Playmobil / Amazon.com - Warning: Read the ENTIRE Advertisement Before You Order Kid's Toys

Playmobil Green Recycling Truck
Review by DebtorBasher on 2012-11-26
Rating: StarStarStarStarStar
Cyber Monday... Oh Goody, Goody, Gumdrop! I was shopping for a Birthday gift for my great-nephew who is going to be 6 years old and has an obsession for garbage trucks and street sweepers. I found some nice trucks for him on Amazon.com, but I have to watch what I buy because he has a 1 year old sister and I have to watch anything that may be a choking hazard for her, even though the gift would be age appropriate for him. Anyway, as always, I read everything including fine print and I was surprised when I read the following on one of the ads for a toy truck for him.

* CHOKING HAZARD -- Small parts. Not for children under 3 yrs.
* Our recommended (Amazon.com) age: 4 years and up.
* Manufacturer recommended age: 1 month - 10 years

The manufacturer actually recommends this for a ONE MONTH???? You got to read everything when it comes to the safety of children and remember to always use your common sense.
Comments:8 Replies - Latest reply on 2012-11-30
Posted by MRM on 2012-11-26:
I have two nephews and still looking for Xmas gift for them. I will steer clear of this hazardous product, thanks to your warning, DB.
Posted by DebtorBasher on 2012-11-27:
It should be OK for the older children, but in NO way a child under four.
Posted by onlooker on 2012-11-27:
was this error repeated on other toys on the site?
While they may not have categories to cover the specific age group you wanted to purchase for, that seems like a big hole in information.
Posted by Alain on 2012-11-27:
As you point out, DB, it's up to the consumer to carefully read about products, particularly where children are involved. Good information and review! Did you ever find that commercial septic cleaning truck you were looking for?
Posted by DebtorBasher on 2012-11-27:
No Alain...I never found the sewer cleaning truck that he wanted. He even told his Daddy to make him a sewer cleaning truck costume for him for Halloween, 'It's easy Daddy, just make me a truck with a big elephant trunk'....geesh, you'd think his Daddy could have figured THAT out himself...LOL!
Posted by DebtorBasher on 2012-11-27:
Onlooker...I didn't narrow my search by age, but I always read the age requirements because his little sister will be one year old. He's going to be 6 and she's going to be 1, and their birthdays are the same day.
Posted by Churro on 2012-11-29:
You Basher are a savvy consumer.
Posted by DebtorBasher on 2012-11-30:
Thank you Churro..Thank you, Thank you very much!

Your Name:
(displayed with your comment)
Your E-mail:

Your Experience/Advice:
Check spelling

By clicking submit you agree that you have read and accept the Terms of Service & Privacy Policy.

Note: All comments are reviewed by a moderator before being published. Please be sure to read our guidelines before commenting.