[X]
Feedburner count

Scotland Motors - Air Bags

2009 Chevy Malibu - Complaint
Review by reeseeb07 on 2012-05-09
Rating: StarStarStarStarEmpty Star
LAURINBURG, NORTH CAROLINA -- I got in a bad car wreck and my car manfunctioned and was totaled. I suffered a light concussion and sores on my head. I ran into a ditch and hit a tree dead on totaling my car. The car engine and motor dropped to the bottom of the car. There was smoking and acid was coming from the car. I'm trying to seek legal assistance in my accident because my air bags did not deployed after the impact of my wreck. I brought a car from a company called Scotland Motors in Laurinburg, NC and the point is that my air bags did not deploy and I could of been killed.
Comments:6 Replies - Latest reply on 2012-05-11
Posted by Kris10 on 2012-05-09:
This may actually be a manufacturer's issue. I know that certain airbags deploy only when the car is hit at a specific angle. that said, I'm not sure what those angles are for each kind of air bag. This does look like something to be looked into though. I wish you a speedy recovery!
Posted by CowboyFan on 2012-05-09:
I am glad that you had only minor injuries, but the fact is you did not die. Personal injury lawsuits have two components: liability and damages. Damages are based on what happened, not what could happen. Any personal injury attorney will be glad to look over your case.

The OP's photo looks like a side air bag. A quick google search shows:

"Side airbags are designed to protect an occupant's head and/or neck from striking objects inside or outside the vehicle in the event of a SIDE IMPACT CRASH."

It looks like you did not have the type of side impact crash - being head-on- that would trigger these side cushion airbags.
Posted by FoDaddy19 on 2012-05-09:
I don't think there was any malfunction. If you hit something head on with the front of the car, then it's a frontal impact and the front airbags should deploy assuming the impact is hard enough. The side impact airbags won't necessarily deploy in a frontal impact collision. They are primarily designed to protect the occupants in the event of a side impact collison. You were in a front impact collision, ergo, the *side impact* airbags didn't deploy. I don't think a lawsuit on your part would prove fruitful.
Posted by Slimjim on 2012-05-09:
Agree with the others. This side impact airbag would have malfunctioned if it actually did deploy in a frontal crash. Now why the front airbag didn't pop all comes down to how hard you hit verses how hard you needed to hit that tree to deploy it. Airbags are only suppose to deploy ONLY in life threatening accident at certain speeds. Believe me, if that airbag hit you in the face, it easily could have hurt you just as much, if not more. They explode with such force, they've been know to fatally injure children and even small women.
Posted by Starlord on 2012-05-11:
I can understand how you feel, but this is not the fault of the dealership. They do not build the cars or intall the airbags. We had a gentleman a few months ago who was complaining about his airbags failing to deploy when he was T-boned by another driver. He was hit in the right side, and the driver and passenger airbags do not deploy in a 90 degree side strike. You do not identify the make and model of the car, and it is the manufacturer that is the one you need to talk to. The dealership did nothing wrong.
Posted by trmn8r on 2012-05-11:
First off, sounds like a manufacturer issue. Second, I agree that it appears to be a side airbag, and those deploy for side impacts. To my knowledge, they do not for frontal impacts.

Your Name:
(displayed with your comment)
Your E-mail:
(required)

Your Experience/Advice:
Check spelling


By clicking submit you agree that you have read and accept the Terms of Service & Privacy Policy.


Note: All comments are reviewed by a moderator before being published. Please be sure to read our guidelines before commenting.