[X]
Feedburner count

2
Helpful
Votes

Happy Camper Rentals / Vacation Station near Riverside, CA Informative - Camper / Trailer Rental SCAM

Review by msills92 on 2011-09-15
My wife and I rented a camper/trailer from Vacation Station (aka Happy Camper Rentals) near Riverside, CA during summer 2011. They required $440 credit card payment for the unit and a $500 cash/cashier's check as a refundable security deposit. We never received our deposit back even though we returned the unit in a cleaner condition than we received it. This organization is a RIPOFF as they have no address, don't return phone calls, and told my credit card company (when I tried to get a refund) that we can sue them to get our deposit back. If you've had a similar experience, please call Riverside PD Sgt Dan Russell at 951-353-7106. I filed complaint P11132516 with the RPD.
Comments:9 Replies - Latest reply on 2011-11-14
Posted by bob93 on 2011-09-15:
Sue them in small claims court.
Posted by At Your Service on 2011-09-15:
I don't see where this has anything to do with the police. This is absolutely a small claims court case.
Posted by trmn8r on 2011-09-15:
This company has a history of this, visible at the BBB in Riverside:
"Most complaints allege that the company refuses to refund deposits even though the vehicles are returned in good condition, or that additional charges were added to their final bills."

Maybe small claims court is your best chance.
Posted by bootsysmom on 2011-09-23:
Small claims would be a good option if we (there are many who've been taken by them) could locate their physical address and owners. Can't go to court if you can't find someone to serve the paperwork on. This business operates from a website and delivers the trailers and you never even realize you don't have a physical address for them until it's too late. Until then, we will all keep filing complaints with the RPD and hoping they get enough to take to the DA to file criminal charges. Even if we went to small claims and won (as another family did), trying to collect on the judgment is a whole different issue and almost impossible.
Posted by leet60 on 2011-09-23:
Happy Camper RV
(951) 207-2651
4066 Vine Street
Riverside, CA 92507

Michael Bradshaw - Owner
Michelle Bradshaw (Manager)

I found it somewhat disturbing that they do not seem to have a business license listed in Riverside county. They could be operating as DBA. You can check with the county clerk for information on the license and it should give you enough information for a process server to work with.
Posted by DebtorBasher on 2011-09-23:
They are registered with the county clerk under Vacation Station...and as Leete mentioned...the business is registered under Michelle Lynnette Brandshaw. File date 10/26/2010 expires on 10/26/2015.
Posted by Anonymous on 2011-09-23:
Can't hide from DB!
Posted by DebtorBasher on 2011-09-23:
I'll hunt them down like a dirty dog! LOL!
Posted by cheesersinsb@aol.com on 2011-11-14:
I to had the same situation, I rented in July from Vacation Station, I too gave a 500.00 deposit and still have not been able to talk to anyone about when or if I will get my deposit back. Seems they responded same day when trying to rent but now have not received anything back on my requests. Will be contacting the BB also.

Your Name:
(displayed with your comment)
Your E-mail:
(required)

Your Experience/Advice:
Check spelling


By clicking submit you agree that you have read and accept the Terms of Service & Privacy Policy.


Note: All comments are reviewed by a moderator before being published. Please be sure to read our guidelines before commenting.