[X]

1
Helpful
Votes

FC&A Still at It! Unordered Book & Bill Sent to Me

Senior Metabolism - Complaint
Review by takethecannoli.psd on 2013-07-06
Rating: StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty Star
PEACHTREE, GEORGIA -- In my opinion this company is using the mail to defraud the public, particularly seniors. I thought I had gotten rid of this company 20 or 30 years ago with a similar and unpleasant interaction. But last week there appeared in my mailbox a book from them that I had not ordered. I did not open it but set it aside as I knew a bill would soon follow and it did. I opened the bill as I needed the phone number to their customer service. (Be advised once you open the package or the bill you have to pay the postage to send it back).

I told them I was in receipt of a book and bill that I had NOT ordered. That I was sending all back and to take me OFF their mailing list. I told them this was a fraudulent practice on their part and must stop. Unfortunately you are talking to some poor soul making minimum wage who only works for the company. They are not the owners. The Post Office Manager told me they are aware of this company and their practices but stated that there was nothing they could do about it. She said this type of fraud (to get money) from seniors goes on every day.

I am not finished. I will continue to find out WHO in the government can put a stop to this. In the meantime just be aware FC&A have unethical and fraudulent practices. Don't do business with them and if you receive a book you did not order cross off your name and address, write REFUSED and your name and bring it back to the post office. The same with a bill.
Comments:6 Replies - Latest reply on 2013-10-04
Posted by Suzy on 2013-07-06:
It is my understanding that if you receive a product you did not order, it is yours to keep and the company cannot make you pay for it. If a few people did this to this company I bet they would quit sending them out to people unless they received an order first. Just refusing it and sending it back evidently isn't enough to make them stop the practice, if not you then someone else who will keep and pay for an item they didn't want and may not be able to easily afford. Let them know you didn't order it but will keep it since they were kind enough to donate it to you but be firm in that you will not pay for it either.
Posted by Nohandle on 2013-07-06:
Suzy, I believe you are correct or that's what I discovered a number of years ago at my office. At that time this sort of scam was going full steam. At that time anything received that was not ordered then the recipient was under no obligation to pay for the product.

We received a book something akin to: How to write business letters etc. There was an invoice attached with a telephone number on it. I promptly called, informed them we did not order any book from them and asked where it was to be sent COD for the shipping charges. I immediately was told to consider the book a gift and we owed them nothing.

I don't believe it was the same company the OP is complaining about but some scams seem to still be working nicely. Scare someone into paying a bill they don't owe for merchandise they didn't order.
Posted by PSD on 2013-07-09:
While the "rule" may be that you can keep a product that was unsolicited the issue with FC and A is that they keep sending you bills and claim you are delinquent if not paid etc. Do you know how difficult it can be to clear your name if they send you to collections. You then have to prove you did not order the book. Too much trouble.
Posted by JoeKay on 2013-07-10:
Only if they have current info for billing like your current credit card number or checking account can they even begin to claim you owe them anything. Just put the stuff aside (or toss it) don't say or do anything and forget it. They cannot report you to the credit bureau.
Posted by JO on 2013-08-04:
I too have received a book that was never ordered, and plus its for my stepmother who died almost 10 years ago. I have received 2 more bills asking for payment. I have been tossing them but after receiving another one. I will forward it to, I suppose the post master. She has never even been in the state I live in. After she died I handled her estate then my father died a few years later, their house was sold and I have all mail forwarded to my address, now all of the sudden 7-10 years later, all kinds of scam mail for them are appearing.

Its so disturbing how people try to take advantage of the elderly.
Posted by Mel on 2013-10-04:
I work for FC and A. I'm sorry you've had a bad experience, but I'd like to come to its defense.

FC and A is a Christian company that makes every effort to treat their customers well. Books are only sent when we receive order cards in the mail - never automatically. No one is required to pay for a book they do not want. Our customer service representatives work personally with customers who call or write to resolve issues to their satisfaction. This includes removing people from our mailing lists.

We sometimes purchase mailing lists from other companies whose customers show interest in similar products. We clear names that match our "do not mail" list by computer, but sometimes names and addresses do not match exactly. In any case, it only takes a simple phone call or note in the mail to get removed from the list. It's helpful if you include the name and address as it's exactly spelled on the mailing label.

FC and A has an A rating from the Better Business Bureau for good reason. http://www.bbb.org/atlanta/business-reviews/publishers-book/frank-w-cawood-and-associates-in-peachtree-city-ga-2275

I can assure you, for every complaint we receive, we get double from customers who love our products. It's a great place to work, and we truly take pride in what we do. :-)

Your Name:
(displayed with your comment)
Your E-mail:
(required)

Your Experience/Advice:
Check spelling


By clicking submit you agree that you have read and accept the Terms of Service & Privacy Policy.


Note: All comments are reviewed by a moderator before being published. Please be sure to read our guidelines before commenting.