[X]
Feedburner count

14
Helpful
Votes

Carmex Compliment - Healing Lotion - Puts out the Fire!

Review by Venice09 on 2011-11-26
I washed lots of dishes in the last few days, and my hands were screaming for relief. They were covered with cuts and on fire. Just when I thought I couldn't take it anymore, I remembered that I bought a new lotion from Carmex but hadn't tried it yet. I really wasn't expecting much because my hands were in such bad shape, but I had nothing to lose at that point.

So, I rubbed the lotion onto my hands and much to my surprise, they felt better immediately! The burning disappeared, and I could actually move them without further cracking. The effect lasted after several hand washings, too!

The lotion is non-greasy, absorbs quickly, and the smell is not overpowering. It contains Aloe and Vitamin E and is made using a patent pending process that delivers healing and moisturization. The price is $5.00 for a 5.5 oz tube, but I bought it on sale for $2.49 and used a $1.00 coupon. It also comes in a cream for intense healing of the driest, roughest skin. I will definitely be buying that one the next time I go shopping.

Overall, I love Carmex products, especially the potted lip balm. It's only $1.00 and works great!
Carmex Healing Lotion
Carmex Healing Lotion
Comments:32 Replies - Latest reply on 2011-12-10
Posted by Anonymous on 2011-11-26:
Do you wear gloves when washing dishes? Just curious...
Posted by Anonymous on 2011-11-26:
Never heard of the hand lotion, but the lip balm by Carmex has always been a staple in our household for years. Maybe I'll give it a try.
Posted by lexophiliac on 2011-11-26:
A duck went to a drugstore for lip balm and asked the cashier to put it on his bill.

carmex.com is offering $1.50 off coupons for the lotion.

I'm partial to honey as a healer.
Posted by raven2010 on 2011-11-26:
Fantastic review--- i had no idea this product existed and I am a huge fan of their lip balm
Posted by madconsumer on 2011-11-26:
great review, very helpful!
Posted by jktshff1 on 2011-11-26:
Good info
Posted by Alain on 2011-11-26:
Very Helpful, Venice! My wife gets chapped hands from wearing surgical gloves all the time. She'll be giving Carmex a try!
Posted by Anonymous on 2011-11-26:
I didn't know Carmex made lotion. I will have to try it. For some reason, the skin on my feet is dry and peeling. I've never had this problem before. Must be connected to whatever problem I'm having with my feet. I hadn't tried lotions yet cause most are greasy and I don't want to be walking around with greasy feet on tile floor. I'm afraid of falling. Good review!
Posted by MRM on 2011-11-26:
Another fact from Alain, his wife is a RN nurse.
Posted by Anonymous on 2011-11-26:
I hope their lotion is better then their nasty Chapstick. (vh)
Posted by Venice09 on 2011-11-26:
These products are new. I found out about them when I got the coupons. I have always had a problem with cracked skin on my hands, so I am really pleased that these products are inexpensive and available in stores. The lotion I usually use is only available online and it's more expensive.

I know I should wear gloves, but I tried and they don't work for me.

Yaya, I have the same problem with my feet, and I don't put anything on them for the same reason. Try using lotion before going to bed and covering them with socks. There are products specifically for cracked feet. I don't know which is more painful, cracked hands or cracked feet!
Posted by Skye on 2011-11-26:
Thanks Venice for the review. I'll try this product , because it's that time of season when chapped hands are a problem, even though I wear rubber gloves when doing household stuff, and my hands still get so painfully dry.

For my feet, I lather them with Vaseline, and then wrap them with saran wrap, cover with socks, slip like that overnight, and my feet are silky soft in the morning.

Posted by Venice09 on 2011-11-26:
This time of year is always worse. I can't go outside without gloves or my hands crack immediately. I've had this problem my whole life. My mom had the same thing. Carmex probably won't work as well as my usual lotion, but it's a great addition. I put it on over my regular lotion at night, and it really helped. And I love that I can just buy it at the supermarket!
Posted by Skye on 2011-11-26:
Venice, I wear winter gloves until June sometimes. I also get these little cuts along the sides of my nails that are so painful. I use New-Skin Liquid Bandage on those, and thank goodness for that stuff.

