[X]
Feedburner count

12
Helpful
Votes

Mars, Inc. Compliment - Seriously, this is nothing to snicker about...

Review by 143061 on 2011-11-16
I recently found myself confronted and cornered by the vending machine on the way back to my office, just before lunch. If I didn't know any better, I'd say it had legs and a mind of its own...but I digress.

A new product in the machine caught my curious and wandering eye. It was a Snickers candy bar, but infused with peanut butter. It was wrapped and packaged "Snickers Peanut Butter Squared"...a play on words, since it is not only square shaped, but divided into two parts. The literary humor alone was well worth the $1 being asked by the devil in disguise as a machine with buttons, candy racks, and all those fancy bells and whistles. Again...I stray from the topic at hand.


I recently tried a Mars w/ Caramel, and it was literally just that...CARAMEL! The entire thing was almost like eating a Rolo of sorts. However, this Snickers Squared stayed true to its roots and didn't allow the peanut butter to control the palate of taste. Instead, it kept the basic ingredients of a regular Snickers and just incorporated a generous, but tolerable amount of peanut butter. Near perfection!

I would rate this creative confectionery a 9-out-10 stars!

(I withheld the 10th star because the packaging states "save one for later"...yeah, sure. Like that's going to happen!
Snickers Squared
Snickers Squared
Comments:22 Replies - Latest reply on 2011-11-21
Posted by Anonymous on 2011-11-16:
Look yummy! I'll take the other square
Posted by swimjim on 2011-11-16:
Very well done J4A - I like your style!
Posted by DebtorBasher on 2011-11-16:
I'm sorry YaYa, but he has no square to spare!

Posted by Churro on 2011-11-16:
I thought snicker's always came with peanut butter. Well ya learn something new every day.

I seldom eat candy especially chocolate candy and this review won't change that but I'm not going to let that penalize this.

Good Job J4A.
Posted by Slimjim on 2011-11-16:
Good job J4A. Best review of something under a buck this week.
Posted by DebtorBasher on 2011-11-16:
Chocolate? Man-O-Man, I sure miss my Zman!
Posted by Old Timer on 2011-11-16:
Excellent review, and it wasn't something found in the kitchen freezer! You and Wally know your foodie and treats. Keep up the excellent reviews!
Posted by Nohandle on 2011-11-16:
I'm not a sweets addict gratefully but people used to swear the original Snickers were even better frozen. I bet these would be also.
Posted by swimjim on 2011-11-16:
I believe they deep fry snickers bars at state fairs these days on a stick.
Posted by DebtorBasher on 2011-11-16:
The Snickers' Ice cream bars a great!
Posted by Slimjim on 2011-11-16:
Ordinarily, I don't eat deep fried food at fairs, in particular, Snickers - I've always thought the food was a bit too greasy.
Posted by swimjim on 2011-11-16:
Jim, I'd wager there's not too much anything at a state fair that isn't greasy.
Posted by Anonymous on 2011-11-16:
DebtorBasher> You ain't just whistling dixie honey. The ice cream bars are as Robert Palmer exclaimed, "Simply Irresistible!"
Posted by momsey on 2011-11-16:
These are awesome, J4A, I will agree!
Posted by Old Timer on 2011-11-16:
"Simply Irresistible!" Graet song and video with the girls in the mini skirts. I still have that one on cassette tape. No cassette player anymore but I have the tape.
Posted by madconsumer on 2011-11-16:
great review.

speaking of chocolate and peanut butter, i sure miss my zman!!
Posted by Anna Molly on 2011-11-16:
If I hadn't already tried this candy bar, you would have make me want one, J4A. Unfortunately, I wasn't a fan. Good review.

Posted by trmn8r on 2011-11-16:
I just had a large bowl of Snickers-flavored ice cream.

I liked the advert with the sharks for this item - after reading your review, I'll give it a try. The price of candy bars these days puts me off - I'd rather have a couple of yummy donuts from my local bakery, which are $.40 a piece.
Posted by Anonymous on 2011-11-16:
I've tried this Snickers and love it!
Posted by pho-boy on 2011-11-16:
J4, I am not a big candy eater but when I do endulge, I go for "Three Musketeers."

As a kid I loved Nestle's Milk Chocolate Bars but you can't find them in the stores and Nestle's Crunch doesn't stack up to the plain chocolate bar.

Ordinarily, I abstain from voting on vending machine products reviews but I will make an exception only because of the literary aspect of this review.
Posted by ok4now on 2011-11-17:
As I sit salivating on how good this must taste I must duress from trying it. The calorie and fat content must be off the chart. This is why it's called candy. Okay I'll try it just once! LOL
Posted by Starlord on 2011-11-21:
I am with trmn8t, I love their commercial with the sharks stating how delicious Steve was. ROFL

Your Name:
(displayed with your comment)
Your E-mail:
(required)

Your Experience/Advice:
Check spelling


By clicking submit you agree that you have read and accept the Terms of Service & Privacy Policy.


Note: All comments are reviewed by a moderator before being published. Please be sure to read our guidelines before commenting.

More Reviews on Mars, Inc.: