[X]
Feedburner count

7
Helpful
Votes

Southwestern Nursing Center-Helpful Rehabilitation

Elder care & rehabilitation - Compliment
Review by Alain on 2012-04-23
Rating: StarStarStarStarStar
PITTSBURGH, PENNSYLVANIA -- After my Mother-in-law had a series of falls at her house recently, the last one requiring transport to the hospital for an evaluation, we all agreed the time had come for her to seek placement in a long term skilled nursing care facility. Before we could do this, however, she needed a short term center that would provide her with some physical therapy and nursing care while we searched for a place that would be suitable for her permanent continued care. Southwestern was close to the hospital, accepted her insurance and provided the temporary medical services she needed. The center was clean, had up-to-date equipment and the staff was both professional and compassionate. My Mother-in-law enjoyed the food and actually gained 3 much needed pounds during her 2 1/2 week stay. The social services department provided us with all the information we needed to formulate an extended care plan for her including financing, insurance requirements, the names of local long term care skilled nursing facilities that had space available and other pertinent information. We were given daily evaluations of her progress and health. The staff also did an excellent job of assisting her in transitioning to a new environment with a minimum of stress. Southwestern is part of a larger health center, Southwestern Group, Ltd., that provides a variety of services to Pittsburgh residents including rehabilitation (all ages), a retirement community, and extended health care for seniors. We very much appreciated their quality care and service. Additional information: http://www.southwesternhealthcare. com
Comments:7 Replies - Latest reply on 2012-04-24
Posted by trmn8r on 2012-04-23:
Wow, awesome review Alain. Very well written. This place truly sounds great. Having been down this road with my mother, I can vouch for the fact many such facilities do not offer this level of service. Good luck to your MIL with her recovery and adjustment.
Posted by lexophiliac on 2012-04-23:
Sounds like you guys really did your homework Alain. There are many considerations to take into account when seeking temporary or long term placement for a loved one. Facilities are not one size fits all. Wishing your family well on finding the best long term placement for her needs. I'm sure their administrator would appreciate hearing from your family about the positive experience and the competent, compassionate care your MIL and family received from the staff at their faciity.
Posted by Nohandle on 2012-04-23:
For those not having experienced what Alain has I bet some of your friends have. No one I personally know wants to toss Mom in a nursing home and forget her. At some point it becomes impossible, especially if you live in another area, to not have to make some decisions that Mom might not want and you might not want either. Mom wants to continue to live in her home and hiring 24 hour a day sitters is not as simple as one might think. Sometimes they just don't show up. What do you do then?

A local friend placed her mom in an assisted living/nursing home. My friend and her husband feared for her safety and her mom would just *forget to eat* on occasion and wouldn't remember she hadn't eaten; plus she had fallen and had a few mini strokes. Never has a staff been as kind to an individual. She was introduced to everyone there and encouraged to take part in all activities. Cheerful employees and trained medical professionals there at a moment's notice. There are some places out there if you can find them.

Excellent review and compliment Alain.
Posted by Alain on 2012-04-23:
Thank you for your additional helpful comments and for sharing your experiences! One of the most important things we've learned about this event is that you can never have too much information. My Mother-in-law has been placed in a long term facility that, thus far, has also proven itself to be an excellent care center. I'm going to wait a bit before I write any review about it since I want to be certain I'm passing along good information. While it isn't easy to place a loved one in a care center, there does come a time when it's the best and safest option. My Mother-in-law had become increasingly reclusive, has vision in only one eye and has severe rheumatoid arthritis. We just could not take care of her at her home anymore and her house was no longer a safe place for her. We are confident, and she is in complete agreement, that we've have taken the best steps to ensure her lifestyle is as good as it can be under the circumstances.
Posted by jktshff1 on 2012-04-23:
Good stuff
Posted by old fart on 2012-04-23:
I'm saving this info to use as a guide when my wife commits me to a home.
(she already thinks I'm semi senile)
Posted by Alain on 2012-04-24:
You have to stay home, OF. Matilda would miss you!

Your Name:
(displayed with your comment)
Your E-mail:
(required)

Your Experience/Advice:
Check spelling


By clicking submit you agree that you have read and accept the Terms of Service & Privacy Policy.


Note: All comments are reviewed by a moderator before being published. Please be sure to read our guidelines before commenting.