[X]

1
Helpful
Votes

Frank Seeber Roofing - BEWARE!!! STOLE MY MONEY!!!

Review by learn5th on 2012-10-12
Rating: StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty Star
FT. LAUDERDALE, FLORIDA -- I had signed a roofing contract with Frank Seeber Roofing and was told that for whatever reason I could cancel before 10/9/12. I called Frank Seeber Roofing the morning of 10/9/12 and told them I would be cancelling and what steps I needed to do. I was given the run around that day. I called several times and no answer. Never got any returned phone calls. Finally, got the email from Frank Seeber Roofing that the cancellation was received on 10/9/12. I called the next day to see when I could pick up my $805 deposit check and was again given the run around and never given any answers until the next day when they sent me a email stating that I could come pick up my check on Friday but there were fees that they would be taking out of that money. That is the most ridiculous thing I have ever heard. The cancellation letter states "You may CANCEL this transaction, without penalty or obligation". This means that I will not get penalized by backing out and I have no obligation to the contract. They claim they paid $300 at the city of dania beach to submit the permit. I called the city of dania and talked to the permit department and was told that was a "lie" and that Frank Seeber had only paid $75 for a Plan Review Fee Charge. No other fees were paid by Frank Seeber Roofing. Furthermore, no where on the cancellation notice does it state that I would get charged any fees. It clearly states that I may cancel no later than 10/9/12 and without any penalty or obligation. Called Frank Seeber Roofing again and explained what the city of dania told me and they don't care or want to resolve this issue.
Comments:4 Replies - Latest reply on 2012-10-13
Posted by Buddy01 on 2012-10-13:
In your first sentence you say you had to cancel before 10-9, but at the end you say no later than 10-9. Which is it? Either way,they are trying to scam you and you should pursue this. They could try and claim the $300 is not a fee or a penalty so they don't have to give that back.
Posted by leet60 on 2012-10-13:
It sounds as if you have a very solid small claims action, were I you, I would file a suit against them.
Posted by BigAl on 2012-10-13:
Your review has conflicting information. At first you state that the contract must be canceled before 10/9 then later in your review you state by 10/9. Without seeing the actual contract it is difficult to ascertain if anything inappropiate was done by the roofing company. It very well could have cost them $300 to secure a permit to do the work at your home. The $75 charged by the city is only part of the cost of obtaining a permit. Many permits require extensive plans to be submitted in order to get an approval.
Posted by yoke on 2012-10-13:
You had until the 9th to cancel. You cancelled the morning of the 9th after the company already went ahead and got the permit. The company may have already bought supplies which are non refundable. The company was acting in good faith, many companies do not get permits from towns and still charge you.

Your Name:
(displayed with your comment)
Your E-mail:
(required)

Your Experience/Advice:
Check spelling


By clicking submit you agree that you have read and accept the Terms of Service & Privacy Policy.


Note: All comments are reviewed by a moderator before being published. Please be sure to read our guidelines before commenting.