[X]

4
Helpful
Votes

Statewide Van Lines - Worst Moving Experience Of My Life!!!!!

Interstate Move - Complaint
Review by pkalamaris on 2012-06-20
Rating: StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty Star
GEORGIA -- To whom it may concern,

I do not know if your braches are franchised or owner-operated but I want you to know of my experience with your GA branch. I have been dealing with Reuben, Jennifer, Scott, and Avi. Each one of them are terrible representatives of your company. Scott suckered me in telling me how honest your company was and that I was to be careful of other companies because they would try to scam me. I now realize he was talking about the company for which he works! Using your company has been the worst moving experience I have ever had! I have never filed a complaint against a company before in my life so this is an indication of how badly your company does business.

You picked up my bed, dresser, a half-table, and mirror on 25 May, 2012 from GA and told me delivery would take 5 - 7 business days to CA. 9 days later, my items had still not even shipped from GA! I was told by Avi I would have to pay an additional $500 for packing materials and because my bed counted as 4 additional items and took up more space in the trailer. Ridiculous! If I was only moving a mattress, I would have specified so. A bed is a mattress, frame, headboard, and footboard. After negotiating with Reuben, I agreed to pay an additional $200. Now, without my knowledge or consent, your company placed my items in an unknown storage facility in CA when you did not deliver my items to me on the date specified (19 June, 2012). I now have to spend more money to hire a mover to move my stuff from the storage facility to my home. To add insult to injury, you still have not given me the address where my stuff is being stored although I have paid all of the money to do so! I knew this would happen and told Reuben I would not pay until after I had my furniture in my possession. He told me to call him back when I was ready to pay and hung on up me. I then went to the bank and deposited the remaining money in your company account. After multiple phone calls and multiple conversations today with Jennifer and Reuben (wherein I was promised the address to the storage facility where my items are being kept), I still do not have the address!!! I have already filed complaints with the Department of Transportation and the Better Business Bureau and have filed a very negative review on Yelp! I want everyone on the web to know about your terrible scam moving company so they will not be put through this hell!!!!
Comments:5 Replies - Latest reply on 2012-06-21
Posted by clutzycook on 2012-06-21:
I think you had better get a lawyer and even get the police involved.
Posted by jktshff1 on 2012-06-21:
What clutzy said. Thanks for the post.
Posted by yoke on 2012-06-21:
I was thinking the same thing, call the police and make a report.
Posted by trmn8r on 2012-06-21:
This complaint sounds very familiar, and the company does as well. You are correct - it was a warning sign when the company rep told you to avoid scammers, but how were you to know?

I think clutzy is on the right track here - good luck getting your furniture from these shysters. Very helpful warning for others to avoid them.
Posted by virginia on 2012-06-21:
This kind of scam was detailed on TV, Dateline I think it was, several years ago. Basically it is a scam to hold your stuff hostage while you pay and pay. Time to look up moving scams online, and then go see the police.

Your Name:
(displayed with your comment)
Your E-mail:
(required)

Your Experience/Advice:
Check spelling


By clicking submit you agree that you have read and accept the Terms of Service & Privacy Policy.


Note: All comments are reviewed by a moderator before being published. Please be sure to read our guidelines before commenting.