[X]

5
Helpful
Votes

New Policy On M3C? - Do you like the NEW M3C?

Reviews Not Updated as Before
Review by oldisgood on 2012-10-15
Rating: StarStarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty Star
It used to be when you posted a comment on a review and clicked "follow " you were notified when new comments were posted. Not so anymore. What is happening??
Comments:26 Replies - Latest reply on 2012-10-16
Posted by DebtorBasher on 2012-10-15:
Addy would be the best one to answer this, but I think someone has asked about this before and was told that feature has been disabled while they work on some behind the scene issues.
Posted by Kris10 on 2012-10-15:
DB, any idea how long it will be until that's done?

Also, maybe you could pass along a message to Addy to notify us of things like that via mass messages? It just would be nice to know.

Also, is anyone else getting the review time for comments??
Posted by tnchuck100 on 2012-10-15:
Nope. Not so much the community side but they still display the "down for a week non-sense" when you try to access some of your profile information.

I am convinced the M3C we once knew is gone. They sure don't want us (the members) to know what their intentions are. Tis a sad state of affairs. RIP.
Posted by trmn8r on 2012-10-15:
If you want to know what is happening, email admin. This kind of question may not be something that can't be answered to your satisfaction.

To answer the question as to whether I "like" the change, I do. It cuts down on the chaff, and I'm in no hurry to see what I posted anyway.
Posted by trmn8r on 2012-10-15:
Oops - I didn't read this properly. Part of my response is germane, but the other part is not - I thought it was about responses not be posted immediately - it was about the "follow" feature (which I never used). My bad.
Posted by clutzycook on 2012-10-15:
I don't like it. It's not as much fun anymore!
Posted by Anonymous on 2012-10-15:
I hope this is just a temp issue, and that M3C will come back to the site we once knew and loved *sigh*
Posted by DebtorBasher on 2012-10-15:
The lack of the 'What's Going On' Page has cut the trolling down A LOT and that's a good thing. Though I love that feature to see what's going on, it has been misused and members have used it to follow behind other members. The reviews seem to be more concentrated on the topics now. But, I do miss the community chit chat on a more fun side of the site.
Posted by madconsumer on 2012-10-15:
i prefer the new way!! the community section was nothing but a sandbox with tons of fighting. besides all the bandwidth it took with all the video and such.

Posted by trmn8r on 2012-10-15:
I miss my Basher fix. She's on this thread in all her "hair to there" glory, but I need something more regular.
Posted by DebtorBasher on 2012-10-15:
Awwww...8er,8er, my 8er! I miss you too!
My quietly voting your comments 'helpful' is my way of whispering sweet nothings into your ear.
Posted by madconsumer on 2012-10-15:
i like the new format.
Posted by Anna Molly on 2012-10-15:
Like Chuck, I am also convinced the M3C we once knew is gone. It's not necessarily a bad thing. This site IS primarily for consumers to review their experiences about companies, good or bad, and for us, as fellow consumers to offer advice. The community forum was a nice place to check out, and meet with (usually)long time members and discuss other things.
Posted by FoDaddy19 on 2012-10-16:
How does one vote comments as helpful anyway? I'd like to do so, but in the "select a rating" drop down box. I can only choose between "Inappropriate Content" and "Report Spam"/
Posted by trmn8r on 2012-10-16:
So that's what's making my counter spin!

Nice to see you Basher, as well as the others here. It's like old home week, or like a week at the old person's home.
Posted by DebtorBasher on 2012-10-16:
FoDaddy, I don't know if others are having that same issue or not. I know I've been getting and giving 'helpful' votes.

Anyone else?
Posted by DebtorBasher on 2012-10-16:
Kris, I don't know how long it will be. But, I'm sure addy will see this topic and comment.
Posted by madconsumer on 2012-10-16:
i prefer the new format.
Posted by Kris10 on 2012-10-16:
DB, I have the same issu as FoDaddy19. I have since day 1. I asked them about it once and never got a response.
Posted by clutzycook on 2012-10-16:
It's almost too much of a hassle anymore to comment. Not entirely sure why...
Posted by DebtorBasher on 2012-10-16:
Well, I'll bring this thread to Addy's attention and maybe they can clear up some of your questions.
Posted by Slimjim on 2012-10-16:
You have to have at least one star to be able to vote reviews helpful or not.
Posted by tnchuck100 on 2012-10-16:
You do not need one star to vote reviews helpful. I have voted reviews helpful even when I am not logged on. As a matter of fact I have been able to vote twice on the same review. Once while logged on and again when logged off. Both votes were counted.
Posted by tnchuck100 on 2012-10-16:
Maybe it should be pointed out. Voting a REVIEW helpful and voting a COMMENT helpful is NOT the same thing. I think this may be what the confusion is here.
Posted by Slimjim on 2012-10-16:
Correct. Anyone can vote a "review" helpful. You must be registered and have at least one star to vote a "comment" helpful.
Posted by DebtorBasher on 2012-10-16:
Alright, I tested out my Follow list notifications and did not get one when comments were posted on this thread...so...I guess it's across the board and not an individual issue.

Your Name:
(displayed with your comment)
Your E-mail:
(required)

Your Experience/Advice:
Check spelling


By clicking submit you agree that you have read and accept the Terms of Service & Privacy Policy.


Note: All comments are reviewed by a moderator before being published. Please be sure to read our guidelines before commenting.