3
Helpful
Votes

Outback Steak House Informative - Worst Service Ever - Food Service

Review by dchardison63 on 2011-12-11
NEWBERN, NORTH CAROLINA -- I live in Newbern NC for the past few months every time we go into the Outback restaurant in Newbern the service has been above poor. Wait 15 to 20 minutes for service, then wait another 10 minutes or so for bread and drinks staff slow and unfriendly, went in Outback today with my wife thinking ok it will be better, no took twenty five minutes just too get drink's waitress looked like she was on dope. There was about twenty people in the whole restaurant so werent like they were over busy, bread was cold when she finally did bring it, we got up and left and went too the Texas Steak House in Newbern great food and great service. We won't be back to the Outback, don't need my money could give a rats $&@ too many places too eat now days, good luck Newbern Outback !!!!!
Comments:6 Replies - Latest reply on 2011-12-12
Posted by Skye on 2011-12-11:
What did the manager tell you from the Outback, when you voiced your complaints?

They cannot attempt to correct what they are not made aware of.

Posted by Anonymous on 2011-12-11:
In my opinion, the OP did voice their complaints - by walking out. (At least they didn't stick around, eat, tip, then start complaining.)

I'm with the OP on this; I don't go out to eat and expect to teach anyone the ABCs of how to do their job. When enough people walk out, they'll figure out what a whole bunch of other restaurants have already figured out, namely, how to be a restaurant. Again, just my opinion.
Posted by trmn8r on 2011-12-11:
Good for you! I have had a very similar experience at my local Outback. Service that was horrendous even though the restaurant was almost empty. Servers all the way across the restaurant polishing brass for 15 minutes instead of refilling my iced tea.

Just like you, I had numerous subpar visits and kept hoping it would improve. Despite speaking with management on more than one occasion, it didn't. I will never darken an Outback's door again!
Posted by Anonymous on 2011-12-11:
I'm actually somewhat split in agreement between Skye and S_Hawking. It all depends on my mood that particular day or evening. Sometimes I feel it is necessary to visit with the management about their issues. While other times, I don't feel as though I should have to point that out, or be the one to have to educate or train their employees on customer service. Just depends what side of the bed I wake up on, I suppose.
Posted by trmn8r on 2011-12-11:
I'm 40% with my own assessment, and split 20% with each of the others. So that's +100 for me (yay!), +50 for each of the others, for a grand total of +250.
Posted by ok4now on 2011-12-12:
This is a chain restaurant owned by OSI Restaurant Partners. They are headquartered in Tampa, FL. They own and operate Outback, Carrabba's Italian Grill, Bonefish Grill, Roy's Restaurant and Fleming's Prime Steakhouse. They are all fine restaurants but the management and food quality greatly differs depending upon location. Basically it's hit or miss when you go there.

These places are not cheap, you want your moneys worth. To be fair they have delivered great food & service but this is rarely the case. They have mostly kids working there looking for a 20% plus tip while delivering mediocre service. The food is not consistently good and not worth what they charge. Their profit is made on inflated drink prices and expensive appetizers. I have been burned too may times and refuse to return.

Your Name:
(displayed with your comment)
Your E-mail:
(required)

Your Experience/Advice:
Check spelling


By clicking submit you agree that you have read and accept the Terms of Service & Privacy Policy.


Note: All comments are reviewed by a moderator before being published. Please be sure to read our guidelines before commenting.

More Reviews on Outback Steak House: