7
Helpful
Votes

Applebees Complaint - I Remember Why I Hate Applebee's

Review by 138668 on 2012-01-08
MESA, ARIZONA -- My boyfriend and I went to dinner at Applebee's last night. I hardly ever eat there because I've never cared for the food. But, my boyfriend really wanted to go and they have that 2 for $20 special. With that special, you get to choose one appetizer and 2 entrees. Not a bad deal.
When we got there, we had to wait about 20 minutes for a table. It was a Saturday night, so we expected a wait. It gave us a chance to look over the menu.
When we got seated, we ordered our drinks and food. For the appetizer, we chose the boneless wings in a sweet and spicy sauce. When the wings came out, there were 6 wings on the plate. I know it was an appetizer, but I expected more wings for 2 people to share. The sauce was good, but there was way to much breading on the wings and hardly any chicken. I let my boyfriend eat most of it.
For the entree, my boyfriend got the steak and I got the riblets with a side of mashed potatoes. The riblets were drenching in sauce and there was hardly any meat on the bone. I've had riblets at other places that had more meat on them. The waitress also brought me out a side of fries instead of mashed potatoes. I politely pointed out the mistake and she quickly brought me the correct side. The mashed potatoes were swimming in butter. I'm not a fan of butter so this was unappetizing to me. I kept the side of fries, but they were not very good either. I found them to be greasy and tasteless.
On the plus side, our waitress was WONDERFUL. She was attentive and had a very pleasant attitude. The great service we received almost made up for the disappointing food.
Comments:24 Replies - Latest reply on 2012-04-21
Posted by Anonymous on 2012-01-08:
Forgot to mention my boyfriend loved his steak. It was cooked to his liking and he loved his side of rice
Posted by DebtorBasher on 2012-01-08:
Who released this review? I was holding it hostage!!!
Posted by DebtorBasher on 2012-01-08:
I love mashed potatoes but I've quit ordering it in resturants because they are always instant potoates, then they add sour cream to them to hide the instant potato taste...or, they are too runny. What ever happened to good old fashioned REAL whipped potatoes?
Posted by Anonymous on 2012-01-08:
These potatoes tasted real. But there was just way too much butter
Posted by DebtorBasher on 2012-01-08:
I was at Applebees twice and was disappointed both times. I've never been back since.
Posted by Anonymous on 2012-01-08:
So then this should be a compliment or informative not a complaint if the waitress was awesome and ur bf liked his food.

I'm not a fan of applbees either but the last time I went I got the bacon cheeseburger it was pretty good the fries need some work though.
Posted by DebtorBasher on 2012-01-08:
I'd like a bowling alley burger. But, our bowling alley had a kitchen fire in the summer and they are still rebuilding.
Posted by Anonymous on 2012-01-08:
If my bf wants to write a compliment, he can. But I did not like the food so I am making this a complaint.

It's my reveiw and I'll complain if I want to
Posted by DebtorBasher on 2012-01-08:
YaYa, did you just stomp your foot and cross your amrs when you said that?
Posted by Anonymous on 2012-01-08:
Yup.
Posted by Anonymous on 2012-01-08:
Ok fine geez I was just saying.
Posted by DebtorBasher on 2012-01-08:
Come on Wally, I think we should go find a review where we are welcomed.
*Taking Wally by the arm and walking away*
Posted by Anonymous on 2012-01-08:
You're just jealous that I went there with my bf instead of you
Posted by Anonymous on 2012-01-08:
I actually went to another Applebee's a few weeks ago for drinks and appetizers. Our food was dissapointing that time too. And the service was bad. But, our waitress was my ex boyfriend's ex girlfriend, so that might explain it. I didn't write a complaint then. I probably deserved the bad service. lol
Posted by DebtorBasher on 2012-01-08:
Who are you talking to? Wally and I already left.
Posted by Anonymous on 2012-01-08:
Nuh uh, I can still see you
Posted by trp2hevn on 2012-01-08:
I've been thinking about going to the one in my area. The only reason is that somehow, I ended up with a gift card from there so I'd only go there to use that. I went there when it first opened. It wasn't spectacular, but then again, not many restaurants are anymore.
Posted by Anonymous on 2012-01-08:
That's very true Trp, especially with chain restaurants.
Posted by trp2hevn on 2012-01-08:
The bad part about this gift card, on the back it says valid for food, beverage and gratuity... Alcohol not included. I'd have no problem spending $50 at the bar.
Posted by Anonymous on 2012-01-08:
Lol same here, Trp
Posted by Alain on 2012-01-09:
This is a good, balanced review, Shorty. I haven't been to Applebee's in a while since we have plenty of restaurants that are closer to us. It doesn't look like there's any reason to go out of our way for them from the sound of it.
Posted by Starlord on 2012-01-09:
I have been to four Applebee's in various parts of the country, and only got disappointed at one. We would eat at Applebee's more often, but they are a bit spendy for us, more of a very special occasion type of place.
Posted by Venice09 on 2012-01-16:
I agree with Alain. This is a nice, balanced review. I think I've only been to Applebee's once and honestly don't remember much about it. I dislike grease and butter, so I understand why you didn't like the food.

Chili's has real mashed potatoes. I'm not a fan of Mexican food, so it's one of the few menu items I love.
Posted by Ashleigh on 2012-04-21:
I use to work for Applebee's as a server. Let me tell you the disgusting things that go on in the kitchen. Firstly, people are constantly sticking their hands in the fries instead of using the tongs designated to remove them from their container. Secondly, the cooks are a mess back there! Food EVERYWHERE! It's called a broom dude! And lastly, grease.... so gross and they never changed it when it was needed hence greasy fries that make them taste stale and overcooked... Horrible!

Your Name:
(displayed with your comment)
Your E-mail:
(required)

Your Experience/Advice:
Check spelling


By clicking submit you agree that you have read and accept the Terms of Service & Privacy Policy.


Note: All comments are reviewed by a moderator before being published. Please be sure to read our guidelines before commenting.