[X]
Feedburner count

2
Helpful
Votes

Airport Marina Ford - Extended Warranty Scam/ Consumer Fraud

Complaint
Review by shopfelyne on 2012-05-11
Rating: StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty Star
LOS ANGELES, CALIFORNIA -- I would not recommend doing any kind of business with Airport Marina Ford because they are as shady as they come. I purchased an extended warranty (PremiumCare) through Airport Marina Ford for my 2005 BMW X5 in the amount of $3695 which I paid in full. A month & a half later I needed repairs done to my car which are all covered under this warranty however once the estimate was given to the warranty company by the BMW dealer they quickly denied the repair claim, according to them due to some mistakes made by Airport Marina Ford with my contract. I later found out that Airport marina Ford went behind my back and faxed the warranty company a bogus handwritten inspection sheet that stated that my car had pre existing problems and that's why my claim was denied. I never had any knowledge of this prior to me filing a claim. The warranty company then advised me that Airport Marina Ford should have never sold me this warranty if my car had pre existing problems.

I explained to the warranty company that my car did not have any pre existing problems and prior to me signing the contract and paying for the warranty Airport Marina Ford performed a diagnostic test and numerous test including a driving test on my vehicle for more than two hours while I waited in they're customer waiting area and I was also provided documentation which I signed and the dealership had to sign stating that my inspection was good and no problems at the time of my inspection.

I was then contacted by Leonard, Service Director advising me that he was going to void my contract and refund my money. I advised him that my contract is legally binding and that I was not interested in cancelling my contract and that I just wanted my car repaired. He then said "Well that's not going to happen" I then asked him why would he tell the warranty company that my car had problems and why did they sell me the warranty if this was true. He refused to answer those questions, so I told him that I was going to sue Airport Marina Ford for consumer fraud and to the better Business Bureau and all the other agencies. He just responded "Okay" And then he hung up.

They happily took my money and now that they are on the hook they are refusing to take responsibility. What a scam!
Comments:10 Replies - Latest reply on 2012-05-13
Posted by shopfelyne on 2012-05-11:
Thanks for the warning. I will never shop at airport Marina Ford!
Posted by DebtorBasher on 2012-05-11:
Thanks for the warning? Shopfelyne, why are you thanking yourself?
Posted by shopfelyne on 2012-05-11:
Because i'm speaking on behalf of all consumers! You should thank me too!
Posted by CowboyFan on 2012-05-11:
Contact an attorney immediately would be my advice, because California has a lot of laws and regulations protecting consumers. You may have to end up suing both the dealer and the warranty company, and let the court straighten out who should pay.
Posted by trmn8r on 2012-05-11:
Responding to your own complaint as if you are someone else doesn't increase your credibility - it does the opposite.

That said, your complaint is a real eye-opener. As I was reading it, I was thinking you should never have been sold the warranty under these circumstances, and then in fact you were told that. I'd find a way to sue the pants off of Airport Marina Ford. Good luck.
Posted by bcd on 2012-05-11:
If you have a copy of the signed inspection report it appears as though you have proof the dealer committed fraud.
Posted by shopfelyne on 2012-05-13:
Thanks everyone for your positive comments! So far i have filed complaints with the following agencies: Better Business Bureau, Attorney Generals Office, Automotive Repair Bureau, Consumer Affairs. I've already rec'vd responses from BBB and Attorney Generals Office which they also provided me with a complaint form for the DMV, Bureau of Investigations along with "Occupational License Status Info which states that Airport Marina Ford has been on probation before for prior administration actions. Thats why it is so important that we file complaints against shady business when they violate us, committ fraud and practice unfair business dealings. otherwise they keep getting away with fraud and scams. and its also important to share stories like this so that it can help the next person.
Posted by shopfelyne on 2012-05-13:
Do anyone know of any good attorneys?
Posted by Alain on 2012-05-13:
Try http://consumerattorneysblog.com
Posted by jktshff1 on 2012-05-13:
NEVER tell a business you are going to take legal action! I believe at that point, they have a right to cut communication and negotiations and give you their lawyer's name or let you find it yourself.

Your Name:
(displayed with your comment)
Your E-mail:
(required)

Your Experience/Advice:
Check spelling


By clicking submit you agree that you have read and accept the Terms of Service & Privacy Policy.


Note: All comments are reviewed by a moderator before being published. Please be sure to read our guidelines before commenting.