[X]

2
Helpful
Votes

Oster/Sunbeam Complaint - Lousy Quality - Stand Mixer

Review by Starlord on 2012-02-01
Rating: StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty Star
I purchased the Oster Stand Mixer as a present for my wife. I can't remember just how much I paid for it, but it turns out any amount was too much. I have always considered the Oster name to be an indicator of high quality, but now consider it to mean cheap crap, only one step above Telebrands. We have only used the mixer six or seven times since buying, and it was treated with kid gloves, never having been dropped or abused in any manner. When we moved, the mixer was hand-carried and never had any load heavier than pizzelle batter mixed. Last week, the wife was making mashed potatoes, and when she turned the mixer on, it made a sound like a jet engine firing up, but the beaters didn't move. When the beaters did start to move, they were out of synch and began colliding with each other, rather than operating as normal. I looked up Oster authorized service centers, and found one in the entire styate of Washington, located in Seattle. I sent an email to the email addy given, and have not received a reply. If I had an inkling that this was going to happen, I would have saved a bit longer and purchased a Kitchen-Aid mixer. As I said, Oster has gone from a trusted and respected maker of appliances to a maker of garbage. I guess 'caveat emptor' is the watchword. Never again will the name Oster darken our home's tranquility.
Comments:9 Replies - Latest reply on 2012-02-03
Posted by Venice09 on 2012-02-01:
I've never owned a KitchenAid mixed, but I wouldn't be surprised if their quality has gone down, too. Oster was always a brand that could be trusted, but I'm starting to think nothing is a sure thing anymore. I hope you can get the mixer fixed or replaced.

Good info, Star. Thanks.
Posted by Anonymous on 2012-02-01:
How long have you had it? Is it still under warranty? Did you register it with Oster, and have you tried to contact them directly to see if there's anything they can do?

http://www.oster.com/CustService.aspx

Like most appliances, there is always the chance of getting a dud, I wouldn't give up on the entire brand over one bad apple.
Posted by Alain on 2012-02-02:
Good review! I'm still using a 25 year old Cuisinart. We also have an ancient Hamilton Beach blender that's chugging along pretty well.
Posted by Starlord on 2012-02-02:
I have had no luck so far contacting Oster. The mixer was purchase just before Christmas of 2010, so this is not a warranty issue. It is more of expecting to get more than six uses out of an appliance that has been handled with kid gloves.
Posted by Venice09 on 2012-02-02:
Star, thank you for making my point about warranties v. quality. It's the quality that matters, not the warranty. That's what the appliance complaints are all about.
Posted by At Your Service on 2012-02-02:
I've got to agree with justcuz here. It's absolutely frustrating but even the very best names in any business can have problems. If one holds a standard of not having a complaint about the name out there, we'd all be boycotting every company in existence and not purchasing anything.

Instead of e-mailing them, why not call? You can get some straight forward information as to what they may charge to look at the mixer or even indicate what the problem may be. In fact, call Oster directly. They provide a toll-free number at (800) 334-0759.

Their current model of stand mixer is FPSTSM5102. At 350 watts and 4.6 quarts, they show a retail price of $99.99 for the unit. Comparatively, Kitchenaid's KSM150PSER is only 325 watts but 5 quarts. It has an MSRP of $350 and a sale price, directly from Kitchenaid, of $299.99. After a thirty dollar rebate, the Kitchenaid product still sells for $269.99 and still includes a one year, limited warranty. In either case, if one demands more coverage from the unit, it should be considered at the time of purchase.
Posted by Venice09 on 2012-02-03:
It's not the complaints, it's the amount of complaints that is disturbing.

I agree with Star that it's more a matter of expecting to get more than six uses out of an appliance. It's not that they break, but how quickly they break that causes many of the complaints.
Posted by Starlord on 2012-02-03:
I checked my email this morning, and discovered that Jarden, the parent company of Oster, is sending us a new mixer at no expense to us,. they have restored my faith in the Oster name. I did not expect this, but did want to get our mixer repaired, but this was a gift out of the blue. I can now recommend Oster products once more. This is how customer service should function, making the customer happy, no matter what it takes. Kudos to Jarden.
Posted by Venice09 on 2012-02-03:
That's great, Star. It's good to know that Oster stands behind its products and doesn't hide behind an expired warranty.

I had a similar experience with Hamilton Beach. My Brew Station stopped working shortly after the warranty expired. They sent me a brand new one free of charge. It made a lasting impression on me.

Your Name:
(displayed with your comment)
Your E-mail:
(required)

Your Experience/Advice:
Check spelling


By clicking submit you agree that you have read and accept the Terms of Service & Privacy Policy.


Note: All comments are reviewed by a moderator before being published. Please be sure to read our guidelines before commenting.