Posted by Venice09 on 2011-11-26:
I wear gloves off season, too! Sometimes I wonder if people think I'm crazy. I've wanted to try New Skin but was worried about putting it on an open cut. If it works for you, I'll definitely try it. Sometimes the cuts are so bad, I can't use my hands at all without getting blood on everything.
Posted by Skye on 2011-11-26:
Oh no, New Skin is wonderful for those of us who suffer from those nasty painful cuts. It doesn't hurt, and it stays on for days, no matter how many times you wash your hands. It smells a little bit like nail polish remover, but it does not burn.

It's one of my medicine cabinets must have's, that for sure.
Posted by Skye on 2011-11-26:
I have gloves in all my coats, jackets, pocket books and even in my vehicles, because I have have to have them. Today its freezing outside, and windy high 27, and yesterday it was 65. So you just never know when you gotta whip out you gloves, lol.
Posted by Venice09 on 2011-11-26:
Skye, your advice turned out to be a lot more helpful than my review! I can't wait to buy this. It sounds like a dream come true!
Posted by swimjim on 2011-11-26:
interesting
Posted by trmn8r on 2011-11-26:
Awesome review, Venice. It's so good that it almost sounds fake, but we all know it is legit.
Posted by Anonymous on 2011-11-26:
They make lotion? I had no idea! Good to know, especially this time of year when the air is getting so dry.
Posted by Venice09 on 2011-11-26:
I didn't realize Carmex had so many products until I looked at their website. I feel like a kid in a candy store!

http://www.mycarmex.com/our-products/default.aspx
Posted by Anonymous on 2011-11-26:
I love their chapstick but I hate how it tastes
Posted by Anonymous on 2011-11-26:
it smells like Vaseline. Don't like smearing Vaseline on my lips.
Posted by Anonymous on 2011-11-26:
Oh they make a lot of flavored chapsticks now. Maybe I'll try one. I use Softlips, but it's gone up in price lately
Posted by Venice09 on 2011-11-26:
Chapsticks make my lips worse. The only thing that works for me is the stuff in pots.

Wally and yaya, have you tried any of the flavored Carmex chapsticks? You might like those better.
Posted by Anonymous on 2011-11-26:
I just noticed the flavored chapsticks when I looked at the website. I'm going to try the vanilla
Posted by Venice09 on 2011-11-26:
Softlips is more expensive, and it really doesn't help much. I haven't tried Carmex Moisture Plus, but it's probably pricey, too.
Posted by Zelda on 2011-12-07:
New Skin stings like crazy! I can't use it at all! I love Aquaphor. I discovered that when my son was on life-support (he is okay now). The hospital used it to keep his skin lubricated. I have been using it for 17 years on my lips. Heel-tastic really does work for feet. I agree with using socks after applying at night. My husband uses Chapstick and I hate the feeling of it! I bought this stuff called Bag Balm that does not smell great. However, a little goes a long way and it works miracles on my hands! I use it at night. Some may want gloves, I don't bother. It is awesome. I seriously mean a little. Until I read the comments, I too, was leery of the review. It sounded as though it was from an employee of the company. I see now that it was from a very satisfied customer.
Posted by Venice09 on 2011-12-10:
Thanks for all the information, Zelda. I'm always looking for new products, especially for my hands and lips. So, I'll be on the lookout for Bag Balm.

I'm glad your son is fine now.
Posted by lexophiliac on 2011-12-10:
Bag Balm is the bomb. *Farmers and cows of America agree*
Posted by Venice09 on 2011-12-10:
That's a great testimonial!.. haha

If it works on cows, it should work on my hands.

Your Name:
(displayed with your comment)
Your E-mail:
(required)

Your Experience/Advice:
Check spelling


By clicking submit you agree that you have read and accept the Terms of Service & Privacy Policy.


Note: All comments are reviewed by a moderator before being published. Please be sure to read our guidelines before commenting.