4
Helpful
Votes

RayOVac - Hearing Aid Batteries

Hearing Aid Batteries 312
Review by Sherdy2.0 on 2012-02-19
Rating: StarStarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty Star
Hello, it's Sherdy back in the saddle again, except this is the 2.0 version of me. I'm calmer, cooler, and more collected, except when someone or something needs called out.

I have a $2000 hearing aid. The batteries for it are between $11-16 in the store. I bought a 16 pack of RayOVac's batteries. Of the 16, 4 worked. I wrote the company. They quickly wrote back and said that the voltage on them drops and that I have to give them a bit of time to work.

Well, I seriously thought there was a problem with the hearing aid because I put the battery in, stuck the aid in my ear, went about my business for 15 or more minutes and nothing. They expire in 2014. The company has promised to send me more, which is why this isn't a complaint, and I wrote again two weeks later to ask about them, but they said they would send me some when they were in stock. Again, this isn't a complaint...yet. I bought another brand and the aid worked perfectly. This is why I am writing.

I also don't believe the hooey about the "time factor" and the battery's voltage needing to get amped up. I expect to take the little tab off, stick it in the aid, stick the aid in my ear and be on my way. As is, I went through 3/4s of the pack before I found one that worked. Folks, question the battery before you think it's an issue with your device.
Comments:10 Replies - Latest reply on 2012-04-07
Posted by jktshff1 on 2012-02-19:
Thanks. I get mine where I got my hearing aids
Posted by nikalseyn on 2012-02-19:
It's all about production and quality control. RayOVac is headquartered in the USA but apparently has production facilities all over the world. I suspect you got a batch made who-knows-where and made not-so-great. Suggest you buy another brand and forget about RayOVac.
Posted by Exterminator's boss on 2012-02-19:
I used to buy the Rayovac 312 for my mom at WallsMart, and never had a problem. Her hearing aid cost $2000 also, but I don't believe the cost of the device used is relevant. I hope you receive the replacements promptly. Usually companies follow through on such replacements/coupons.
Posted by Sherdy2.0 on 2012-02-20:
I added the cost of the hearing aid so that you would know that it wasn't one of those TV ad kinds. I got this from a doctors office-it's top notch. Hi Jkt! Nice to see you are still on here. I have had the aid for two years, and never, to this point had an issue with the batteries. Just being informative. I hope they make good on the replacements.
Posted by Sherdy2.0 on 2012-02-23:
Okay, follow up. It has been over a month now and no batteries. I won't be buying RayOvac again, even if they are on sale. It's just not worth it. I paid nearly $16 for four working batteries.
Posted by Alain on 2012-02-23:
Good review and follow up, Sherdy! I haven't used RayOVac in a while simply because the local stores I use don't stock them. I'm not using a hearing aid yet, but that might change up the road a bit. Thanks for the warning!
Posted by jktshff1 on 2012-02-23:
good to see ya posting Sherdy, I use the Audibel batteries, mine usually last a wk to 10 days, depending upon how much the Mrs is hollering at me.
Posted by Sherdy2.0 on 2012-03-04:
Hi guys! Good to see you. Jkt, you're cracking me up as always. Hi Alain! Okay, so now I have turned this into a complaint. RayOVac stinks. You know, if they hadn't promised to send me new batteries TWICE, I would have just written that and driven on. The fact that they promised and didn't deliver is just adding insult to the junk I bought from them in the first place. That's okay, though. I was in the store and saw someone picking out batteries like mine and directed them to the Duracell, one dollar more, and shared my experience. The lady picked out the Duracell, so I just cost them what they cost me. I said, "Would you rather spend $15 for four batteries, because that's all I got last time I bought them, or would you rather spend $16 and have them all work." It wasn't a hard choice for her.
Posted by jktshff1 on 2012-03-04:
Good for you. That's a great way to deal with a unresponsive manufacturer.
Posted by Sherdy2.0 on 2012-04-07:
My account seems to have been deleted...anyway, a follow up. RayOVac has been sending me batteries for a month now. I have enough batteries to keep me hearing until I am five years older than I am now. I think it's nice they followed up in a nice way, so I followed up in kind.

Your Name:
(displayed with your comment)
Your E-mail:
(required)

Your Experience/Advice:
Check spelling


By clicking submit you agree that you have read and accept the Terms of Service & Privacy Policy.


Note: All comments are reviewed by a moderator before being published. Please be sure to read our guidelines before commenting.