[X]
Feedburner count

2
Helpful
Votes

Amware Pallets Services - Point System

Complaint
Review by Shalonda on 2012-05-28
Rating: StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty Star
ELLOREE, SC, SOUTH CAROLINA -- I write you today seeking assistance in regards to legal matters of importance. On May 14, 2012 I have to go to court and my job took two points from me. No matter if you have an excuse or not. I have called and filed a formal complaint by calling the HR Manager. They say they was going to investigate my complaint but never get back to me. I took the Liberty by contacting SC Consumers Affairs in this matter. I feel my rights and other employee rights being violated. I feel emotionally and mentally distraught over this whole matter. If you have a doctor excuse or court papers you still get points. I never ever heard this before. We all human and things happened we can get sick or be in bad accidents and when you come back to work you will be terminated for points. This company to me is not doing things accordingly within the proper guidelines of the law. What can I do to get justice done>
Comments:9 Replies - Latest reply on 2012-06-10
Posted by jonthethird on 2012-05-28:
I assume (yes I know) that points are demerits which may affect your promotions, raises, etc.

What does the employee manual say about this? There should be a description of when points will be assessed, how long they remain on your record, etc.
Posted by Anonymous on 2012-05-28:
At my work, the only things you don't get attendance points for is Jury Duty, a death in the family, or FMLA. If you have a dr's appointment or a court date, you would need to take pre-approved vacation time. If you call out, you will get an attendance point, no matter the excuse. It's been that way at every place I've worked at.
Posted by jonthethird on 2012-05-28:
Littleshorty, I think those three you cite are covered by statutes, and most employers tend to work to the letter of the law.
Posted by trmn8r on 2012-05-28:
Points? The only points I ever heard of are motor vehicle points lol. How quickly can one amass enough points to be shown the door?
Posted by Anonymous on 2012-05-28:
Trm, depends on the job. My current job will fire you if you get 10 attendance points. Each time you call out sick, you get a point. At most jobs I've worked at, the point falls off after a year. When I worked at the airline, there were people who would have 20 something attendance points before getting fired.
Posted by trmn8r on 2012-05-28:
Thanks, yaya. I can imagine a person being quite nervous about this as that magic number approaches.
Posted by Shalonda on 2012-06-10:
You can get up to eight points and then you will be terminate. I never ever heard this before when I use to work at caterpillar doctor excuses and court appearance is excused. At this place of employment you will get 1 point or 2 points for going to the doctor you get point taken from you for everything
Posted by madconsumer on 2012-06-10:
i know someone who's employer does this as well. it is total BS. he gets points for everything under the sun. my friends says his points reset yearly, except those that violate company policy.

do your points reset each year?
Posted by trmn8r on 2012-06-10:
You get points for going to the doctor? I would think it wouldn't be legal to fire someone for going to the doctor 4-8 times in a year.

Your Name:
(displayed with your comment)
Your E-mail:
(required)

Your Experience/Advice:
Check spelling


By clicking submit you agree that you have read and accept the Terms of Service & Privacy Policy.


Note: All comments are reviewed by a moderator before being published. Please be sure to read our guidelines before commenting.