[X]

11
Helpful
Votes

India Garden Restaurant - India Garden - Good Indian Cusine at a Reasonable Price

Food - Compliment
Review by Alain on 2012-02-29
Rating: StarStarStarStarStar
MONROEVILLE, PENNSYLVANIA -- We had dinner last night at the India Garden Restaurant in Monroeville, PA and had a very enjoyable experience. The food was well prepared (we chose the buffet) and, unlike some Indian eateries, was not all overwhelmingly suffocated in curry. The temperature control, 1 to 10 (1 for the timid and 10 for us hotties), allowed my wife (a timid) to enjoy her selections while I (a hottie) enjoyed their spicy entrees. Their House Hot Sauce had a pleasing, delayed warmth that properly built to a nice burn. Very satisfying. I had a side of cool fruit to quench the taste buds in between adding a bit more fire to the palate. I found the goat to be excellent (juicy and tender)! The Nan bread was also fresh and came with some succulent dipping sauces. The price was under $20 each, the service was attentive (but not intrusive), the dining area clean, food was served hot and parking was easy & ample. A fine dining experience! We will be adding this establishment to our list of 'return to' restaurants!
Comments:14 Replies - Latest reply on 2012-03-01
Posted by Venice09 on 2012-02-29:
Nice description, Alain. It almost makes me want to try it. I've never had Indian food because I don't care for curry and hot sauce, but this sounds like a good place for beginners.

I'm glad you enjoyed your dinner, and that you found a new place to eat.
Posted by Anna Molly on 2012-02-29:
Good review! I had no idea Monroeville had an Indian restaurant. Then again, I haven't been there in over 20 years :). Glad you and your wife enjoyed your meals.
Posted by Churro on 2012-02-29:
Great review Alain!
Posted by MRM on 2012-02-29:
I have never tried Indian food in my lifetime. I need to try it someday.
Posted by DebtorBasher on 2012-02-29:
Thanks Alain...my Nephew lives in Monroeville and I'll recommend this place to him!

Now tell us...how did your wife like being refered to as 'timid' and not a 'hottie'???

We always knew YOU were a 'hottie'...LOL!
Posted by Anonymous on 2012-02-29:
Nice review, Alan..yummm!! Naan bread is my favorite!
Posted by Anonymous on 2012-02-29:
Good review Alain, I'm not a fan of Indian food cause most it reeks of curry. But this place seems good.
Posted by Anonymous on 2012-02-29:
Not all Indian food is spicy. Not all Indian food has curry in it. Last time I had Indian food, I ate some sort of chicken dish that was made with a spinach sauce. Very tasty
Posted by raven2010 on 2012-02-29:
Great review---I cant stand curry in any way shape or form. But I have had some tasty indian food sans curry.
Posted by Skye on 2012-02-29:
Nice review Alain! Glad you had a nice dinner and enjoyed the food.
Posted by onlooker on 2012-02-29:
can you fedex a doggie bag? Good review hope the restaurant stays around.
Posted by old fart on 2012-02-29:
My youngest grandson and his lady swear by the Indian restaurant in Saginaw,, They are both vegetarians so it works well for them.
I tried Indian food once and was unimpressed,
Posted by Alain on 2012-03-01:
Thanks to everyone for their comments! I should have mentioned that I also sampled some of the vegetable offerings (again, not all were curried) and found them very tasty, too! There was a nice salad that had a slightly minty flavour that was quite refreshing!
Posted by jktshff1 on 2012-03-01:
good review

Your Name:
(displayed with your comment)
Your E-mail:
(required)

Your Experience/Advice:
Check spelling


By clicking submit you agree that you have read and accept the Terms of Service & Privacy Policy.


Note: All comments are reviewed by a moderator before being published. Please be sure to read our guidelines before commenting.