treated. I was informed that she is the VP of cosmetic for their company. I can only hope that other people do not encounter this women. Nordstroms should appalled that this happened.
Comments:15 Replies - Latest reply on 2011-08-24
Posted by jktshff1 on 2011-08-24:
I believe the op meant "did not" from reading the entire post.
Her telling you that was truly uncalled for. I do hope the card was "generic" and you could use at any store and went elsewhere.
Posted by Venice09 on 2011-08-24:
That's obviously a mistake. Of course, the OP meant to say "did not".

As jkt said, I hope it's a generic card. Take it to Kohl's or Macy's where you'll get a lot more for your money and great customer service. Don't let people like that kill your spirit. Go where your business is appreciated.
Posted by Venice09 on 2011-08-24:
"Mrs. Black told me that she did believe they had anything that I could afford."

That wording actually doesn't make sense. However, if what you are saying is correct, Mrs. Black would have said that she did believe they had *somethings* the OP could afford. See the difference?

Either way, it was a rude and insensitive remark, and completely uncalled for.
Posted by BEJ on 2011-08-24:
Hopefully you contacted the general manager of the store and related what the VP said to you.
Posted by Skye on 2011-08-24:
Some people just have no tact.

Sorry you had such a poor experience with Norstrom's. Normally their employees are all very professional and helpful, and never insulting.
Posted by Anonymous on 2011-08-24:
curious.... why would a Vice President be working the floor of a specific location?
Posted by Venice09 on 2011-08-24:
She's the VP of cosmetics, whatever that means. Maybe they were shorthanded and she was helping out, or maybe she was just checking up on things. Who knows?
Posted by GreenstarYT on 2011-08-24:
I normally try to side with the store, but if she really said that then that is pretty much inexcusable.
Posted by At Your Service on 2011-08-24:
I've got a better question. Why is stating, "What is wrong with saying, 'that she did believe they had anything that I could afford.'" now considered, "Comments which seek to diminish the importance of the review are not allowed".
Posted by Venice09 on 2011-08-24:
Huh? Could you rephrase that because I'm not sure what you are trying to say.
Posted by keriyaya on 2011-08-24:
I apologize. I used the wrong wording, it should have read. Mrs. Black told me that she didn't believe they had anything I could afford.
Posted by Venice09 on 2011-08-24:
Thanks for clearing that up, keriyaya. Although it seemed pretty clear to most people.
Posted by Starlord on 2011-08-24:
What? Does the 'new' M3C allow the posting of names in reviews now?
Posted by GreenstarYT on 2011-08-24:
I wanted to point the same thing out star but I couldn't find the button to report review.
Posted by Nohandle on 2011-08-24:
You're a new member keriyaya and welcome aboard. Unfortunately you joined when the website is undergoing corrections due to some lost data. We should be up to speed before long so hang around.

Try not to let some stupid person ruin your day. I was looking through wallpaper books once at a floor covering place. A man drove up in a beat up pickup, walked in appearing as if he just finished work and I noticed several salespersons didn’t even offer to help him I guess because they worked on commission only. The newest salesperson did offer assistance. The old timers learned a lesson that day because the man pulled out a wad of bills and paid cash for a very sizeable purchase.

Shame on that woman for treating you or any other customer that way. How could she know what you could or could not afford? Thanks for your review.

Your Name:
(displayed with your comment)
Your E-mail:
(required)

Your Experience/Advice:
Check spelling


By clicking submit you agree that you have read and accept the Terms of Service & Privacy Policy.


Note: All comments are reviewed by a moderator before being published. Please be sure to read our guidelines before commenting.