1
Helpful
Votes

Lehigh Valley Auto Auction - Unsafe Autos Being Sold At Auto Auction

Complaint
Review by JUSTAKEN4123 on 2012-09-26
Rating: StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty Star
WHITEHALL, PENNSYLVANIA -- I like to tell you what happen on 6/20/12 that night I bought a KIA Sportage vin #knd1a723825149831 in lane c lot 39 that was representative by a guy named Pete who rep for lynnes Nissan west of 59 route 206 Stanhope NJ 07874 on the next day I took it for pa inspection could not pass the frame was so rotted out and full of hole and a few other things wrong with it so I called the auction about it and took it back for them to see the one owner after a few hours talked to me and told me I have to keep this KIA or never go back to there auction like it was my fault this car was unsafe and not road worthy so I stayed away until 9/1/12 when I went there to meet someone instead Pete the rep of the unsafe car came up to me and asked what I was doing there and why did I call lynnes nissan on 6/21/12 that just about cost him to loose their account and that I never buy a car from this auction again that's about the only thing he had right not if there this unsafe so I let him know this car was at best to be in a junkyard and he thought I was being a wise guy so he told me to leave and I asked if he owned the auction so he told me to wait that's when he came back with one of the owners named Jerry and I was told to leave or that the police would be called and I be handcuffed out so I told then I was getting in touch with the d a office and they just laugh it off like its ok to sell these kinda of cars as long as your an auction will hopefully the state police check into this matter to see if this car was ever inspected and still on our pa roads being this unsafe
Comments:5 Replies - Latest reply on 2012-09-27
Posted by Alain on 2012-09-26:
Your complaint should be filed with the Pennsylvania Attorney Generals office via http://www.attorneygeneral.gov/complaints.aspx
Posted by leet60 on 2012-09-26:
I am sorry you bought an auto in this condition. Unless it was somehow misrepresented by the seller as to the condition the responsibility for ensuring the condition of engine, frame, etc falls upon the buyer. Was the car sold as/is?

Most cars sold at "auctions" are in such poor condition that the dealer that took them as a trade does not want them on their store lot.
Posted by FoDaddy19 on 2012-09-26:
You can sell whatever at an auto auction, it doesn't have to be in any specific kind of condition.

That's why it's vitally important that you know what you are doing and you know how to properly inspect the vehicle yourself. If you don't know what to look for, then you probably shouldn't be buying an automobile from an auction.

For what it's worth I bought my current vehicle at an auction (car dealers only/private auction, you needed to have a sales license to get in). I found a couple cars that I would consider buying, gave each one a once over, and ended up buying my car for about $4000-$5000 less than the retail going rate was at the time. It worked out well for me.

But yeah, it's up to the potential buyer to do his/her due diligence in inspecting the vehicle beforehand. I think you're going to end up finding out that the people running the auction are not obligated to do anything for you.
Posted by trmn8r on 2012-09-27:
You bought a car at auction, which most likely means it is completely as-is. Sounds like you returned to the auction site months later and tried to get some satisfaction. They have the right to ask you to leave their premises.

FWIW, I bought a car from Lynnes way back in 1984. Nissan 280ZX turbo. Darned nice car.
Posted by CowboyFan on 2012-09-27:
Lehigh Auto Auction website shows they have a "light system" regarding the vehicle at the time it is auction: A green light means the car is subject to arbitration concerning such things as frame damage. The red light, however, means:

Sold with no arbitration, unit is subject to any and all defects except odometer or title brand problems. Vehicles sold under the Red Light are not guaranteed against frame damage or cracked block. VEHICLE IS NOT ELIGIBLE FOR ARBITRATION FOR ANY REASON AND MUST BE PAID FOR IMMEDIATELY.

It is impossible to tell whether the OP has a valid complaint, without knowing what color light he bought the car under. From the facts it appears he bought it under the red light, which means that he knew "expressly" that the vehicle was not guaranteed against frame damage.

When you buy at auctions, you take a chance. Sometime we lose.

Your Name:
(displayed with your comment)
Your E-mail:
(required)

Your Experience/Advice:
Check spelling


By clicking submit you agree that you have read and accept the Terms of Service & Privacy Policy.


Note: All comments are reviewed by a moderator before being published. Please be sure to read our guidelines before commenting.